DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This action is in response to the U.S. filing dated 16 July 2024 which is a bypass continuation of PCT/CN2022/124985, dated 12 October 2022, which is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/095903, dated 30 May 2022. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 13 June 2025 has been received, entered into the record, and considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 20 recites “inputting the handwriting on the first annotation layer into the interface of the writing application for being displayed”, examiner suggests “inputting the handwriting on the first annotation layer into the interface of the writing application for display”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1).
As for independent claim 11, Lee discloses a method comprising:
wherein the interactive white board comprises a touch sensitive display screen [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0012, 0038) ”The display apparatus may be implemented as an electronic whiteboard … the electronic whiteboard means an electronic device that includes a touch screen panel implemented as an infrared touch screen using an IR sensor, a surface acoustic wave touch screen, a resistive touch screen (or a pressure sensitive type), a capacitive touch screen, or the like”].
receiving first touch data and a first vibration wave signal when a first touch object performs a first movement operation on the touch sensitive display screen [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0038, 0078 and Fig. 3A) ”As shown in FIG. 3A, the sensor 120 provided on the electronic whiteboard may detect the touch by the electronic pen 10 … a surface acoustic wave touch screen”].
determining that an operation on a surface of the touch sensitive display screen is a movement operation based on the first touch data, and determining that the first touch object is a stylus head based on the first vibration wave signal [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0074, 0078 and Fig. 3A) ”The sensor 120 provided in the display apparatus 100 may sense a touch to the display. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the touch type of the detected touch. In this case, the touch type means that the detected touch is classified based on a predetermined reference. The predetermined reference may be set variously such as the touch area, the touch object, and the touch pattern … As shown in FIG. 3A, the sensor 120 provided on the electronic whiteboard may detect the touch by the electronic pen 10. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the external input source corresponding to the touch type based on the matching information. In addition, the processor 150 may also determine that the touch type corresponds to the electronic whiteboard based on the matching information”].
overlaying and displaying an annotation application window of an annotation application on the first interface, and adding and displaying handwriting on the annotation application window based on the first touch data [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0080, 0081 and Fig. 3A) ”In this case, the processor 150 may execute a function according to the coordinate values corresponding to the touch performed by the electronic pen 10. Here, the function according to the coordinate value means the electronic board function. Specifically, the electronic whiteboard function may include a writing function (handwriting input function) … Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 3A, if it is determined that the touch type of the detected touch corresponds to the electronic whiteboard, the processor 150 may perform the writing function according to the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch”].
receiving second touch data and a second vibration wave signal when a second touch object performs a touch operation on the touch sensitive display screen [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0038, 0083, 0093 and Fig. 3B) ”According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information … a surface acoustic wave touch screen … The touch type may be classified based on the touch object. Here, the touch object refers to a matter to be touched. Specifically, the processor 150 may determine that the detected touch is the first touch type if the detected touch is performed by the first touch object, and determine the second touch type if the detected touch is performed by the second touch object”].
determining that the second touch object is a finger based on the second vibration wave signal [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0074, 0084 and Fig. 3B) ”The sensor 120 provided in the display apparatus 100 may sense a touch to the display. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the touch type of the detected touch. In this case, the touch type means that the detected touch is classified based on a predetermined reference. The predetermined reference may be set variously such as the touch area, the touch object, and the touch pattern … the processor 150 may determine that a touch performed by the finger 20 corresponds to the PC 200 among the external input sources 200 and 300 based on the matching information”].
and responding to the touch operation and updating a display content of the first interface based on the second touch data [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0083, 0084 and Fig. 3B) ” According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information. In this case, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the touch detected by the specific external input source. In addition, the processor 150 may also transmit the information corresponding to the coordinate values … For example, the processor 150 may determine that a touch performed by the finger 20 corresponds to the PC 200 among the external input sources 200 and 300 based on the matching information. Accordingly, if the screen 200-1 corresponding to the PC 200 is displayed”].
