DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 14 were previously objected to. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 12/10/2025. Accordingly, the objections to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 9 were previously rejected under 35 USC § 112. Applicant has successfully addressed these issues in the amendments filed on 12/10/2025. Accordingly, the rejection to the claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-11, 14, 16-19, and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3964441 to Keskin.
Regarding claim 1, Keskin discloses:
A vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly (fig 3), the assembly comprising: a shaft (300) and a retaining handle (202) fixed relative to the shaft such that the shaft rotates when the retaining handle is rotated (see paragraph 0045); and wherein the shaft comprises a first shaft detent feature (312).
or wherein the or each detent feature is a projection.
Regarding claim 10, Keskin discloses:
A mounting block (204) for mounting a vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly (200) in a vehicle galley (100), the mounting block comprising: a cavity (302) configured to receive a shaft (300) of the vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly; and a cavity detent feature (304) on an inner surface of the cavity, configured to interact with at least one detent feature (306) on the shaft, wherein the cavity detent feature is a detent mechanism configured to produce a bias (via 310) in the direction of the cavity, and wherein the detent mechanism further comprises an adjustable mechanism (310) configured to adjust the biasing force of the detent mechanism (via 310 increasing/decreasing the bias force depending on the position of 202).
Regarding claim 14, Keskin discloses:
A vehicle galley compartment retention assembly (fig 2), the vehicle galley compartment retaining assembly comprising: a handle assembly (200), the handle assembly comprising: a shaft (300) comprising a first shaft detent feature (306); and a retaining handle (202) fixed relative to the shaft such that the shaft rotates when the retaining handle is rotated (see paragraph 0045); a mounting block (204) comprising: a cavity (302) configured to receive the shaft (300) of the handle assembly; and a cavity detent feature (304) on an inner surface of the cavity, configured to interact with at least one detent feature on the shaft (306, fig 3c), wherein the cavity detent feature is a detent mechanism configured to produce a bias (via housing 300 and 310) in the direction of the cavity, and wherein the detent mechanism further comprises an adjustable mechanism (310) configured to adjust the biasing force of the detent mechanism (via 310 increasing/decreasing the bias force depending on the position of 202); a fixing means (frame member, not shown, see paragraph 0039) configured to fix the handle assembly to the mounting block, whilst allowing for rotational movement of the handle assembly relative to the mounting block (see figs 3a-3d); wherein the shaft of the handle assembly is configured to be inserted into the cavity of the mounting block (fig 3a), and to be rotatable within the cavity, and wherein the first shaft detent feature and the cavity detent feature are configured to interact with each other to hold the retaining handle in a first angular position when rotationally aligned (see figs 3a-3d).
Regarding claim 16, Keskin discloses:
The mounting block according to claim 10, wherein the vehicle galley is an aircraft galley (fig 2b).
Regarding claim 17, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retention assembly according to claim 14, wherein the vehicle galley compartment retaining is in a vehicle galley of an aircraft galley (fig 2b).
Regarding claim 18, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft further comprises a second detent feature (316).
Regarding claim 19, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 2, wherein the shaft further comprises a third detent feature (318).
Regarding claim 21, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle according to claim 1, wherein each detent feature of the at least one detent feature is a projection (306).
Regarding claim 22, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the or each detent feature is located on the radially outer surface of the shaft (fig 3c).
Regarding claim 23, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft comprises a shaft rotation limiter (306) to limit the rotation of the handle assembly to a predetermined angular range (306 limits the rotation of the handle via the ends of the track 304).
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3964441 to Keskin. Note: This is a different interpretation of Keskin.
Regarding claim 14, Keskin discloses:
A vehicle galley compartment retention assembly (fig 2), the vehicle galley compartment retaining assembly comprising: a handle assembly (200), the handle assembly comprising: a shaft (300) comprising a first shaft detent feature (306); and a retaining handle (202) fixed relative to the shaft such that the shaft rotates when the retaining handle is rotated (see paragraph 0045); a mounting block (204) comprising: a cavity (302) configured to receive the shaft (300) of the handle assembly; and a cavity detent feature (304) on an inner surface of the cavity, configured to interact with at least one detent feature on the shaft (316, 304 and 316 interact via 300), wherein the cavity detent feature is a detent mechanism configured to produce a bias (via housing 300 and 310) in the direction of the cavity, and wherein the detent mechanism further comprises an adjustable mechanism (310) configured to adjust the biasing force of the detent mechanism (via 310 increasing/decreasing the bias force depending on the position of 202); a fixing means (frame member, not shown, see paragraph 0039) configured to fix the handle assembly to the mounting block, whilst allowing for rotational movement of the handle assembly relative to the mounting block (see figs 3a-3d); wherein the shaft of the handle assembly is configured to be inserted into the cavity of the mounting block (fig 3a), and to be rotatable within the cavity, and wherein the first shaft detent feature and the cavity detent feature are configured to interact with each other to hold the retaining handle in a first angular position when rotationally aligned (see figs 3a-3d).
Regarding claim 20, Keskin discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle according to claim 1, wherein each detent feature of the at least one detent feature is a recess (316, fig 3c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3964441 to Keskin in view of US 20190241268 to Iacobucci.
Regarding claim 24, Keskin does not explicitly disclose:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the shaft is made from metal.
However, Iacobucci teaches that it is well known in the art for parts of a vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly to be made of metal (see paragraphs 0003, 0043, and 0099). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Iacobucci into Keskin at least because doing so would provide suitable material for the desired strength and weight of the assembly.
Regarding claim 25, Keskin does not explicitly disclose:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the retaining handle is made from a lightweight high strength material.
However, Iacobucci teaches that it is well known in the art for parts of a vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly to be made from a lightweight high strength material (see paragraphs 0003, 0043, and 0099). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Iacobucci into Keskin at least because doing so would provide suitable material for the desired strength and weight of the assembly.
Regarding claim 26, Keskin does not explicitly disclose:
The vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly according to claim 1, wherein the retaining handle is made from a composite material.
However, Iacobucci teaches that it is well known in the art for parts of a vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly to be made from a composite material (see paragraphs 0043 and 0099). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Iacobucci into Keskin at least because doing so would provide suitable material for the desired strength and weight of the assembly.
Regarding claim 27, Keskin in view of Iacobucci discloses:
The vehicle galley compartment retention assembly according to claim 26, wherein the composite material is cured directly onto the shaft. [Note: The italicized limitation recites a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, only the end result. See MPEP 2113. Since Keskin in view of Iacobucci teaches a vehicle galley compartment retaining handle assembly made from a composite material, the end result is the same regardless of the method used to produce the assembly].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the cavity 302 is a part of the handle 300 and not the mounting block, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The mounting block of Keskin comprises both the handle and the shaft, including the spring 310. Additionally, Examiner did not acknowledge that Keskin does not disclose an adjustable mechanism. See rejection of claim 13 in the Non-final rejection. Lastly, Applicant’s argument that Keskin does not disclose the adjustment of the biasing force of the spring, Examiner notes that’s as the spring is stretched/compressed, the biasing force it applies is adjusted as seen in figs 3a-d of Keskin. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.S./
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675