DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. [Wong] (US 2016/0323820 A1) in view of Yokokura (US 2012/0137150 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wong discloses a power-save mode management method for a station (STA) wirelessly connected in a wireless communication network (¶ 0004, station (STA) of a wireless local area network…power management modes), the power-save mode method comprising: waking up from a power-save mode (¶ 0028, the STA 102 can be required to indicate explicitly transitions between power management modes, e.g., using the PM bit, and between power management states of the power save mode, e.g., using PS poll or trigger frames to indicate waking (transitioning to the awake state from the doze state)); receiving a beacon frame from an Access Point (AP) of the wireless communication network (¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102. ¶ 0025, retrieve a data frame from the AP 104 in response to an indication in the TIM information element of a beacon of pending data buffered at the AP 104 for the STA 102); determining the received beacon frame is advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA (¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102); in response to the received beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA, keeping the STA to stay awake for a period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines that no additional data frames are to be sent (or expected) from the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102 and therefore the HE STA 102 need not remain in the active mode or wake state of the PS mode.), wherein the STA enters the power-save mode at least after the period of time (Fig. 4, illustrates a power management mode/state transition from an active mode or an awake state of a PS mode to the PS mode or a doze state of the PS mode by an HE STA 102. ¶ 0025, The STA 102 can transition from the awake state back to the doze state while in the power save mode by sending an acknowledgement (ACK) or block acknowledgement (BA) to the AP 104 following successful reception of data frame the AP 104, e.g., in response to successful delivery of one Physical Layer Convergence Procedure (PLCP) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) or PPDU.).
Wong does not explicitly disclose determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Yokokura teaches determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network (Yokokura: Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time); and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: see at least, Fig. 6, Refs. S605, extend sleep transition time. ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. In step 5-10, the data processing apparatus 5-3 extends the sleep transition time again. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 2, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong further teaches wherein keeping the STA to stay awake for a period of time comprises setting a first timer to a first predetermined amount of time when receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA (Wong: ¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame); wherein the STA enters the power-save mode when the first timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0032, After HE STA successfully receives an MPDU with More Data= 0 or EOSP = 1 (Q0S), HE STA transitions implicitly from Active Mode or Awake State to PS Mode or Doze State).
Wong does not explicitly disclose extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA.
However, Yokokura teaches extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: see at least, Fig. 6, Refs. S605, extend sleep transition time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, extending the first timer when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 3, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 2. Wong teaches further comprising: receiving a data frame targeting the STA from the AP (Wong: ¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102).
Wong does not explicitly disclose setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames.
However, Yokokura teaches setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. In step 5-10, the data processing apparatus 5-3 extends the sleep transition time again. More specifically, the data processing apparatus 5-3 disregards the 15 seconds extended by step 5-8 and extends the sleep transition time again [Interpreted here to be the second timer] so as to shift to the sleep mode in 15 seconds from this point in time.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, setting a second timer and clearing the first timer after receiving the data frame from the AP, wherein the second timer is set to keep the STA awake for a second predetermined amount of time after receiving the data frame waiting for more data frames, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 4, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 3. Wong does not explicitly disclose further comprising extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA.
However, Yokokura teaches further comprising extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0059, If these OIDs do no match each other (NO in step S603), the operation proceeds to step S605. ¶ 0060, In step S605, the Main CPU 2-1 extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, further comprising extending the second timer every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 5, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 4. Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA.
However, Yokokura teaches wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0059, If these OIDs do no match each other (NO in step S603), the operation proceeds to step S605. ¶ 0060, In step S605, the Main CPU 2-1 extends the sleep transition time serving as a time to shift the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode by a predetermined time (e.g., 15 seconds)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, wherein extending the second timer comprises setting the second timer to the second predetermined amount of time every time when receiving a data frame from the AP indicating there is at least one more data frame to be delivered to the STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 6, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 3. Wong teaches further comprising determining the first or second timer is timeout, sending a notification to the AP indicating the STA is going to sleep and entering the power-save mode in response to the first or second timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0026, The STA 102 can remain in the awake state until receiving the "last Max service period (SP) length" downlink data frame or a downlink QoS data frame with an "end of service period" (EOSP) bit set to 1 and then transition to the doze state to conserve power after responding with a final ACK or BA to the AP 104. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104. [Note: Only one element is required to meet the claimed limitation. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 7, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 2. Wong does not explicitly disclose further comprising setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA.
However, Yokokura teaches further comprising setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, further comprising setting the first timer to the first predetermined amount of time each time when there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 8, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong teaches further comprising comparing the period of time the STA is awake and not receiving any data frame with a maximum threshold, and entering the power-save mode when the period of time reaches the maximum threshold (Wong: ¶ 0026, The STA 102 can remain in the awake state until receiving the "last Max service period (SP) length" downlink data frame or a downlink QoS data frame with an "end of service period" (EOSP) bit set to 1 and then transition to the doze state to conserve power after responding with a final ACK or BA to the AP 104. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104.).
Regarding claim 9, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong teaches further comprising sending a notification to the AP indicating the STA is going to sleep and entering the power-save mode after the STA stays awake for the period of time (Wong: ¶ 0027, If the STA 102 does not have any uplink data frames to send to the AP 104, in which to include an indication for a power management mode transition, the STA 102 can opt to send a "Null Data" frame with a PM bit set accordingly.¶ 0006, STA transitions after a power save inactivity timeout period.).
Regarding claim 10, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA comprises parsing and decoding at least a portion of one or more data frames transmitted from the AP.
