Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has added the new limitations of a lower leg and an upper leg portion. However, there is no support for them in the specifications. The claims are rejected as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite the limitations of lower leg portion and upper leg portion. However, the specification fails to disclose a lower leg portion and an upper leg portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lawson (9,700,140).
Regarding claim 1, Lawson discloses a powered chair, comprising: a chair frame ; a backrest assembly 14; a seat assembly 12; a footrest assembly 16; a linkage system 100; and a linear actuator 300 operatively connected to said backrest assembly, said seat assembly, and said footrest assembly for actuating said backrest assembly, said seat assembly, and said footrest assembly between various positions, including a seated/upright position, an extended position, and a reclined position (see figures 1-3); wherein said seat assembly comprises a pair of oppositely disposed seat plates 400 wherein each one of said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates has a substantially V or L-shaped configuration wherein a rearward leg of said V or L-shaped seat plate comprises a lower leq portion, an upper leg portion of a size substantially equal to said lower leq portion, and a central, substantially horizontally extending portion interconnecting said lower leg portion and said upper leg portion such that said rearward leg of each one of said V or L-shaped seat plate has a distorted or elongated N or Z-shaped configuration which along with said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates, can accommodate an enlarged chair seat for, in turn, accommodating large or tall chair users (see figure A below).
Regarding claim 8, Lawson discloses a powered chair, comprising: a chair frame ; a backrest assembly 14; a seat assembly 12; a footrest assembly 16; a linkage system 100; and a linear actuator 1818 operatively connected to said backrest assembly, said seat assembly, and said footrest assembly for actuating said backrest assembly, said seat assembly, and said footrest assembly between various positions, including a seated/upright position, an zero-gravity position, and a reclined position (see figures 1-3); wherein said seat assembly comprises a pair of oppositely disposed seat plates 400 wherein each one of said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates has a substantially V or L-shaped configuration wherein a rearward leg of said V or L-shaped seat plate comprises a lower leg portion, an upper leg portion of a size substantially equal to said lower leg portion, and a central, substantially horizontally extending portion interconnecting said lower leg portion and said upper leg portion such that said rearward leg of each one of said V or L-shaped seat plate has a distorted or elongated N or Z-shaped configuration which along with said pair of oppositely disposed seat plates, can accommodate an enlarged chair seat for, in turn, accommodating large or tall chair users (see figure A below).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Lawson discloses said backrest assembly comprises a pair of oppositely disposed backrest mounting brackets 510 for mounting a backrest thereon and which can be moved between upright positions and reclined positions.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Lawson disclose said seat assembly is movable between a lowered, non-reclined position and an elevated, reclined position such that said seat assembly can attain a zero-gravity disposition (figures 8D, 9).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Lawson discloses said seat assembly is disposed at said elevated, reclined, zero-gravity disposition, said footrest assembly will be disposed at an elevational level which is higher than that of said backrest assembly, thereby permitting said chair to achieve said zero-gravity disposition (figures 8D, 9).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Lawson discloses said seat assembly is disposed at said elevated, reclined, zero-gravity position, a front end portion of said seat assembly will be disposed at a higher elevation than a rear end portion of said seat assembly (figures 8D, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson in view of Griggs, Jr. (9,277,823).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Griggs, Jr. discloses said linear actuator comprises a motor 113, a lead screw housing 109, and a slide member 105 slidably mounted upon and operatively engaged with a lead screw 107 disposed within said lead screw housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Griggs, Jr. and use the linear actuator in the invention of the Lawson because it is compact, efficient and easy to use.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Lawson as modified discloses said chair frame comprises forward 610 and rearward 620 cross-bar members; said motor of said linear actuator is fixedly mounted upon said forward cross-bar member; and said lead screw housing of said linear actuator is fixedly mounted upon said rearward cross-bar member.
[AltContent: textbox (Lower leg portion)][AltContent: textbox (Upper leg portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Figure A
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SYED A ISLAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636