DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites structure of the insert in combination with a cross-brace which renders the scope of the claim unclear as to whether the claims are directed to the insert or to the combination of the insert and a cross-brace.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 4,238,069 to Morris, Jr (Morris).
Regarding claim 1, Morris discloses a tub insert (Fig 3) for a washing machine (intended use), the insert comprising a body shaped to engage a washing machine as recited, transition panels (26) operatively connected to a top edge of the tub insert body on opposite sides of the body and cross-brace support panels (28) operatively connected to a corresponding one of the transition panels at a support panel bottom edge, each of the cross-brace support panels (28) having a cross-brace opening (33) for receiving a cross-brace (intended use), wherein the support panels are capable of extending through a gap of a washing machine as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 15, Morris discloses a top insert (Fig 2) for a washing machine (intended use), the insert comprising a bottom wall (11) having a front wall edge, rear wall edge opposite front wall edge, oppositely disposed side wall edges extending between front wall edge and rear wall edge (Fig 3), front wall (13) extending upward from front wall edge and having oppositely disposed front wall side edges and front wall top edge opposite front wall edge, a rear wall (13) extending upward from rear wall edge and having oppositely disposed rear wall side edges and rear wall top edge opposite front wall edge, oppositely disposed side walls (12) each extending upward from one of the side wall edges, each side wall having a side wall front edge, side wall rear edge opposite the side wall front edge, side wall top edge opposite the side wall edge (Fig 3), wherein the bottom wall, front wall, rear wall and side walls form a tub insert body when each of front wall side edges is adjacent a corresponding one of the side wall front edges and each of the rear wall side edges is adjacent a corresponding one of the side wall rear edges and the tub insert body is shaped to engage a washing machine as recited since it has the structure as recited, a transition panel (26) operatively connected to each of the side walls at the corresponding side wall top edge, a cross-brace support panel (28) operatively connected to each of the transition panels at a support panel bottom edge, each of the cross-brace support panels having a cross-brace opening (32) for receiving a cross-brace (intended use), wherein the support panels capable of functioning with a washer machine as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 18, Morris further discloses cross-brace opening shaped to receive a cross-brace having a rectangular cross-section since it has the structure as recited.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US Patent No. 3,899,121 to Herbetko.
Regarding claim 1, Herbetko discloses a tub insert (Fig 5) for a washing machine (intended use), the insert comprising a body shaped to engage a washing machine as recited, transition panels (between 29a, 29b) operatively connected to a top edge of the tub insert body on opposite sides of the body and cross-brace support panels (31) operatively connected to a corresponding one of the transition panels at a support panel bottom edge, each of the cross-brace support panels (31) having a cross-brace opening (at 31b) for receiving a cross-brace (intended use), wherein the support panels are capable of extending through a gap of a washing machine as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Regarding claim 2, Herbetko further discloses cross-brace opening (at 31b) of each cross-brace support panel (31) having an open end through which a cross-brace can be inserted since it has the structure as recited (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 3, Herbetko further discloses cross-brace opening of each support panel having a cross-brace detent (31d) extending into the cross-brace opening and capable of engaging a cross-brace to resist cross-brace exiting the opening through open end depending on the structure of the cross-brace.
Regarding claim 4, Herbetko further discloses cross-brace opening shaped to receive a cross-brace having a rectangular cross-section since it has the structure as recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herbetko in view of US 2024/0327097 to Chavez Cortes et al. (Chavez).
Regarding claim 7, Herbetko discloses the tub insert of claim 1 but does not teach a cross-brace as part of a system with the insert. However, Chavez discloses a system (1) comprising an insert (12) and cross-brace (14) that is a distinct component of the tub insert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a cross-brace to Herbetko as suggested by Chavez in order to facilitate support of the insert. In particular, the modification would have resulted in the cross-brace capable of being inserted into the openings when used with a washing machine as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris in view of Chavez.
Regarding claim 20, Morris discloses the tub insert of claim 15 but does not teach a cross-brace as part of a system with the insert. However, Chavez discloses a system (1) comprising an insert (12) and cross-brace (14) that is a distinct component of the tub insert. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate a cross-brace to Morris as suggested by Chavez in order to facilitate support of the insert. In particular, the modification would have resulted in the cross-brace capable of being inserted into the openings when used with a washing machine as recited since it has the structure as recited.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, it is noted that applicant does not argue the rejection of the dependent claims. Applicant argues that none of the prior art teach transition panels connected to tub insert body and cross-brace support panels connected to transition panels. This is not persuasive because Morris and Herbetko teach such transitions panels that are attached to the insert body with support panels having openings attached to the transition panels.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT POON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735