DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/27/26.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II claims 7-20 in the reply filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites feeding whole milk, low fat milk, or non-fat yogurt into a filtering bag and then later only refers back to “the yogurt”. It is unclear if Applicants intended milk to be filtered or if there is a step missing where this milk would be converted to yogurt before this filtering step. It appears that a connection between the whole or low fat milk and the filtering of the yogurt is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radev (US 2020/0337323) in view of Fitzsimons et al. (US 2005/0214431).
Regarding Claims 7 and 8: Radev (US 2020/0337323) discloses a method for producing food products from yogurt [abstract]. Radev discloses preparing yogurt from milk [0032-0044]. Radev discloses straining the yogurt using a drum strainer or straining cloth [0047]. Radev discloses pressing the bagged yogurt in a dairy press [0047-0053]. Radev discloses adding stabilizing ingredients before grating [Fig. 2, 4]. Radev discloses that the dry matter is reduced to 40-44% [0066; 0071]. Radev discloses a step of grating the yogurt [claims 1, 7, 8, 9].
Radev does not disclose that stabilizing ingredient is an anti-caking agent; silica (claim 8).
Fitzsimons discloses a method of producing a dairy product that is cheese like [abstract]. Fitzsimons discloses that the cheese like dairy product can be produced in have a final form is a crumbled form [0023]. Fitzsimons discloses that the block is grated and includes anti-caking agents [0055]. Fitzsimons discloses adding anti-caking agents to the grated or shredded dairy product and that the agent can be silica [0055].
At the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Radev to include the step of adding an anti-caking agent such as silica to the grated dairy product as in Fitzsimons in order to prevent the grated or crumbled dairy product from sticking together in clumps.
Regarding Claim 9: Radev discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Radev discloses a yogurt having a pH of 4 to 4.8 [0041]. Radev does not disclose the fat content of the milk used to make yogurt. However, it is well known in the art that yogurt can be made from whole, low fat and non-fat milk and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize milk with the desired fat content based upon the desired nutritional needs or desires of the consumer to which the product is marketed or sold. Further, it is well known in the art that whole milk contains a fat content of about 3.5% based on the breed of cow, country of origin, and diet.
Regarding Claim 10: Radev discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Radev discloses a yogurt having a pH of 4 to 4.8 [0041]. Radev does not disclose the fat content of the milk used to make yogurt as less than 3.5%. However, it is well known in the art that yogurt can be made from whole, low fat and non-fat milk and to produce whole, low fat, and non-fat yogurt, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize milk with the desired fat content based upon the desired nutritional needs or desires of the consumer to which the product is marketed or sold. Further, it is well known in the art that low fat and non-fat milk contain a fat content of less than 3.5%.
Regarding Claim 11: Radev discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Radev discloses adding pectin, spices, probiotics, and stabilizers [0012-0017].
Regarding Claim 12: Radev discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Radev discloses pressing the yogurt in a dairy press for 8 to 12 hours [0049]. Although Radev does not disclose a pressure of about 1 bar to about 10 bar, Radev performs the pressing step at atmospheric pressure and therefore about 1 bar.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Havlik et al. (US 2016/0143304) in view of Lin et al (US 2017/0251685) and Fitzsimons et al. (US 2005/0214431).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14: Havlik discloses a method of making reduced water activity yogurt [abstract]. Havlik discloses centrifuge evaporating non-fat yogurt [0168; 0184, 0185; 0215; 0216]. Havlik discloses removing liquid to achieve a solids content of about 40% or greater [0184]. Havlik discloses removing water at temperatures of 96 to 112°F [Table 47]; 71-110°F [Table 48]; 104-114°F [Table 49].
Havlik does not disclose centrifuging at from 2500 rpm to 4900 rpm.
Havlik does not disclose adding an anti-caking agent and where the agent is silica, calcium silicate, magnesium silicate, sodium aluminosilicate, tricalcium phosphate.
Lin discloses method of making Greek yogurt from traditional yogurt [abstract]. Lin discloses using a centrifuge has an inner strainer and an outer bowl and discloses centrifuging to further separate whey from the yogurt [abstract]. Lin discloses using 500 rpm or faster [0069; 0070]. Lin discloses that the centrifuge is generally useful for separating liquid from food products and further discloses straining for producing curds from tofu and cheese [0077].
Fitzsimons discloses a method of producing a dairy product that is cheese like [abstract]. Fitzsimons discloses that the cheese like dairy product can be produced in have a final form is a crumbled form [0023]. Fitzsimons discloses that the block is grated and includes anti-caking agents [0055]. Fitzsimons discloses adding anti-caking agents to the grated or shredded dairy product and that the agent can be silica [0055].
