DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/774,844 of OTERO FAFIAN et al. for “MOBILE ACCESS SYSTEM FOR GRANTING ACCESS TO A DEVICE” filed July 16, 2024 has been examined.
Drawings
Drawings Figures 1-3 submitted on July 16, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted July 16, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Applicant Submitted Prior Art of LEE (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0042454 A1) hereinafter “Lee”.
As to claim 1, Lee discloses a mobile access system for granting access to a device (shown in Figures 1-4 and described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017, 0028-0033, 0037-0041 and 0050-0054), the mobile access system comprising: a transmitter unit (a transmission unit 130, shown in Figure 1 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) for wirelessly transmitting an unlock signal (mobile terminal transmits a door unlock request signal, described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017 and 0033) to the device for unlocking the device (control module 300, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraphs 0037-0041); a sensor unit comprising a gyroscopic sensor for recognizing a movement of the mobile access system in space (sensor 120, shown in Figures 1, 2, as described in Paragraph 0028, Lee’s disclosure implicitly discloses the claimed, gyroscopic sensor for recognizing a movement of the mobile access system in space); and a control unit connected to the sensor unit, the control unit being configured to: receive sensor data from the sensor unit; recognize, based on the received sensor data, a sequence of movements of the mobile access system in space (a smart key system using movement pattern recognition of a mobile terminal according to an embodiment of the present invention. The smart key system according to an embodiment of the present invention can prevent a user with no authority from controlling a vehicle, by unlocking a door of the vehicle when the movement pattern in which a vehicle fob is moved by manipulation [i.e. a control unit connected to the sensor unit, the control unit being configured to: receive sensor data from the sensor unit; recognize, based on the received sensor data, a sequence of movements of the mobile access system in space], described in Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0034); determine whether the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with a predefined first sequence of movements (vehicle fob is moved by manipulation of a user is matched with the preset pattern [i.e. determine whether the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with a predefined first sequence of movements], described in Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0034); and unblock the mobile access system when the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with the predefined first sequence of movements, wherein the transmission of the unlock signal to the device is only enabled in the unblocked state of the mobile access system (shown in Figures 1-4 and described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017, 0028-0033, 0037-0041 and 0050-0054).
As to claim 2, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, and further Lee discloses wherein the mobile access system is a vehicle key for granting access to a vehicle and/or a unit associated with the vehicle (smart key system using movement pattern recognition of a mobile terminal and a preset pattern that is moved to determine whether to unlock the door of the vehicle, described in Paragraphs 0029 and 0050-0053).
As to claim 5, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, and further Lee discloses wherein the transmitter unit is only activated in the unblocked state of the mobile access system (For example, the transmission unit 130 may transmit signals and information to the control module 300 of the vehicle having previously established communication compatibility. Preferably, the transmission unit 130 may transmit position information generated by the sensing unit 120 to the vehicle while the door unlock button of the input unit 110 is turned on by input of the user to transmit the door unlock request signal, described in Paragraph 0033).
As to claim 6, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, and further Lee discloses further system comprising an indication element for outputting an unblock confirmation to the user, wherein the control unit is configured to activate the indication element to output the unblock confirmation to the user when the mobile access system has been unblocked (when an RKE Indicator signal 50 is generated after a certain time (for example, 30 ms) has passed since the transmission of the RF data through the transmission unit 130 was started, the mobile terminal 100 may blink an LED once using a lamp module to inform the user that the data transmission is started. In addition, when an RKE Indicator signal 60 is generated after a certain time (for example, 30 ms) has passed since the transmission of the RF data through the transmission unit 130 was ended, the mobile terminal 100 may blink an LED once using a lamp module to inform the user that the data transmission is ended, described in Paragraph 0035).
As to claim 7, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 6, and further Lee discloses wherein the indication element comprises a light source, the light source emitting a light signal as the unblock confirmation based on the activation by the control unit (blink an LED, described in Paragraph 0047).
As to claim 8, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, and further Lee discloses the system further comprising an input unit for receiving a user input, wherein the control unit is configured to: recognize whether the input unit receives a predefined first user input; and unblock the mobile access system when the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with the predefined first sequence of movements and when the predefined first user input was recognized (step S430, the control module 300 checks whether to match the movement pattern acquired in step S420 with the preset pattern. For example, the control module 300 checks whether to match the movement pattern of the mobile terminal 100 acquired in step S420 with the setting pattern previously stored in the memory 200, described in Paragraphs 0053-0054).
As to claim 9, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 1, and further Lee discloses wherein the first sequence of movements comprises a personalized sequence of movements (shown in Figure 2).
As to claim 10, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 1. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 1 also applies to claim 10. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
As to claim 11, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 2. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 2 also applies to claim 11. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 2.
As to claim 14, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 5. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 5 also applies to claim 14. Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 5.
As to claim 15, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 6. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 6 also applies to claim 15. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 6.
As to claim 16, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 7. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 7 also applies to claim 16. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 7.
As to claim 17, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 8. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 8 also applies to claim 17. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 8.
As to claim 18, the claim recites a method that parallels the system claim 9. Therefore, the analysis discussed above with respect to claim 9 also applies to claim 18. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected by the prior art of Lee under the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 9.