As for dependent claim 12, Lee discloses the method as described in claim 11 and Lee further discloses:
wherein before the overlaying and displaying the annotation application window of the annotation application on the first interface, and adding and displaying handwriting on the annotation application window based on the first touch data, the method further comprises: determining that the first touch data meets a first interception rule; and sending the first touch data to the annotation application, wherein the first interception rule is used to intercept touch data corresponding to a movement operation of a touch object of a specific material [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0092, 0093, 0094 and Fig. 5A) ”As shown in FIG. 5A, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the electronic whiteboard … The touch type may be classified based on the touch object. Here, the touch object refers to a matter to be touched. Specifically, the processor 150 may determine that the detected touch is the first touch type if the detected touch is performed by the first touch object, and determine the second touch type if the detected touch is performed by the second touch object … For example, it may be considered that the first touch type corresponds to the electronic whiteboard and the second touch type corresponds to the PC 200 based on the matching information. In this case, as shown in FIG. 5A, if the touch is performed by the electronic pen 10, the processor 150 may determine the detected touch as the first touch type. Accordingly, the processor 150 may execute the electronic whiteboard function based on the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch”].
As for dependent claim 13, Lee discloses the method as described in claim 12 and Lee further discloses:
wherein after overlaying and displaying the annotation application window of the annotation application on the first interface, and adding and displaying handwriting on the annotation application window based on the first touch data, the method further comprises: changing the first interception rule to a second interception rule, wherein the second interception rule is used to intercept touch data corresponding to a touch object of a specific material [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0093, 0095 and Fig. 5B) ”The touch type may be classified based on the touch object. Here, the touch object refers to a matter to be touched. Specifically, the processor 150 may determine that the detected touch is the first touch type if the detected touch is performed by the first touch object, and determine the second touch type if the detected touch is performed by the second touch object … as shown in 5b, the processor 150 may determine that the touch performed by the finger 20 is the second touch type. Accordingly, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch to the PC 200. However, the touch type according to the touch object may be changed by the setting of the user”].
As for dependent claim 14, Lee discloses the method as described in claim 13 and Lee further discloses:
wherein after responding to the touch operation and updating the display content of the first interface based on the second touch data, the method further comprises: determining that the second touch data does not meet the second interception rule; and sending the second touch data to a corresponding application on the first interface [(e.g. see Lee paragraph 0089, 0090) ”the area corresponding to the one finger 20 is within a predetermined range, and the processor 150 may determine that the touch performed by the finger 20 is the first touch type … In addition, as shown in FIG. 4B, an area corresponding to two fingers 30 exceeds a predetermined range, and the processor 150 may determine that the touch performed by the two fingers 30 is the second touch type. Accordingly, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch to the PC 200. However, the predetermined range of the touch area may be changed according to the setting of the user”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Roper et al. (US 2019/0369755 A1).
As for dependent claim 15, Lee teaches the method as described in claim 11, but does not specifically teach further comprising: receiving third touch data and a third vibration wave signal when a third touch object performs a touch operation on the touch sensitive display screen; wherein the touch operation comprises a clicking operation and a movement operation; determining that the third touch object is a stylus tail based on the third vibration wave signal; and erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Roper teaches:
further comprising: receiving third touch data and a third vibration wave signal when a third touch object performs a touch operation on the touch sensitive display screen; wherein the touch operation comprises a clicking operation and a movement operation; determining that the third touch object is a stylus tail based on the third vibration wave signal; and erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data [(e.g. see Roper paragraphs 0165, 0261 and Fig. 8E-F) ”movement of a component (e.g., the housing of stylus 203) is, optionally, interpreted by the user as a “click” of a physical actuator button. In some cases, a user will feel a tactile sensation such as a “click” … In response to detecting that the stylus 203 is held according to the third grip arrangement 855, in FIGS. 8E-8F, the electronic device 100 displays the indicator 852 associated with a third markup tool (e.g., an eraser) within the user interface 800. As shown in FIG. 8F, the electronic device 100 displays a third change 860 to the user interface 800 (e.g., a stroke or mark) based on the input 810 in FIG. 8E and the third markup tool associated with the third grip arrangement 855 (e.g., the eraser)”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee and Roper, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add further comprising: receiving third touch data and a third vibration wave signal when a third touch object performs a touch operation on the touch sensitive display screen; wherein the touch operation comprises a clicking operation and a movement operation; determining that the third touch object is a stylus tail based on the third vibration wave signal; and erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data, as taught by Roper, to the teachings of Lee because it enhances the operability of the electronic device and makes the electronic device interface more efficient by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when interacting with the electronic device (e.g. see Roper paragraph 0348).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Roper et al. (US 2019/0369755 A1), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Perrin et al. (US 2016/0154555 A1).
