DETAILED ACTION
This action is made in response to the amendments/remarks filed on May 29, 2026. This action is made final.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 101 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the “electronic healthcare kiosk” and “wearable device” do not merely link the abstract idea to a particular technology, but integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant has not identified how the “electronic healthcare kiosk” or “wearable monitoring device” are indicative of limitations that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05. The present claims are distinguishable from those of Ex Parte Desjardins in that no improvement to machine learning models is being recited. Furthermore, Applicant has not argued, nor has the examiner identified any improvement to the functioning of a computer, technology, or technical field, as was the basis of the Desjardins decision.
While an “electronic healthcare kiosk” and “wearable monitoring device” are recited, these additional elements merely limit the wireless delivery of the data content to kiosks and wearable monitoring devices, as opposed to all computing devices and monitoring devices and merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (see MPEP 2106.05(h)); however, does not provide an inventive concept. As such, the previous 101 rejection is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward; and send a notification to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is noted Fig. 8 is described in the specification as an interface that includes the ribbons; however none of the figures show the “in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward”. Similarly, Fig. 9 is described as a screenshot of the interface in which a user can view a rewards summary; however none of the figures show “send a notification to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards”. No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,040,086 (hereinafter ‘086). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Instant Application
Patent ‘086
A system comprising:
a wearable monitoring device of a user configured to be continuously worn by the user and to capture first patient data of the user, the first patient data comprising data that is inputted by the user via an application on an electronic healthcare kiosk and data that is captured by the wearable monitoring device that is worn by the user and is in wireless communication with the electronic healthcare kiosk;
a patient portal comprising:
a data retrieval engine configured to receive, from the electronic healthcare kiosk over a network, the first patient data of the user;
a data transmission engine configured to transmit second patient data of the user from a health care system to the electronic healthcare kiosk over the network as the user interacts with the patient portal, thereby enabling the electronic healthcare kiosk to present the second patient data to the user;
a user activity monitoring engine configured to capture interaction data of the user; and
an interface configured to indicate rewards provided to the user and enable redemption of the rewards by the user;
an interaction based gamification system comprising:
a data receipt engine configured to obtain the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data of the user from the patient portal;
a reward rules management engine configured to generate one or more reward rules specified by the healthcare provider of the user, the one or more reward rules being different from the rewards, the one or more reward rules being specific to the user based on a health condition of the user and being associated with a task to complete or a goal to attain; and
a reward determination engine configured to:
determine if the user has completed the task or attained the goal;
if the user has completed the task or attained the goal, determine a particular reward by applying the one or more reward rules to the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data;
in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward; and
send a notification to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards.
1. A system comprising:
An electronic healthcare kiosk, wherein the electronic healthcare kiosk is positioned at a location of a healthcare provider;
a wearable monitoring device of a user configured to be continuously worn by the user and to capture first patient data of the user, the first patient data comprising data that is inputted by the user via an application on the electronic healthcare kiosk and data that is captured by the wearable monitoring device that is worn by the user and is in wireless communication with the electronic healthcare kiosk, the first patient data including heart monitor readings and a distance the user has walked or run in a period of time, the wearable monitoring device being distinct from the electronic healthcare kiosk
a patient portal comprising:
a data retrieval engine configured to receive, from the electronic healthcare kiosk over a network, the first patient data of the user;
a data transmission engine configured to transmit second patient data of the user from a health care system to the electronic healthcare kiosk over the network as the user interacts with the patient portal, thereby enabling the
electronic healthcare kiosk to present the second patient data to the user, the second patient data comprising health records, lab results including lab results for a blood sugar level of the user, test results, vital statistics, procedure information, and medication information;
a user activity monitoring engine configured to capture interaction data of the user, the interaction data indicating at least one user interaction with the health care system using the patient portal, the at least one user interaction with the health care system using the patient portal including the user viewing the lab results for the blood sugar level of the user;
and
