DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s RCE filing on 08/26/2026.
Applicant’s cancelation of claims 7 and 16 is acknowledged. Claims 2-6 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected species. Claims 1, 8-15, and 17-19 are pending and examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 8, the embodiment shown in Figures 17-24, in the reply filed on 08/26/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 2-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 11-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Banholzer et al. (2020/0061782) in view of reference Allen et al. (5,535,646).
Regarding claim 1, Banholzer et al. disclose a power tool (10) comprising:
a casing (14, 18) provided with an accommodating space therein;
wherein a grip part (50) is disposed at a bottom of the casing (14, 18), and
wherein a manipulation port (178) is formed in the casing;
a driving device (74) comprising a working head (150) and a control unit,
wherein the control unit having a control member (158), and
wherein the control member (158) being capable of changing a position to control the working head (150) to rotate in different directions;
a power source (62) disposed below the driving device (74),
wherein the power source (62) capable of driving the working head (150) to actuate;
a reversing assembly having a reversing member (166) disposed in the manipulation port (178),
wherein the reversing member (166) is capable of controlling the control member (158) to generate a change in position;
a linkage member (170) with one end connected with the reversing member (166),
wherein the other end of the linkage member (170) is linked with the control member (158), and
wherein the linkage member (170) is capable of driving the control member (158) to produce a change in displacement, thereby capable of changing a rotation direction of the working head; and
a trigger (86) having a pressing end (see figure 2 below),
wherein the pressing end (see figure 2 below) being pressed by the trigger (86),
wherein, when the pressing end (see figure 2 below) is pressed, the power source (62) maintains operation.
(Figures 1, 2, 3 and Page 2 paragraph 27, 29, Page 3 paragraph 31, 32)
[AltContent: textbox (Pushing Stroke)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Manipulation Length)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Pressing End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pivot End)][AltContent: textbox (Banholzer et al.)]
However, Banholzer et al. do not disclose the control unit comprising a swing member, a control member, and two driving members.
Allen et al. disclose a driving device (10) comprising: a working head (22) and a control unit (16, 18, 20, 24),
wherein the working head (22) is annularly provided with a ratchet (26) on a circumference thereof,
wherein the control unit (16, 18, 20, 24) comprises: a swing member (16); a control member (24); and two driving members (18, 20),
wherein the swing member (16) is capable of swinging back and forth,
wherein the control member (24) is pivotally disposed in the swing member (16),
wherein the two driving members (18, 20) being disposed on two sides of the control member (24) respectively, and
wherein the control member (24) is capable of controlling the two driving members (18, 20) to be away from or close to the working head (22) to control the working head (22) to rotate in different direction,
wherein an eccentric shaft (66) capable of driving the swing member (16) to swing,
wherein the control member (24) is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member (16) to switch engagement of the two driving members (18, 20) with the working head (22), without requiring the working head (22) to be stopped during a reversing operation.
(Figure 2-3, 10 and Column 3 lines 23-37, Column 5 lines 23-34, Column 6 lines 16-19)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the driving device of Banholzer et al. by incorporating the swing member, control member, and two driving members as taught by Allen et al., since column 1 lines 65-67 through column 2 lines 1-6 of Allen et al. states such a modification would allow enhanced drive speed without compromising torque.
In column 6 lines 16-19 of Allen et al., the use of swing member, control member, and two driving members allows for reversal of the direction of rotation while the tool is in operation. Therefore, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. is interpreted to disclose the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control member such that displacement of the reversing member changes a position of the control member relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during a reversing operation.