As for dependent claim 16, Lee and Roper teach the method as described in claim 15, but do not specifically teach wherein before erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data, the method further comprises: determining that the third touch data meets a preset second interception rule; and sending the second touch data to the annotation application. However, in the same field of invention, Perrin teaches:
wherein before erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data, the method further comprises: determining that the third touch data meets a preset second interception rule; and sending the second touch data to the annotation application [(e.g. see Perrin paragraph 0056 and Fig. 13) ”FIG. 13 shows another UI for providing input to a device to then automatically launch an application and execute a function based on the input in accordance with present principles. A home screen UI 1300 is shown. Input indicating “Nolan Ryan” has been received by the device, causing a representation 1302 of the input to be presented on a handwriting space UI 1304. However, in this instance a user has pro vided the input to an area of the home screen UI 1300 not presenting an area associated with an application other than the home screen application. In such an instance, the device may he configured to, after receipt of the input corresponding to representation 1302, receive input represented by tracing 1306 which may be a line, arrow, and/or tracing from at or near (e.g. within a threshold distance of) the UI 1304 to an icon 1308 which is associated with an application the user desires to launch and have the input “Nolan Ryan” e.g. converted into data for use].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee, Roper and Perrin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein before erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data, the method further comprises: determining that the third touch data meets a preset second interception rule; and sending the second touch data to the annotation application, as taught by Perrin, to the teachings of Lee and Roper because it allows for a function that would not otherwise be performed upon launching the application without additional input from a user subsequent to launch (e.g. Perrin paragraph 0004).
As for dependent claim 17, Lee, Roper and Perrin teach the method as described in claim 15, but Lee does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Roper teaches:
wherein the erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data comprises: the erasing the handwriting on the annotation application window based on the third touch data; and displaying an erasing identification symbol during a process of erasing the handwriting [(e.g. see Roper paragraphs 0260, 0261 and Figs. 8E-F) ”The third grip arrangement 855 corresponds to holding the stylus 203 in an upside-down orientation (e.g., the tip 276 of the stylus 203 pointed away from the electronic device 100) near the end 277 of the stylus 203 opposite the tip 276 of the stylus 203 … In response to detecting that the stylus 203 is held according to the third grip arrangement 855, in FIGS. 8E-8F, the electronic device 100 displays the indicator 852 associated with a third markup tool (e.g., an eraser) within the user interface 800”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 15.
As for dependent claim 18, Lee, Roper and Perrin teach the method as described in claim 15, but Lee and Roper do not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Perrin teaches:
further comprising: in response to that all handwriting on the annotation application window is erased, no longer displaying the annotation application window [(e.g. see Perrin paragraph 0050) ”the user may strike through the text 1002 (e.g., using their linger or a stylus, the user may contact the display at the text 1002 and draw horizontally through it) which, after e.g. a threshold time following the strikethrough may cause the word Tokyo to disappear and leave a blank version of the UI 1000 for providing input thereto”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 16.
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2017/0075457 A1).
