Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feghali (U.S. Publication No.: 2012/0270578 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Feghali teaches of a system to animate and send a message, the system comprising one or more computing devices including one or more processors and memories containing program code for execution by the one or more processors, and a bus connected to the one or more processors, the one or more computing devices configured to (Fig. 1):
receive the message via a user interface (Fig. 1, items 101, 103; Fig. 3, item 301),
wherein the message includes a text or emoji character (Fig. 1);
receive a selection of a type of animation to apply to the message (Fig. 3, item 302);
generate an animation that applies the selected type of animation to the message (Fig. 3, item 306);
display the generated animation (Fig. 10); and
receive a selection to send the generated animation to a recipient over a communications network so that the recipient can see the selected type of animation applied to the message (Fig. 12).
In regards to claim 2, Feghali teaches that the one or more computing devices include a sender device that is a mobile phone, a tablet, a laptop, or a desktop personal computer (section [0010]).
In regards to claim 3, Feghali teaches that the system of wherein the program code for execution by the one or more processors is a messaging app or program on the sender device, and wherein the user interface via which the message is received is an input interface of the messaging app or program on the sender device (Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 4, Feghali teaches that the messaging app or program allows a user to directly select a desired Unicode emoji or emoji image to include in the message (Fig. 1, section [0030]).
In regards to claim 5, Feghali teaches of receiving the selection of the type of animation to apply to the message includes receiving an indication that a user wishes to animate the message (section [0041]).
In regards to claim 6, Feghali teaches that the selected type of animation to apply to the message is one of a set of provided animation commands (Fig.5, section [0050]).
In regards to claim 7, Feghali teaches that the type of animation is one of a set of pre-coded types of animation (Fig.5, section [0050]).
In regards to claim 9, Feghali teaches that the type of animation applied to the message includes moving a character or image of the message, so that the message moves in relation to other characters on a display (section [0057]).
In regards to claim 11, Feghali teaches that the type of animation applied to the message includes changing a color of a character or image of the message (section [0029]).
In regards to claim 12, Feghali teaches of a generating an animation that applies the selected type of animation to the message includes generating a series of images of the message processed according to the selected type of animation (Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 13, Feghali teaches of displaying the generated animation includes sending the generated animation to a display (Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 15, Feghali teaches of receiving a selection to send the generated animation to a recipient over a communications network so that the recipient can see the selected type of animation applied to the message includes receiving a selection to send the message to the recipient through MMS or instant-messaging software (section [0028]).
In regards to claim 16, Feghali teaches of that in response to receiving the selection to send the generated animation to a recipient, sending the message over a communications network using an MMS or instant-messaging protocol (section [0028]).
In regards to claim 17, Feghali teaches of that the system is configured to send the generated animation in a format that allows the recipient to see the selected type of animation applied to the message (section [0039]).
In regards to claim 18, Feghali teaches that the system allows a user to apply a selected animation from a set of pre-coded animations to an arbitrary sequence of characters and images with a minimum of required input (section [0039]).
In regards to claim 19, Feghali teaches of a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon instructions to animate and send a message that, when executed by one or more processors in one or more computing devices, configure the computing devices to:
receive the message via a user interface,
wherein the message includes a text or emoji character;
receive a selection of a type of animation to apply to the message;
generate an animation that applies the selected type of animation to the message;
display the generated animation; and
receive a selection to send the generated animation to a recipient over a communications network so that the recipient can see the selected type of animation applied to the message;
wherein a bus connects to the one or more processors (Fig. 1-10).
In regards to claim 20, Feghali teaches of a method to allow a user to animate and send a message, comprising providing machine-readable instructions executable by a computing system having one or more processors connected to a bus connecting the one or more processors to a user interface, to:
receive the message via a user interface, in a memory,
wherein the message includes a text or emoji character;
receive a selection of a type of animation to apply to the message; generate, by a processor, an animation that applies the selected type of animation to the message;
output the generated animation to a display; and
receive a selection to send the generated animation to a recipient over a communications network so that the recipient can see the selected type of animation applied to the message (Fig. 1-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feghali (U.S. Publication No.: 2012/0270578 A1) in view of Molina et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2013/0275525 A1).
In regards to claim 8, Feghali fails to explicilty teaches that the type of animation applied to the message includes altering a size of a character or image of the message.
Molina teaches the concept that the type of animation applied to the message includes altering a size of a character or image of the message (section [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art to take the animated text messaging system of Feghali with the alteration of size of a character or image as taught by Molina in order to allow the users more flexibility to personalize their messages.
In regards to claim 10, Feghali fails to explicilty teaches that the type of animation applied to the message includes rotating and/or flipping a character or image of the message.
Molina teaches the concept that the type of animation applied to the message includes rotating and/or flipping a character or image of the message (section [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art to take the animated text messaging system of Feghali with the rotation or flipping of a character or image as taught by Molina in order to allow the users more flexibility to personalize their messages.
In regards to claim 14, Feghali fails to explicilty teach of displaying the generated animation includes showing a user the generated animation prior to sending the generated animation and allowing the user to correct the selected type of animation applied to the message.
Molina teaches the concept that of displaying the generated animation includes showing a user the generated animation prior to sending the generated animation and allowing the user to correct the selected type of animation applied to the message (section [0073]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art to take the animated text messaging system of Feghali with the ability to correct the animation as taught by Molina in order to allow the users more flexibility to personalize their messages.
Conclusion
/TAMMY GODDARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611