DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the Restriction requirement mailed on 24FEB2026, Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (Claims 5-11 drawn to an antenna mount) in the reply filed on 23APR2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being related to unelected inventions following the restriction requirement. New claims 21-24 are found to be related to elected invention II and therefore will also be under consideration.
Status of the Claims
This action is responsive to the submission filed on 23APR2023
No Claims have been amended.
Claims 1-4 have been canceled by the applicant.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions.
Claims 21-24 have been added.
Therefore, claims 5-11 & 21-24 are under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on16JUL2024 & 14JAN2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract has been found to contain fewer than 50 words. Correction is required.
Drawings
Figure 8 of the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “806” has been used to designate both the individual and ecg electrode. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 7-8:
Each claim refers to limits on a structure that is not part of the antenna mount. Claim 7 provides limitations for the interior wall, which is part of the device housing per Claim 5. Regarding claim 8, the claim further limits the device housing stating “wherein the device housing is part of a defibrillator or mechanical chest compression device”. Neither claim recites limitations relevant to the antenna mount. It is therefore unclear from the claim language whether the device housing is meant to be a part of the antenna mount or a separate component. Thus, the claims do not clearly define the relationship between the antenna mount and the device housing, and it is unclear the structure required to satisfy the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-6, 9, & 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalistaja et al. (US Publication No. 20150138024).
Regarding Claim 5, Kaslistaja discloses an antenna mount (Kalistaja Figure 1B describing antenna 105 including antennas 102 (Figure 1A) described in ¶0062), comprising: a flexible substrate (Kalistaja Figure 1A plastic film structure 101 described in ¶0066 “Deposited on the plastic film structure 101, using a highly conductive fluid, is an antenna array 102 that, as depicted in FIG. 1A, includes one or more antennas 102, each of which have a body 105 (radiator pattern) and contacts 106a, 106b.”) configured to conform to an interior wall of a device housing (Kalistaja ¶0081 “The flexible substrate 101 is disposed in this example adjacent and substantially conforming to the interior of the upper housing 404, although this is but one possible placement of the substrate 101 within the cavity; for instance, the substrate 101 could be disposed with a stand-off distance from the upper housing 404, overlapping the upper and lower housings 404, 402, on the ends of the housing, and so forth.”), the flexible substrate comprising an electrically insulative material (Kalistaja ¶0066 “plastic film structure 101”), a hole being disposed through the flexible substrate (Kalistaja ¶0068 “Outer and inner surface patterns may be connected either through via holes 107 (contacts 106) or by depositing the pattern over the plastic film structure edge; i.e., at a curve and/or corner. "Via" holes are holes in the preformed plastic film structure 101 which are deposited over using the highly conductive fluid to form contacts, thereby creating a conductive through-hole structure. “).
Regarding Claim 6, claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses wherein the height of the flexible substrate is shorter than a height of the device housing (Kalistaja Figure 4 showing the antenna mount 105 as compared to the device housing 404).
Regarding Claim 9, claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses wherein the electrically insulative material comprises a polymer (Kalistaja ¶0066 “plastic film structure 101”).
Regarding Claim 21, claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses wherein the material comprises polycarbonate or polyethylene (Kalistaja ¶0084 “a thin film plastic structure is obtained and can be manufactured from any number of thin film polymer materials including PEEK (polyether ether ketone), PET (polyethylene terephthalate), PEN (polyethylene naphthalate), PC (polycarbonate), ABS (acrylnitrile butadiene styrene) and PI (polyimide). “).
Regarding Claim 22, claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses wherein the flexible substrate has a thickness of between about 0.1 millimeters (mm) and about 3 mm (Kalistaja ¶0065 “The thickness of the film is between 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm in exemplary implementations, although it will be appreciated that values greater or less than the aforesaid thickness may be used consistent with the disclosure. Additionally, it will be appreciated that the film may vary in thickness or other properties as a function of position, such as where one region is thicker or thinner, more or less dense, more or less transparent, more or less electrically non-conductive, etc. than another.”).
Regarding Claim 23, claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses device comprising: the antenna mount of claim 5; and the device housing (Kalistaja Figure 4 showing device 400 with housing 404 and the antenna mount 105).
Regarding Claim 24, claims 5 and 23 are anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja further discloses wherein an antenna is disposed between the device housing and the antenna mount (Kalistaja Figure 1B ¶0068 “As shown in the embodiment of FIGS. 1B and 1C, the radiator pattern of the antenna array 105 may be deposited on the outer surface 112 and/or inner surface 110, while the contacts 106 may be deposited on the inner surface 110. “; Figure 4 showing the antenna mount assembly disposed on housing 404).
Claims 5-6, 9-11, & 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taoum et al. J. (Taoum, E. Shammas and J. Costantine, "An Unconventional Shape Memory Alloy Low-Power Ratchet for Reconfiguring the Polarization of a Moiré Pattern-Based Antenna," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 70, no. 11, pp. 10095-10103, Nov. 2022, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2022.3187509).
Regarding Claim 5, Taoum discloses an antenna mount, comprising: a flexible substrate (Taoum Section II.A Describing Figure 3 “The plastic base and plastic antenna holder are 3-D-printed using polyactic acid (PLA) as the printing material with 10% infill (90% hollow inside). “) configured to conform to an interior wall of a device housing (Taoum Figure 2 showing the Antenna holder on the inside of the device housing.), the flexible substrate comprising an electrically insulative material (Taoum Section II.A Describing Figure 3 “The plastic base and plastic antenna holder are 3-D-printed using polyactic acid (PLA) as the printing material with 10% infill (90% hollow inside). “), a hole being disposed through the flexible substrate (Taoum Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses wherein the height of the flexible substrate is shorter than a height of the device housing (Taoum Figure 2b-c showing the device components).