As to claim 19, Lee discloses a system for controlling access to a secured area (shown in Figures 1-4 and described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017, 0028-0033, 0037-0041 and 0050-0054), the system comprising: a transmitter unit (a transmission unit 130, shown in Figure 1 and described in Abstract and Paragraphs 0030 and 0033) for wirelessly transmitting an access signal (mobile terminal transmits a door unlock request signal, described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017 and 0033) to the secured area for granting access (control module 300, shown in Figure 1 and described in Paragraphs 0037-0041); a sensor unit for detecting a movement of the system (sensor 120, shown in Figures 1, 2, as described in Paragraph 0028); and a control unit connected to the sensor unit, the control unit being configured to: receive data from the sensor unit; recognize, based on the received data, a movement pattern of the system (a smart key system using movement pattern recognition of a mobile terminal according to an embodiment of the present invention. The smart key system according to an embodiment of the present invention can prevent a user with no authority from controlling a vehicle, by unlocking a door of the vehicle when the movement pattern in which a vehicle fob is moved by manipulation [i.e. a control unit connected to the sensor unit, the control unit being configured to: receive data from the sensor unit; recognize, based on the received data, a movement pattern of the system], described in Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0034); determine whether the recognized movement pattern matches a predefined movement pattern (vehicle fob is moved by manipulation of a user is matched with the preset pattern [i.e. determine whether the recognized movement pattern matches a predefined movement pattern], described in Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0034); and transition the system to an enabled state when the recognized movement pattern matches the predefined movement pattern (unlocking a door of the vehicle when the movement pattern in which a vehicle fob is moved by manipulation of a user is matched with the preset pattern [i.e. transition the system to an enabled state when the recognized movement pattern matches the predefined movement pattern], described in Paragraphs 0028 and 0033-0034), wherein the transmission of the access signal to the secured area is only enabled in the enabled state of the system (shown in Figures 1-4 and described in Abstract, Paragraphs 0017, 0028-0033, 0037-0041 and 0050-0054).
As to claim 20, Lee’s disclosure as set forth above in claim 19, and further Lee discloses wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one of a gyroscopic sensor or an accelerometer for detecting the movement of the system in three-dimensional space (smart key system using movement pattern recognition of a mobile terminal and a preset pattern that is moved to determine whether to unlock the door of the vehicle [i.e. three-dimensional space], described in Paragraphs 0029 and 0050-0053).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim/s.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to claim 3, is allowed over prior art(s) of record because none of the prior arts have been found that individually or in combination with other prior art/s to fairly show, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations as recited in independent claim 3, comprising limitations: wherein the control unit is further configured to: determine whether the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with a predefined second sequence of movements; and block the mobile access system when the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with the predefined second sequence of movements, wherein the transmission of an unlock signal to the device is disabled in the blocked state of the mobile access system, i.e. in the particular manner claimed is not taught or suggested in the prior art.
As to claim 12, is allowed over prior art(s) of record because none of the prior arts have been found that individually or in combination with other prior art/s to fairly show, disclose or suggest the claimed limitations as recited in independent claim 12, comprising limitations: determining whether the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with a predefined second sequence of movements; and blocking the mobile access system when the recognized sequence of movements is consistent with the predefined second sequence of movements, wherein the transmission of an unlock signal to the device is disabled in the blocked state of the mobile access system, i.e. in the particular manner claimed is not taught or suggested in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following cited arts are further to show the state of related art.
U.S. Publication No. 2020/0219338 A1 of CHEN et al, discloses a method and apparatus for controlling vehicle systems. The method may be performed by a mobile device and a vehicle, and may include capturing motion data generated by one or more sensors of the mobile device. The method may also include generating a motion signature, indicative of a motion of the mobile device, from the captured motion data. Furthermore, when the generated motion signature matches a predefined motion signature stored in a memory of the mobile device, the method may include transmitting a motion based gesture command associated with the predefined motion signature to a vehicle. Additionally, the method may include operating one or more of the vehicle systems in response to a processor of the vehicle executing the received motion based gesture command.
U.S. Patent No. 11,417,163 B2 to CHEN et al, discloses a method for controlling vehicle systems, the method comprising: capturing motion data generated by one or more sensors of a mobile device; generating a motion signature, indicative of a motion of the mobile device, from the captured motion data; when the generated motion signature matches a predefined motion signature stored in a memory of the mobile device, transmitting a motion based gesture command associated with the predefined motion signature to a vehicle with the captured motion data; and operating one or more of the vehicle systems in response to a processor of the vehicle: generating a second motion signature from the captured motion data indicative of a motion of the mobile device, and in response to determining that a motion based gesture command associated with the second motion signature generated by the vehicle matches the motion based gesture command received from the mobile device, executing the received motion based gesture command.
U.S. Patent No. 9,478,088 B2 to LEE, discloses a smart key system using movement pattern recognition of a mobile terminal, the smart key system comprising: a mobile terminal configured to continuously transmit position information generated as a position is moved by manipulation of a user; and a control module configured to acquire a movement pattern of the mobile terminal using the position information received from the mobile terminal and unlock a door of a vehicle when the acquired movement pattern is matched with a previously stored preset pattern.
Correspondence
/SISAY YACOB/ January 22, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686