DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 and 19-21 have been amended. Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/30//2026, with respect to claim(s) 1, 8-11 and 21, have been considered but are now moot. The current rejection introduces a new ground of rejection, Wong in view of Liu, that does not rely on any reference from the prior rejection for the teachings challenged by the Applicant. Because this new ground substantially alters the factual and legal basis of the rejection, the arguments, with respect to claim(s) 1, 8-11 and 21, are not applicable (see MPEP § 707.07(f)).
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to claims 2-7 and 12-15, and in regard to the combination of Wong, Liu, and Yokokura, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that Yokokura is non-analogous art (Remarks, p. 11). However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. A reference is reasonably pertinent if it logically addresses the same problem or concerns the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992)). In this case, Yokokura is reasonably pertinent to the present problem of device power management because it explicitly addresses network power-save control across network mediums, including local area networks (LANs), the internet, or wireless networks (Yokokura, ¶ 0025). Furthermore, Yokokura is cited specifically for known sleep-transition timer extensions, a feature Applicant did not separately or persuasively traverse with specificity. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 2-7 and 12-15 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-11 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. [Wong] (US 2016/0323820 A1) in view of Liu (US 2005/0003794 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wong discloses a power-save mode management method for a first station (STA) wirelessly connected in a wireless communication network (Wong: ¶ 0004, station (STA) of a wireless local area network…power management modes), the power-save mode method comprising: waking up from a power-save mode (Wong: ¶ 0028, the STA 102 can be required to indicate explicitly transitions between power management modes, e.g., using the PM bit, and between power management states of the power save mode, e.g., using PS poll or trigger frames to indicate waking (transitioning to the awake state from the doze state)); receiving a beacon frame from an Access Point (AP) of a Basic Service Set (BSS) of the wireless communication network, the first STA being associated with the AP (Wong: ¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102. ¶ 0025, retrieve a data frame from the AP 104 in response to an indication in the TIM information element of a beacon of pending data buffered at the AP 104 for the STA 102. ¶ 0015, (APs), to form a basic service set (BSS). ¶ 0016, AP can indicate that pending data is available for transmission to the STA by setting a corresponding bit in a traffic indication map (TIM) information element (IE) of a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs); determining the received beacon frame is advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA (¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102); in response to the received beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA, keeping the first STA to stay awake for a period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines that no additional data frames are to be sent (or expected) from the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102 and therefore the HE STA 102 need not remain in the active mode or wake state of the PS mode.), wherein the first STA enters the power-save mode at least after the period of time (Fig. 4, illustrates a power management mode/state transition from an active mode or an awake state of a PS mode to the PS mode or a doze state of the PS mode by an HE STA 102. ¶ 0025, The STA 102 can transition from the awake state back to the doze state while in the power save mode by sending an acknowledgement (ACK) or block acknowledgement (BA) to the AP 104 following successful reception of data frame the AP 104, e.g., in response to successful delivery of one Physical Layer Convergence Procedure (PLCP) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) or PPDU.).
Wong does not explicitly disclose determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA (Liu: ¶ 0021, To receive a frame addressed to itself, a station has to continuously monitor the wireless channel and decode every frame for the MAC address to be checked against its own. ¶ 0182, the station will remain awake and decode the frames on the wireless channel. Upon the reception of a frame addressed to itself along with the MORE_DATA bit set to zero, the station will go to sleep. ¶ 0186, upon decoding a frame addressed to the PS station (AID match) along with the MORE_DATA field set to zero, the station will return to the sleep mode at 1880 until the next beacon. However, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850. ¶ 0129, a station may needlessly remain awake consuming power on the channel decoding another station's traffic before the reception of all its own data. ¶ 0134, another, higher priority, transmission Tx2 1020 to station 2 interrupts Tx1 1010. [Examiner's Note: Liu's awake PS station decodes frames on the wireless channel and compares the AID in each decoded frame to its own, which is parsing a portion of the frame sent by the AP. An AID mismatch at step 1870 identifies a frame being delivered by the AP to a different station of the BSS (“another station's traffic,” ¶ 0129; “station 2,” ¶ 0134), which is interpreted as the claimed second STA under the broadest reasonable interpretation.]); and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA (Liu: ¶ 0186, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850. ¶ 0135, station one will remain awake through the transmission periods of Tx1, Tx2, Tx1b, resulting in a total Tactual=T1a+T1b+Tx2. ¶ 0105, In response to the absence of the scheduled transmission, the indicated station remains awake and continues monitoring the channel for reception of its data. [Examiner's Note: Liu teaches, absent a frame addressed to itself with MORE_DATA set to zero, Liu's station does not return to sleep; upon decoding a frame for another station it stays awake and decodes a further frame (¶ 0186). Its waiting period is thereby continued beyond the point at which it would otherwise have ended, and ¶ 0135 confirms the station's awake time grows by the transmission to the other station (T1a+T1b+Tx2), which is extending the waiting period in response to the determination.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of maximizing power savings for the first STA by preventing it from prematurely returning to an active state or sending unnecessary polling frames while the channel is occupied by traffic destined for another station.
