DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/24/25 . As directed by the amendment: claims 1 and 11 have been amended; claims 7 and 17 have been cancelled; and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. The following claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“holder body means” (cl. 11): 11, FIG. 47
“movable liquid-dispensing means” (cl. 11): 202b, FIG. 46c
“plurality of extension means” (cl. 11): 202b, FIG. 46c
“movable liquid-dispensing means” (cl. 20): 202b, FIG. 46c
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lassota (US 7,717,026) in view Pope (US 2004/0194631).
With regard to claims 1 and 11, Lassota teaches a brewing material holder (49) configured for use with a beverage brewer (20) (FIG. 2), comprising: a holder body/holder body means (70) configured to hold brewing material (30) and to be removably placed (“brew basket removably mounted to the brewer”, cl. 23) in a brewing chamber (chamber of 49) of the beverage brewer (118); and a movable liquid-dispensing member/movable liquid-dispensing means (112) configured to couple with the holder body (70) and to receive a flow of liquid (liquid flow illustrated at FIG. 2 via downward arrows); wherein the liquid-dispensing member includes a plurality of arms/extension means (“arms 112”, col. 8, ln. 11-16); wherein the movable liquid-dispensing member/liquid-dispensing means is configured to move due only to the flow of liquid through the ports (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
Lassota does not teach in the primary embodiment wherein the center member crosses an axis of motion of the liquid-dispersing member, and the plurality of arms extend from the center member so as to be offset from the axis of rotation; however, in a second embodiment Lassota teaches the aforementioned limitations as detailed in the annotated drawing presented hereafter:
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the rotatable water dispersion member (112, FIG. 2) in the primary embodiment of Lassota, such that the center member crosses an axis of motion of the liquid-dispersing member, and the plurality of arms extend from the center member so as to be offset from the axis of motion, as suggested and taught by the secondary embodiment of Lassota, for the purpose of providing enhanced water distribution to predetermined locations. Furthermore, assuming it was determined that the first and second arms are determined as not extending from the center portion as to be offset from the axis of rotation, it is submitted that such an adaptation would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation to achieve a desired spray pattern at predetermined locations.
Lassota teaches in the primary embodiment that each of the arms of the liquid-dispensing member may include outlet ports along their lengths to dispense liquid into the holder body (see col. 8, lines 11-16), however, the primary embodiment does not explicitly teach that the plurality of ports are arranged on an underside of the at least one arm/extension means. However, the alternative embodiment of Lassota teaches a plurality of ports as detailed in the above annotated figure. Notwithstanding the foregoing, as an alternative teaching, Pope from the same field of endeavor directed toward a variable flow spray system teaches a spray head 20 with a plurality of ports 22 on an underside of the head spraying a beverage brewing substance 24 (FIG. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Lassota reference, such that the plurality of ports are arranged on an underside of the at least one arm/extension means, as suggested and taught by Pope, for the purpose of providing a varied spray pattern to agitate the brewing substance as desired to achieve an enhanced brewing product (para. [0043]).
With regard to claims 2 and 12, Lassota teaches the movable liquid-dispensing member/means (112) is configured to rotate due to the flow of liquid (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
With regard to claims 3 and 13, Lassota teaches the movable liquid-dispensing member/means (112) is configured to rotate due only to the flow of liquid (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
With regard to claims 4 and 14, Pope teaches the ports (22) are angled away from a vertical centerline of the liquid-dispensing member/means (FIG. 1 illustrates spray ports 22 angled away from a vertical centerline).
With regard to claims 5 and 15, with regard to the limitation of the ports are configured to produce a spray pattern having a horizontal component, it is submitted that an inherent feature of parent claims 4 and 14 is that the ports are angled away from a vertical centerline and as such the instant limitations are taught by the cited art.
With regard to claims 6 and 16, Lassota teaches the spray pattern is configured to provide a force that generates torque to rotate the liquid-dispensing member/means (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
With regard to claims 8 and 18, Lassota teaches the movable liquid-dispensing member/means (112) is configured to move due to a force of pressure provided by the flow of liquid (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
With regard to claims 9 and 19, Lassota teaches the force of pressure provided by the flow of liquid is caused by a weight of the liquid (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16).
With regard to claims 10 and 20, Lassota teaches A beverage brewer, comprising: the brewing material holder of claim 1/11 (as detailed above); a liquid container/liquid container means (29), and a nozzle/nozzle means (58) configured to provide liquid from the liquid container to the movable liquid-dispensing member/means (“the jet force of the dispense water being discharged out of the ends or out of radially directed intermediate outlet ports located along the length of the arms 112 can be used to provide the necessary jet stream force to rotate the arms.”, col. 8, ln. 11-16)..
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the newly presented prior art rejections as detailed herein above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761