DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a Final Office Action in response to applicant’s amendments received on 01/02/2026.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 1-20 are considered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/09/2026 and 04/29/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejections set forth in this Office Action.
Response to Double Patenting arguments- Applicant’s amendments concerning the double patenting rejections have been considered and found sufficient to overcome the double patenting rejection. Accordingly, the Double Patenting rejection is withdrawn.
Response to §101 arguments - Applicant's amendments and supporting arguments (Remarks at pgs.12-23) concerning the 101 rejection of claims 1-20 have been considered and found sufficient to overcome the $101 rejection. The claims are patent eligible under 35 USC 101 as amended claims recite limitations which are not abstract under Prong 2 of Step 2A of the Alice analysis, as they are directed at transforming warmed water returning to the one or more chillers to the chilled water to serve the cooling load at a rate in accordance with the first amount of the chilled water determined by solving the control problem by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of a temperature setpoint for the one or more chillers based on the first amount of the chilled water or a flow setpoint for one or more pumps conveying the warmed water through the one or more chillers based on the first amount of the chilled water, transforming cooled water returning to the one or more hot water generators to the heated water to serve the heating load at a rate in accordance with the first amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of a temperature setpoint for the one or more hot water generators based on the first amount of the heated water or a flow setpoint for one or more pumps conveying the cooled water through the one or more hot water generators based on the first amount of the heated water, and generating electricity for use in serving the electric load of the building or facility with the one or more electric generators in accordance the first amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of (i) an electrical production rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of electricity or (ii) a steam, natural gas, or solar energy consumption rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed. Any abstractions recited in the claim limitations which may be construed as "mental processes" or "mathematical concept" are integrated into a practical application, as the additional elements reflect applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Accordingly, the §101 rejection is withdrawn.
Response to §103 arguments – Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered. Applicant’s arguments are found moot in light of applicant’s amendments. An updated §103 rejection will address applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael J.Wenzel (US 2015/0316902 A1, hereinafter “Wenzel”) in view of Andrey Torzhkov(US 2011/0066258 A1, hereinafter “Torzhkov”).
Claim 1
Wenzel teaches:
A controller for one or more chillers that operate to serve a cooling load of a building or facility([0030] A central plant may include may include various types of equipment configured to serve the thermal energy loads of a building or campus (i.e., a system of buildings). For example, a central plant may include heaters, chillers, heat recovery chillers, cooling towers, or other types of equipment configured to provide heating or cooling for the building or campus), the controller comprising one or more processing circuits ([0047]) configured to: obtain a first balance constraint that requires balance ([0015] the central plant equipment to generate the load equality constraints)between: chilled water production comprising a first amount of chilled water to be produced by the one or more chillers([0115] Subplant curve incorporator 178 may modify the inequality constraints to ensure that the proper amount of each resource is consumed to serve the predicted thermal energy loads. use of chiller subplant 16 (i.e., u.sub.Chiller,elec) as a function of the cold water production of chiller subplant 16); and chilled water consumption comprising a second amount of chilled water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility([0100] the predicted thermal energy loads include a predicted cold water thermal energy load);
obtain a second balance constraint that requires balance ([0107] Subplant curves module 170 may be configured to modify the high level optimization problem to account for subplants that have a nonlinear relationship between resource consumption and load production)between: water, electricity, or steam consumption comprising a first amount of water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by the one or more chillers or other equipment to produce the first amount of the chilled water([0006] The optimization system further includes a high level optimization module configured to generate an objective function that expresses a total monetary cost of operating the central plant over the optimization period as a function of the utility rate data and an amount of the one or more resources consumed by the central plant equipment at each of the plurality of time steps. [0030] the subplants may consume resources from one or more utilities (e.g., water, electricity, natural gas, etc.) to serve the energy loads of the building or campus);
construct and solve a control problem using the first balance constraint and the second balance constraint to determine the first amount of the chilled water to be produced by the one or more chillers and the first amount of the water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by the one or more chillers or the other equipment([0006] The high level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the plurality of subplants. The high level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints);
andtransform warmed water returning to the one or more chillers to the chilled water to serve the cooling load at a rate in accordance with the first amount of the chilled water determined by solving the control problem by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of a temperature setpoint for the one or more chillers based on the first amount of the chilled water or a flow setpoint for one or more pumps conveying the warmed water through the one or more chillers based on the first amount of the chilled water([0031] The high level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. [0044] Chiller subplant 16 is shown to include a plurality of chillers 42 configured to remove heat from the cold water in cold water loop 26. cooling tower subplant 18 is also shown to include several pumps 50 configured to circulate the condenser water in condenser water loop 28 and to control the flow rate of the condenser water through individual cooling towers 48. [0078] Still referring to FIG. 3, low level optimization module 132 may use the subplant loads determined by high level optimization module 130 to determine optimal low level decisions θ.sub.LL* (e.g. binary on/off decisions, flow setpoints, temperature setpoints, etc.) for equipment 60. The low level optimization process may be performed for each of subplants 12-22. Low level optimization module 132 may be responsible for determining which devices of each subplant to use and/or the operating setpoints for such devices that will achieve the subplant load setpoint while minimizing energy consumption).
