DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 114373900), Wu (CN 114497525), Sugiyama (US 2021/0119207), or Koga et al. (JP 2008-84652).
Note: copies of the above international publications and their translations that the following rejections are relying on are recorded by Applicant.
Wu (CN 114373900) discloses a composite electrode active material comprising a core comprising a first compound Li 1-a Co 1-a Aa O2 containing R-3m crystal phase structure (corresponding to the O3 structure), wherein 0≤b<0.1, 0≤a<0.15, A is selected from Al, Mg, Ti, Mn, Fe, Ni, at least one of Zn, Cu or Nb, and shell deposited on the core comprising a second compound Lix Naz Co1-y MyO2, wherein 0.6<x<0.95, 0≤y<0.15, 0≤ z <0.03, and M is selected from Al, Mg, Ti, Mn, Fe, at least one of Ni, Zn, Cu or Nb and having P63mc crystal phase structure (corresponding to the O2 structure). The mass ratio of the core to the shell is 99:1-8-:20. In example 2-3, the core material has a diameter of 18 µm. Moreover, a positive electrode comprising the active material, a conductive agent and a binder is disclosed. Since the two materials have the claimed crystal structures, the features of claim 8 relating to the peak positions in the XRD powder pattern are regarded as being implicitly disclosed.
Wu (CN 114497525) discloses a Lix Naz Co1-y My O2 cathode active material with M = Al, Mg, Ti, comprising a P63mc crystal structure and a R-3m crystal structure. The ratio of the two compounds is determined by the peak intensity ratio of the (0020 crystal plane of the P63mc phase compound and the (003) crystal plane of the R-3m phase compound. In example 2-1, said ratio is 0.2. Also examples 1-2 to 1-4 have a ratio falling within the claimed range. Moreover, a positive electrode comprising the active material, a conductive agent and a binder in a weight ratio of 97:1.4;1.6 is disclosed. Since the two materials have the claimed crystal structures, the features of claim 8 relating to the peak positions in the XRD powder pattern are regarded as being implicitly disclosed.
Sugiyama (US 2021/0119207) discloses (in particular paragraphs [0048], [0050], [0114]; example 1; table 1) a layered cathode active material having a multi-phase of the O2 structure (crystal structure is P63mc) and the O3 structure (crystal structure is R-3m) in a single particle thereof. The ratio O2 structure / O3 structure is 0.1 – 3.0. The material prepared in the example 1 has the following composition Li0.7 Mn0.4 Ni0.2 Co0.3 Al0.1 O2. Moreover, a positive electrode comprising the active material, a conductive agent and a binder in a weight ratio of 85:10:56 is disclosed. Since the two materials have the claimed crystal structure, the features of the claim 8 relating to the peak positions in the XRD powder pattern are regarded as being implicitly disclosed.
Koga et al. (JP 2008-84652) discloses a positive electrode active material comprising an oxide having an O3 structure and an oxide having an O2 structure, in which O3-LiCoO2 and O2-LiCoO2 were mixed at a weight ratio of 8:2, for example. Moreover, a positive electrode comprising 90 wt% of the active material, 5 wt% of a conductive agent and 5 wt% of a binder is disclosed. Since the two materials have the claimed crystal structures, the features of claim 8 relating to the peak positions in the XRD powder pattern are regarded as being implicitly disclosed.
Therefore, as to claim 1, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose a positive electrode material, comprising lithium cobalt oxide with an O3 phase structure and lithium cobalt oxide with an O2 phase structure
As to claim 2, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose based on a total weight of the positive electrode material, a weight content of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure ranges from 60 wt % to 95 wt %; and/or based on a total weight of the positive electrode material, a weight content of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure ranges from 5 wt % to 40 wt %.
As to claim 3, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach based on a total weight of the positive electrode material, a weight content of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure ranges from 70 wt % to 90 wt %; and/or based on a total weight of the positive electrode material, a weight content of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure ranges from 10 wt % to 30 wt %.
As to claim 4, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure comprises lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure in an Me-element bulk phase, and Me comprises at least one of Al, Mg, Ti, or Mn; and/or the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure comprises lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure that undergoes M.sup.1 element bulk phase doping and M.sup.2.sub.aO.sub.b surface coating treatment, wherein M.sup.1 and M.sup.2 are the same or different, and each of M.sup.1 and M.sup.2 is at least one of Al, Mg, Ti, Zr, La, Y, Ce, Te, Nb, or W.