As for independent claim 1, Lee teaches a method comprising:
wherein the interactive whiteboard comprises a touch sensitive display screen and an acoustic vibration sensor, the touch sensitive display screen is configured to detect position information of a touch object, the acoustic vibration sensor is configured to detect a vibration wave signal, and the vibration wave signal is used to determine a medium type of the touch object [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0012, 0038, 0074) ”The display apparatus may be implemented as an electronic whiteboard … the electronic whiteboard means an electronic device that includes a touch screen panel implemented as an infrared touch screen using an IR sensor, a surface acoustic wave touch screen, a resistive touch screen (or a pressure sensitive type), a capacitive touch screen, or the like … The sensor 120 provided in the display apparatus 100 may sense a touch to the display. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the touch type of the detected touch. In this case, the touch type means that the detected touch is classified based on a predetermined reference. The predetermined reference may be set variously such as … the touch object”].
displaying a document presentation interface on the touch sensitive display screen [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0041, 0048) ”the display 110 may display various contents such as … documents … a graphical user interface (hereinafter, referred to as GUI) associated with the applications … document”].
receiving a first sensing data of a touch object performing a first operation of the document presentation interface, wherein the first sensing data comprises a first position information detected by the touch sensitive display screen and a first vibration wave signal detected by the acoustic vibration sensor [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0038, 0078 and Fig. 3A) ”As shown in FIG. 3A, the sensor 120 provided on the electronic whiteboard may detect the touch by the electronic pen 10 … a surface acoustic wave touch screen”].
determining based on the first position information that the first operation is a movement operation, and determining based on the first vibration wave signal that the medium type of the touch object is a preset first medium type, wherein the preset first medium type is a medium type of a stylus head [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0074, 0078 and Fig. 3A) ”The sensor 120 provided in the display apparatus 100 may sense a touch to the display. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the touch type of the detected touch. In this case, the touch type means that the detected touch is classified based on a predetermined reference. The predetermined reference may be set variously such as the touch area, the touch object, and the touch pattern … As shown in FIG. 3A, the sensor 120 provided on the electronic whiteboard may detect the touch by the electronic pen 10. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the external input source corresponding to the touch type based on the matching information. In addition, the processor 150 may also determine that the touch type corresponds to the electronic whiteboard based on the matching information”].
adding a first annotation layer of the document presentation interface, and adding handwriting on the first annotation layer based on the first position information [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0080, 0081 and Fig. 3A) ”In this case, the processor 150 may execute a function according to the coordinate values corresponding to the touch performed by the electronic pen 10. Here, the function according to the coordinate value means the electronic board function. Specifically, the electronic whiteboard function may include a writing function (handwriting input function) … Accordingly, as shown in FIG. 3A, if it is determined that the touch type of the detected touch corresponds to the electronic whiteboard, the processor 150 may perform the writing function according to the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch”].
receiving second sensing data related to the touch object performing a second operation on the first annotation layer, wherein the second sensing data comprises second position information detected by the touch sensitive display screen and a second vibration wave signal detected by the acoustic vibration sensor [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0038, 0083, 0093 and Fig. 3B) ”According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information … a surface acoustic wave touch screen … The touch type may be classified based on the touch object. Here, the touch object refers to a matter to be touched. Specifically, the processor 150 may determine that the detected touch is the first touch type if the detected touch is performed by the first touch object, and determine the second touch type if the detected touch is performed by the second touch object”]
in a case of determining that the medium type of the touch object is the preset first medium type based on the second vibration wave signal, adding corresponding handwriting on the first annotation layer based on the second position information; or in a case of determining that the medium type of the touch object is a preset third medium type based on the second vibration wave signal and determining that the second operation is a clicking operation based on the second position information, maintaining a display content of the first annotation layer, and sending the second position information to a document presentation application of the document presentation interface, wherein the preset third medium type is a medium type of a finger [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0083, 0084 and Fig. 3B) ”The sensor 120 provided in the display apparatus 100 may sense a touch to the display. In this case, the processor 150 may determine the touch type of the detected touch. In this case, the touch type means that the detected touch is classified based on a predetermined reference. The predetermined reference may be set variously such as … the touch object … According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information. In this case, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the touch detected by the specific external input source. In addition, the processor 150 may also transmit the information corresponding to the coordinate values … For example, the processor 150 may determine that a touch performed by the finger 20 corresponds to the PC 200 among the external input sources 200 and 300 based on the matching information. Accordingly, if the screen 200-1 corresponding to the PC 200 is displayed”].