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Torzhkov teaches:
and water, electricity, or steam production comprising a second amount of water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by one or more sources or produced by one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers([0032] energy generation devices that produce energy. [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms, for example, electricity and steam, from a fuel source such as oil or gas. [0034] water from a utility source (W.sub.UTL) may be introduced to the plant, for example at a single source, where a portion thereof (W.sub.COG) may be diverted to the co-generator 104 where it is used to produce both steam (S.sub.COT) and power (P.sub.COG). Power (P) may also be provided to the plant through other sources such as from a utility source (P.sub.UTL) and/or a photovoltaic cell or solar cell 109 (P.sub.SCE). Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. For example, power (P.sub.CC) may be provided to centrifugal chillers 108 and power (P.sub.GTS) may be provided to a geothermal system 110. The geothermal system 110 may be used to cool down plant water supply, such as water emerging from air conditioners, by pumping the water through a network of underground pipes. Thus the geothermal system 110 may use power (P.sub.GTS) to provide chilled water (L.sub.GTS) to the centrifugal chillers 108 thereby lessening the power required by the centrifugal chillers 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Torzhkov to include water, electricity, or steam production comprising a second amount of water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by one or more sources or produced by one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help provide greater efficiency by balancing out operation of energy producing devices so they may remain in optimal efficiency ranges for longer periods of time [0038].
Claim 2
Wenzel teaches:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein: the chilled water production further comprises a third amount of chilled water to be produced by one or more other chilled water production devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more chillers([0040] Central plant 10 is shown to include a plurality of subplants including a heater subplant 12, a heat recovery chiller subplant 14, a chiller subplant 16, a cooling tower subplant 18, a hot thermal energy storage (TES) subplant 20, and a cold thermal energy storage (TES) subplant 22. [0031] the high level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. Examiner notes: Wenzel teaches separate chilled water-production devices distinct from the primary chillers in [0040]. In [0031] Wenezel teaches allocating production quantities among them. Thereby, the primary chiller subplant produces one amount, while the other chilled-water production devices produce additional allocated amounts, which under BRI corresponds to the third amount of chilled water);
solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the chilled water to be produced by the one or more other chilled water production devices([0031] The high level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period);
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other chilled water production devices in accordance with a setpoint to produce the third amount of the chilled water determined by solving the control problem([0050] BAS 108 may receive control signals from central plant controller 102 specifying on/off states and/or setpoints for equipment 60. BAS 108 may control equipment 60 (e.g., via actuators, power relays, etc.) in accordance with the control signals provided by central plant controller 102. For example, BAS 108 may operate equipment 60 using closed loop control to achieve the setpoints specified by central plant controller 102. [0064] For example, optimization module 128 is shown to include a high level optimization module 130 and a low level optimization module 132. High level optimization module 130 may control an outer (e.g., subplant level) loop of the cascaded optimization. High level optimization module 130 may determine an optimal distribution of thermal energy loads across subplants 12-22 for each time step in the prediction window in order to optimize (e.g., minimize) the cost of energy consumed by subplants 12-22. Low level optimization module 132 may control an inner (e.g., equipment level) loop of the cascaded optimization. Low level optimization module 132 may determine how to best run each subplant at the load setpoint determined by high level optimization module 130. For example, low level optimization module 132 may determine on/off states and/or operating setpoints for various devices of equipment 60 in order to optimize (e.g., minimize) the energy consumption of each subplant while meeting the thermal energy load setpoint for the subplant).
Claim 8
Wenezel teaches:
A controller for one or more hot water generators that operate to serve a heating load of a building or facility([0030] A central plant may include may include various types of equipment configured to serve the thermal energy loads of a building or campus (i.e., a system of buildings). For example, a central plant may include heaters, chillers, heat recovery chillers, cooling towers, or other types of equipment configured to provide heating or cooling for the building or campus), the controller comprising one or more processing circuits ([0047]) configured to:
obtain a first balance constraint that requires balance between([0015] the central plant equipment to generate the load equality constraints): heated water production comprising a first amount of heated water to be produced by the one or more hot water generators([0100] the predicted thermal energy loads include a predicted hot water thermal energy load {circumflex over (l)}.sub.Hot,k.); and heated water consumption comprising a second amount of heated water required to serve the heating load of the building or facility(([0006] The optimization system further includes a high level optimization module configured to generate an objective function that expresses a total monetary cost of operating the central plant over the optimization period as a function of the utility rate data and an amount of the one or more resources consumed by the central plant equipment at each of the plurality of time steps. [0030] the subplants may consume resources from one or more utilities (e.g., water, electricity, natural gas, etc.) to serve the energy loads of the building or campus. [0100] The predicted hot water thermal energy load {circumflex over (l)}.sub.Hot,k may be satisfied by the combination of heat recovery chiller subplant 14, heater subplant 12, and hot TES subplant 20. [0100] The predicted hot water thermal energy load {circumflex over (l)}.sub.Hot,k may be satisfied by the combination of heat recovery chiller subplant 14, heater subplant 12, and hot TES subplant 20. [0115] Subplant curve incorporator 178 may modify the inequality constraints to ensure that the proper amount of each resource is consumed to serve the predicted thermal energy loads);
obtain a second balance constraint that requires balance between([0107] Subplant curves module 170 may be configured to modify the high level optimization problem to account for subplants that have a nonlinear relationship between resource consumption and load production):
water, electricity, or natural gas consumption comprising a first amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by the one or more hot water generators to produce the first amount of the heated water([0006] The optimization system further includes a high level optimization module configured to generate an objective function that expresses a total monetary cost of operating the central plant over the optimization period as a function of the utility rate data and an amount of the one or more resources consumed by the central plant equipment at each of the plurality of time steps. [0030] the subplants may consume resources from one or more utilities (e.g., water, electricity, natural gas, etc.) to serve the energy loads of the building or campus);
construct and solve a control problem using the first balance constraint and the second balance constraint to determine the first amount of the heated water to be produced by the one or more hot water generators and the first amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by the one or more hot water generators([0006] The high level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the plurality of subplants. The high level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints);
