DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regrading claim 1 applicant asserts that Li does not disclose detecting an abnormal operating condition of the power grid and controlling a bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert stored battery energy in response thereto, and that Bridges merely discloses a disconnect switch rather than controlling a bidirectional converter.
Li discloses an intelligent controller configured to control a bidirectional power conversion device to convert stored battery energy for delivery to a DC bus or power grid (Li Fig. 2; Li para 0088-0091; 0126–0129). Li does not expressly disclose that such control is performed upon detection of an abnormal grid condition. Bridges, however, explicitly teaches detecting abnormal operating conditions of the power grid. Bridges defines grid conditions and power quality events as including under-voltage, over-voltage, under-frequency, and over-frequency events (Bridges para 0037-0038). Bridges further discloses sensing a power outage condition using a smart grid disconnect (Bridges para 0196).
Bridges further teaches that, in response to detecting such abnormal grid conditions, a controller commands an inverter/charger to discharge stored battery energy. Specifically, Bridges discloses that a vehicle computer controls an inverter/charger to discharge the battery bank to supply power (Bridges para 0135; Fig.8). Bridges also teaches that when a power outage is sensed, local energy storage resources are signaled to power local loads (Bridges Fig. 21; para 0223-0225; para 0195-0199).
Thus, Bridges teaches detecting abnormal grid conditions and controlling a bidirectional power conversion device to convert stored battery energy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Bridges’ abnormal-grid detection and battery discharge control techniques into the intelligent controller system of Li in order to cause Li’s bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert stored battery energy when abnormal grid conditions are detected, thereby improving safety and reliability of power delivery. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained.
Regarding claim 5 Applicant contends that neither Li nor Bridges discloses that the bidirectional DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC/DC converter and the battery.
Li discloses a bidirectional energy storage system including a battery and a bidirectional DC/DC converter electrically coupled between the battery and a DC bus and configured to convert electrical energy from the battery for delivery to the system (Li Fig. 2; Li para 0089-0094). Bridges further discloses an inverter/charger electrically coupled to a battery bank and controlled to discharge the battery bank to supply power (Bridges Fig. 8; para 0118-0121; 0135). Bridges further teaches signaling local energy storage resources to power local loads when an outage is detected (Bridges para 0195-0199; 0223-0225). When combined, Li and Bridges teach a bidirectional power conversion device electrically interposed between a battery and the power distribution path such that stored battery energy is converted and supplied during abnormal grid conditions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bidirectional DC/DC converter of Li in the backup power system of Bridges in order to reduce conversion stages, shorten the power path, and improve efficiency. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. §103 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20250070587 A1) in view of Bridges et al. (US 20080039979 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Li teaches A charging system comprising: a power input part electrically connected to a power grid for outputting an AC input power (see power grid fig.2 para 0086, 0091); an inverter electrically connected to the power input part for converting the AC input power into a DC power (see fig.2 para 0086-0087, 0091); a DC bus electrically connected to the inverter (see fig.2 para 0086, 0091); at least one charging device comprising a DC/DC converter and a charging gun, wherein the DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC bus and the charging gun (see fig.2 para 0087-0088); a bidirectional energy storage module comprising a battery and a bidirectional DC/DC converter, wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC bus and the battery, and the bidirectional DC/DC converter is configured to receive and convert the DC power provided by the inverter through the DC bus for charging the battery, or convert a storage electric energy of the battery for delivering to the DC/DC converter of the at least one charging device through the DC bus (see fig.2 para 0090-0091); and an intelligent controller electrically connected to the power input part and the bidirectional energy storage module (see fig.2 para 0088-0089); wherein the intelligent controller controls the bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert the storage electric energy of the battery (see fig.2, 4 para 0105-0108, 0126-0131).
Li doesn’t expressly teach when the intelligent controller detects that the operation condition of the power grid is abnormal.