an interface configured to indicate rewards provided to the user and enable redemption of the rewards by the user, wherein the interface is further configured to present, based on the second patient data of the user, a plurality of activities marked by a respective graphical ribbon indicating an eligibility for at least one reward, wherein activation of a particular respective graphical ribbon reveals on the interface a respective reward value associated with a particular activity of the plurality of activities presented on the interface, wherein the plurality of activities presented on the interface include health record activities associated with the health records of the second patient data, lab result activities associated with the lab results of the second patient data, test result activities associated with the test results of the second patient data, vital statistics activities associated with the vital statistics of the second patient data, procedure information activities associated with the procedure information of the second patient data, and medication information activities associated with the medication information of the second patient data; and
an interaction based gamification system comprising:
a data receipt engine configured to obtain the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data of the user from the patient portal;
a reward rules management engine configured to generate one or more reward rules specified by the healthcare provider of the user, the one or more reward rules being different from the rewards, the one or more reward rules being specific to the user based on a health condition of the user and being associated with a task to complete or a goal to attain of lowering the blood sugar level of the user, a reward type, and a reward amount, wherein the one or more reward rules are specified by the healthcare provider of the user in order to lower the blood sugar level of the user based on the health condition of the user; and
a reward determination engine configured to:
determine if the user has completed the task or attained the goal of lowering the blood sugar level of the user by comparing the lab results for the blood sugar level of the user to previous lab results for the blood sugar level of the user;
if the user has completed the task or attained the goal of lowering the blood sugar level of the user, determine a particular reward by applying the one or more reward rules to the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data;
provide, in response to a determination of the particular reward, the particular reward to the user through the patient portal;
provide a summary of earned rewards to the user, the summary indicating a first portion of the earned rewards that are associated with the first patient data, a second portion of the earned rewards that are associated with viewing of a first portion of the second patient data by the user, a third portion of the earned rewards that are associated with viewing of a second portion of the second patient data by the user, and a fourth portion of the earned rewards that are associated with the interaction data, wherein the summary of earned rewards includes a summary of the particular reward and a plurality of other rewards;
in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a link in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward; and
send a notification to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards.
Dependent claims 2-8 of the instant application and claim 2-8 of the ‘086 patent are identical and an explicit mapping is not provided.
As can be seen from the table above, claim 1 of ‘086 contains all the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application and anticipates the presently claimed invention. The species claimed in the issued ‘086 patent anticipates the claimed genus in the present claims being examined and, therefore, a patent to the genus would, necessarily, extend the rights of the species should the genus issue as a patent and a non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting is warranted.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “data retrieval engine”, “data transmission engine”, “user activity monitoring engine”, “data receipt engine”, “reward rules management engine”, “reward determination engine” in claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to independent claims 1, 11, and 17, the claims recite “in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward”. However, it is unclear what “activate a ribbon” entails. It is unclear if the activation of the ribbon is what enables the user to redeem the particular reward or if the ribbon is “activated” (i.e., displayed/presented) in response to the determination of the particular reward, and the ribbon somehow enables the user to redeem the particular reward. If the latter interpretation, tt is further unclear as to how the ribbon, itself, would enable the user to redeem the particular reward. A review of the specification [0074] mentions an interface can have ribbons and the “ribbons can be activated to reveal a reward a user can receive based on completing tasks. For example, the vitals section includes a ribbon that can be activated to indicate rewards a user can receive based on their vitals”. Accordingly, at best, [0074] and Fig. 8 describes the ribbons can be activated (i.e., displayed/presented) to indicate rewards a user can receive, notably, the specification does not describe that the ribbon, itself, “enables the user to redeem the particular reward”, but merely provides an indication of the reward that the user can redeem/receive. Accordingly, the claim will be interpreted in a manner as best understood by the examiner and in view of the support in the originally filed specification to mean “in response to the determination of the particular reward, activating (i.e., displaying/presenting) a ribbon that indicates a reward the user can redeem”.
The dependent claims fail to resolve the 112 deficiency of their parent claims and are similarly rejected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1-8 recite a system of monitoring patient task/goal completion, which is within the statutory category of a machine. Claims 9-16 recite a method of monitoring patient task/goal completion, which is within the statutory category of a process. Claims 17-20 recite a non-transitory computer readable memory performing instructions for monitoring patient task/goal completion, which is within the statutory category of a process, which is within the statutory class of a manufacture.