At the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Havlik to include centrifuging at more than 500 rpm as in Lin in order to obtain a desired level of moisture removal from the yogurt and to achieve the desired solids content.
Although Lin does not explicitly disclose the rpm at about 2500 to about 4900 rpm one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Lin overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
At the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Havlik to include the step of adding an anti-caking agent such as silica to the grated dairy product as in Fitzsimons in order to prevent the grated or crumbled dairy product from sticking together in clumps.
Regarding Claim 15: Havlik as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 13. Havlik discloses using skim milk to make the yogurt [0087]. Havlik discloses a pH of 4.5 or less [0087; 0158, 0159]. Although Havlik does not disclose the fat content being less than 3.5%, it is well known in the art that skim milk has a fat content that is far below 3.5% and therefore meets the claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 16: Havlik as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 13. Havlik discloses adding additional ingredients including flavors to the yogurt [00073; 0074; 0086].
Regarding Claims 17 and 19: Havlik discloses a method of making reduced water activity yogurt [abstract]. Havlik discloses centrifuge evaporating non-fat yogurt [0168; 0184, 0185; 0215; 0216]. Havlik discloses removing liquid to achieve a solids content of about 40% or greater [0184]. Havlik discloses removing water at temperatures of 96 to 112°F [Table 47]; 71-110°F [Table 48]; 104-114°F [Table 49].
Havlik does not disclose centrifuging at from 2500 rpm to 4900 rpm.
Havlik does not disclose placing the yogurt in a filter bag and pressing until the solids content was at least 40%. However, this limitation is not required as it is prefaced with the recitation that “if” a solids content was not reached during the centrifugation step “then” a filtering step through a filter bag would have been used.
Havlik does not disclose adding an anti-caking agent and where the agent is silica, calcium silicate, magnesium silicate, sodium aluminosilicate, tricalcium phosphate.
Lin discloses method of making Greek yogurt from traditional yogurt [abstract]. Lin discloses using a centrifuge has an inner strainer and an outer bowl and discloses centrifuging to further separate whey from the yogurt [abstract]. Lin discloses using 500 rpm or faster [0069; 0070]. Lin discloses that the centrifuge is generally useful for separating liquid from food products and further discloses straining for producing curds from tofu and cheese [0077].
Fitzsimons discloses a method of producing a dairy product that is cheese like [abstract]. Fitzsimons discloses that the cheese like dairy product can be produced in have a final form is a crumbled form [0023]. Fitzsimons discloses that the block is grated and includes anti-caking agents [0055]. Fitzsimons discloses adding anti-caking agents to the grated or shredded dairy product and that the agent can be silica [0055].
At the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Havlik to include centrifuging at more than 500 rpm as in Lin in order to obtain a desired level of moisture removal from the yogurt and to achieve the desired solids content.
Although Lin does not explicitly disclose the rpm at about 2500 to about 4900 rpm one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the range taught by Lin overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.
At the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Havlik to include the step of adding an anti-caking agent such as silica to the grated dairy product as in Fitzsimons in order to prevent the grated or crumbled dairy product from sticking together in clumps.
Regarding Claim 18: Havlik as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 17. Havlik discloses using skim milk to make the yogurt [0087]. Havlik discloses a pH of 4.5 or less [0087; 0158, 0159]. Although Havlik does not disclose the fat content being less than 3.5%, it is well known in the art that skim milk has a fat content that is far below 3.5% and therefore meets the claim limitation.
Regarding Claim 20: Havlik as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 17. Havlik discloses adding additional ingredients including flavors to the yogurt [00073; 0074; 0086].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Draper et al. WO 2019206797 discloses a method of making a yogurt snack and discloses setting in a mold or block [abstract]. Draper discloses reducing the solids content to at least 35% [abstract].
Rakosi et al. (US 20170367358) discloses a method of making yogurt cheese [abstract]. Rakosi discloses making a yogurt cheese of solid consistency [0049]. Rakosi discloses the yogurt having a solids content of 30 to 35% and up to 50% [0049]. Rakosi disclosers straining and using a press to further remove liquid [0079].
Robert (US 1997866) discloses producing grated cheese and other dairy products [abstract; col. 1, lines 2-13].
Zhou et al. (CN 114831178) 8/2022 discloses a method of making a high protein yogurt [abstract]. Zhou discloses forming yogurt, centrifuging at 3,000 g and then concentrating/filtering [pg. 2, Background; pg. 9; pg. 11].
Conclusion
/Felicia C Turner/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793