Regarding claim 9, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the reversing member of the reversing assembly is a pushed reversing member (Banholzer et al. – 166) slidably disposed in the elongated manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178), wherein the pushed reversing member (Banholzer et al. – 166) is capable of being reciprocating pushed in the elongated manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178) to generate positional changes. (Figure 1 and Page 3 paragraph 32)
Regarding claim 11, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose an upper casing (Banholzer et al. – 18) and a lower casing (Banholzer et al. – 14), wherein the driving device (Banholzer et al. – 74) is disposed in the upper casing (Banholzer et al. – 18), wherein the power source (Banholzer et al. – 62) and the linkage member (Banholzer et al. – 170) are respectively partly disposed in the upper case (Banholzer et al. – 18) and the lower casing (Banholzer et al. – 14), and wherein the manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178) is disposed on the lower casing (Banholzer et al. – 14). (Banholzer et al. – Figure 3)
Regarding claim 12, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the grip part (Banholzer et al. – 50) is disposed below the lower casing (Banholzer et al. – 14). (Banholzer et al. – Figure 3)
Regarding claim 13, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the grip part (Banholzer et al. – 50) is integrally formed under the lower casing (Banholzer et al. – 14). (Banholzer et al. – Figure 3)
Regarding claim 14, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the reversing member of the reversing assembly is a pushed reversing member (Banholzer et al. – 166) slidably disposed in the elongated manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178), wherein the pushed reversing member (Banholzer et al. – 166) is capable of being reciprocating pushed within the elongated manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178) to generate positional changes. (Figure 1 and Page 3 paragraph 32)
Regarding claim 15, Banholzer et al. disclose a power tool (10) comprising:
a casing (14, 18) provided with an accommodating space therein;
wherein a grip part (50) is disposed at a bottom of the casing (14, 18), and
wherein a manipulation port (178) is formed in the casing;
a driving device (74) comprising a working head (150) and a control unit,
wherein the control unit having a control member (158), and
wherein the control member (158) being capable of changing a position to control the working head (150) to rotate in different directions;
a power source (62) disposed below the driving device (74),
wherein the power source (62) capable of driving the working head (150) to actuate; and
a reversing assembly having a pushed reversing member (166) slidably disposed in the elongated manipulation port (178),
wherein the pushed reversing member (166) is capable of being reciprocating pushed in the elongated manipulation port (178) to generate positional changes; and
a linkage member (170) composed of a rod body,
wherein one end of the rod body is connected with the pushed reversing member (166),
wherein the other end of the rod body is linked with the control member (158), and
wherein the linkage member (170) is capable of driving the control member (158) to produce a change in displacement, thereby capable of changing a rotation direction of the working head; and
a trigger (86) having a pressing end (see figure 2 above),
wherein the pressing end (see figure 2 above) being pressed by the trigger (86),
wherein, when the pressing end (see figure 2 above) is pressed, the power source (62) maintains operation.
(Figure 1, 2, 3 and Page 2 paragraph 27, 29, Page 3 paragraph 31, 32)
However, Banholzer et al. do not disclose the control unit comprising a swing member, a control member, and two driving members.
Allen et al. disclose a driving device (10) comprising: a working head (22) and a control unit (16, 18, 20, 24),
wherein the working head (22) is annularly provided with a ratchet (26) on a circumference thereof,
wherein the control unit (16, 18, 20, 24) comprises: a swing member (16); a control member (24); and two driving members (18, 20),
wherein the swing member (16) is capable of swinging back and forth,
wherein the control member (24) is pivotally disposed in the swing member (16),
wherein the two driving members (18, 20) being disposed on two sides of the control member (24) respectively,
wherein the control member (24) is capable of controlling the two driving members (18, 20) to be away from or close to the working head (22) to control the working head (22) to rotate in different direction,
wherein an eccentric shaft (66) capable of driving the swing member (16) to swing, and
wherein the control member (24) is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member (16) to switch engagement of the two driving members (18, 20) with the working head (22), without requiring the working head (22) to be stopped during a reversing operation.
(Figure 2-3, 10 and Column 3 lines 23-37, Column 5 lines 23-34, Column 6 lines 16-19)
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the driving device of Banholzer et al. by incorporating the swing member, control member, and two driving members as taught by Allen et al., since column 1 lines 65-67 through column 2 lines 1-6 of Allen et al. states such a modification would allow enhanced drive speed without compromising torque.
In column 6 lines 16-19 of Allen et al., the use of swing member, control member, and two driving members allows for reversal of the direction of rotation while the tool is in operation. Therefore, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. is interpreted to disclose the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control member such that displacement of the reversing member changes a position of the control member relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during a reversing operation.
Regarding claim 17, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the trigger (Banholzer et al. – 86) has a pivot end (Banholzer et al. – see figure 2 above), wherein the pivot end (Banholzer et al. – see figure 2 above) is pivotally disposed on the grip part (Banholzer et al. – 50), and wherein the pressing end (Banholzer et al. – see figure 2 above) is pressed by the trigger (Banholzer et al. – 86) with the pivot end (Banholzer et al. – see figure 2 above) as an axis. (Banholzer et al. – Figure 2 and Page 2 paragraph 29)
Regarding claim 18, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose a manipulating length between pressing end (Banholzer et al. – see figure 2 above) of the trigger (Banholzer et al. – 86) and a bottom of the elongated manipulation port (Banholzer et al. – 178). (Banholzer et al. – Figure 2)
However, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. do not disclose the length is between 30mm-80mm.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to have a manipulating length between 30mm-80mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. [MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)]
On page 21 lines 13-18 of the Specification, the manipulation length is disclosed to be between 30mm-80mm. The Specification does not disclose any criticality for the claimed feature. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Banholzer et al. and Allen et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Banholzer et al. (2020/0061782) in view of reference Allen et al. (5,535,646) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of reference Beer (2022/0355459).