Claims are eligible for patent protection under § 101 if they are in one of the four statutory categories and not directed to a judicial exception to patentability. Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. ___ (2014). Claims 1-20, each considered as a whole and as an ordered combination, are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 1:
The bolded limitations of:
Claims 1, 9, and 17 (claim 9 being representative)
A method being implemented by a computing system including one or more physical processors and storage media storing machine-readable instructions, the method comprising: capturing, by a wearable monitoring device of a user configured to be continuously worn by the user, first patient data of the user, the first patient data comprising first data that is inputted by the user via an application on an electronic healthcare kiosk and second data that is captured by the wearable monitoring device that is worn by the user and is in wireless communication with the electronic healthcare kiosk; receiving, at a patient portal from the electronic healthcare kiosk over a network, the first patient data of the user; transmitting, by a data transmission engine configured, second patient data of the user from a health care system to the electronic healthcare kiosk over the network as the user interacts with the patient portal, thereby enabling the electronic healthcare kiosk to present the second patient data to the user; capturing, by a user activity monitoring engine, interaction data of the user; and indicating, through an interface, rewards provided to the user and enable redemption of the rewards by the user; obtaining, by a data receipt engine, the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data of the user from the patient portal; generating, by a reward rules management engine, one or more reward rules specified by the healthcare provider of the user, the one or more reward rules being different from the rewards, the one or more reward rules being specific to the user based on a health condition of the user and being associated with a task to complete or a goal to attain; and determining, by a reward determination engine, if the user has completed the task or attained the goal; if the user has completed the task or attained the goal, determining a particular reward by applying the one or more reward rules to the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data; in response to the determination of the particular reward, activating a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward; and sending a notification to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards.
as presently drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions). For example, but for the noted computer elements, the claim encompasses a person monitoring patient progress towards a goal/task and providing rules to receive an award when appropriate in the manner described in the abstract idea. The examiner further notes that “methods of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer (see October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility at Pg. 5). If the claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing persona behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
MPEP 2106 Step 2A – Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limitations that transform the exception into a patent eligible application. The additional elements merely amount to instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (“a computing system”, "one or more physical processors”, “storage media storing machine-readable instructions”, “wireless communication”, “a network”, and the various “engines” (see [0025] describing the engines as one or more processors)—all recited at a high level of generality). Although they have and execute instructions to perform the abstract idea itself, this also does not serve to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it merely amounts to instructions to "apply it." (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicating mere instructions to apply an abstract idea does not amount to integrating the abstract idea into a practical application). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The “electronic healthcare kiosk”, “wearable device”, “application”, “portal”, and “activating a ribbon” are not a generic computer component; however it is recited at a high levels of generality and similarly amount to generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not amount to integrating the abstract idea into a practical application). Alternatively, the “application” and “portal” represents mere data gathering (obtaining the patient-specific information) that is necessary for use of the recited judicial exception, as the obtained information is used in the abstract method of organizing human activity of monitoring patient task/goal completion. The application and portal are recited at a high level of generality. The application and portal are therefore insignificant extra-solution activity and/or mere instructions to apply the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g) indicating mere data gathering and/or mere data output are insignificant extra solution activities of insignificant computer implementation).
The “activating a ribbon” is not a generic computer component. However, a review of the specification shows “activating” as being analogous to providing/making available content and/or selecting an object (e.g., see Fig. 8, [0072]-[0074] of Applicant’s specification). Insomuch as “activating” is interpreted as providing/making available and/or selecting, the additional element is subsumed in the identified abstract idea.
The claims only manipulate abstract data elements as part of performing the abstract idea. They do not set forth improvements to another technological field or the functioning of the computer itself and instead use computer elements as tools in a conventional way to improve the functioning of the abstract idea identified above. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. None of the additional elements recited "offers a meaningful limitation beyond generally linking 'the use of the [method] to a particular technological environment,' that is, implementation via computers." Alice Corp., slip op. at 16 (citing Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 610, 611 (U.S. 2010)).