andtransform cooled water returning to the one or more hot water generators to the heated water to serve the heating load at a rate in accordance with the first amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of a temperature setpoint for the one or more hot water generators based on the first amount of the heated water or a flow setpoint for one or more pumps conveying the cooled water through the one or more hot water generators based on the first amount of the heated water([0031] The high level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. [0078] Still referring to FIG. 3, low level optimization module 132 may use the subplant loads determined by high level optimization module 130 to determine optimal low level decisions θ.sub.LL* (e.g. binary on/off decisions, flow setpoints, temperature setpoints, etc.) for equipment 60. The low level optimization process may be performed for each of subplants 12-22. Low level optimization module 132 may be responsible for determining which devices of each subplant to use and/or the operating setpoints for such devices that will achieve the subplant load setpoint while minimizing energy consumption. [0040] For example, heater subplant 12 may be configured to heat water in a hot water loop 24 that circulates the hot water between central plant 10 and a building. [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. For example, heater subplant 12 is shown to include a plurality of heating elements 30 (e.g., boilers, electric heaters, etc.) configured to add heat to the hot water in hot water loop 24. Heater subplant 12 is also shown to include several pumps 32 and 34 configured to circulate the hot water in hot water loop 24 and to control the flow rate of the hot water through individual heating elements 30).
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Torzhkov teaches:
and water, electricity, or natural gas production comprising a second amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by one or more sources or produced by one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators([0032] energy generation devices that produce energy. [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms, for example, electricity and steam, from a fuel source such as oil or gas. [0034] water from a utility source (W.sub.UTL) may be introduced to the plant, for example at a single source, where a portion thereof (W.sub.COG) may be diverted to the co-generator 104 where it is used to produce both steam (S.sub.COT) and power (P.sub.COG). Power (P) may also be provided to the plant through other sources such as from a utility source (P.sub.UTL) and/or a photovoltaic cell or solar cell 109 (P.sub.SCE). Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. For example, power (P.sub.CC) may be provided to centrifugal chillers 108 and power (P.sub.GTS) may be provided to a geothermal system 110. [0035] Steam from the co-generator 104 (S.sub.COG) may be used to send steam (S.sub.HEX) to a heat exchanger 103 where heat can be transferred for productive use such as to heat potable water or to provide hot air to air handling units 107 which may provide hot air (S.sub.AIR) and chilled air (L.sub.AIR) to the plant. [0037] Boilers 102 may receive water (W.sub.BL) from the utility source (W.sub.UTL) and produce hot water (S.sub.BL) for serving the air handling units 107, as well as other plant purposes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Torzhkov to water, electricity, or natural gas production comprising a second amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by one or more sources or produced by one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help provide greater efficiency by balancing out operation of energy producing devices so they may remain in optimal efficiency ranges for longer periods of time [0038].
Claims 3-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wenzel Torzhkov, as applied in claims 1 and 8, and further in view of Takayuki Osogami (US 2013/0345889 A1, hereinafter “Osogami”).
Claim 3
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein: the chilled water consumption further comprises a fourth amount of chilled water to be consumed by one or more chilled water consumption devices controlled by the controller([0013] The electrical power system 202 supplies electricity to electrical appliances 206(consumption devices), such as fans, lights, computers, etc. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214 a-214 c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. [0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule);
solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the chilled water to be consumed by the one or more chilled water consumption devices ([0015] it is possible to produce a power demand schedule for operating the various power supply equipment of the building unit by determining a substantial minimum of the cost function with respect to time. [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax));
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more chilled water consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the chilled water determined by solving the control problem([0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule (setpoint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to include the chilled water consumption further comprises a fourth amount of chilled water to be consumed by one or more chilled water consumption devices controlled by the controller; solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the chilled water to be consumed by the one or more chilled water consumption devices; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more chilled water consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the chilled water determined by solving the control problem as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 4
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein: the water, electricity, or steam consumption further comprises a third amount of water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by one or more other devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more chillers ([0013] The electrical power system 202 supplies electricity to electrical appliances 206(consumption devices), such as fans, lights, computers, etc. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214 a-214 c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. [0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule);
solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by the one or more other devices([0015] it is possible to produce a power demand schedule for operating the various power supply equipment of the building unit by determining a substantial minimum of the cost function with respect to time. [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax));
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the water, electricity, or steam determined by solving the control problem([0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule (setpoint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to the water, electricity, or steam consumption further comprises a third amount of water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by one or more other devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more chillers; solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the water, electricity, or steam to be consumed by the one or more other devices; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the water, electricity, or steam determined by solving the control problem as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 5
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein: the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller([0013] The schematic diagram 200 includes an electrical power system 202 that may receive electricity from outside sources via the electricity grid 104. [0012] the control unit 110 may determine a schedule for operating the various power systems. In another aspect, the control unit 110 may control the various power systems according to the determined schedule); the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers are controlled by the controller( [0013] Exemplary local generators 210 a-210 c and exemplary battery 212 may also supply electricity to the power system 202. The local generators 210 a-210 c are typically turned on or off based on power demands of the building unit.);
and the second amount of the water, electricity, or steam comprises both a fourth amount of water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of water, electricity, or steam to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers([0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller; the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers are controlled by the controller; and the second amount of the water, electricity, or steam comprises both a fourth amount of water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of water, electricity, or steam to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 6
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the chilled water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility and the second amount of the water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers([0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t, which shows determination of chilled water required for load, while [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀t Eq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generatorsis less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to wherein solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the chilled water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility and the second amount of the water, electricity, or steam to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more chillers as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 7