Regarding claim 8, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong further teaches comparing the period of time the first STA is awake and not receiving any data frame with a maximum threshold, and entering the power-save mode when the period of time reaches the maximum threshold (Wong: ¶ 0026, The STA 102 can remain in the awake state until receiving the "last Max service period (SP) length" downlink data frame or a downlink QoS data frame with an "end of service period" (EOSP) bit set to 1 and then transition to the doze state to conserve power after responding with a final ACK or BA to the AP 104. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104. ¶ 0006, STA transitions after a power save inactivity timeout period. [Examiner's Note: Wong's power save inactivity timeout period is the maximum threshold against which the time the STA has been awake without receiving a data frame is measured. The STA enters the doze state when that period elapses.]).
Regarding claim 9, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong further teaches sending a notification to the AP indicating the first STA is going to sleep and entering the power-save mode after the first STA stays awake for the period of time (Wong: ¶ 0027, If the STA 102 does not have any uplink data frames to send to the AP 104, in which to include an indication for a power management mode transition, the STA 102 can opt to send a "Null Data" frame with a PM bit set accordingly. ¶ 0006, STA transitions after a power save inactivity timeout period. [Examiner's Note: The Null Data frame with the PM bit set is the notification to the AP that the STA is going to sleep. Wong sends it on the transition that follows the inactivity timeout, i.e., after the STA has stayed awake for the period of time.]).
Regarding claim 10, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA further comprises decoding the at least a portion of the one or more data frames.
However, Liu teaches wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA further comprises decoding the at least a portion of the one or more data frames (Liu: ¶ 0021, a station has to continuously monitor the wireless channel and decode every frame for the MAC address to be checked against its own. ¶ 0074, During this waiting period, the station decodes all the data on the network and hence may consume unnecessary power on irrelevant data. ¶ 0186, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850. [Examiner’s Note: Liu's station decodes frames on the channel, including frames not addressed to it, and checks the address/AID in the decoded portion to decide whether the frame is for it. That decoding of at least a portion of the AP's data frames is the claimed decoding step.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA further comprises decoding the at least a portion of the one or more data frames, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of identifying the addressee of each AP frame, which is necessary to decide whether the first STA's own data has arrived or the STA must keep waiting.
Regarding claim 11, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong further teaches wherein keeping the first STA to stay awake further comprising setting a timer to countdown the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic after receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0031, STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104, e.g., during an initial association and/or broadcast or unicast by the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102. [Examiner's Note: Wong's inactivity timeout period functions as the claimed countdown timer, which triggers when the beacon indicates buffered data and keeps the STA awake until the period expires. This directly corresponds to the claimed mechanism of setting a timer to countdown the waiting period for buffered traffic after beacon reception.]).
Regarding claim 16, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong further teaches in response to receiving a beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA, determining whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested; and in response to determining that the wireless communication network is going to remain congested, entering the power-save mode, or in response to determining that the wireless communication network is not going to remain congested, staying awake waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (Wong: ¶ 0016, AP can indicate that pending data is available for transmission to the STA by setting a corresponding bit in a traffic indication map (TIM) information element (IE) of a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs. The STA can monitor the beacon signal to determine when pending data is available at the AP and can subsequently transition to an active mode…in order to be ready to receive the pending data.).