At the levels of abstraction described above, the claims do not readily lend themselves to a finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. Therefore, the analysis proceeds to step 2B. See BASCOM Global Internet v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 827 F.3d 1341, 1349 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The Enfish claims, understood in light of their specific limitations, were unambiguously directed to an improvement in computer capabilities. Here, in contrast, the claims and their specific limitations do not readily lend themselves to a step-one finding that they are directed to a nonabstract idea. We therefore defer our consideration of the specific claim limitations’ narrowing effect for step two.") (citations omitted).
MPEP 2106 Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons as presented in Step 2A Prong 2. Moreover, the additional elements recited are known and conventional generic computing elements (“a computing system”, "one or more physical processors”, “storage media storing machine-readable instructions”, “wireless communication”, “a network”, and the various “engines” (see [0025] describing the engines as one or more processors)—See Specification Fig. 1, [0017]-[0023], [0025], [0029] describing the various components as general purpose, common, standard, known to one of ordinary skill, and at a high level of generality, and in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy the statutory disclosure requirements). Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept that amounts to significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The Federal Circuit has recognized that "an invocation of already-available computers that are not themselves plausibly asserted to be an advance, for use in carrying out improved mathematical calculations, amounts to a recitation of what is 'well-understood, routine, [and] conventional.'" SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 890 F.3d 1016, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (alteration in original) (citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S. 66, 73 (2012)). Apart from the instructions to implement the abstract idea, they only serve to perform well-understood functions (e.g., receiving, translating, and displaying data—see Specification above as well as Alice Corp.; Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334 (Fed. Cir. 2015) covering the well-known nature of these computer functions).
Furthermore, as discussed above, the additional elements of the “electronic healthcare kiosk”, “wearable device”, “application” and “portal” were recited at a high levels of generality and similarly amount to generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. This additional element have been re-evaluated under step 2B and have also been found insufficient to provide significantly more. (See MPEP 2106.05(A) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not amount to significantly more). (See MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) indicating generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not amount to integrating the abstract idea into a practical application). Additionally, the “application” and “portal” for receiving patient-specific information, the courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II), "electronic recordkeeping," and "storing and retrieving information in memory).
Similarly, the “activating a ribbon” is not a generic computer component. However, a review of the specification shows “activating” as being analogous to providing/making available content and/or selecting an object (e.g., see Fig. 8, [0072]- [0074] of Applicant’s specification). Insomuch as “activating” is interpreted as providing/making available and/or selecting, the additional element is subsumed in the identified abstract idea.
Dependent Claims
The limitations of dependent but for those addressed below merely set forth further refinements of the abstract idea without changing the analysis already presented. Claims 2-4 (10-12, 18-20) merely wherein the user actions can include access specific patient data, update specific patient data, or perform a communication. Claims 5-7 (13-15) merely recite providing particular rewards/values/amounts based on the patient data, and claims 8 (16) merely recite updating the rewards based on input, which covers a method of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vigneux (USPPN: 2013/0138450; hereinafter Vigneux) in further view of Wicka et al. (USPPN: 2015/0262499; hereinafter Wicka) and Lipscher et al. (USPPN: 2005/0273363; hereinafter Lipscher).