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 1, wherein: determining the first amount of the chilled water to be produced by the one or more chillers comprises determining a first amount of heat to be transferred out of a fluid loop between the one or more chillers and the cooling load of the building or facility([0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t which shows determination of chilled water required for load); and determining the second amount of the chilled water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility comprises determining a second amount of heat to be transferred into the fluid loop by the cooling load of the building or facility([0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t. [0013] The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. The exemplary chillers 214 a-214 c may chill a fluid for use at the heat exchanger 204. Heat exchanger 204 exchanges heat between fluid from the chillers 214 a-214 c and/or from the heat storage unit 216 and the coolant 208. The coolant 208 is then circulated throughout the building unit to regulate a temperature (absorb heat or cooling water)of the building unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to determining the first amount of the chilled water to be produced by the one or more chillers comprises determining a first amount of heat to be transferred out of a fluid loop between the one or more chillers and the cooling load of the building or facility; and determining the second amount of the chilled water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility comprises determining a second amount of heat to be transferred into the fluid loop by the cooling load of the building or facility as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 9
Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein: the heated water production further comprises a third amount of heated water to be produced by one or more other heated water production devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more hot water generators([0013]The electrical power system 202 supplies electricity to electrical appliances 206, such as fans, lights, computers, etc. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214a-214c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214a-214c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. [0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210a-210c and one or more chillers 214a-214c according to the determined schedule); solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the heated water to be produced by the one or more other heated water production devices([0015] It is possible to produce a power demand schedule for operating the various power supply equipment of the building unit by determining a substantial minimum of the cost function with respect to time. The cost function may be subjected to various constraints. For example, the heating supply from the chillers and, in some embodiments from the heat storage unit, may be equal to or greater than the heating requirements of the building unit. In addition, the power supplied from the electrical power system, including the power supply supplied from the local generators 210a-210c and/or battery 212, may be equal to or greater than the electrical power demands of the building unit.);
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other heated water production devices in accordance with a setpoint to produce the third amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem([0023] a method of substantially minimizing a cost function for determining a power supply schedule for building unit using a mixed integer program. The optimal solution to the mixed integer program assigns values, either 0 or 1, to each of the variables x.sub.i,t and y.sub.i,t. That x.sub.i,t=1 suggests that the i.sup.th chiller should be turned during the t.sup.th period. That y.sub.i,t=1 suggests that the j.sup.th generator should be turned during the t.sup.th period. [0025] describes determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210a-210c and one or more chillers 214a-214c according to the determined schedule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to the heated water production further comprises a third amount of heated water to be produced by one or more other heated water production devices controlled by the controller; solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the heated water to be produced by the one or more other heated water production devices; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other heated water production devices in accordance with a setpoint to produce the third amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 10
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein: the heated water consumption further comprises a fourth amount of heated water to be consumed by one or more heated water consumption devices controlled by the controller ([0013] The electrical power system 202 supplies electricity to electrical appliances 206(consumption devices), such as fans, lights, computers, etc. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214 a-214 c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. [0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule);
solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the heated water to be consumed by the one or more heated water consumption devices ([0015] it is possible to produce a power demand schedule for operating the various power supply equipment of the building unit by determining a substantial minimum of the cost function with respect to time. [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax));
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more heated water consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem([0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule (setpoint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to the heated water consumption further comprises a fourth amount of heated water to be consumed by one or more heated water consumption devices controlled by the controller; solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the heated water to be consumed by the one or more heated water consumption devices; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more heated water consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the heated water determined by solving the control problem as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 11
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein: the water, electricity, or natural gas consumption further comprises a third amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by one or more other devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more hot water generators ([0013] The electrical power system 202 supplies electricity to electrical appliances 206(consumption devices), such as fans, lights, computers, etc. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214 a-214 c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. [0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule);
solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by the one or more other devices([0015] it is possible to produce a power demand schedule for operating the various power supply equipment of the building unit by determining a substantial minimum of the cost function with respect to time. [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax));
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas determined by solving the control problem ([0025] minimizes the cost function of Eq. (1) subject to the accompanying Eqs. (11)-(24) and (25)-(31) to determine a power supply schedule and operates the power system 202, generators 210 a-210 c and one or more chillers 214 a-214 c according to the determined schedule (setpoint)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to include the water, electricity, or natural gas consumption further comprises a third amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by one or more other devices controlled by the controller; solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas to be consumed by the one or more other devices; and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas determined by solving the control problem.as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 12
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein: the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller([0013] The schematic diagram 200 includes an electrical power system 202 that may receive electricity from outside sources via the electricity grid 104. [0012] the control unit 110 may determine a schedule for operating the various power systems. In another aspect, the control unit 110 may control the various power systems according to the determined schedule); the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators are controlled by the controller( [0013] Exemplary local generators 210 a-210 c and exemplary battery 212 may also supply electricity to the power system 202. The local generators 210 a-210 c are typically turned on or off based on power demands of the building unit.);
and the second amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas comprises both a fourth amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators([0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀tEq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generators is less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to include the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller; the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators are controlled by the controller; and the second amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas comprises both a fourth amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of water, electricity, or natural gas to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 13