Regarding claim 17, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16.
Wong further teaches wherein determining whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested after waiting for the period of time (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode immediately after the beacon transmission, or after an offset time after the beacon transmission, where the offset time can be indicated in the beacon transmission.).
Regarding claim 18, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16.
Wong further teaches negotiating a service period with the AP in response to determining that the wireless communication network is going to remain congested (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode at a specific wake time negotiated with the AP by the STA, e.g., at a target wake time (TWT)); entering the power-save mode after determining a negotiated service period (Wong: ¶ 0030, transition of the HE STA 102 from the PS mode to the active mode or from the doze state of the PS mode to the awake state of the PS mode can occur (1) immediately after the beacon signal transmission, (2) at a time based on a time offset indicated in the beacon signal transmission, or (3) at a negotiated time, such as a target wake time (TWT)); and waking up from the power-save mode according to the negotiated service period (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode at a specific wake time negotiated with the AP by the STA, e.g., at a target wake time (TWT)).
Regarding claim 19, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 18.
Wong further teaches wherein the first STA negotiates with the AP by scheduling a Target Wake Time (TWT) explicit Service Period (SP) for guaranteed access (Wong: ¶ 0030, TWT corresponds to a negotiated target wake time or set of times as defined in an 802.11ah wireless communication protocol specification. The HE AP 104 can transmit a request to send (RTS) indication to the HE STA 102 and wait to receive a clear to send (CTS) indication in reply from the HE STA 102 before sending the buffered data frames to the HE STA 102, e.g., to ensure that the HE STA 102 is in the active mode or the awake state of the power save mode before transmitting the buffered data frames.).
Regarding claim 20, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16.
Wong further teaches wherein the first STA determines whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested by checking information present in a Basic Service Set (BSS) Load element (Wong: ¶ 0015, (APs), to form a basic service set (BSS). A STA can transition between different power management modes or between different power management states within a power management mode. ¶ 0016, AP can indicate that pending data is available for transmission to the STA by setting a corresponding bit in a traffic indication map (TIM) information element (IE) of a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs. The STA can monitor the beacon signal to determine when pending data is available at the AP and can subsequently transition to an active mode…in order to be ready to receive the pending data.).
Regarding claim 21, Wong discloses a first station (STA) in a wireless communication network associated with an Access Point (AP) (Wong: ¶ 0004, station (STA) of a wireless local area network…power management modes), comprising: a Radio Frequency (RF) receiver and a RF transmitter (Wong: ¶ 0023, RF bands); a processor, communicatively coupled to the RF receiver and the RF transmitter; and one or more memory banks, communicatively coupled to the processor and storing processor readable codes that, when executed by the processor (Wong: see at least Fig. 6, refs. 610, 612, 614, 616. ¶ 0052, computer readable code), are configured for: waking up from a power-save mode (Wong: ¶ 0028, the STA 102 can be required to indicate explicitly transitions between power management modes, e.g., using the PM bit, and between power management states of the power save mode, e.g., using PS poll or trigger frames to indicate waking (transitioning to the awake state from the doze state)); receiving a beacon frame from the AP of a Basic Service Set (BSS) in the wireless communication network, the first STA being associated with the AP (Wong: ¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102. ¶ 0025, retrieve a data frame from the AP 104 in response to an indication in the TIM information element of a beacon of pending data buffered at the AP 104 for the STA 102. ¶ 0016, a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs.); determining the received beacon frame is advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102); in response to the received beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA, staying awake for a period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (Wong: ¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame), wherein the first STA enters the power-save mode at least after the period of time (Wong: Fig. 4, illustrates a power management mode/state transition from an active mode or an awake state of a PS mode to the PS mode or a doze state of the PS mode by an HE STA 102. ¶ 0025, The STA 102 can transition from the awake state back to the doze state while in the power save mode by sending an acknowledgement (ACK) or block acknowledgement (BA) to the AP 104 following successful reception of data frame the AP 104, e.g., in response to successful delivery of one Physical Layer Convergence Procedure (PLCP) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) or PPDU.).
