DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the amendments and arguments filed August 7, 2026 for application 18/774,645. Claims 7, 8, and 20 have been amended; claims 2-21 are currently pending.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications 62/505,740, 62/625,893, 15/977,880, 62/889,720, 62/980,743, 62/990,726, and 63/059,580 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Claim 2-21 are directed to an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a spiral strut which is not supported by the prior-filed applications 62/505,740, 62/625,893, 15/977,880, and 62/889,720.
Claims 2-7 and 14-21 require that the trimmable portion of the foot plate has a thickness dimension that is smaller than the non-trimmable portion which is not support by the prior-filed applications 62/505,740, 62/625,893, 15/977,880, 62/889,720, 62/980,743, 62/990,726, and 63/059,580.
Claims 8-13 require that at least a portion of the transition portion of the spiral strut is curved in a plane parallel with portions of the top surface of the foot plate which is not support by the prior-filed applications 62/505,740, 62/625,893, 15/977,880, 62/889,720, 62/980,743, 62/990,726, and 63/059,580.
For at least these reasons, claims 2-21 are not entitled to the benefit of all of the prior-filed applications and for purposes of applicable prior art, claims 2-27 and have the effective filing date of August 19, 2020 (the filing date of prior-filed application 16/997,925, the earliest application that can provide sufficient support to all of the claimed limitations).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and 14, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Siewert teaches that thickness of the foot plate (2) is even throughout such that the (weakenings) 10 do not have a smaller thickness dimension between a top surface and the bottom surface of the foot plate (2), the examiner disagrees. Siewert discloses that “The weakenings 10 are formed like saw teeth and form the intended cutting surfaces along which the foot plate 2 can be shortened and therefore adapted to the different shoe shapes and foot shapes. The weakenings 10 have an inclination or front contour 15 that runs from the front to the back in an obliquely downward direction so that a rolling off is made easier.” (¶ 0044). In other words, each weakening 10 includes an inclination (15) extending into the thickness of the foot plate (2) as shown in Fig. 2 such that the weakenings (10) will have a smaller thickness due to the inclinations (15). When the foot plate (2) is cut or trimmed along a weakening (10), the inclination (15) of that particular weakening (10) will then form the front contour of the foot plate (2) after it has been shorted and adapted to a desired shape and size. Therefore, prior to being cut, the weakenings (10) are considered analogous to the claimed trimmable portion of the foot plate since they are capable of and intended to be trimmed. Further, depending on which weakening (10) is cut, the foot plate (2) may include additional weakenings (2) on the remaining part of the foot plate (2) such that the foot plate (2) would still include a trimmable portion after being cut to the desired size.
Applicant’s arguments filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claim 8 and corresponding claims 6 and 19 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay (US 2016/0213552) in view of Siewert et al. (US 2019/0110917).
Regarding claim 2, Lindsay discloses an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) (integrated offloading device 10/110) comprising a foot plate (plate portion 12b), a spiral strut (stem portion 12a/112a) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (12b) away from a mid-line of the foot plate (12b) at an interface region, the spiral strut (12a/112a) comprising a transition portion that spirals toward the mid-line of the foot plate (12b) to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12a/112a), the AFO (10/110) consisting of only one spiral strut (12a/112a), and a cuff (shin support structure 14/114) that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12a/112a) (Figs. 1a-1b, 3-4, & 11; ¶ 0061-0062, 0065, & 0082-0085).
However, Lindsay fails to teach that the foot plate comprises a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion of the foot plate having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6) (Figs. 1-3 & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by Lindsay such that foot plate includes a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion as taught by Siewert for the purpose of adapting the length of the foot plate to a user and providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the combination of Lindsay and Siewert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Siewert further discloses that the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on a top surface (upper side 26) of the foot plate (2), wherein a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by the combination of Lindsay and Siewert such that the foot plate has common surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on a top surface thereof and the foot plate has curved surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate opposite from the top surface as further taught by Siewert for the purpose of providing a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
Regarding claim 14, Lindsay discloses an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) (integrated offloading device 10/110) comprising a foot plate (plate portion 12b), a spiral strut (stem portion 12a/112a) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (12b) away from a mid-line of the foot plate (12b) at an interface region, the spiral strut (12a/112a) comprising a transition portion that spirals toward the mid-line of the foot plate (12b) to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12a/112a), the AFO (10/110) consisting of only one spiral strut (12a/112a), and a cuff (shin support structure 14/114) that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12a/112a) (Figs. 1a-1b, 3-4, & 11; ¶ 0061-0062, 0065, & 0082-0085).