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the heated water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility and the second amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators([0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t, which shows determination of heated water required for load, while [0019] Σi p i,t +E t−Σk w k,t ≦E max ,∀t Eq. (17) wherein the power consumed by the chillers and the power demand by non-chiller electrical appliances minus power savings due to local power generatorsis less than or equal to the maximum power that may be purchased from a local electrical company (Emax)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to include wherein solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the heated water required to serve the heating load of the building or facility and the second amount of the water, electricity, or natural gas to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more hot water generators as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 14
While Wenzel teaches [0006] The high-level optimization module is configured to optimize the objective function over the optimization period subject to load equality constraints and capacity constraints. [0009] the high-level optimization module is configured to generate a subplant curve for each of the plurality of subplants. Each subplant curve may indicate a relationship between resource consumption and load production for one of the pluralities of subplants. The high-level optimization module may use the subplant curves to formulate subplant curve constraints and may optimize the objective function subject to the subplant curve constraints [0031] The high-level optimization may determine an optimal distribution of energy loads across the various subplants. For example, the high-level optimization may determine a thermal energy load to be produced by each of the subplants at each time element in an optimization period. The low-level optimization may use the optimal load distribution determined by the high-level optimization to determine optimal operating statuses for individual devices within each subplant. Optimal operating statuses may include, for example, on/off states and/or operating setpoints for individual devices of each subplant. [0032] the high-level optimization module may be a component of a central plant controller configured for real-time control of a physical plant or a component of a planning tool configured to optimize a simulated plant (e.g., for planning or design purposes). [0043] Each of subplants 12-22 may include a variety of equipment configured to facilitate the functions of the subplant. Wenzel does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami further discloses:
The controller of Claim 8, wherein: determining the first amount of the heated water to be produced by the one or more hot water generators comprises determining a first amount of heat to be transferred out of a fluid loop between the one or more hot water generators and the cooling load of the building or facility([0013] FIG. 2 shows a schematic diagram 200 illustrating exemplary electrical power systems and cooling/heating units for the exemplary power consumption unit 102. In general, the building unit may have heating and cooling power demands with respect to regulating a temperature or environment of the building unit as well as electrical demands for operation of various appliances and machinery. The electrical power system 202 also supplies electrical power to exemplary elements of cooling and heating units, such as chillers 214a-214c. The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214a-214c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. The exemplary chillers 214a-214c may chill a fluid for use at the heat exchanger 204. Heat exchanger 204 exchanges heat between fluid from the chillers 214a-214c and/or from the heat storage unit 216 and the coolant 208. The coolant 208 is then circulated throughout the building unit to regulate a temperature of the building unit. [0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t which shows determination of heated water required for load); and determining the second amount of the heated water required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility comprises determining a second amount of heat to be transferred into the fluid loop by the cooling load of the building or facility([0020] Σi v i,t =Q t ,∀t Eq. (21) where Qt is heat demand at time t. [0013] The cooling and heating unit may include the chillers 214 a-214 c, one or more heat storage units 216, a coolant 208 and a heat exchanger 204. The exemplary chillers 214 a-214 c may chill a fluid for use at the heat exchanger 204. Heat exchanger 204 exchanges heat between fluid from the chillers 214 a-214 c and/or from the heat storage unit 216 and the coolant 208. The coolant 208 is then circulated throughout the building unit to regulate a temperature (absorb heat or cooling water) of the building unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wenzel with Osogami to include wherein: determining the first amount of the heated water to be produced by the one or more hot water generators comprises determining a first amount of heat to be transferred into a fluid loop between the one or more hot water generators and the heating load of the building or facility; and determining the second amount of the heated water required to serve the heating load of the building or facility comprises determining a second amount of heat to be transferred out of the fluid loop by the heating load of the building or facility as part of the optimization problem taught by Wenzel. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of power plant equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0015].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torzhkov in view of Matthew J. Asmus (US 2015/0316903 A1, hereinafter “Asmus”).
Claim 15
Torzhkov teaches:
A controller for one or more electric generators that operate to serve an electric load of a building or facility, the controller comprising one or more processing circuits ([0034] a plant's power generation systems and water and air distribution systems. A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms, for example, electricity and steam,)configured to: \obtain a first balance constraint that requires balance ([0062] Determining the constraints may however begin with expressing a set of balancing equations for the plant)between: electricity production comprising a first amount of electricity to be produced by the one or more electric generators[0056] W.sub.COG(S.sub.COG.sup.k, P.sub.COG.sup.k)=amount of gas required by the co-generator to produce S.sub.COG.sup.k units of steam and P.sub.COG.sup.k units of electricity); and electricity consumption comprising a second amount of electricity required to serve the electric load of the building or facility([0046] Thus, the following values may be known or predictable: electricity load P);
obtain a second balance constraint that requires balance between: steam, natural gas, or solar energy consumption comprising a first amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed by the one or more electric generators to produce the first amount of the electricity([0055] The equality of Equation 2 may represent the amount of gas used by the plant in time k. In these equations, the following input/output relations may be used: [0056] W.sub.COG(S.sub.COG.sup.k, P.sub.COG.sup.k)=amount of gas required by the co-generator to produce S.sub.COG.sup.k units of steam and P.sub.COG.sup.k units of electricity. [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms, for example, electricity and steam, from a fuel source such as oil or gas. ); and steam, natural gas, or solar energy production comprising a second amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be supplied by one or more sources or produced by one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators([0034]Power (P) may also be provided to the plant through other sources such as from a utility source (P.sub.UTL) and/or a photovoltaic cell or solar cell 109 (P.sub.SCE). Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0045] Moreover, solar intensity I.sup.k for each stage k may also be used for solar collector and solar cell, as solar intensity may dictate the availability of these particular resources.);
construct and solve a control problem using the first balance constraint and the second balance constraint to determine the first amount of the electricity to be produced by the one or more electric generators and the first amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed by the one or more electric generators([0214]This problem may be solved, for example, using an MILP solver);
andgenerate electricity for use in serving the electric load of the building or facility with the one or more electric generators in accordance with the first amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem([0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices).