Regarding claim 8, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. disclose the control member (Allen et al. – 24) comprises: an abutted part (Allen et al. – see figure 10 below); and two guiding parts (Allen et al. – see figure 10 below), wherein the two guiding parts (Allen et al. – see figure 10 below) are disposed on two sides of the abutted part (Allen et al. – see figure 10 below) respectively. (Figure 10 and Column 5 lines 64-67 through Column 6 lines 1-9)
[AltContent: textbox (Guiding Parts)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Abutted Part)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Allen et al.)]
However, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. do not disclose a cam that is driven by a linkage member.
Beer disclose a power tool comprising a reversing assembly comprising: a control member (112, 158); and a linkage member (116), wherein the control member (112, 158) includes a cam (see figure 3 below) protruding on the control member (112, 158), wherein the cam is driven by the linkage member (116) to drive the control member (112, 158) to switch directions. (Figure 3-4 and Page 2 paragraph 16)
[AltContent: textbox (Cam)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Beer)]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the reversing assembly of Allen by incorporating the cam connecting between the control member and the linkage member as taught by Beer, since such a modification would direct moving of the control member by the user, thereby making the overall power tool more versatile.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over reference Banholzer et al. (2020/0061782) in view of reference Allen et al. (5,535,646) as applied to claims 1 and 15 respectively, and further in view of reference Hsieh (9,579,778).
Regarding claim 10, Banholzer et al. disclose a single-handedly holding length being formed between a bottom of the grip part (50) and the manipulation port (178). (Figure 1)
However, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. do not disclose a holding length being between 100-160mm.
Hsieh disclose a tool (20) comprising a holding length (L) being between 70-130mm.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the holding length of Banholzer et al. by having the length be between 70-130mm as taught by Hsieh, since column 1 lines 39-43 of Hsieh state such a modification would allow the ideal range of different sized hands to used the tool.
Regarding claim 19, Banholzer et al. disclose a single-handedly holding length being formed between a bottom of the grip part (50) and the manipulation port (178), and wherein the pushed reversing member (166) has a pushing stroke in the elongated manipulation port (178). (Figure 1)
However, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. do not disclose a holding length being between 100-160mm.
Hsieh disclose a tool (20) comprising a holding length (L) being between 70-130mm.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the holding length of Banholzer et al. by having the length be between 70-130mm as taught by Hsieh, since column 1 lines 39-43 of Hsieh state such a modification would allow the ideal range of different sized hands to used the tool.
However, Banholzer et al. modified by Allen et al. and Hsieh do not disclose the length of the pushing stroke is 25mm-50mm.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art to have the length of the pushing stroke is between 25mm-50mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. [MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)]
On page 20 lines 9-14 of the Specification, the pushed reversing member is disclosed to have a pushing stroke length between 25mm-50mm. The Specification does not disclose any criticality for the claimed feature. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Banholzer et al., Hsieh, and Allen et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 25 because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
The Amendments filed on 09/02/2026 have been entered. Applicant’s cancelation of claims 7 and 16 is acknowledged. Claims 2-6 are withdrawn for being drawn to non-elected species. Claims 1, 8-15, and 17-19 are pending in the application.
In response to the arguments of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), in view of the amendments to the claims, Examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections.
In response to the arguments of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 with reference Banholzer et al. (2020/0061782) modified by reference Allen et al. (5,535,646), Examiner finds the arguments not persuasive.
Applicant states:
But, the cited references do not themselves disclose the claimed arrangement as a single integrated mechanism.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Banholzer et al. is relied upon for the teaching of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member; and a linkage member connected to the reversing member. Allen et al. is relied upon for the teaching of driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members. When modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted to comprise: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member; and a linkage member connected to the reversing member., wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members.
Applicant states:
But the Examiner has not identified a disclosure in either reference, or a sufficient reason for modifying the references, that establishes the particular relationship required by amended claim 1.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Allen et al. discloses that the incorporation of the driving device comprising the swing member, the control member, and two driving members would allow enhanced drive speed without compromising torque. (Column 1 lines 65-67 through Column 2 lines 1-6) Therefore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to incorporate the swing member, the control member, and two driving members as taught by Allen et al. in order to obtain the disclosed benefits.
Applicant states:
This distinction is important because simply combining Banholzer’s reversing assembly with Allen’s drive mechanism does not establish that the resulting mechanism would possess the same mechanical separation between the reversing operation and the driven ratchet/working head.