However, Lindsay fails to teach that the foot plate comprises a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion of the foot plate having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on a top surface (upper side 26) of the foot plate (2), and wherein a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by Lindsay such that foot plate includes a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion, the foot plate has common surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the top surface, and the foot plate has curved surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the bottom surface as taught by Siewert for the purpose of adapting the length of the foot plate to a user and providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming and a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lindsay and Siewert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Lindsay further discloses that the interface region in which the spiral strut (12a/112a) is coupled with the side region of the foot plate (12b) is located on a lateral side of the foot plate (12b) (Fig. 1b).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsay in view of Siewert as applied to claims 2-4 above, and in further view of Bialowons et al. (US 2020/0352771).
The combination of Lindsay and Siewert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Siewert further discloses that the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) is located in portions anterior to a hindfoot region of the foot plate (2), wherein at least a portion of the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) is located on an opposing side region of the foot plate (2) that is opposite from the side region of the foot plate (2) where the strut (3+4) is coupled with the foot plate (2) (Fig. 3; the weakenings 10 extend from one side region of the foot plate 2 to another side region of the foot plate 2).
However, the combination of Lindsay and Siewert fails to teach that the trimmable portion of the foot plate is located in a hindfoot region of the foot plate as well.
Bialowons discloses an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 10) comprising a trimmable portion (outside of markings 50) located in both a hindfoot region (heel region 11) of the foot plate (10) as well as portions (front foot region 12) anterior to the hindfoot region (11) of the foot plate (10), wherein at least a portion of the trimmable portion (50) located in the hindfoot region (11) of the foot plate (10) is located posterior from an interface region between a strut (strut 20) and the foot plate (10) (Fig. 1; ¶ 0009-0011 & 0026).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the foot plate of the ankle foot orthosis taught by the combination of Lindsay and Siewert to include trimmable portions located in the hindfoot region of the foot plate posterior from the interface region as taught by Bialowons for the purpose of adapting the length of the hindfoot region of the foot plate to a user's foot.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen (US 6,676,618) in view of Siewert et al. (US 2019/0110917).
Regarding claim 14, Andersen discloses an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 10), a spiral strut (narrow connecting member 12) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (10) away from a mid-line of the foot plate (10) at an interface region, the spiral strut (12) comprising a transition portion that spirals toward the mid-line of the foot plate (10) to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12), the AFO consisting of only one spiral strut (12), and a cuff (calf abutment member 11) that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12) (Figs. 7-8; column 4, lines 14-30; column 5, lines 5-14).
However, Andersen fails to teach that the foot plate comprises a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion of the foot plate having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on a top surface (upper side 26) of the foot plate (2), and wherein a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by Andersen such that foot plate includes a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion, the foot plate has common surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the top surface, and the foot plate has curved surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the bottom surface as taught by Siewert for the purpose of adapting the length of the foot plate to a user and providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming and a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Andersen and Siewert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Andersen further discloses that the interface region in which the spiral strut (12) is coupled with the side region of the foot plate (10) is located on a lateral side of the foot plate (10) (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Andersen and Siewert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Andersen further discloses that the spiral strut (12) is configured to extend along a posterior portion of a user’s leg (Figs. 7-8). Although the combination of Andersen and Siewert fails to expressly teach that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut is located in a posterior portion of the AFO, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by the combination of Andersen and Siewert such that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut is located in a posterior portion of the AFO since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention that would not have modified the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bader (US 2017/0216071), in view of Siewert et al. (US 2019/0110917), and in further view of Romo et al. (US 10,561,514).
Regarding claim 14, Bader discloses an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) (deformity alignment device 10) comprising a foot plate (lower foot support or platform 16), a spiral strut (elongated spiral configured interconnecting member 12) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (16) away from a mid-line of the foot plate (16) at an interface region, the spiral strut (12) comprising a transition portion that spirals toward the mid-line of the foot plate (16) to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut (12), the AFO consisting of only one spiral strut (12), and a cuff (upper calf cuff 14) (Figs. 1-4; ¶ 0035-0036).
However, Bader fails to teach that the foot plate comprises a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion of the foot plate having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on a top surface (upper side 26) of the foot plate (2), and wherein a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by Bader such that foot plate includes a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion having a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion, the foot plate has common surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the top surface, and the foot plate has curved surface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion on the bottom surface as taught by Siewert for the purpose of adapting the length of the foot plate to a user and providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming and a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
However, the combination of Bader and Siewert fails to teach that the cuff is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut.