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Asmus teaches:
by sending electronic communications specifying at least one of (i) an electrical production rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of electricity or (ii) a steam, natural gas, or solar energy consumption rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed([0006]The generated operating parameters include at least one of the feasible on/off configurations and the optimum operating setpoints. The controller further includes a communications interface coupled to the processing circuit and configured to output the generated operating parameters for use in controlling the subplant equipment.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Asmus to include sending electronic communications specifying at least one of (i) an electrical production rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of electricity or (ii) a steam, natural gas, or solar energy consumption rate setpoint for the one or more electric generators based on the first amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed as part of the optimization problem taught by Torzhkov. Doing so would help optimizing the operation of one or more subplants of a central plant by determining the optimum operating setpoints using an optimization problem that minimizes an amount of power consumed by the subplant equipment. [0015].
Claims 16-18 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torzhkov in view of Asmus, as applied in claim 15, and further in view of Mahdi Kefayati (US 2015/0057820 A1, hereinafter “Kefayati”) in view of Kota Hirato (US 2011/0087381 A1, hereinafter “Hirato”).
Claim 16
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Kefayati teaches:
The controller of Claim 15, wherein: the electricity production further comprises a third amount of electricity to be produced by one or more other electricity production devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more electric generators ([0133] Accordingly, the use of the generator system may be used by the MPC problem while determining the cost function and system constraints. The generator systems may include reliable generator systems (e.g., generator systems driven by fuel) that may be completely controlled by the BEMS 102 and may also include intermittent generator systems that may rely on exogenous factors such as wind or solar generator systems. The MPC problem may include in the calculations the use of reliable generator systems as well as current and predicted exogenous factors that may affect energy generation by intermittent generator systems in determining the overall cost and controls);
solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the electricity to be produced by the one or more other electricity production devices([0101] The on-site electricity generation cost C.sup.GEN(e.sub.t.sup.GEN, s.sub.t.sup.G, w.sub.t) of Equation (1) may be determined based on the energy consumption of the reliable generator systems e.sub.t.sup.GEN, the global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G, and exogenous factors w.sub.t that may affect energy generation and/or consumption by the intermittent generator systems. The energy consumption of the reliable generator systems may be determined using any suitable process or method including meters that may monitor the energy consumed (e.g., fuel used) by the reliable generator systems. The global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G may be used to assess the amount of desired energy that may be generated by the generator systems in relation to the current state of the building 104. The exogenous factors may be determined based on any suitable acquisition method or process and may include factors such as amount of wind for a wind-powered generator system or amount of sunlight for a solar-powered generator system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Kefayati to include the electricity production further comprises a third amount of electricity to be produced by one or more other electricity production devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more electric generators as part a resource balance constraint to the optimization problem and solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the electricity to be produced by the one or more other electricity production devices. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0002].
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Hirato teaches:
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other electricity production devices in accordance with a setpoint to produce the third amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem([0059] the energy system operation scheduling device 1 creates an energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, an energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5, and an energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6, and passes these to an equipment controller 20 of the energy generation system 2. [0060] Upon receiving these schedules, the equipment controller 20 transmits information to control each of the equipment units to an energy generation equipment group 21 composed of power generation facilities and the like, and to an energy storage equipment group 22 composed of electricity storage equipments, heat storage equipments and the like, via a control signal transmission medium 31, based on the energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, the energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5 and the energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6. Energy is supplied to the energy load 23 from the energy generation equipment group 21 or the energy storage equipment group 22, via an energy transmission medium 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Hirato to include to operate the one or more other electricity production devices in accordance with a setpoint to produce the third amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem. Doing so would help optimizing the operation of one or more subplants of a central plant by determining the optimum operating setpoints using an optimization problem that minimizes an amount of power consumed by the subplant equipment.