As to claim 1, Vigneux teaches A system (e.g., see Fig. 1) comprising:
a wearable monitoring device of a user configured to be continuously worn by the user and to capture first patient data of the user, the first patient data comprising first data that is inputted by the user via an application on an electronic healthcare [kiosk] and second data that is captured by the wearable monitoring device that is worn by the user and is in wireless communication with the electronic healthcare [kiosk] (e.g., see [0025], [0046] teaching a plurality of devices in connection with one another to receive patient data, wherein one such device includes a heart monitor and another includes a device to receive inputted patient data, which is reads upon a wearable monitoring device configured to be continuously worn by a user and consistent with at least [0030] of Applicant’s originally filed specification);
a patient portal (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0028] teaching an application to allow individuals to manage, consult, control medical patient data of a patient (i.e., patient portal)) comprising:
a data retrieval engine configured to receive, from the electronic healthcare [kiosk] over a network, the first patient data of the user (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0028], [0070] wherein the application collects health related data from one or more devices over a communications network through the use of one or more processors);
a data transmission engine configured to transmit second patient data of the user from a health care system to the electronic healthcare [kiosk] over the network as the user interacts with the patient portal, thereby enabling the electronic healthcare [kiosk] to present the second patient data to the user (e.g., see [0033], [0070] wherein clinical feedback/suggestions/content are provided to the patient (i.e., second patient data of the user) through the use of one or more processor. See also [0037], [0038], [0043] wherein medical records of the patient (i.e., second patient data of the user) are provided to the parent on their user device, wherein the patient and parent user device may be the same);
a user activity monitoring engine configured to capture interaction data of the user (e.g., see [0031], [0034], [0046], [0070] wherein user task and user interaction with the application are monitored through the use of one or more processors); and
an interface configured to indicate rewards provided to the user and enable redemption of the rewards by the user (e.g., see [0062], [0064] teaching an interface for providing awards such as points, prizes, new games, etc.);
an interaction based gamification system (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0070] describing a system comprising one or more processor) comprising:
a data receipt engine configured to obtain the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data of the user from the patient portal (e.g., see [0046], [0048], [0052], [0070] teaching a management device which receives data from the patient device, patient progression of tasks, other patient related health data, and clinician patient health data to generate task rules for each patient through the use of one or more processors);
a reward rules management engine configured to generate one or more reward rules specified by the healthcare provider of the user, the one or more reward rules being different from the rewards, the one or more reward rules being specific to the user based on a health condition of the user and being associated with a task to complete or a goal to attain (e.g., see [0052], [0057], [0070] wherein each patient has a task rule set customized for each patient as specified by the clinician and based on the received patient data and corresponds to a completion or timing/frequency of specific tasks through the use of one or more processors); and
a reward determination engine (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0070] teaching one or more processors) configured to:
determine if the user has completed the task or attained the goal (e.g., see [0046], [0052], [0059], [0064] wherein patient progress/success in completing various tasks are monitored. Notably, this claim limitation and subsequent steps are contingent limitations. Applicant is reminded that claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure." MPEP § 2111.04. In this case the determining if a user has completed the task and the subsequent steps that follow in response to the user having completed the task only occurs if it is determined that a user has completed the task or attained the goal. Since the claim does not require a step of the condition that occurs in the event the user has not completed the task the prior art does not need to teach (or disclose) claim language that is not required by the claim but for the reward determination engine for performing the steps. Nonetheless, for the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims are further rejected below);
if the user has completed the task or attained the goal, determine a particular reward by applying the one or more reward rules to the first patient data, the second patient data, and the interaction data (e.g., see [0051], [0052], [0062] determining the various rewards, whether it be a prize type with or without limits, points, awards, specific option, new abilities or access to new portions of the game are provided to the user based on task completion);
in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward (See 112 rejection above. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “ribbon” includes a strip or section, which is consistent with at least [0074] and Fig. 8 of Applicant’s originally filed specification. Notably, while applicant’s originally filed specification describes a redemption button that can be activated to redeem their rewards and further recites activating a ribbon to reveal a reward based on completing a task, applicant’s originally filed specification fails to describe any activation of a ribbon that enables the user, much less one that is “activated in response to the determination of the particular reward of the completed task…to redeem the particular reward”. Accordingly, where the prior art teaches indicating an available reward to the user in response to the determination of the particular reward, then it meets the claimed limitation. E.g., see [0031], [0062], [0064] wherein in response to a completed task and a determination of the type and/or magnitude of the prize or award for the completed task, a patient is provided said prize or award, such as access to new abilities or portions in a game); and
send a notification [to the user] indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user, the notification including the summary of earned rewards (e.g., see [0059] wherein a notification can be provided, including attainment of specific prices, number of points, or other achievement quantity).
