DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0393814 ("Chang") in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0035418 ("Holung").
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a motor apparatus comprising:
a housing (306, Figs. 3A-3B, 10) comprising a first opening (opening on 318, Fig. 3B, 4, 10) positioned on a first side (318, Figs. 4-10), the housing being characterized [as significantly smaller than conventional stepper motors with external encoder units] (paragraph [0033]);
a motor (300, Figs. 3-10) comprising a shaft (304, Figs, 3-10) and positioned inside the housing (306, Fig. 10), the shaft comprising a first portion extending through the first opening (see Fig. 10, shaft 304 extends through opening of 318);
a code wheel (302, Figs. 5-10) coupled to the shaft (304, Fig. 6A via the rotor 322, Fig. 6A) and positioned inside the housing (306, Fig. 10), the code wheel (Figs. 5-6B) comprising a code region (inherent, see Fig. 5, paragraph [0030]); and
an encoder (308, 316, Figs. 8A-10) comprising a second opening (see opening in Fig. 8A-8B), the first portion of the shaft (304, Fig. 10) extending through the second opening (Fig. 10), the encoder further comprising a first layer (308, Fig.10) and second layer (316, Fig. 10), the encoder being positioned between the first side (318, Fig. 10) and the code wheel (302, Fig. 10), the first layer (308, Fig. 10) being positioned between the second layer (316, Fig. 10) and the code wheel (302, Fig. 10), the first layer (308, Fig.10) comprising a light source (812, Figs. 8A-8B, paragraph [0031]), the second layer (316, Fig.10) comprising a circuit (PCB, paragraph [0031]), the light source being coupled to the circuit (encoder is mounted on the PCB, paragraphs [0030]-[0031]).
Chang does not disclose that the housing has a diameter no greater than 16mm.
However, Holung discloses a stepper motor can include an encoder (paragraph [0130]) and has a diameter less than 16mm (paragraph [0131]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the motor as small as possible as disclosed by Holung in the device of Chang in order to ensure it functions as required, such as accurate rotational control, for a specific application.
Regarding claim 2, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, and Chang further discloses that:
the housing (306, Figs. 3A-3B, 10) comprising a third opening (opening on 312, Fig. 3B, 4, 10) positioned on a second side (312, Figs. 4-10);
the second side (312, Fig. 10) is opposite relative to the first side (318, Fig. 10); and
the shaft (304, Fig. 10) comprises a second portion extending through the third opening (see Fig. 10, shaft 304 extends through opening of 312).
Regarding claim 4, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, and Chang further discloses that the circuit further comprises a sensor (814, Fig. 8A, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, and Chang further discloses that the encoder further comprises a substrate (semiconductor chip, paragraph [0031], inherently includes a substrate) coupled to the second layer (316, Fig. 8A, paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, and Chang further discloses that the light source (812, Fig. 8A) is configured to project light to the code region of the code wheel (302, Fig. 10, paragraph [0031]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,923,032 ("Carlson").
Regarding claim 3. Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose that the first layer comprises a material coupled to the second layer, the material is characterized by a transmittance of at least 50%.
However, Carlson discloses a first layer (60, Fig. 4) comprises a material (clear epoxy, col. 5, lines 11-14) coupled to the second layer (54, Fig. 4), the material is characterized by a transmittance of at least 50% (clear epoxy has a transmittance of at least 50%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a material coupled to the second layer as disclosed by Carlson in the device of Chang in view of Holung in order to secure the two layers in place.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2004/0212261 ("Uchiyama").
Regarding claim 5, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 4, and Chang further discloses calculating a rotation of the motor based on an output of the sensor (paragraph [0035]).
Chang in view of Holung does not disclose that the circuit further comprises a processor configured to do the calculation.
However, Uchiyama discloses a circuit (42, Fig. 8A) further comprises a processor (25, Fig. 8A) configured to do the rotation calculation (paragraphs [0064], [0088]-[0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the processor on the circuit as disclosed by Uchiyama in the device of Chang in view of Holung in order to obtain a more immediate calculation and provide more accurate control of the rotation of the motor as required.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0034819 ("Mutschler").
Regarding claim 7, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 6, but does not disclose that the encoder further comprises a wire coupled to the circuit and the substrate.