Claim 17
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Kefayati teaches:
The controller of Claim 15, wherein: the electricity consumption further comprises a fourth amount of electricity to be consumed by one or more electricity consumption devices controlled by the controller ([0133] Accordingly, the use of the generator system may be used by the MPC problem while determining the cost function and system constraints. The generator systems may include reliable generator systems (e.g., generator systems driven by fuel) that may be completely controlled by the BEMS 102 and may also include intermittent generator systems that may rely on exogenous factors such as wind or solar generator systems. The MPC problem may include in the calculations the use of reliable generator systems as well as current and predicted exogenous factors that may affect energy generation by intermittent generator systems in determining the overall cost and controls);
solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the electricity to be consumed by the one or more electricity consumption devices ([0101] The on-site electricity generation cost C.sup.GEN(e.sub.t.sup.GEN, s.sub.t.sup.G, w.sub.t) of Equation (1) may be determined based on the energy consumption of the reliable generator systems e.sub.t.sup.GEN, the global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G, and exogenous factors w.sub.t that may affect energy generation and/or consumption by the intermittent generator systems. The energy consumption of the reliable generator systems may be determined using any suitable process or method including meters that may monitor the energy consumed (e.g., fuel used) by the reliable generator systems. The global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G may be used to assess the amount of desired energy that may be generated by the generator systems in relation to the current state of the building 104. The exogenous factors may be determined based on any suitable acquisition method or process and may include factors such as amount of wind for a wind-powered generator system or amount of sunlight for a solar-powered generator system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Kefayati to include the electricity consumption further comprises a fourth amount of electricity to be consumed by one or more electricity consumption devices controlled by the controller as part a resource balance constraint to the optimization problem and solving the control problem comprises determining the fourth amount of the electricity to be consumed by the one or more electricity consumption devices. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0002].
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Hirato teaches:
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more electricity consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem([0059] the energy system operation scheduling device 1 creates an energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, an energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5, and an energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6, and passes these to an equipment controller 20 of the energy generation system 2. [0060] Upon receiving these schedules, the equipment controller 20 transmits information to control each of the equipment units to an energy generation equipment group 21 composed of power generation facilities and the like, and to an energy storage equipment group 22 composed of electricity storage equipments, heat storage equipments and the like, via a control signal transmission medium 31, based on the energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, the energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5 and the energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6. Energy is supplied to the energy load 23 from the energy generation equipment group 21 or the energy storage equipment group 22, via an energy transmission medium 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Hirato to include to operate the one or more electricity consumption devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the fourth amount of the electricity determined by solving the control problem. Doing so would help optimizing the operation of one or more subplants of a central plant by determining the optimum operating setpoints using an optimization problem that minimizes an amount of power consumed by the subplant equipment.
Claim 18
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Kefayati teaches:
The controller of Claim 15, wherein: the steam, natural gas, or solar energy consumption further comprises a third amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed by one or more other devices controlled by the controller separate from the one or more electric generators ([0101] The on-site electricity generation cost C.sup.GEN(e.sub.t.sup.GEN, s.sub.t.sup.G, w.sub.t) of Equation (1) may be determined based on the energy consumption of the reliable generator systems e.sub.t.sup.GEN, the global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G, and exogenous factors w.sub.t that may affect energy generation and/or consumption by the intermittent generator systems. The energy consumption of the reliable generator systems may be determined using any suitable process or method including meters that may monitor the energy consumed (e.g., fuel used) by the reliable generator systems. The global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G may be used to assess the amount of desired energy that may be generated by the generator systems in relation to the current state of the building 104. The exogenous factors may be determined based on any suitable acquisition method or process and may include factors such as amount of wind for a wind-powered generator system or amount of sunlight for a solar-powered generator system);
solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be consumed by the one or more other devices([0133] The use of the generator system may be used by the MPC problem while determining the cost function and system constraints. The generator systems may include reliable generator systems (e.g., generator systems driven by fuel) that may be completely controlled by the BEMS 102 and may also include intermittent generator systems that may rely on exogenous factors such as wind or solar generator systems. The MPC problem may include in the calculations the use of reliable generator systems as well as current and predicted exogenous factors that may affect energy generation by intermittent generator systems in determining the overall cost and controls. [0101] The on-site electricity generation cost C.sup.GEN(e.sub.t.sup.GEN, s.sub.t.sup.G, w.sub.t) of Equation (1) may be determined based on the energy consumption of the reliable generator systems e.sub.t.sup.GEN, the global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G, and exogenous factors w.sub.t that may affect energy generation and/or consumption by the intermittent generator systems. The energy consumption of the reliable generator systems may be determined using any suitable process or method including meters that may monitor the energy consumed (e.g., fuel used) by the reliable generator systems).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Kefayatito include the electricity consumption further comprises a third amount of electricity to be consumed by one or more electricity consumption devices controlled by the controller as part a resource balance constraint to the optimization problem and solving the control problem comprises determining the third amount of the electricity to be consumed by the one or more electricity consumption devices. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost [0002].
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Hirato teaches:
and the one or more processing circuits are configured to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy determined by solving the control problem ([0059] the energy system operation scheduling device 1 creates an energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, an energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5, and an energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6, and passes these to an equipment controller 20 of the energy generation system 2. [0060] Upon receiving these schedules, the equipment controller 20 transmits information to control each of the equipment units to an energy generation equipment group 21 composed of power generation facilities and the like, and to an energy storage equipment group 22 composed of electricity storage equipments, heat storage equipments and the like, via a control signal transmission medium 31, based on the energy storage equipment operation schedule D4, the energy generation equipment modified operation schedule D5 and the energy storage equipment modified operation schedule D6. Energy is supplied to the energy load 23 from the energy generation equipment group 21 or the energy storage equipment group 22, via an energy transmission medium 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Hirato to include to operate the one or more other devices in accordance with a setpoint to consume the third amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy determined by solving the control problem. Doing so would help optimizing the operation of one or more subplants of a central plant by determining the optimum operating setpoints using an optimization problem that minimizes an amount of power consumed by the subplant equipment.
