DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10, and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 21 are drawn to a “powered mounting bracket assembly for a furniture headrest” and comprise “a backrest” as well as “a headrest,” etc. It is unclear how an assembly for a headrest of a furniture seat would include those components. That is, the preamble of the claims suggests that only the bracket assembly is actually claimed, while the body appears to require the furniture components supporting and connected to the bracket assembly. Clarification is requested.
Claims 1 and 21 recite the limitation "said pair of upstanding posts" in line 8 (and again in line 14 of claim 1). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Note that for purposes of examination, the limitation has been treated as referring to the pair of upstanding mounting posts.
Claims 2-8, 10 and 22-29 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Donovan (US Patent Number 9730522).
Regarding claim 1, Donovan discloses a powered mounting bracket assembly for a furniture headrest of a furniture piece, comprising: a backrest assembly (at 12); a headrest assembly (including 20, 30); a pair of upstanding mounting posts (16) mounted upon opposite lateral sides of said backrest assembly (while only one member 16 is shown, see the first paragraph of the “Detailed Description of the Invention” section for instance describing two symmetrical sides much as show in the other embodiments); a pair of hinge mechanisms (at 22, 24; a pair provided much as with the mounting posts above) pivotally connecting opposite sides of said headrest assembly to said pair of upstanding posts mounted upon said opposite lateral sides of said backrest assembly (this is the general arrangement); and a driving mechanism (generally shown at 10) having a first end operatively connected to said backrest assembly, and a second end operatively connected to a central portion of said headrest assembly which is intermediate said pair of hinge mechanisms pivotally connecting said opposite sides of said headrest assembly to said pair of upstanding posts mounted upon said opposite lateral sides of said backrest assembly (the drive is in a central portion and between hinge mechanisms as claimed even if not clearly shown), such that when said driving mechanism is actuated, said headrest assembly can be moved between any one of a multiplicity of positions (between those shown in Figures 1 and 4 for instance), relative to said backrest assembly, so as to adjust the disposition of said headrest assembly, relative to said backrest assembly (this is the general manner of operation). While Donovan is thus viewed as disclosing the arrangement as claimed, the second post and hinge along with the drive position may not clearly be shown (even if generally described). However, as duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and support for various users.
Regarding claim 21, Donovan discloses a powered mounting bracket assembly for a furniture headrest of a furniture piece, comprising: a backrest assembly (at 12); a headrest assembly (including 20, 30); a pair of upstanding mounting posts (16) mounted upon opposite lateral sides of said backrest assembly (while only one member 16 is shown, see the first paragraph of the “Detailed Description of the Invention” section for instance describing two symmetrical sides much as show in the other embodiments); a pair of hinge mechanisms (at 22, 24; a pair provided much as with the mounting posts above) pivotally connecting opposite sides of said headrest assembly to said pair of upstanding posts mounted upon said opposite lateral sides of said backrest assembly (this is the general arrangement); at least one coiled spring assembly (56; note that while a “coiled” spring may not be explicitly described, an “extension spring” as disclosed would typically be of such design and the spring shown in the figures clearly provides a coiled arrangement) operatively interposed between said backrest assembly and said headrest assembly; and a driving mechanism (generally shown at 10) having a first end operatively connected to said backrest assembly, and a second end operatively connected to said headrest assembly, such that when said driving mechanism is actuated in a first direction so as to move said headrest assembly from a retracted position to an extended position, said headrest assembly can be moved between any one of a multiplicity of positions (between those shown in Figures 1 and 4 for instance), relative to said backrest assembly, so as to adjust the disposition of said headrest assembly, relative to said backrest assembly, whereas when said driving mechanism is actuated in a second opposite direction, only said at least one coiled spring assembly will return said headrest assembly to said retracted position (this would be the general manner of operation; see the paragraph bridging columns 3 and 4 describing the operation of the mechanism including use of the spring to bias toward a retracted position). While Donovan is thus viewed as disclosing the arrangement as claimed, the second post and hinge may not clearly be shown (even if generally described). However, as duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art, it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and support for various users.