Romo discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthosis 117) comprising a foot plate (footplate 119), a strut (strut 123) coupled with the foot plate (119), and a cuff (securing device 125) that is height adjustable over an adjustable portion of the strut (123) (Figs. 14-17; column 18, lines 49-57 & 65-66; column 20, lines 23-47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by the combination of Bader and Siewert such that the cuff is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut as taught by Romo for the purpose of accommodating users with different tibial lengths.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bader / Siewert / Romo discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Bader further discloses that the interface region in which the spiral strut (12) is coupled with the side region of the foot plate (16) is located on a medial side of the foot plate (16) (Fig. 2; ¶ 0028).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bader / Siewert / Romo discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, and Romo further discloses that the adjustable portion of the strut (123) is located in a posterior portion of the AFO (117) (Figs. 14-17).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ankle foot orthosis taught by the combination of Bader / Siewert / Romo such that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut is located in a posterior portion of the AFO as further taught by Romo since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention that would not have modified the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Double Patenting
Claims 2-6 and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 9, 10, 13, and 14 of US Patent 12,042,417 (reference patent ‘417) in view of Siewert et al. (US 2019/0110917).
Regarding claim 2, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 1 of reference patent ‘417 including an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a foot plate comprising a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, a spiral strut coupled with a side region of the foot plate away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, the spiral strut comprising a transition portion that spirals towards the mid-line of the foot plate to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut, the AFO consisting on only one spiral strut, and a cuff that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut.
Although claim 6 of reference patent ‘417 recites a concaved junction is disposed on at least a portion of an interface between the trimmable portion and the non-trimmable portion, the claims of reference patent ‘417 do not recite that the trimmable portion of the foot plate has a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6) (Figs. 1-3 & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 such that the trimmable portion of the foot plate has a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension that the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate as taught by Siewert for the purpose of providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 6 of reference patent ‘417 and Siewert further discloses that the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Siewert further discloses that a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Fig. 8-9 & 13-14).
Regarding claim 5, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claims 2 and 3 of reference patent ‘417 and Siewert further discloses that at least a portion of the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) is located on an opposing side region of the foot plate (2) that is opposite from the side region of the foot plate (2) where the strut (3+4) is coupled with the foot plate (2) (Fig. 3; the weakenings 10 extend from one side region of the foot plate 2 to another side region of the foot plate 2).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claims 4 and 5 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claims 1 and 6 of reference patent ‘417 including an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a foot plate comprising a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, the trimmable portion of the foot plate shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate, and a curved surface (concaved junction) between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate and the trimmable portion of the foot plate, a spiral strut coupled with a side region of the foot plate away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, the spiral strut comprising a transition portion that spirals towards the mid-line of the foot plate to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut, the AFO consisting on only one spiral strut, and a cuff that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut.
However, the claims of reference patent ‘417 do not recite that the trimmable portion of the foot plate has a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate, the common surface is on the top surface of the foot plate, and the curved surface is on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate opposite from the top surface of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) has a thickness dimension between a top surface (upper side 26) and a bottom surface (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2), the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2), and a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 such that the trimmable portion of the foot plate has a thickness dimension between a top surface and a bottom surface of the foot plate that is smaller in dimension than the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate, the common surface is on the top surface of the foot plate, and the curved surface is on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate opposite from the top surface of the foot plate as taught by Siewert for the purpose of providing a contoured edge of the foot plate after trimming and a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 9 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 10 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 13 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 14 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claims 4 and 5 of reference patent ‘417.
Claims 7, 20, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of US Patent 12,042,417 (reference patent ‘417) in view of Siewert as applied to claims 2-6, 14, and 19 above, and in further view of Romo et al. (US 10,561,514).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, the limitations therein are substantially recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Siewert, as described above, except for that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut comprises a rectangular cross section in a plane that is parallel with the portions of the top surface of the foot plate.