However, Mutschler discloses a wire (54, Fig. 1) coupled to the circuit (26, Fig. 1) and the substrate (30, Fig. 1, paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a wire for coupling components together as disclosed by Mutschler in the device of Chang in view of Holung as it is well known in the industry and can accommodate variations in die size or pad placement.
Regarding claim 8, Chang in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 1, but does not disclose that the second layer comprises a contact coupled to a ball grid array.
However, Mutschler discloses a layer comprises a contact coupled to a ball grid array (paragraph [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a contact coupled to a ball grid array as disclosed by Mutschler in the device of Chang in view of Holung in order to shorten electrical paths and lower the parasitic impedances.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung further in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,103,225 ("Dolan").
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses a motor apparatus comprising:
a housing (306, Figs. 3A-3B, 10) comprising a first opening (opening on 318, Fig. 3B, 4, 10) positioned on a first side (318, Figs. 4-10), the housing being characterized [as significantly smaller than conventional stepper motors with external encoder units] (paragraph [0033]);
a motor (300, Figs. 3-10) comprising a shaft (304, Figs, 3-10) and positioned inside the housing (306, Fig. 10), the shaft comprising a first portion extending through the first opening (see Fig. 10, shaft 304 extends through opening of 318);
a code wheel (302, Figs. 5-10) coupled to the shaft (304, Fig. 6A via the rotor 322, Fig. 6A) and positioned inside the housing (306, Fig. 10); and
an encoder (308, 316, Figs. 8A-10) comprising a second opening (see opening in Fig. 8A-8B), the first portion of the shaft (304, Fig. 10) extending through the second opening (Fig. 10), the encoder further comprising
a first layer (308, Fig.10) and second layer (316, Fig. 10),
the encoder being positioned between the first side (318, Fig. 10) and the code wheel (302, Fig. 10),
the first layer (308, Fig. 10) being positioned between the second layer (316, Fig. 10) and the code wheel (302, Fig. 10), the second layer (316, Fig.10) comprising a first light source (812, Figs. 8A-8B, is mounted on PCB, paragraph [0031]), the second layer (316, Fig.10) comprising a circuit (PCB, paragraph [0031]) coupled to the first the light source (paragraphs [0030]-[0031]), the circuit comprising a first sensor (814, Fig. 8A, is mounted on PCB, paragraph [0031]).
Chang does not disclose that the housing has a diameter no greater than 16mm, nor a second light source and a second sensor.
However, Holung discloses a stepper motor can include an encoder (paragraph [0130]) and has a diameter less than 16mm (paragraph [0131]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the motor as small as possible as disclosed by Holung in the device of Chang in order to ensure is function as required for a specific application.
Chang in view of Holung does not disclose a second light source and a second sensor.
However, Dolan discloses a second light source and a second sensor (see Fig. 6, two encoder track sensors 40 are on PCB 36, Fig. 6, see col. 7, lines 43-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a second light source and a second sensor as disclosed by Dolan in the device of Chang in view of Holung in order to improve the resolution of the measurement and create redundancy.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung and Dolan further in view of Carlson.
Regarding claim 11, Chang in view of Holung and Dolan discloses the motor apparatus of claim 10, but does not disclose that the first layer comprises a material coupled to the second layer, the material is characterized by a transmittance of at least 50%.
However, Carlson discloses a first layer (60, Fig. 4) comprises a material (clear epoxy, col. 5, lines 11-14) coupled to the second layer (54, Fig. 4), the material is characterized by a transmittance of at least 50% (clear epoxy has a transmittance of at least 50%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a material coupled to the second layer as disclosed by Carlson in the device of Chang in view of Holung and Dolan in order to secure the two layers in place.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung and Dolan further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0298411 ("Yoshida").
Regarding claim 12, Chang in view of Holung and Dolan discloses the motor apparatus of claim 10, but does not disclose the first layer further comprises a first block and a second block, the first block is positioned between the first light source and the first sensor, the second block is positioned between the second light source and the second sensor.
However, Yoshida discloses a first block (120, Fig. 4, within 130A, Fig. 2, is a mask with some depth, therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is a block, paragraph [0124]) and a second block (120, Fig. 4, within 130B, Fig. 2), the first block is positioned between the first light source (131, Fig. 4, within 130A, Fig. 2) and the first sensor (132, Fig. 4, within 130A, Fig. 2), the second block is positioned between the second light source and the second sensor (130B, Fig. 2, has similar masking block, paragraph [0128]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a masking block as disclosed by Yoshida in the device of Chang in view of Holung and Dolan in order to reduce noise and improve detection precision.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Holung and Dolan further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2001/0013765 ("Yamamoto").
