DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-15 and 18-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2023 / 0034225).
(It should be noted that the Tanaka reference was submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 11 February 2025.)
As pertaining to Claim 1, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 15, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) a display device comprising:
a display panel (see (10) in Fig. 1) including a display area (11) in which pixel circuits (Pix) are disposed and a non-display area (i.e., a peripheral area outside of (11)) near the display area (11; see Page 4, Para. [0069]; and Page 5, Para. [0074]); and
a gate driver (see (40) in Fig. 1 corresponding to (410) in Fig. 15 and (420) in Fig. 18) configured to apply a scan signal (G), an emission signal (EA), and an inverted emission signal (EB) to the pixel circuit (Pix),
wherein the gate driver (40) includes:
at least one scan driver (see any portion of (410)) configured to output the scan signal (G);
a light emitting driver (see any portion of (420)) configured to output the emission signal (EA); and
inverting drivers (see the inverters at (40) in Fig. 18 and (M3) in Fig. 17) of which at least some output the inverted emission signal (EB) of which phase is inverted from that of the emission signal (EA) based on the scan signal (G) output from the at least one scan driver (again, see any portion of (410)) and the emission signal (EA) output from the light emitting driver (again, see any portion of (420)), wherein
the pixel circuit (Pix) further includes:
a light emitting element (OL);
a driving transistor (M1) having a first electrode (i.e., an upper electrode), a second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode), and a gate electrode (see (Vg)), the second electrode (i.e., a lower electrode) connected to the light emitting element (OD), the driving transistor (M1) configured to receive a high potential driving voltage (ELVDD) through the first electrode (i.e., the upper electrode), and configured to control an amount of driving current supplied to the light emitting element (OL) in response to a voltage of a gate electrode (Vg); and
a coupling capacitor (Cst) connected (i.e., via path (M7, M6, M1, M5)) between an inverted emission line (see (EB)) to which the inverted emission signal (EB) is applied and the gate electrode (see (Vg)) of the driving transistor (M1; see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0126]-[0129]; and Page 10 through Page 11, Para. [0120]).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 17) that the pixel circuit (Pix) further includes:
the light emitting element (OL) having an anode;
a first switching transistor (M2) transmitting a data voltage (D) to the gate electrode of the driving transistor (M1) in response to a first scan signal (G);
a light emitting transistor (M6) forming a current path between the driving transistor (M1) and the light emitting element (OL) in response to the emission signal (EA); and
an initialization transistor (M7) transmitting an initialization voltage (Vini) to the anode of the light emitting element (OL) in response to the inverted emission signal (EB; again, see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0126]-[0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 15, Fig. 17, and Fig. 18) that the scan driver (see any portion of (410)) includes:
a first scan driver (i.e., a first portion of (410)) configured to output the first scan signal (i.e., any (Gi) signal); and
a second scan driver (i.e., any other portion of (410)) configured to output a second scan signal (i.e., any other (Gi) signal), and
wherein the second scan signal (i.e., any other (Gi) signal) is applied to the inverting driver (i.e., see (M3) in Fig. 17; and see Page 4, Para. [0070]; Page 10 through Page 11, Para. [0120], and Page 12, Para. [0127]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 18) that the inverting driver (see the inverters at (40) in Fig. 18 and (M3) in Fig. 17) is disposed closer to the display area (11) than the light emitting driver (see any portion of (420)) and the at least one scan driver (see any portion of (410)) are (see Fig. 1 in combination with Fig. 18, and note that the inverters at (40) are closer to display area (11) than (410) and (420); again, see Page 11 through Page 12, Para. [0126]-[0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 17) that the coupling capacitor (Cst) transmits a coupling voltage (i.e., an arbitrary voltage) corresponding to the inverted emission signal (EB) to the gate electrode (see (Vg)) of the driving transistor (M1; see Page 12, Para. [0127]-[0129]).
As pertaining to Claim 23, Tanaka discloses (see Fig. 17) that the voltage at the gate electrode (see (Vg)) of the driving transistor (M1) is decreased by a selected level (i.e., any arbitrary level) due to a coupling voltage corresponding to the inverted emission signal (EB) in the coupling capacitor (Cst; again, see Page 12, Para. [0127]-[0129] and Page 2, Para. [0021]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka in view of Qian et al. (hereinafter “Qian” US 10,636,356).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Tanaka does not explicitly show that the gate driver is disposed at each of left and right sides of the display area in the non-display area and configured symmetrically. However, this configuration of the gate driver is well-known in the art.
In fact, in the same field of endeavor, Qian discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 4) a display device comprising a gate driver (20B) configured to apply a scan signals and emission signals, wherein the gate driver (20B) is disposed at each of left and right sides of a display area (28) in a non-display area and configured symmetrically (see Col. 4, Ln. 31-55 and Col. 7, Ln. 18-41). It is a goal of Qian to provide an improved gate driver that allows for increased arrangement flexibility with reduced occupied space in the inactive area of the display device (see Col. 1, Ln. 20-24 and Ln. 52-64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka with the teachings of Qian, such that the gate driver of Tanaka is disposed at each of left and right sides of the display area in the non-display area and configured symmetrically, as suggested by Qian, in order to provide an improved gate driver that allows for increased arrangement flexibility with reduced occupied space in the inactive area of the display device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, particularly Tanaka, teach or fairly suggest the claimed “driving transistor configured to receive a high potential driving voltage through the first electrode, and configured to control an amount of driving current supplied to the light emitting element in response to a voltage of the gate electrode; and a coupling capacitor connected between an inverted emission line to which the inverted emission signal is applied and the gate electrode of the driving transistor" as recited in independent Claim 1 (see Remarks at Pages 8 and 9). The examiner respectfully disagrees as these feature are explicitly disclosed by Tanaka at least at Figure 17.
The applicant is respectfully reminded that the claimed invention must be interpreted in view of the originally filed disclosure. The originally filed Specification provides the definition for the term “connected to” at Paragraph [0020]:
“[0020] When a first component is "connected to" or "coupled to" a second component, it includes both a case in which the first component is directly connected or coupled to the second component or a case in which other components are interposed therebetween. On the other hand, when the first component is "directly connected to" or "directly coupled to" the second component, it means that other components are not interposed therebetween….”
Thus, as interpreted according to the originally filed disclosure, Tanaka provides for the claimed light emitting element (OL); the claimed driving transistor (M1); and the claimed coupling capacitor (Cst) connected (i.e., via path (M7, M6, M1, M5)) between an inverted emission line (see (EB)) to which the inverted emission signal (EB) is applied and the gate electrode (see (Vg)) of the driving transistor (M1).
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-5, 17, and 23 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chung (US 2008 / 0150846), corresponding to Chung (US 8,237,637), discloses (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 6) a gate driver configured to apply scan signals (S), emission signals (EM), and inverted emission signals (EMB).
Kim et al. (US 12,512,057), commonly assigned with the instant application, discloses (see Fig. 5) a pixel circuit similar to that disclosed by the instant application.
Ka et al. (US 11,996,051) discloses (see Fig. 4) a pixel circuit comprising a coupling capacitor (Nbst) connected between an emission line (GC) and a gate electrode of a driving transistor (TP1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623