Wong does not explicitly disclose determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Liu teaches determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA (Liu: ¶ 0021, To receive a frame addressed to itself, a station has to continuously monitor the wireless channel and decode every frame for the MAC address to be checked against its own. ¶ 0182, the station will remain awake and decode the frames on the wireless channel. Upon the reception of a frame addressed to itself along with the MORE_DATA bit set to zero, the station will go to sleep. ¶ 0186, upon decoding a frame addressed to the PS station (AID match) along with the MORE_DATA field set to zero, the station will return to the sleep mode at 1880 until the next beacon. However, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850. ¶ 0129, a station may needlessly remain awake consuming power on the channel decoding another station's traffic before the reception of all its own data. ¶ 0134, another, higher priority, transmission Tx2 1020 to station 2 interrupts Tx1 1010. [Examiner's Note: Liu's awake PS station decodes frames on the wireless channel and compares the AID in each decoded frame to its own, which is parsing a portion of the frame sent by the AP. An AID mismatch at step 1870 identifies a frame being delivered by the AP to a different station of the BSS (“another station's traffic,” ¶ 0129; “station 2,” ¶ 0134), which is interpreted as the claimed second STA under the broadest reasonable interpretation.]); and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA (Liu: ¶ 0186, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850. ¶ 0135, station one will remain awake through the transmission periods of Tx1, Tx2, Tx1b, resulting in a total Tactual=T1a+T1b+Tx2. ¶ 0105, In response to the absence of the scheduled transmission, the indicated station remains awake and continues monitoring the channel for reception of its data. [Examiner's Note: Liu teaches, absent a frame addressed to itself with MORE_DATA set to zero, Liu's station does not return to sleep; upon decoding a frame for another station it stays awake and decodes a further frame (¶ 0186). Its waiting period is thereby continued beyond the point at which it would otherwise have ended, and ¶ 0135 confirms the station's awake time grows by the transmission to the other station (T1a+T1b+Tx2), which is extending the waiting period in response to the determination.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, determining, by the first STA and by parsing at least a portion of one or more data frames sent on a channel by the AP, that there is a data frame delivering from the AP to a second STA on the BSS, the second STA being different from the first STA; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of maximizing power savings for the first STA by preventing it from prematurely returning to an active state or sending unnecessary polling frames while the channel is occupied by traffic destined for another station.
Claims 2-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Liu, and in further view of Yokokura (US 2012/0137150 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1.
Wong further teaches wherein keeping the first STA to stay awake for a period of time comprises setting a first timer to a first predetermined amount of time when receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104, e.g., during an initial association and/or broadcast or unicast by the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102.); wherein the first STA enters the power-save mode when the first timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA transitions after a power save inactivity timeout period. ¶ 0032, After HE STA successfully receives an MPDU with More Data= 0 or EOSP = 1 (Q0S), HE STA transitions implicitly from Active Mode or Awake State to PS Mode or Doze State. [Examiner's Note: Wong's power save inactivity timeout period is a value the STA sets from information supplied by the AP, i.e., a predetermined amount of time, and the STA transitions to the power-save state when it elapses. That timeout is the claimed first timer.]).
Wong does not explicitly disclose extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering to the second STA.
However, Liu teaches … there is a data frame delivering to the second STA (Liu: ¶ 0186, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, there is a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of ensuring robust data reception in a multi-station environment by keeping the power-save station awake to capture sequential frames whenever the network signals that additional data is pending or targeted to other active stations, thus preventing packet loss.
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering.
However, Yokokura teaches extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering (Yokokura: see at least, Fig. 6, Refs. S605, extend sleep transition time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu and Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues, using the timer-based implementation already present in Wong and Yokokura.
Regarding claim 3, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 2.
Wong further teaches receiving a data frame targeting the first STA from the AP (Wong: ¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102). Wong further teaches a timer that is set after a data frame is received (Wong: ¶ 0031, STA 102 uses a power save inactivity timeout timer that is set by the HE STA 102 after sending the ACK or BA to the HE AP 104 and is reset upon successful reception of an additional data frame during the same active mode or awake state time period.).
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame targeting the first STA from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the first STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames.