Lee does not specifically teach configuring a window style of the first annotation layer to be impenetrable or configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be penetrable. However, in the same field of invention, Hayashi teaches:
configuring a window style of the first annotation layer to be impenetrable [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraphs 0097, 0098 and Fig. 6) ”FIG. 6 represent a case where a drawing region A1 is displayed on the touch panel 2 and the user desires to draw a picture with the electronic pen 4 within the drawing region A1 … “inside of the designated region” as a limitation target region and selects “finger” as a limitation target input tool … the calculated value C1 supplied from the position calculating unit 17 indicates a position within the designated region R1, the control unit 18 performs processing while ignoring the calculated value C1. Even when the finger 6 of the user touches the region within the designated region R1, the touch is entirely ignored. The user can, therefore, enjoy drawing with the electronic pen 4 without being bothered by an erroneous operation caused by the touching of the finger 6”].
configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be penetrable [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraphs 0103, 0111, 0112) ”a “cancel” button. One pop-up display is shown in FIG. 10 that permits the user to select the limitation target region, select the limitation target input tool, and select whether or not to execution execute the selection … when the “cancel” button is depressed on the pop-up screen (i.e., “cancel” determination in step S5), the control unit 18 ends the processing … the control unit 18 discards the stored indicated positions (step S11). The control unit 18 then ends the processing”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee and Hayashi, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add configuring a window style of the first annotation layer to be impenetrable and configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be penetrable, as taught by Hayashi, to the teachings of Lee because it allows the user to enjoy drawing with the electronic pen without being bothered by an erroneous operation caused by the touching of a finger (e.g. see Hayashi paragraph 0098).
As for dependent claim 3, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 1, but Lee does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Hayashi teaches:
wherein after receiving the first sensing data of the touch object performing the first operation of the document presentation interface, the method further comprises: in a case of determining that the first operation is a clicking operation based on the first position information, updating the display content of the document presentation interface based on the clicking operation [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraphs 0103, 0104, 0110) ”a designated region is performed by drawing a rectangular region with the electronic pen 4 while pressing the side switch 5. The control unit 18 in the present example first detects whether the user is touching the electronic pen 4 to the panel surface while pressing the side switch 5. The detection is performed based on the calculated value C2 and the pen information supplied from the position calculating unit 17 (step S10). The control unit 18 is configured to store positions indicated by the electronic pen 4 in the storage device … When a rectangular region is formed, on the other hand, the control unit 18 receives, as a designated region, the rectangular region formed by the series of stored indicated positions. The control unit 18 then proceeds to step S2 in FIG. 9 … Referring back to FIG. 9, in region designation reception processing (step S1), the control unit 18 displays data (first display data) corresponding to the designated region (steps S2 and S3)”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for dependent claim 4, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 1 and Lee further teaches:
wherein the document presentation application acquires a target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information and updates the display content of the document presentation interface [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0048, 0083 and Fig. 3B) ”graphical user interface (hereinafter, referred to as GUI) associated with the applications, objects (for example, image text, icon, button, etc.) for providing the GUI, user information, document, databases, or related data … According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information. In this case, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the touch detected by the specific external input source. In addition, the processor 150 may also transmit the information corresponding to the coordinate values”].
