CTNF 18/774,647 CTNF 83061 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 07/16/2024, 12/23/2024 are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a ) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2014/0002522) . Regarding claim 1, Chen et al teaches an image processing apparatus (100 figs.1,2) comprising: an acquisition unit (for instance the imaging unit 702 in figs.7-9, the scanning unit used in paragraphs 0064,0067) configured to acquire image data acquired by reading an image formed on a recording medium (print media 112,704) using a recording element (200 of 106 figs.1-3) for ejecting an ink (paragraphs 0048-0061); and a generation unit (for instance the image processing unit 708 in fig.7, paragraphs 0050,0052,0062) configured to generate data representing a density characteristic of the recording element, based on an inverted image acquired by inverting densities in the image represented by the image data (figs.10-11, paragraphs 0062-0071; teaches the claimed limitations including inverting densities processes to generate uniform density. See also figs.14,15,16, paragraph 0088-0091,0098; teaches a process of averaging different densities to an average density which also inverts the density values to the average value). Regarding claim 5, Chen et al further teaches wherein the generation unit is configured to generate a compensation table for performing compensation to reduce non-uniform densities, based on the data representing the density characteristic (paragraphs 0070,0081,0091,0100) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 2-4, 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Chen et al or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al. (US 2014/0002522) in view of Ishii et al. (US 2020/0050907). Regarding claim 2, Chen et al further teaches wherein a region printed with the ink on the recording medium exhibits relatively low contrast against a region not printed with the ink on the recording medium (figs.4-6,11B,13; paragraphs 0046,0047,0062. For instance, as compared to the regions with higher density, the region with lower or blank density exhibits lower contrast. Note also Chen et al teaches use of different mediums and plurality of heads capable of forming images using different kinds inks and other liquids, figs.1-3, paragraphs 0031,0032,0038,0042). In case applicant argued that the different densities, inks/liquids and mediums discussed do not teach the claimed relatively low contrast. In the alternatives, Ishii et al teaches similar image processing apparatus including the use of inks/liquids and recording medium wherein a region printed with the ink on the recording medium exhibits relatively low contrast against a region not printed with the ink on the recording medium (figs.10,13,25; paragraphs 0115,0120,0121, 0123,0140,0252,0254; teaches for instance white paper background/reference, clear ink, other light inks). Therefore, in the alternatives, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use such mediums and inks/fluids in the image processing apparatus of Chen et al based on the teachings of Ishii et al for instance to enable printing various kinds of images and/or improve the images printed. Regarding claim 3, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches wherein the ink is an achromatic ink (figs.1-3, paragraph 0038 of Chen et al teaches use of black ink; paragraphs 0051,0115,0122 of Ishii et al teaches black, gray, and clear inks). Regarding claim 4, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches wherein the ink is white ink, reaction liquid, or clear ink (figs.1-3, paragraphs 0031, 0032, 0038, 0042 of Chen et al teaches for instance treatment liquid/ink, coating liquid/ink; paragraphs 0051, 0115, 0122 of Ishii et al teaches clear ink). Regarding claim 6, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches wherein the image formed on the recording medium includes a gradation region containing various densities and a mark region for specifying a position of the recording element (paragraphs 0005,0073,0080,0088,0092 of Chen et al; paragraphs 0230-0235 of Ishii et al). Regarding claim 7, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches further comprising: a calculation unit configured to calculate a pixel-value difference between the region printed with the ink and the region not printed with the ink in the image represented by the image data (figs.4-7,11,13,14, paragraphs 0047,0063,0065,0087 of Chen et al; figs.4,5, paragraphs 0182, 0184,0198 of Ishii et al), wherein the generation unit is configured to invert densities in the image by calculating a difference between the calculated pixel-value difference and a maximum possible pixel value that corresponds to a bit count in the image data (figs.7,10,12-16, paragraphs 0050,0052,0062,0087 of Chen et al; figs.4,5, paragraphs 0142,0175,0181,0213-0219, 0232,0249-0254 of Ishii et al). Regarding claim 8, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches further comprising: a detection unit configured to detect a mark region for specifying a position of the recording element in the inverted image (figs.7-9, paragraphs 0048-0061 of Chen et al; paragraphs 0143-0151,0173-0177, 0230-0235 of Ishii et al), wherein the generation unit is configured to generate the data representing the density characteristic, based on the detected mark region (figs.10-11,14-16, paragraphs 0062-0071 of Chen et al; figs.4,5, paragraphs 0143-0151,0181,0230-0235 of Ishii et al). Regarding claim 9, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches further comprising: a compensation unit configured to multiply a pixel value in the inverted image by a coefficient that facilitates detection of the mark region (figs.10-11, paragraphs 0062-0071 of Chen et al; paragraphs 0213-0219, 0249-0254 of Ishii et al). Regarding claim 10, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches image processing method comprising: an acquisition step (figs.7-9, paragraphs 0064,0067 of Chen et al) of acquiring image data acquired by reading an image formed on a recording medium (print media 112,704 of Chen et al) using a recording element (200 of 106 figs.1-3 of Chen et al) for ejecting an ink (figs.10,12,15,16 of Chen et al; figs.4,5 paragraphs 0182, 0184,0198 of Ishii et al); and a generation step of generating data representing a density characteristic of the recording element, based on an inverted image acquired by inverting densities in the image represented by the image data (figs.10-11, paragraphs 0062-0071; figs.14,15,16, paragraph 0088-0091,0098 of Chen et al; figs.10,18-21,25, 28 paragraphs, 0142,0175,0181,0213-0219, 0232,0249-0254 of Ishii et al). Regarding claim 11, Chen et al as modified by Ishii et al further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computer (figs.7,10,12,15,16, paragraph 0050,0062 of Chen et al; figs.4,5, paragraphs 0096,0258 of Ishii et al), cause the computer to perform an image processing method, the image processing method comprising: an acquisition step of acquiring image data acquired by reading an image formed on a recording medium using a recording element for ejecting an ink (figs.10,12,15,16 of Chen et al; figs.4,5 paragraphs 0182, 0184,0198 of Ishii et al); and a generation step of generating data representing a density characteristic of the recording element, based on an inverted image acquired by inverting densities in the image represented by the image data (figs.10-11, paragraphs 0062-0071; figs.14,15,16, paragraph 0088-0091,0098 of Chen et al; figs.10,18-21,25, 28 paragraphs, 0142,0175, 0181,0213-0219, 0232,0249-0254 of Ishii et al). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HENOK D LEGESSE whose telephone number is (571)270-1615. The examiner can normally be reached General Schedule 9:00 am- 5:00 pm, IFP. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas Rodriguez can be reached at (571)431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/774,647 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853