As to claim 5, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach a chemical formula of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure is Li.sub.xNa.sub.yCo.sub.1-zMe.sub.zO.sub.2, wherein 0.95<x<1.3, 0<y≤0.03, 0≤z≤0.05, and Me is at least one of Al, Mg, Ti, or Mn; and/or the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure has a core-shell structure, comprising a shell layer and a core, the core comprises a material with a chemical formula of Li.sub.x′Co.sub.1-z′M.sup.1.sub.z′O.sub.2, and the shell layer comprises a material with a chemical formula of M.sup.2.sub.aO.sub.b; wherein 0.85<x′<1.3, 0≤z′≤0.05, a and b satisfy chemical formula valency conservation, M.sup.1 and M.sup.2 are the same or different, and each of M.sup.1 and M.sup.2 is at least one of Al, Mg, Ti, Zr, La, Y, Ce, Te, Nb, or W.
As to claim 6, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose in the chemical formula of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure, 0<z≤0.05.
As to claim 7, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach the chemical formula of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure is
Li.sub.1.02Na.sub.0.01Co.sub.0.96Al.sub.0.04O.sub.2, Li.sub.1.01Na.sub.0.02Co.sub.0.96Al.sub.0.035Mg.sub.0.005O.sub.2, Li.sub.1.0Na.sub.0.025Co.sub.0.96Al.sub.0.037Ti.sub.0.003O.sub.2, Li.sub.0.9Na.sub.0.02Co.sub.0.96Al.sub.0.038Mn.sub.0.002O.sub.2, or Li.sub.0.95Na.sub.0.02Co.sub.0.993Al.sub.0.005Mg.sub.0.001Ti.sub.0.001O.sub.2; and/or the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure has a core-shell structure, comprising a shell layer and a core, wherein the core comprises a material with a chemical formula of LiCo.sub.0.993Al.sub.0.005Mg.sub.0.001Ti.sub.0.001O.sub.2, and the shell layer comprises a material comprising TiO.sub.2, WO.sub.3, and Y.sub.2O.sub.3.
As to claim 8, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose based on a total weight of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure, a weight content of the shell layer ranges from 0.05 wt % to 2 wt %.
As to claim 9, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach a median particle size D50 of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure ranges from 15.5 μm to 18 μm, and/or a median particle size D50 of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O2 phase structure ranges from 7 μm to 10 μm.
As to claim 10, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose through an X-ray diffraction test, the positive electrode material has all characteristic peaks of an XRD spectrum of the lithium cobalt oxide with the O3 phase structure, and the positive electrode material further comprises a (002) characteristic peak, a (102) characteristic peak, and a (103) characteristic peak, and ranges of diffraction angles 2θ of the characteristic peaks are respectively: 18.0<2θ.sub.(002)<19.4, 41.2<2θ.sub.(102)<42.2, 46.5<2θ.sub.(103)<47.5.
As to claim 11, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach a median particle size D50 of the positive electrode material ranges from 12 μm to 17 μm.
As to claim 12, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose a positive electrode plate, comprising the positive electrode material according to claim 1.
As to claim 13, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one surface of the positive electrode current collector, and the positive electrode active material layer comprises the positive electrode material.
As to claim 14, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose the positive electrode active material layer further comprises a conductive agent and a binder, and mass percentages of components in the positive electrode active material layer are: the positive electrode material ranging from 70 wt % to 99 wt %, the conductive agent ranging from 0.5 wt % to 15 wt %, and the binder ranging from 0.5 wt % to 15 wt %.
As to claim 15, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach the mass percentages of the components in the positive electrode active material layer are: the positive electrode material ranging from 80 wt % to 98 wt %, the conductive agent ranging from 1 wt % to 10 wt %, and the binder ranging from 1 wt % to 10 wt %.
As to claim 16, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose the mass percentages of the components in the positive electrode active material layer are: the positive electrode material ranging from 90 wt % to 98 wt %, the conductive agent ranging from 1 wt % to 5 wt %, and the binder ranging from 1 wt % to 5 wt %.
As to claim 17, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach the mass percentages of the components in the positive electrode active material layer are: the positive electrode material ranging from 90 wt % to 96 wt %, the conductive agent ranging from 2 wt % to 5 wt %, and the binder ranging from 2 wt % to 5 wt %.
As to claim 18, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) disclose a battery, comprising the positive electrode plate according to claim 12.
As to claim 19, Wu (CN ‘900), Wu (CN ‘525), Sugiyama (US ‘207), or Koga et al. (US ‘652) teach a charge cut-off voltage of the battery is greater than or equal to 4.5 V.
Correspondence Information
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754 09/28/2026