While Vigneux teaches providing notifications to a user device and wherein the notification can include a summary of earned rewards, Vigneux fails to explicitly teach sending the notification to the user. Notably, Vigneux does teach providing notifications to the parent device and/or management device, Vigneux does teach the parent and patient device can be the same device (e.g., see [0043]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious the notification be sent to the (patient) user to encourage the patient to become more autonomous in their health care (e.g., see [0059] of Vigneux).
Nonetheless, for the purposes of compact prosecution and in the same field of endeavor of rewarding healthcare behavior, Wicka teaches send to the user indicating that the particular reward has been provided to the user (e.g., see [0236] wherein a patient user is provided a list of their available rewards, points, and previous redemptions).
While Vigneux teaches providing access to determined prizes or awards, Vigneux fails to explicitly teach in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward.
Wicka further teaches in response to the determination of the particular reward, activate a ribbon in the patient portal that enables the user to redeem the particular reward (The broadest reasonable interpretation of “ribbon” includes a strip or section, which is consistent with at least [0074] and Fig. 8 of Applicant’s originally filed specification. e.g., see Figs. 24, 26, 29, [0236], [0246] wherein a user is provided a section/header (i.e., activate a ribbon) in which the user can select to redeem points earned for rewards).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Vigneux in view of Wicka with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification in order to incentivize participation in positive health behaviors (e.g., see [0003] of Wicka).
While Vigneux teaches a plurality of devices to transmit and receive patient data, Vigneux-Di Lascia fail to teach a device being a kiosk.
However, in the same field of endeavor of patient healthcare management, Lipscher teaches a kiosk (e.g., see Fig. 1, [0039] teaching the use of kiosks to transmit and receive medical data). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Vigneux-Wicka in view of Lipscher with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to make the modification as a simple substitution of one known type of device for another to yield the predictable results of providing a computing device for inputting/receiving information from a fixed location (See KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1740-41, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007); and MPEP 2143).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the interaction data further indicates a user interaction to access specific patient data through the patient portal (e.g., see [0045] wherein each patient is monitored to access their specific patient data).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the interaction data further indicates a user interaction to update specific patient data through the patient portal (e.g., see [0046], [0047] wherein patient progress and/or performance per task is monitored).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the interaction data further indicates a user interaction to perform a specific communication with the health care system through the patient portal (e.g., see [0038] wherein different types of communications are provided through the portal. While Vigneux teaches the communication being from the parent device and/or management device, Vigneux does teach the parent and patient device can be the same device (e.g., see [0043]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious the notification be sent to the (patient) user to encourage the patient to become more autonomous in their health care (e.g., see [0059] of Vigneux)).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the particular reward includes a first reward value associated with the first patient data, a second reward value associated with the second patient data, and a third reward value associated with the interaction data (e.g., see [0051], [0057] wherein the amount and/or type of awards are customizable to each task).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the patient portal is further configured to present information on the particular reward on a user interface thereof, the user interface including a first object indicating a first reward value associated with the first patient data, a second object indicating a second reward value associated with the second patient data, and a third object indicating a third reward value associated with the interaction data (e.g., see [0031], [0062], [0064] a patient is provided to the determined points, prize, or award for each task completion, such as access to new abilities or portions in a game are presented to the user. Wicka additionally teaches the limitation in at least Fig. 29 wherein the users are presented information on the particular reward including reward values).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the reward determination engine determines the particular reward by determining whether to provide a reward, and determining a reward amount responsive to determining to provide a reward (e.g., see [0051], [0057] wherein the amount and/or type of awards are customizable to each task).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Vigneux further teaches wherein the reward rules management engine is configured to update the one or more reward rules based on an input from the health care system (e.g., see [0051], [0057] wherein the amount and/or type of awards are customizable to each task and are adjustable by the provider or parent).
As to claims 9-16, the claims are directed to the method implemented on the system of claims 1-8 and are similarly rejected.
As to claims 17-20, the claims are directed to the non-transitory computer readable medium implemented on the system of claims 1-4 and are similarly rejected.
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Further, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STELLA HIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3681