In column 6 lines 16-19 of Allen et al., the reversing of the ratcheting direction while the tool is in operation is possible because “it is not necessary to reverse the direction of the tool motor or other tool parts”. Allen et al. do not disclose the reversing of the ratcheting direction while the tool is in operation is dependent on a relationship between the reversing operation and the driven ratchet/working head. Allen et al. also does not disclose that the swing member, the control member, and two driving members can only work with the disclosed reversing mechanism, nor disclose that it would be impossible to incorporate the swing member, the control member, and two driving members into a tool with a different reversing mechanism. Therefore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would not be deterred from incorporating the swing member, the control member, and two driving members into the power tool of Banholzer et al..
Furthermore, since Applicant does not provide any evidence to support the assertion that it would be impossible to incorporate the swing member, the control member, and two driving members into the power tool of Banholzer et al., the assertion is mere speculation. “An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness”. [MPEP 2145 (I)] Therefore, in view of Applicant not providing support for the assertion, and in view of Allen et al. not teaching away from incorporating the swing member, the control member, and two driving members into other power tools, Applicant’s argument is rendered moot.
Applicant states:
Applicant respectfully submits that this reasoning does not adequately explain why a person of ordinary skill in the art would modify Banholzer’s reversing mechanism in the specific manner required by amended claim 1 or 15.
Allen et al. is not relied upon for the teaching of a reversing mechanism. Allen et al. is relied upon for the teaching of driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members. Banholzer et al. is relied upon for the teaching of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member; and a linkage member connected to the reversing member. When modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted to comprise: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member; and a linkage member connected to the reversing member., wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members.
Applicant states:
The claim requires a particular sequence and mechanical relationship
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a particular sequence and mechanical relationship) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 1 and 15 disclose “a reversing assembly having a reversing member disposed in the manipulation port, the reversing member being operatively coupled to the control member such that displacement of the reversing member changes a position of the control member relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during the reversing operation”.
Banholzer et al. disclose of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member, wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit. Allen et al. teaches a driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, wherein control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head. Allen et al. also disclose the ratcheting direction can be reversed while the tool is in operation. Therefore, when modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted to comprise: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; and a reversing assembly having a reversing member; wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit., wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, and wherein the control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during a reversing operation.
Applicant states:
Thus, the relevant question is not only:
“Can Allen reverse while operating?”
The relevant question is:
Does the proposed Banholzer-Allen combination provide the claimed mechanism by which the reversing member changes the control member relative to the swing member so the two driving members are switched, without requiring the working head to be stopped?
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It should also be pointed out that, in an apparatus claim, the functional description is treated as a functional recitation. In other words, it is not a structural limitation, and the prior art is considered to meet the limitations of an apparatus claim as long as the prior art is fully capable of performing the functional recitation.
Banholzer et al. is relied upon for the teaching of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member, wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit. Allen et al. is relied upon for the teaches a driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, wherein control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head. Since Allen et al. also disclose the ratcheting direction can be reversed while the tool is in operation, the incorporation of the teaching of using a swing member; a control member; and two driving members also includes the capability to reverse ratcheting directions while the tool is in operation. Therefore, when modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted have all the claimed mechanical structure that is fully capable of performing the claimed action.
Applicant states:
The Examiner has not established that the proposed Banholzer-allen combination would necessarily provide the same technical effect.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant states:
The issue therefore concerns the combined structure, not the absence of all limitations from either reference individually.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Banholzer et al. is relied upon for the teaching of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member, wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit. Allen et al. is relied upon for the teaches a driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, wherein control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head. Since Allen et al. also disclose the ratcheting direction can be reversed while the tool is in operation, the incorporation of the teaching of using a swing member; a control member; and two driving members also includes the capability to reverse ratcheting directions while the tool is in operation. Therefore, when modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted have all the claimed mechanical structure that is fully capable of performing the claimed action.
Applicant states:
The Specification expressly states that the control member does not actuate together with the swing member, thereby allowing the reversing member to rotate the control member while the swing member is operating.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 1 and 15 disclose “a reversing assembly having a reversing member disposed in the manipulation port, the reversing member being operatively coupled to the control member such that displacement of the reversing member changes a position of the control member relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during the reversing operation”.
Banholzer et al. disclose of a power tool comprising: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; a reversing assembly having a reversing member, wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit. Allen et al. teaches a driving device comprising a working head and a control unit, wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, wherein control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head. Allen et al. also disclose the ratcheting direction can be reversed while the tool is in operation. Therefore, when modifying Banholzer et al. in view of Allen et al., the power tool is interpreted to comprise: a driving device including a working head and a control unit; and a reversing assembly having a reversing member; wherein the reversing member is operatively coupled to the control unit., wherein the control unit includes: a swing member; a control member; and two driving members, and wherein the control member is capable of changing positions relative to the swing member to switch engagement of the two driving members with the working head, without requiring the working head to be stopped during a reversing operation.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B FRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3731 September 24, 2026
/SHELLEY M SELF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3731