However, Yokokura teaches setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame targeting the first STA from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the first STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. In step 5-10, the data processing apparatus 5-3 extends the sleep transition time again. More specifically, the data processing apparatus 5-3 disregards the 15 seconds extended by step 5-8 and extends the sleep transition time again [Interpreted here to be the second timer] so as to shift to the sleep mode in 15 seconds from this point in time. [Examiner's Note: Yokokura teaches discarding the earlier extension (clearing the first timer) and starts a fresh sleep-transition period of a predetermined length (the second timer) upon a further received packet.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong and Liu by further including, setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame targeting the first STA from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the first STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 4, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teaches the power-save mode management method of claim 3.
Wong further teaches the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of “More Data=0” or an “End of Service Period (EOSP)=1” indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP).
Liu teaches staying awake when the indication shows more data (Liu: ¶ 0186, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, staying awake when the indication shows more data, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of ensuring robust data reception in a multi-station environment by keeping the power-save station awake to capture sequential frames whenever the network signals that additional data is pending or targeted to other active stations, thus preventing packet loss.
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame.
However, Yokokura further teaches extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame (Yokokura: ¶ 0059, If these OIDs do no match each other (NO in step S603), the operation proceeds to step S605. ¶ 0060, In step S605, the Main CPU 2-1 extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds). [Examiner's Note: Performing Yokokura's step S605 extension each time that condition recurs is interpreted as the claimed extending of the second timer every time such a frame is received.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the first STA, as taught by Liu and Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 5, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 4.
Wong further teaches the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of “More Data=0” or an “End of Service Period (EOSP)=1” indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP).
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame.
However, Yokokura teaches wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame (Yokokura: ¶ 0059, If these OIDs do no match each other (NO in step S603), the operation proceeds to step S605. ¶ 0060, In step S605, the Main CPU 2-1 extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds). [Examiner's Note: Yokokura re-arms the sleep transition to the same predetermined value (15 seconds) measured from the current point in time on each occurrence.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong and Liu by further including, wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the first STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 6, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 3.
Wong further teaches determining the first or second timer is timeout, sending a notification to the AP indicating the first STA is going to sleep and entering the power-save mode in response to the first or second timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0026, The STA 102 can remain in the awake state until receiving the "last Max service period (SP) length" downlink data frame or a downlink QoS data frame with an "end of service period" (EOSP) bit set to 1 and then transition to the doze state to conserve power after responding with a final ACK or BA to the AP 104. ¶ 0027, If the STA 102 does not have any uplink data frames to send to the AP 104, in which to include an indication for a power management mode transition, the STA 102 can opt to send a “Null Data” frame with a PM bit set accordingly. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104. [Examiner's Note: Wong's STA sends a Null Data frame with the PM bit set to inform the AP it is entering the power-save state and does so on expiry of its power save inactivity timeout. The claim recites “first or second timer,” so expiry of the first timer alone meets the limitation.]).
Regarding claim 7, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 2.
Wong does not explicitly disclose setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering to the second STA.
Liu teaches a data frame delivering to the second STA (Liu: ¶ 0186, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of optimizing power-saving efficiency and minimizing latency for multiple stations (STAs) concurrently.
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering.
However, Yokokura teaches setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, the data processing apparatus 5-3 disregards the 15 seconds extended by step 5-8 and extends the sleep transition time again so as to shift to the sleep mode in 15 seconds from this point in time. ¶ 0060, extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds). [Examiner's Note: Yokokura restarts the same predetermined sleep-transition period on each further packet.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu and Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 12, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11.
Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering to the second STA.
Liu teaches the determination of “..each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering to the second STA” (Liu: ¶ 0186, if at 1870 the AID does not match that of the PS station, or the MORE_DATA field is not set to zero, the PS station remains awake and decodes a further frame on the WLAN at 1850).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, teaches the determination of “..each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering to the second STA”, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of optimizing power-saving efficiency and minimizing latency for multiple stations (STAs) concurrently.
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time.