As for dependent claim 5, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 4 and Lee further teaches:
wherein the document presentation interface displays a hyperlink, the document presentation application acquiring the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information, and updating the display content of the document presentation interface comprises: in response to that the document presentation application determines that the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface is a hyperlink based on the second position information, opening the hyperlink, and updating the display content of the document presentation interface [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0048, 0083 and Fig. 3B) ”graphical user interface (hereinafter, referred to as GUI) associated with the applications, objects (for example, image text, icon, button, etc.) for providing the GUI, user information, document, databases, or related data … According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information. In this case, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the touch detected by the specific external input source. In addition, the processor 150 may also transmit the information corresponding to the coordinate values”]. Examiner notes that, as depicted in Fig. 3B, the selection opens a browser window for the selected webpage.
As for dependent claim 7, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 1 and Lee further teaches:
wherein before displaying the document presentation interface on the touch sensitive display screen, the method further comprises: receiving first screen casting data transmitted by a terminal device; and displaying the document presentation interface on the touch sensitive display screen based on the first screen casting data [(e.g. see Lee paragraph 0035 and Fig. 1) ”as illustrated in FIG. 1, the display apparatus 100 may simultaneously display the screen 100-1 corresponding to the display apparatus 100 and the screen corresponding to the external input sources 200 and 300. Specifically, the display apparatus 100 may display the screens corresponding to the external input sources 200 and 300”].
As for dependent claim 10, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 1, but Lee does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Hayashi teaches:
further comprising: configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be penetrable after operations corresponding to the preset first medium type are completed [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraph 0111, 0112) ”The pop-up display includes an “enter” button, and a “cancel” button. One pop-up display is shown in FIG. 10 that permits the user to select the limitation target region, select the limitation target input tool, and select whether or not to execution execute the selection … when the “cancel” button is depressed on the pop-up screen (i.e., “cancel” determination in step S5), the control unit 18 ends the processing”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
As for independent claim 19, Lee and Hayashi teach a method. Claim 19 discloses substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected with the same rational as claim 1. Further, Lee teaches a desktop icon interface [(e.g. see Lee paragraph 0048) ”a graphical user interface (hereinafter, referred to as GUI) associated with the applications, objects (for example, image text, icon, button, etc.) for providing the GUI”].
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2017/0075457 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Roper et al. (US 2019/0369755 A1).
As for dependent claim 2, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 1, but Lee does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Hayashi teaches:
wherein after receiving the second sensing data related to the touch object performing the second operation on the first annotation layer, the method further comprises: in a case of determining that the medium type of the touch object is a preset second medium type based on the second vibration wave signal, configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be impenetrable, and responding to the second sensing data by the first annotation layer [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraphs 0103, 0104) ”a designated region is performed by drawing a rectangular region with the electronic pen 4 while pressing the side switch 5. The control unit 18 in the present example first detects whether the user is touching the electronic pen 4 to the panel surface while pressing the side switch 5. The detection is performed based on the calculated value C2 and the pen information supplied from the position calculating unit 17 (step S10). The control unit 18 is configured to store positions indicated by the electronic pen 4 in the storage device … When a rectangular region is formed, on the other hand, the control unit 18 receives, as a designated region, the rectangular region formed by the series of stored indicated positions”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
Lee and Hayashi do not specifically teach wherein the preset second medium type is a medium type of a stylus tail; and erasing the corresponding handwriting on the first annotation layer based on the second position information. However, in the same field of invention or solving similar problems, Roper teaches:
wherein the preset second medium type is a medium type of a stylus tail; and erasing the corresponding handwriting on the first annotation layer based on the second position information [(e.g. see Roper paragraph 0260, 0261 and Fig. 8E-F) ”The third grip arrangement 855 corresponds to holding the stylus 203 in an upside-down orientation (e.g., the tip 276 of the stylus 203 pointed away from the electronic device 100) near the end 277 of the stylus 203 opposite the tip 276 of the stylus 203 … In response to detecting that the stylus 203 is held according to the third grip arrangement 855, in FIGS. 8E-8F, the electronic device 100 displays the indicator 852 associated with a third markup tool (e.g., an eraser) within the user interface 800. As shown in FIG. 8F, the electronic device 100 displays a third change 860 to the user interface 800 (e.g., a stroke or mark) based on the input 810 in FIG. 8E and the third markup tool associated with the third grip arrangement 855 (e.g., the eraser)”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee, Hayashi and Roper, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the preset second medium type is a medium type of a stylus tail; and erasing the corresponding handwriting on the first annotation layer based on the second position information, as taught by Roper, to the teachings of Lee and Hayashi because it enhances the operability of the electronic device and makes the electronic device interface more efficient by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing user mistakes when interacting with the electronic device (e.g. see Roper paragraph 0348).