Regarding Claim 9, claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses wherein the electrically insulative material comprises a polymer (Taoum Section II.A Describing Figure 3 “The plastic base and plastic antenna holder are 3-D-printed using polyactic acid (PLA) as the printing material with 10% infill (90% hollow inside). “).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses a dampener disposed on the flexible substrate, wherein the dampener comprises a foam. (Taoum Figure 2B).
Regarding claim 11, claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses a rail configured to attach to an antenna (Taoum Figure 2 Showing the plastic rotation guides); and an actuator (Taoum Figure 6B showing the shape memory alloy spring actuators.) coupled to the rail and configured to move the antenna along the rail (Taoum Figure 6B showing that the actuators cause the pawl to ratchet the antenna around an axis), wherein the actuator comprises a shape memory alloy actuator (Taoum Title “An Unconventional Shape Memory Alloy Low-Power Ratchet for Reconfiguring the Polarization of a Moiré Pattern-Based Antenna”; Figure 6B showing the shape memory alloy spring actuators.).
Regarding Claim 22, claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses wherein the flexible substrate has a thickness of between about 0.1 millimeters (mm) and about 3 mm (Taoum Section II.A “Another important aspect in the design is the thin thickness of the parts, where the plastic base, antenna holder, and Moiré patches are of 5, 1.6, and 0.4 mm, respectively.”).
Regarding Claim 23, claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses device comprising: the antenna mount of claim 5; and the device housing (Taoum Figure 2B).
Regarding Claim 24, claims 5 and 23 are anticipated by Taoum. Taoum further discloses wherein an antenna is disposed between the device housing and the antenna mount (Taoum Figure 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalistaja et al. (US Publication No. 20150138024) in view of Gupta et al. (B. Gupta, S. Sankaralingam and S. Dhar, "Development of wearable and implantable antennas in the last decade: A review," 2010 10th Mediterranean Microwave Symposium, Guzelyurt, Northern Cyprus, 2010, pp. 251-267, doi: 10.1109/MMW.2010.5605178.).
Regarding claim 10, Claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja does not further disclose: a dampener disposed on the flexible substrate, wherein the dampener comprises a foam. Gupta in a similar field of endeavor of antennas for biomedical devices teaches a dampener disposed on the flexible substrate, wherein the dampener comprises a foam (Gupta “In 2001, P.J. Massey [12] of Philips Research Laboratories, Redhill, UK constructed a PIFA operating at 900 MHz GSM band using copper plated nylon fabric for conducting parts and foam sheet spacer as the dielectric material.”).
Before the effecting filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to us a foam dampener to reduce vibrations, shocks, or oscillations that might otherwise degrade signal quality or damage sensitive components. Therefore, one would integrate a dampener disposed on the flexible substrate, wherein the dampener comprises a foam, as taught in Gupta, with the antenna mount of Kalistaja’s apparatus for the purpose of polarizing the antenna to reduce noise and mistreatments.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalistaja et al. (US Publication No. 20150138024) in view of Dar et al. (WO Publication No. 2011068849).
Regarding claim 7, Claim 5 is anticipated by Kalistaja. Kalistaja does not expressly disclose wherein the interior wall comprises a protrusion, the antenna mount further comprising: a groove in the flexible substrate, the protrusion being configured to fit in the groove. Dar in a similar field of endeavor of antennas for biomedical devices teaches a flexible substrate coupled to a substantially rigid base having a protrusion, wherein the flexible substrate includes an electrical circuit configured to electronically couple an electronic device to an antenna. Dar further teaches portions of the flexible substrate being disposed within slots defined by the base (Dar Claims 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the antenna mount of Kalistaja to include a protrusion and corresponding groove/slot arrangement such as taught in Dar to secure and stabilize the flexible substrate relative to the interior wall of the housing and maintain the antenna in a desired position. Such a modification would have been the predictable use of a known mechanical engagement technique for securing the flexible substrate and would have yielded predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taoum et al. J. (Taoum, E. Shammas and J. Costantine, "An Unconventional Shape Memory Alloy Low-Power Ratchet for Reconfiguring the Polarization of a Moiré Pattern-Based Antenna," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 70, no. 11, pp. 10095-10103, Nov. 2022, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2022.3187509) in view of Gupta et al. (B. Gupta, S. Sankaralingam and S. Dhar, "Development of wearable and implantable antennas in the last decade: A review," 2010 10th Mediterranean Microwave Symposium, Guzelyurt, Northern Cyprus, 2010, pp. 251-267, doi: 10.1109/MMW.2010.5605178.).
Regarding claim 8, Claim 5 is anticipated by Taoum. Taoum does not further disclose wherein the device housing is part of a defibrillator or mechanical chest compression device. Gupta in a similar field of endeavor of antennas for biomedical devices teaches wherein the device housing is part of a defibrillator or mechanical chest compression device. (Gupta Section VI “A printed circular monopole antenna [67] deployed in a wearable sensor designated for healthcare applications and developed by Healthcare Devices and Instrumentation, Philips Research, Netherlands was modeled with an F R4 substrate (permittivity: 4.6).”).
Before the effecting filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the antenna mount built into a defibrillator or mechanical chest compression device. such that the mount is always ready for antenna installation during use of a defibrillator. Therefore, one would integrate wherein the device housing is part of a defibrillator or mechanical chest compression device., as taught in Gupta, with the antenna mount of Taoum for the purpose of having a precise mounting location for optimizing the antennas function.
Conclusion
/MEGAN T FEDORKY/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/LYNSEY C Eiseman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796