DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 6-9 in the reply filed on 7/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the rear” and “the silo” which lack proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claims 7-8 are dependent on indefinite claim 6.
Claim 9 recites “the silo” which lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandury (US 3,985,254) in view of Gipson (US 7,182,163 B1).
Consider claim 6. Grandury teaches a silo transport trailer, comprising: a tongue (4) for securing to a tractor; a plurality of axles and wheels on a rear end of the trailer (proximate reference character “54” in fig. 3); a pivot shaft (17) arranged on a rear end of the trailer; and a tilting system (3, 83, etc.) for pivoting the silo to an upright position.
Grandury does not explicitly teach a lift mechanism as specifically recited in the claim. Gipson teaches a lift mechanism (21) at or near axles and wheels at a rear end of a trailer, the lift mechanism being configured to allow the rear of the trailer to shift side to side (see figs. 3-5 and column 5, lines 13-35). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Grandury’s loader with a lift mechanism as taught by Gipson in order to easily align the rear of the trailer with a desired location for the silo.
Consider claim 7. Grandury teaches that the tilting system comprises a telescoping cylinder (3) and a non-telescoping cylinder (83).
Consider claim 8. Grandury teaches that the non-telescoping cylinder comprises a pair of non-telescoping cylinders (83, 82).
Consider claim 9. Grandury teaches that the tilting system comprises a lift frame (5) configured for pinning the silo thereto and for interacting with the telescoping cylinder and/or non-telescoping cylinder to pivot the silo into the upright position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The attached PTO-892 lists references which teach various silo transport trailers.
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652