Claim 20
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Kefayati teaches:
The controller of Claim 15, wherein solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the electricity required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility and the second amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators([0133] the cost of running a generator system may at least partially offset the cost of purchasing electricity. Accordingly, the use of the generator system may be used by the MPC problem while determining the cost function and system constraints. The generator systems may include reliable generator systems (e.g., generator systems driven by fuel) that may be completely controlled by the BEMS 102 and may also include intermittent generator systems that may rely on exogenous factors such as wind or solar generator systems. The MPC problem may include in the calculations the use of reliable generator systems as well as current and predicted exogenous factors that may affect energy generation by intermittent generator systems in determining the overall cost and controls).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Kefayati to include solving the control problem further comprises determining the second amount of the electricity required to serve the cooling load of the building or facility and the second amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be supplied by the one or more sources or produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators as part of the optimization problem. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torzhkov in view of Asmus, as applied in claim 15, and further in view of Osogami.
Claim 19
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Kefayati teaches:
The controller of Claim 15, wherein: and the second amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy comprises both a fourth amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators([0101] The on-site electricity generation cost C.sup.GEN(e.sub.t.sup.GEN, s.sub.t.sup.G, w.sub.t) of Equation (1) may be determined based on the energy consumption of the reliable generator systems e.sub.t.sup.GEN, the global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G, and exogenous factors w.sub.t that may affect energy generation and/or consumption by the intermittent generator systems. The energy consumption of the reliable generator systems may be determined using any suitable process or method including meters that may monitor the energy consumed (e.g., fuel used) by the reliable generator systems. The global state variable s.sub.t.sup.G may be used to assess the amount of desired energy that may be generated by the generator systems in relation to the current state of the building 104. The exogenous factors may be determined based on any suitable acquisition method or process and may include factors such as amount of wind for a wind-powered generator system or amount of sunlight for a solar-powered generator system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Kefayati to include the second amount of the steam, natural gas, or solar energy comprises both a fourth amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be supplied by the one or more sources and a fifth amount of steam, natural gas, or solar energy to be produced by the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators as part of the optimization problem. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost.
While Torzhkov teaches [0034] A co-generator is a generator that produces energy in multiple forms for example, electricity. Power from multiple sources may be made accessible for both driving the plant's electrical load and for powering the energy devices that require power. [0063] This balancing equation makes use of the following input/output relations, which are based on the model plant diagram of FIG. 1, however, input/output relations may be generated for any arbitrary plant configuration to create a set of balancing equations for that given plant: [0064] P.sub.SCE(I.sup.k).ident.an amount of electricity produced by the solar cells under solar intensity I.sup.k. [0013] Optimizing the two-tiered model may be performed using an optimization solver. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide a schedule of operation for the plurality of energy devices, dictating activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices. Alternatively, or additionally, optimization of the two-tiered model may provide real-time control of the plurality of energy devices, controlling activation times, deactivation times or operational levels of the plurality of energy devices Torzhkov does not teach the following. However, Analogous reference, in the field of central plant optimization, Osogami discloses:
the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller ([0013] The schematic diagram 200 includes an electrical power system 202 that may receive electricity from outside sources via the electricity grid 104. [0012] the control unit 110 may determine a schedule for operating the various power systems. In another aspect, the control unit 110 may control the various power systems according to the determined schedule); the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators are controlled by the controller ([0013] Exemplary local generators 210 a-210 c and exemplary battery 212 may also supply electricity to the power system 202. The local generators 210 a-210 c are typically turned on or off based on power demands of the building unit);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Torzhkov with Osogami to include the one or more sources are outside a set of equipment controlled by the controller and the one or more devices separate from the one or more electric generators are controlled by the controller as part of the optimization problem. Doing so would help determine the optimal operation of an energy storage equipment and improve the efficiency of an energy system and optimize the use of thermal energy storage in conjunction with the multiple subplants to minimize energy cost.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11481581 B2
Proactive power outage impact adjustments via machine learning
Olnick; Bryan J. et al.
US 20190020220 A1
Hierarchal Framework for Integrating Distributed Energy Resources into Distribution Systems
Lian; Jianming et al.
US 20180034272 A1
A Method and a System for Controlling Energy Supply to a Client
Schmidt; Mischa et al.
US 20170212488 A1
Systems And Methods for Monitoring and Controlling a Central Plant
Kummer; James P. et al.
US 20160377306 A1
Building Control Systems with Optimization of Equipment Life Cycle Economic Value While Participating in Ibdr and Pbdr Programs
Drees; Kirk H. et al.
US 20150057820 A1
Building Energy Management Optimization
KEFAYATI; Mahdi et al.
US 20140304025 A1
Managing Energy Assets Associated with Transport Operations
Steven; Alain P. et al.
US 20140257584 A1
Energy Management System, Energy Management Method, Medium, and Server
TANIMOTO; Tomohiko et al.
US 20140142774 A1
Energy Management System, Server, Energy Management Method, and Storage Medium
KATAYAMA; Kyosuke et al.
US 20140142904 A1
Systems And Methods for Generating an Energy Use Model for A Building
Drees; Kirk H. et al.
WO 2013063581 A1
Managing Energy Assets Associated with Transport Operations
STEVEN ALAIN P et al.
US 20120232701 A1
Systems And Methods for Optimizing Energy and Resource Management for Building Systems
Carty; Raphael et al.
US 20100179704 A1
Optimization Of Microgrid Energy Use and Distribution
Ozog; Michael T.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REHAM K ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BRIAN M EPSTEIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625