As for dependent claim 9, Lee, Hayashi and Roper teach the method as described in claim 2, but Lee does not specifically teach the following limitation. However, Hayashi teaches:
further comprising: configuring the window style of the first annotation layer to be penetrable after operations corresponding to the preset second medium type are completed [(e.g. see Hayashi paragraphs 0105, 0106) ”When a positive determination in step S20 is made, on the other hand, the control unit 18 obtains a position indicated by the finger 6 at that time from the calculated value C1, and stores the position indicated by the finger 6 in the storage device (step S22). Then, the control unit 18 refers to a series of stored indicated positions, and determines whether or not those indicated positions constitute a rectangular region (step S23). When a result of the determination does not indicate that a rectangular region is formed, the control unit 18 returns to step S20 … When a negative determination is made in step S20, the control unit 18 discards stored indicated positions (step S21). The control unit 18 then ends the processing”].
The motivation to combine is the same as that used for claim 1.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2017/0075457 A1), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Rosenberg et al. (US 9,785,272 B1).
As for dependent claim 6, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 4, but do not specifically teach wherein the document presentation interface displays a page turning control, the document presentation application acquiring the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information, and updating the display content of the document presentation interface comprises: in response to that the document presentation application determines that the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface is a page turning control based on the second position information, opening the presentation page corresponding to the page turning control, and updating the display content of the presentation interface. However, in the same field of invention, Rosenberg teaches:
wherein the document presentation interface displays a page turning control, the document presentation application acquiring the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information, and updating the display content of the document presentation interface comprises: in response to that the document presentation application determines that the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface is a page turning control based on the second position information, opening the presentation page corresponding to the page turning control, and updating the display content of the presentation interface [(e.g. see Rosenberg col 6 lines 54-56, col 13 lines 32-42) ”These user actuable controls 210 may have dedicated or assignable operations. For instance, the actuable controls may include page turning buttons … FIG. 13 illustrates the electronic device 100 having multiple regions 1300 and different biasing for characterization of input within those areas. In this illustration a first region 1302 extends around a perimeter or border of the touch sensor 102. Within this first region, touches are most likely finger touches and may be biased accordingly. For example, the input module 106 may consider touches within this area more likely to be holding touches, or associated with a particular subset of gestures, such as page turn commands for an eBook”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee, Hayashi and Rosenberg, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the document presentation interface displays a page turning control, the document presentation application acquiring the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information, and updating the display content of the document presentation interface comprises: in response to that the document presentation application determines that the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface is a page turning control based on the second position information, opening the presentation page corresponding to the page turning control, and updating the display content of the presentation interface, as taught by Rosenberg, to the teachings of Lee and Hayashi because it allows for distinguishing intentional and unintentional touches (e.g. see Rosenberg col 3 lines 1-2).
