CTNF 18/774,501 CTNF 85280 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (TSG RAN WG1#92, February 2018, R1-1801980, hereinafter Samsung) in view of 3GPP (TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #93, May 2018, R1-1806963, hereinafter InterDigital) . Regarding claim 1, Samsung discloses an integrated circuit for a communication apparatus, the integrated circuit comprising, at least one input, which, in operation, inputs an electronic signal, and controller circuitry, which, in operation, controls: determining a number of resources for multiplexing Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information in a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) by using a beta offset value (page 1, section 2, number of coded modulation symbols per layer for HARQ-ACK, page 2, table HARQ ACK offset) and transmitting the HARQ-ACK information (page 1, wherein the PUSCH transmission includes the HARQ-ACK information transmission, page 4). Samsung does not disclose corresponding to a priority of the HARQ- ACK information. InterDIgital discloses corresponding to a priority of the HARQ- ACK information(section 2.1, proposal 1) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the HARQ-ACK multiplexing and resource determination procedures taught by Samsung with the priority-based UCI as disclosed by InterDigital in order to achieve greater reliability and resource protection for higher priority HARQ-ACK UCI transmissions. Regarding claim 2, Samsung discloses multiple offset values (page 2, table 1) . Samsung does not disclose wherein the priority is defined for the multiplexed HARQ-ACK information and the beta offset value is selected from a plurality of different beta offset values each of which corresponds to respective in-PUSCH-multiplexed HARQ-ACK priority. Interdigital discloses wherein the priority is defined for the multiplexed HARQ-ACK information and the beta offset value is selected from a plurality of different beta offset values each of which corresponds to respective in-PUSCH-multiplexed HARQ-ACK priority (page 1, section 2.1, proposal 1). Regarding claim 3, Samsung discloses a first beta value (see page 2, table 1) . Samsung does not disclose wherein a first beta offset value is configured for a first priority of first HARQ- ACK information and a second beta offset value is configured for a second priority of second HARQ-ACK, respectively, the first beta offset value and the second beta offset value being different. Inter-Digital discloses wherein a first beta offset value is configured for a first priority of first HARQ- ACK information and a second beta offset value is configured for a second priority of second HARQ-ACK, respectively, the first beta offset value and the second beta offset value being different (section 2.1, proposal 1) . Regarding claim 4, Samsung discloses, wherein the first beta offset value and the second beta offset value are configured by a higher layer signaling. (page 2, wherein the mAC PDU includes the higher layer signaling) . Regarding claim 5, Samsung discloses wherein the first beta offset value and the second beta offset value are configured by downlink control information. (page 2, dynamically indicated HARQ-ACK values and DCI scheduling information in connection with PUSCH transmission and HARQ-ACK resource determination) Regarding claim 6 , Samsung discloses wherein a first number of first resources for multiplexing the first HARQ-ACK information and a second number of second resources for multiplexing the second HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH are determined, (page 2) and the second number of the second resources is determined (page 2) . Samsung does not disclose based on the determined first number of the first resources when the first priority of the first HARQ-ACK information is higher than the second priority of the second HARQ-ACK information. InterDigital discloses on the determined first number of the first resources when the first priority of the first HARQ-ACK information is higher than the second priority of the second HARQ-ACK information ( section 2.1, proposal 1) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the HARQ-ACK multiplexing and resource determination procedures taught by Samsung with the priority based UCI as disclosed by InterDigital in order to achieve greater reliability and resource protection for higher priority HARQ-ACK UCI transmissions. Regarding claim 7, Samsung discloses all subject matter of the claimed invention with the exception of, wherein the priority of the HARQ-ACK information is comparable to a priority of scheduled transmission of the PUSCH, and the controller circuitry, in operation, controls determining whether to multiplex the HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH by comparing the priority of the HARQ-ACK information and the priority of the scheduled transmission of the PUSCH. InterDigital discloses , wherein the priority of the HARQ-ACK information is comparable to a priority of scheduled transmission of the PUSCH, and the controller circuitry, in operation, controls determining whether to multiplex the HARQ-ACK information in the PUSCH by comparing the priority of the HARQ-ACK information and the priority of the scheduled transmission of the PUSCH (section 2.1, proposal 1) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the HARQ-ACK multiplexing and resource determination procedures taught by Samsung with the priority based UCI as disclosed by InterDigital in order to achieve greater reliability and resource protection for higher priority HARQ-ACK UCI transmissions. Regarding claim 8, Samsung discloses all subject matter of the claimed inventio with the exception of wherein the priority of the HARQ-ACK information multiplexed in the PUSCH is a different parameter from a priority of HARQ-ACK information that is not multiplexed in a PUSCH. Interdigital discloses wherein the priority of the HARQ-ACK information multiplexed in the PUSCH is a different parameter from a priority of HARQ-ACK information that is not multiplexed in a PUSCH (section 2.1, proposal 1) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the HARQ-ACK multiplexing and resource determination procedures taught by Samsung with the priority based UCI as disclosed by InterDigital in order to achieve greater reliability and resource protection for higher priority HARQ-ACK UCI transmissions. Regarding claim 9, Samsung discloses, wherein the beta offset value is a parameter for controlling coding rate of the HARQ-ACK information (page 2, table 1) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGEL T BROCKMAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5664. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 6:00AM-4:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang can be reached at 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 2 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 3 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 4 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 5 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 6 Art Unit: 2412 Application/Control Number: 18/774,501 Page 7 Art Unit: 2412