In an analogous art Bridges teaches when the intelligent controller detects that the operation condition of the power grid is abnormal (see 2102-2106, fig.13, 21 para 0037-0038, 0196, 0198, 0223-0225).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Bridges’ abnormal-grid detection and battery discharge control techniques into the intelligent controller system of Li in order to cause Li’s bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert stored battery energy when abnormal grid conditions are detected, thereby improving safety and reliability of power delivery.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches a charging system (see fig.2 para 0086); comprising: a power input part electrically connected to a power grid for outputting an AC input power (see power grid fig.2 para 0086, 0091); an inverter electrically connected to the power input part for converting the AC input power into a DC power (see AC/DC fig.2 para 0086) ;a DC bus electrically connected to the inverter (see AC/DC fig.2 para 0086); at least one charging device comprising a DC/DC converter and a charging gun, wherein the DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC bus and the charging gun (see fig.2 para 0087-0088); a bidirectional energy storage module comprising a battery and a bidirectional DC/DC converter (see fig.2 para 0089-0091), wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter (see fig.2 para 0089-0091), and the bidirectional DC/DC converter is configured to receive and convert an electric energy outputted by the DC/DC converter of the at least one charging device for charging the battery (see fig.2, 4 Para 0092-0097, 0148-0149), or convert a storage electric energy of the battery for providing to the charging gun of the at least one charging device through the DC/DC converter corresponding thereto (see fig.2,3 Para 0089, 0095-0097); and an intelligent controller electrically connected to the power input part and the bidirectional energy storage module (see fig.2, Para 0088-0091, 0104-0115, 0153-0163).
Li doesn’t expressly teach wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC/DC converter and the battery,
In an analogous art Bridges teaches wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter is electrically connected between the DC/DC converter and the battery (See Para 0037-0038, 0116-0121, 0133-0136, 0139-0146)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bidirectional DC/DC converter of Li in the backup power system of Bridges in order to reduce conversion stages, shorten the power path, and improve efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches wherein the intelligent controller controls an operation of the bidirectional DC/DC converter (see para 0104-0109, 0114-0121, 0126-0131, 01401-0146); Bridges further teaches in accordance with at least one of an operation condition of the power grid (see 0037-0039) and a storage electricity value of the battery (see 0095-0096, 0202-0208).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the grid condition and SOC based control of Bridges in the invention of Li to operate the bidirectional Dc/Dc according to grid state or battery level.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches wherein when the intelligent controller (see 0091-0093), and the charging demand information of a load indicates that the load connected to the charging gun needs to be charged in high power (see para 0077-0081, 0102-0103), the intelligent controller controls the bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert the storage electric energy of the battery at maximum power (see 00126-0129); Bridges further teaches detects that an operation condition of the power grid is normal (see para 0037-0039) and detects that the storage electricity value of the battery is greater than a first electricity threshold value (see para 0088-0096).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use grid status detection and SoC thresholding of Bridges in the invention of Li to decide when the bidirectional Dc/Dc should discharge to preserve battery health.
Regarding claim 7, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches wherein when the intelligent controller (see 0091-0093), Bridges further teaches detects that the operation condition of the power grid is normal (see para 0037-0039) and detects that the storage electricity value of the battery is less than a first electricity threshold value and greater than a second electricity threshold value (see Soc thresholds para 0037-0039) and controls the operation of the bidirectional DC/DC convertor in accordance with an electricity price information. (see para 0064-0071-0103-0108)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use real time pricing and SoC band control of Bridges in the invention of Li to decide when/if to run the bidirectional Dc/Dc to optimize energy cost.
Regarding claim 8, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches wherein when the electricity price information indicates that a current electricity price is greater than a preset electricity price, the intelligent controller controls the bidirectional DC/DC converter to stop the operation, wherein when the electricity price information indicates that the current electricity price is less than or equal to the preset electricity price, the intelligent controller controls the operation of the bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert the electric energy output by the DC/DC converter of the at least one charging device for charging the battery (see para 0087-0089, 0119-0121) Li doesn’t teach price based stop. Bridges further teaches when the electricity price information indicates that a current electricity price is greater than a preset electricity price and when the electricity price information indicates that the current electricity price is less than or equal to the preset electricity price (see para 0064-0071, 0103-0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use real time pricing and SoC band control of Bridges in the invention of Li to decide when/if to run the bidirectional Dc/Dc to optimize energy cost.