Regarding claim 13, Chang in view of Holung and Dolan discloses the motor apparatus of claim 10, but does not explicitly discloses that the first sensor comprises a photodiode.
However, Yamamoto discloses a first sensor (any one of 5b or 6b, Figs. 1, 5) comprises a photodiode (paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a photodiode as the first sensor as disclosed by Yamamoto in the device of Chang in view of Holung and Dolan in order to generate a photocurrent depending upon the amount of incident light.
Claims 14, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0161416 ("Toyama") in view of Holung.
Regarding claim 14, Toyama discloses a motor apparatus comprising:
a housing (60, 54, Fig. 2, form housing, paragraph [0020]) comprising a first opening (top opening of 60, Fig. 2) positioned on a first side (top side, Fig. 2);
a motor (5, Fig. 2) comprising a shaft (51, Fig. 2) and positioned inside the housing (54, Fig. 2), the shaft comprising a first portion extending through the first opening (shaft 54 extends to the opening on the top, Fig. 2);
a code wheel (611, Fig. 2) coupled to the shaft (51, Fig. 2, paragraph [0021]) and positioned inside the housing (60, Fig. 2); and
an encoder (61, 612, 62, 63, Fig. 2, encoder interpreted to mean the encoder reader) comprising a second opening (see Fig. 2, 63 has shaft extending through it, therefore it has an opening), the first portion of the shaft extending through the second opening (Fig. 2), the encoder further comprising a first layer (612 interpreted as first layer, Fig. 2) and second layer (624, 63, interpreted as forming second layer, Fig. 2), the encoder being positioned between the first side (top side, Fig. 2) and the code wheel (611, Fig. 2), the first layer (612, Fig. 2) being positioned between the second layer (624, 63, Fig. 1) and the code wheel (611, Fig. 2), the second layer comprising a first circuit (63 is a wiring board, therefore it is a circuit, paragraph [0030]), the first circuit comprising a first magnetic sensor (any one of 624a or 624b, Fig. 2, paragraph [0024]).
Toyama does not disclose that the housing has a diameter no greater than 16mm.
However, Holung discloses a stepper motor can include an encoder (paragraph [0130]) and has a diameter less than 16mm (paragraph [0131]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to size the motor as small as possible as disclosed by Holung in the device of Toyama in order to ensure it functions as required, such as accurate rotational control, for a specific application.
Regarding claim 16, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, and Toyama further discloses that the first circuit further comprises a second magnetic sensor (other one of 624a or 624b, Fig. 2, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 17, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, and Toyama further discloses that the second layer (63, Fig. 2) further comprises a second circuit (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, first and second circuits are merely labels with no limiting effect given that there is no structure defining the first and second circuits, therefore, the right side of 63 is interpreted as the first circuit and the left side of 63 is interpreted as the second circuit), the second circuit comprises a second magnetic sensor (624b, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, and Toyama further discloses that the first circuit further comprises a processor (64, Fig. 2, paragraph [0033]) configured to calculate a rotation of the motor based on an output of the first magnetic sensor (paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 20, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, and Toyama further discloses that the code wheel comprises a code region (detection pattern not shown, paragraph [0021]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama in view of Holung further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0264159 ("Kitamura").
Regarding claim 15, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, but does not disclose that the first magnetic sensor comprises a Hall effect sensor.
However, Kitamura discloses that a first magnetic sensor comprises a Hall effect sensor (paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a Hall effect sensor as disclosed by Kitamura in the device of Toyama in view of Holung in order to detect the magnetic pole position of the rotor.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama in view of Holung further in view of Carlson.
Regarding claim 18, Toyama in view of Holung discloses the motor apparatus of claim 14, and Toyama further discloses that the first layer is coupled to the second layer (see paragraph [0030], this is typically done with solder or other adhesive), but does not disclose that the first layer comprises a material coupled to the second layer.
However, Carlson discloses a first layer (60, Fig. 4) comprises a material (clear epoxy, col. 5, lines 11-14) coupled to the second layer (54, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a material coupled to the second layer as disclosed by Carlson in the device of Toyama in view of Holung discloses the in order to secure the two layers in place.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878