Romo discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthosis 117) comprising a foot plate (footplate 119), a strut (strut 123) coupled with the foot plate (119), and a cuff (securing device 125) that is height adjustable over an adjustable portion of the strut (123), wherein the adjustable portion of the strut (123) comprises a rectangular cross section (Fig. 17) in a plane that is parallel with portions of a top surface of the foot plate (119) (Figs. 14-17; column 18, lines 49-57 & 65-66; column 20, lines 23-47).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Siewert such that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut comprises a rectangular cross section in a plane that is parallel with the portions of the top surface of the foot plate as taught by Romo since Applicant has not disclosed that such a shape solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a strut for an ankle foot orthosis. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 21, although the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Siewert and Romo fails to recite that the trimmable portion of the foot plate enables an overall length of the foot plate to be trimmed by at least 75 mm, such a limitation depends on the starting length of the foot plate and the desired final length of the foot plate after being trimmed which will depend on dimensions of a particular user’s foot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to construct the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Siewert and Romo such that the trimmable portion of the foot plate enables an overall length of the foot plate to be trimmed by at least 75 mm since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 7, and 8 of US Patent 12,042,417 (reference patent ‘417) in view of Romo et al. (US 10,561,514).
Regarding claim 8, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claims 1, 4, and 5 of reference patent ‘417 including an ankle foot orthosis (AFO) comprising a foot plate comprising a trimmable portion and a non-trimmable portion, a spiral strut coupled with a side region of the foot plate away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, the spiral strut comprising a transition portion that spirals towards the mid-line of the foot plate to an adjustable portion of the spiral strut, the AFO consisting on only one spiral strut, and a cuff that is height adjustable over the adjustable portion of the spiral strut, wherein at least a portion of the transition portion of the spiral strut is curved in a plane that is parallel with portions of a top surface of the footplate.
However, the claims of reference patent ‘417 fails to recite that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut comprises a rectangular cross section in a plane that is parallel with the portions of the top surface of the foot plate.
Romo discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthosis 117) comprising a foot plate (footplate 119), a strut (strut 123) coupled with the foot plate (119), and a cuff (securing device 125) that is height adjustable over an adjustable portion of the strut (123), wherein the adjustable portion of the strut (123) comprises a rectangular cross section (Fig. 17) in a plane that is parallel with portions of a top surface of the foot plate (119) (Figs. 14-17; column 18, lines 49-57 & 65-66; column 20, lines 23-47).
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Siewert such that the adjustable portion of the spiral strut comprises a rectangular cross section in a plane that is parallel with the portions of the top surface of the foot plate as taught by Romo since Applicant has not disclosed that such a shape solves any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a strut for an ankle foot orthosis. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 9, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 7 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 8 of reference patent ‘417.
Regarding claim 11, although the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Romo fails to recite that the trimmable portion of the foot plate enables an overall length of the foot plate to be trimmed by at least 75 mm, such a limitation depends on the starting length of the foot plate and the desired final length of the foot plate after being trimmed which will depend on dimensions of a particular user’s foot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to construct the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Romo such that the trimmable portion of the foot plate enables an overall length of the foot plate to be trimmed by at least 75 mm since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of US Patent 12,042,417 (reference patent ‘417) in view of Romo as applied to claims 8-11 above, and in further view of Siewert et al. (US 2019/0110917).
The limitations therein are substantially recited in claim 6 of reference patent ‘417. However, the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Romo fails to teach that the common surface is on a top surface of the foot plate and the curved surface is on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate opposite from the top surface of the foot plate.
Siewert discloses an ankle foot orthosis (orthotic 1) comprising a foot plate (foot plate 2) comprising a trimmable portion (weakenings 10) and a non-trimmable portion (remainder of foot plate 2), a strut (foot support 3 + lower leg support bar 4) coupled with a side region of the foot plate (2) away from a mid-line of the foot plate at an interface region, and a cuff (fastening means 6), wherein the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) shares a common surface with the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) on a top surface (upper side 26) of the foot plate (2), and wherein a curved surface is present between the non-trimmable portion of the foot plate (2) and the trimmable portion (10) of the foot plate (2) on a bottom opposing region (underside 24) of the foot plate (2) opposite from the top surface (26) of the foot plate (2) (Figs. 1-3, 8-9, 13-14, & 17; ¶ 0012, 0018, 0044, 0051, & 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the ankle foot orthosis recited in the claims of reference patent ‘417 as modified by Romo such that the common surface is on a top surface of the foot plate and the curved surface is on a bottom opposing region of the foot plate opposite from the top surface of the foot plate as taught by Siewert for the purpose of providing a smooth surface on which a user’s foot contact the foot plate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Further, a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is needed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over US Patent 12,042,417.
Claims 8-13 would be allowable when a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) is filed to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection over US Patent 12,042,417.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KERI J NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 10/2/2026