Regarding claim 9, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches the intelligent controller further controls the bidirectional DC/DC converter to convert the storage electric energy of the battery (see para 0094-0103), wherein when the electricity value of the battery is less than the second electricity threshold value, the intelligent controller controls the bidirectional DC/DC converter to stop the operation (see para 0094-0113) bridges further teaches
when the intelligent controller detects that the operation condition of the power grid is abnormal (see para 0037-0039, 0192-0199 fig.13-15); detects whether the storage electricity value of the battery is lower than a second electricity threshold value, wherein when the electricity value of the battery is greater than or equal to the second electricity threshold value (see para 0088-0096)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use abnormal/islanding and SoC thresholds of Bridges in the invention of Li provide safety ad enhancement.
Regarding claim 13, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches wherein the intelligent controller controls an operation of the bidirectional DC/DC converter (see para 0085-0093) Bridges further teaches in accordance with at least one of an operation condition of the power grid, a storage electricity value of the battery, an electricity price information and a charge demand information of a load (see para 0037-0039, 0088-0096, 0064-0071, 0103-0108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use real time pricing and SoC band control of Bridges in the invention of Li to decide when/if to run the bidirectional Dc/Dc to optimize energy cost.
Claim(s) 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20250070587 A1) in view of Bridges et al. (US 20080039979 A1) further in view of Xiong (US 2025/0065774 A1).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the battery is an energy-type battery.
In an analogous art Xiong teaches wherein the battery is an energy-type battery (see para 006, 0065, 0071, 0080, 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to batteries of Xiong in the invention of Li and Bridges as an alternate power source.
Regarding claim 11, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the battery is a power-type battery.
In an analogous art Xiong teaches wherein the battery is a power-type battery (see para 0006, 0065, 0071, 0080, 0082).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use batteries of Xiong in the invention of Li and Bridges as an alternate power source.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20250070587 A1) in view of Bridges et al. (US 20080039979 A1) further in view of Kisacikoglu et al. (US 20190165591 A1)
Regarding claim 10, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach the at least one charging device includes a plurality of charging devices, and the charging system further comprises a dispenser electrically connected to the DC/DC converters of the plurality of charging devices and the bidirectional DC/DC converter of the bidirectional energy storage module, wherein the intelligent controller controls the dispenser to select one of the DC/DC converters of the plurality of charging devices to conduct with the bidirectional DC/DC converter of the bidirectional energy storage module to provide a charging or discharging path of the second battery.
In an analogous art Kisacikoglu teaches wherein the at least one charging device includes a plurality of charging devices (See para 0028, 0076), and the charging system further comprises a dispenser electrically connected to the DC/DC converters of the plurality of charging devices and the bidirectional DC/DC converter of the bidirectional energy storage module (See para 0006, 0033-0034, 0076), wherein the intelligent controller controls the dispenser to select one of the DC/DC converters of the plurality of charging devices to conduct with the bidirectional DC/DC converter of the bidirectional energy storage module to provide a charging or discharging path of the second battery (See para 0033-0034, 0069-0075, 0081-0085).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the DSP-controlled bidirectional dc/dc coordination of Kisacikoglu in the invention of Li and Bridges to enable dispenser that’s selects charger to conduct bidirectional conversion of energy and provide path to second battery.
Regarding claim 12, combination of Li and Bridges teaches invention set forth above, combination doesn’t expressly teach wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter is a non-isolated converter.
In an analogous art Kisacikoglu teaches wherein the bidirectional DC/DC converter is a non-isolated converter. (see para 0027, 0031, 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the non-isolated dc/dc converter of Kisacikoglu in the invention of Li and Bridges as an alternate way cost effective way to converter dc/dc power.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849