As for dependent claim 8, Lee, Hayashi and Rosenberg teach the method as described in claim 6 and Lee further teaches:
wherein sending the second position information to the corresponding document presentation application of the document presentation interface causes the document presentation application to acquire the target clicked by the second operation of the document presentation interface based on the second position information, and update the display content of the document presentation interface by: generating operation data based on the target clicked in the document presentation interface of the second operation, and sending the operation data to a terminal device; receiving second screen casting data transmitted by the terminal device, wherein the second screen casting data are acquired by the terminal device in response to the operation data; and updating the display content of the document presentation interface based on the second screen casting data [(e.g. see Lee paragraphs 0083, 0084 and Fig. 3B) ”According to FIG. 3B, the processor 150 may determine that the touch type corresponds to the specific external input source, based on the matching information. In this case, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the touch detected by the specific external input source. In addition, the processor 150 may also transmit the information corresponding to the coordinate values … For example, the processor 150 may determine that a touch performed by the finger 20 corresponds to the PC 200 among the external input sources 200 and 300 based on the matching information. Accordingly, if the screen 200-1 corresponding to the PC 200 is displayed and it is determined that the touch type corresponds to the PC 200 among the external input sources 200 and 300, the processor 150 may transmit the coordinate values corresponding to the detected touch to the PC 200”].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2018/0173395 A1) in view of Hayashi (US 2017/0075457 A1), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Perrin et al. (US 2016/0154555 A1).
As for dependent claim 20, Lee and Hayashi teach the method as described in claim 19, but do not specifically teach wherein the application icon corresponding to the second position information is a writing application icon; the desktop launcher opens the corresponding application interface based on the application icon corresponding to the second position information, comprises: the desktop launcher opens an interface of the writing application, closing the first annotation layer, and inputting the handwriting on the first annotation layer into the interface of the writing application for being displayed. However, in the same field of invention, Perrin teaches:
wherein the application icon corresponding to the second position information is a writing application icon; the desktop launcher opens the corresponding application interface based on the application icon corresponding to the second position information, comprises: the desktop launcher opens an interface of the writing application, closing the first annotation layer, and inputting the handwriting on the first annotation layer into the interface of the writing application for being displayed [(e.g. see Perrin paragraphs 0035, 0039) ”a “home screen application” for simplicity) and presents a user interface (UI) associated therewith. The home screen UI may be e.g. the default UI presented upon powering on the device and may present e.g. one or more icons, tiles, and/or other area and selector elements that are selectable to initiate other applications (e.g. besides the home screen application) stored on the system 100, as well as e.g. widgets. After block 300, the logic proceeds to block 302 where the logic monitors for touch and/or stylus input to the home screen UI, such as e.g. to select an icon presented on the home screen UI to launch an application associated therewith, and/or to receive other input such as the first input received at block 304 which may be e.g. handwriting input using a body part and/or stylus to the home screen UI … At diamond 316 the logic identifies an application to initiate and/or launch (e.g. a map application, a weather application, a music player application, or a search application) based on the area of the home screen UI to which at least a portion of the first input was directed. The identification of an application to initiate will he discussed further in reference to FIG. 4. Still in reference to block 316, also thereat the logic converts the first input that was received to data and/or at least one parameter for performing a search based on the data using the identified application”].
Therefore, considering the teachings of Lee, Hayashi and Perrin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the application icon corresponding to the second position information is a writing application icon; the desktop launcher opens the corresponding application interface based on the application icon corresponding to the second position information, comprises: the desktop launcher opens an interface of the writing application, closing the first annotation layer, and inputting the handwriting on the first annotation layer into the interface of the writing application for being displayed, as taught by Perrin, to the teachings of Lee and Hayashi because it allows for a function that would not otherwise be performed upon launching the application without additional input from a user subsequent to launch (e.g. Perrin paragraph 0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PGPub 2021/0055808 A1 issued to Kato on 25 February 2021. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g. differentiating between stylus and finger input).
U.S. PGPub 2007/0152976 A1 issued to Townsend et al. on 05 July 2007. The subject matter disclosed therein is pertinent to that of claims 1-20 (e.g. rejecting touch input when using a stylus).
Contact Information
/CHRISTOPHER J FIBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174