Regarding claims 2 and 22, Donovan further discloses said driving mechanism comprises a linear actuator (the arrangement at 38, 40 is viewed as such and a linear actuator is disclosed in the first full paragraph of column 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 23, Donovan further discloses said headrest assembly comprises: a headrest support base (at least one member 26 or the lower horizontally-oriented member of 30); and a headrest mounting plate (upper horizontally-oriented member of 30 for instance) fixedly connected to said headrest support base (at least indirectly).
Regarding claims 4 and 24, Donovan further discloses said headrest mounting plate fixedly connected to said headrest support base such that said headrest mounting plate is disposed perpendicular to said headrest support base (the members are generally perpendicular; see figures).
Regarding claims 5 and 25, Donovan further discloses said headrest support base is pivotally mounted upon said backrest assembly (via 22).
Claim(s) 6, 10, 26, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan.
Regarding claims 6 and 26, Donovan discloses an assembly as explained above and further discloses the headrest support base movable between two extreme positions approximately 900 apart from each other (see at least Figures 1 and 4) wherein, when said headrest support base is disposed at a first one of said two extreme positions, said headrest mounting plate will have a nearly vertical orientation, whereas, when said headrest support base is disposed at a second one of said two extreme positions, said headrest mounting plate will have a nearly horizontal orientation (again, see figures), but may not explicitly disclose the claimed range of motion or orientations. Changes in size and shape of components as well as variation in range require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the range and orientations as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and support for various users.
Regarding claims 10 and 29, Donovan discloses an assembly as explained above and further discloses each one of said pair of hinge mechanisms comprises: a hinge segment (opening for 22) fixedly mounted upon said upstanding mounting post; a hinge plate (at 24) fixedly mounted upon said headrest support base so as to be disposed upon a side of said hinge segment fixedly mounted upon said upstanding mounting post and rotatably engaged with said hinge segment fixedly mounted upon said upstanding mounting post so as to permit said headrest support base to be pivotally mounted upon said backrest assembly (this is the general arrangement); and at least one pin (18 and/or 54 for instance) interconnecting said hinge plate and adapted to engage said upstanding mounting post so as to serve as a stop member when said headrest assembly is moved from an extended position to said fully retracted position (the pin is at least indirectly arranged in this manner). Donovan may not clearly disclose pairs of hinge plates or the particular arrangement of the pin. Duplication and rearrangement of components require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the arrangement as claimed based on normal variation to improve operation and functionality for various users.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donovan in view of Zhao et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0027979).
Regarding claims 7 and 27, Donovan discloses and/or renders obvious an assembly as explained above including a linear actuator comprising a motor and a link connecting to the headrest assembly but does not disclose details of the arrangement. Zhao discloses a related device including a linear actuator comprising a motor (31), a rotatable lead screw member (32), a sleeve member (33 and/or 34) operatively connected to said rotatable lead screw member, and a link (4 and/or 6) operatively connected to said sleeve member at a first end thereof, and to a headrest assembly (1) at a second end thereof. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a linear actuator as taught by Zhao in Donovan’s device because this could ensure proper operation to improve user comfort and convenience.
Regarding claims 8 and 28, Donovan, modified as described further discloses said link comprises a vertically oriented, arcuately configured link (Zhao’s 4 for instance) such that when said linear actuator is actuated, said vertically oriented, arcuately configured link will cause said headrest assembly to move between two extreme positions located nearly 900 apart, but may not explicitly disclose the claimed range of motion. Changes in size and shape of components as well as variation in range require only routine skill in the art and it accordingly would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the range as claimed based on normal variation to improve comfort and support for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that Donovan does not disclose the structure of the amended claims, but does not specifically explain how the amendments overcome the prior rejections. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Donovan is viewed as anticipating and/or rendering obvious the current claims as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636