However, Yokokura teaches wherein extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, the data processing apparatus 5-3 disregards the 15 seconds extended by step 5-8 and extends the sleep transition time again so as to shift to the sleep mode in 15 seconds from this point in time. ¶ 0060, extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds). [Examiner's Note: Yokokura re-sets the sleep-transition timer to a predetermined amount (e.g., 15 seconds) on each occurrence of further activity.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, wherein extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering to the second STA, as taught by Liu and Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 13, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11.
Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering the second STA.
Liu teaches awake time is incremented each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering the second STA (Liu: ¶ 0135, station one will remain awake through the transmission periods of Tx1, Tx2, Tx1b, resulting in a total Tactual=T1a+T1b+Tx2. ¶ 0105, In response to the absence of the scheduled transmission, the indicated station remains awake and continues monitoring the channel for reception of its data. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, awake time is incremented each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering the second STA, as taught by Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of optimizing power-saving efficiency and minimizing latency for multiple stations (STAs) concurrently.
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time.
However, Yokokura teaches wherein extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time (Yokokura: ¶ 0060, In step S605, the Main CPU 2-1 extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds). ¶ 0047, In step 5-10, the data processing apparatus 5-3 extends the sleep transition time again. [Examiner's Note: Yokokura adds a predetermined time to the sleep-transition time upon each further activity, which is incrementing by a predetermined amount.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, wherein extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time the first STA determines that a data frame is delivering to the second STA, as taught by Yokokura and Liu, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 14, Wong and Liu teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11.
Wong further teaches wherein the timer maintains a first timestamp for determining the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic after receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the first STA (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of "More Data=0" or an "End of Service Period (EOSP)=1" indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP. ¶ 0043, the one or more data frames transmitted to the wireless station include an indication of no more pending data or an end of service period indication for the wireless station. [Examiner’s Note: Wong ties a timer's initial timestamp (measuring the time spent waiting for buffered data after a beacon) to reception of a “no more pending data” or “end of service period” indication that triggers the STA's state transition.]).
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the first STA.
However, Yokokura teaches maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the first STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0062, determines whether to shift to the sleep mode based on a condition in which the first sleep transition time or the second sleep transition time whichever comes later has elapsed, and then the operation proceeds to step S608. In other words, if both of the first and second sleep transition times have elapsed (YES in step S607), the Main CPU 2-1 shifts the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode; [Examiner’s Note: Yokokura tracks two sleep-transition times, the later of which gates entry into sleep. The second sleep-transition time, started upon a further received frame, is the second timestamp for data traffic timeout.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong and Liu by further including, maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the first STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of transitioning into the sleep state after all pending background processes and timing intervals have fully completed to prevent dropped connections.
Regarding claim 15, Wong and Liu and Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 14.
Wong further teaches wherein the first timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving the beacon frame (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of "More Data=0" or an "End of Service Period (EOSP)=1" indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP. ¶ 0043, the one or more data frames transmitted to the wireless station include an indication of no more pending data or an end of service period indication for the wireless station. [Examiner’s Note: Wong meets the limitation because it establishes a connection between a timer's initial timestamp (measuring the time spent waiting for buffered data after a beacon) and the reception of a "no more pending data" or "end of service period" indication that ultimately triggers the STA's power or transmission state transition]), and wherein the first STA enters the power-save mode when the timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0031, STA 102 uses a power save inactivity timeout timer that is set by the HE STA 102 after sending the ACK or BA to the HE AP 104 and is reset upon successful reception of an additional data frame during the same active mode or awake state time period.).
Wong and Liu do not explicitly disclose the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the first STA from the AP.
However, Yokokura teaches the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the first STA from the AP (Yokokura: ¶ 0062, determines whether to shift to the sleep mode based on a condition in which the first sleep transition time or the second sleep transition time whichever comes later has elapsed, and then the operation proceeds to step S608. In other words, if both of the first and second sleep transition times have elapsed (YES in step S607), the Main CPU 2-1 shifts the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode; [Examiner’s Note Yokokura programs a second sleep-transition time upon a further frame that must also elapse before sleep.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong and Liu by further including, the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the first STA from the AP, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of transitioning into the sleep state after all pending background processes and timing intervals have fully completed to prevent dropped connections.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJDI ALSOMIRI whose telephone number is (571) 270-0427. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429