However, Yokokura teaches wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA comprises parsing and decoding at least a portion of one or more data frames transmitted from the AP (Yokokura: ¶ 0034, return/proxy response determination unit 3B-3 determines to allow the proxy response when receiving a specific packet pattern. ¶ 0036, When the proxy response is determined to be allowed, a packet processing unit 3B-4 generates a packet pattern for the proxy response and allows the pattern to be transmitted. [Examiner’s Note: The determination unit verifies whether the packet state permits a proxy response. This validation involves decoding the packet to uncover its state, followed by parsing the packet data to execute the required pattern matching.]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, wherein determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA comprises parsing and decoding at least a portion of one or more data frames transmitted from the AP, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of ensuring efficient resource use and network security by preventing unauthorized proxy actions which prevents misinterpretation and processing errors.
Regarding claim 11, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong teaches wherein keeping the STA to stay awake further comprising setting a timer to countdown the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic after receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA (Wong: ¶ 0031, STA 102 determines a value for the power save inactivity timeout period based on information provided by the HE AP 104, e.g., during an initial association and/or broadcast or unicast by the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102.).
Regarding claim 12, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11. Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA.
However, Yokokura teaches extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, extending the period of time comprises setting the timer to a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 13, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11. Wong does not explicitly disclose wherein extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA.
However, Yokokura teaches extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, extending the period of time comprises incrementing the timer by a predetermined amount of time each time the STA determines that a data frame is delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Regarding claim 14, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 11. Wong teaches wherein the timer maintains a first timestamp for determining the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic after receiving the beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of "More Data=0" or an "End of Service Period (EOSP)=1" indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP. ¶ 0043, the one or more data frames transmitted to the wireless station include an indication of no more pending data or an end of service period indication for the wireless station. [Examiner’s Note: Wong meets the limitation because it establishes a connection between a timer's initial timestamp (measuring the time spent waiting for buffered data after a beacon) and the reception of a "no more pending data" or "end of service period" indication that ultimately triggers the STA's power or transmission state transition]).
Wong does not explicitly disclose maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the STA.
However, Yokokura teaches maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the STA (Yokokura: ¶ 0062, determines whether to shift to the sleep mode based on a condition in which the first sleep transition time or the second sleep transition time whichever comes later has elapsed, and then the operation proceeds to step S608. In other words, if both of the first and second sleep transition times have elapsed (YES in step S607), the Main CPU 2-1 shifts the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode; [Examiner’s Note: the system described in Yokokura enters sleep mode only after the later of two defined transition times has elapsed]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, maintains a second timestamp for determining data traffic timeout after receiving a data frame for the STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of transitioning into the sleep state after all pending background processes and timing intervals have fully completed to prevent dropped connections.
Regarding claim 15, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 14. Wong teaches wherein the first timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving the beacon frame (Wong: ¶ 0006, STA additionally and/or alternatively transitions after receiving an indication that data transmission is complete from the AP, e.g., based on an indication of "More Data=0" or an "End of Service Period (EOSP)=1" indication in a protocol data unit (PDU) received from the AP. ¶ 0043, the one or more data frames transmitted to the wireless station include an indication of no more pending data or an end of service period indication for the wireless station. [Examiner’s Note: Wong meets the limitation because it establishes a connection between a timer's initial timestamp (measuring the time spent waiting for buffered data after a beacon) and the reception of a "no more pending data" or "end of service period" indication that ultimately triggers the STA's power or transmission state transition])., wherein the STA enters the power-save mode when the timer is timeout (Wong: ¶ 0031, STA 102 uses a power save inactivity timeout timer that is set by the HE STA 102 after sending the ACK or BA to the HE AP 104 and is reset upon successful reception of an additional data frame during the same active mode or awake state time period.).
Wong does not explicitly disclose the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the STA from the AP.
However, Yokokura teaches the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the STA from the AP (Yokokura: ¶ 0062, determines whether to shift to the sleep mode based on a condition in which the first sleep transition time or the second sleep transition time whichever comes later has elapsed, and then the operation proceeds to step S608. In other words, if both of the first and second sleep transition times have elapsed (YES in step S607), the Main CPU 2-1 shifts the data processing apparatus to the sleep mode; [Examiner’s Note: the system described in Yokokura enters sleep mode only after the later of two defined transition times has elapsed]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, the second timestamp is programmed into the timer after receiving a data frame for the STA from the AP, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of transitioning into the sleep state after all pending background processes and timing intervals have fully completed to prevent dropped connections.
Regarding claim 16, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 1. Wong teaches further comprising: in response to receiving a beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA, determining whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested; and in response to determining that the wireless communication network is going to remain congested, entering the power-save mode, or in response to determining that the wireless communication network is not going to remain congested, staying awake waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (Wong: ¶ 0016, AP can indicate that pending data is available for transmission to the STA by setting a corresponding bit in a traffic indication map (TIM) information element (IE) of a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs. The STA can monitor the beacon signal to determine when pending data is available at the AP and can subsequently transition to an active mode…in order to be ready to receive the pending data; [Note: Only one element is required to meet the claimed limitation. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 17, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16. Wong teaches wherein determining whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested after waiting for the period of time (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode immediately after the beacon transmission, or after an offset time after the beacon transmission, where the offset time can be indicated in the beacon transmission.).
Regarding claim 18, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16. Wong teaches further comprising: negotiating a service period with the AP in response to determining that the wireless communication network is going to remain congested (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode at a specific wake time negotiated with the AP by the STA, e.g., at a target wake time (TWT)); entering the power-save mode after determining a negotiated service period (Wong: ¶ 0030, transition of the HE STA 102 from the PS mode to the active mode or from the doze state of the PS mode to the awake state of the PS mode can occur (1) immediately after the beacon signal transmission, (2) at a time based on a time offset indicated in the beacon signal transmission, or (3) at a negotiated time, such as a target wake time (TWT)); and waking up from the power-save mode according to the negotiated service period (Wong: ¶ 0016, STA can transition to the active mode or to the awake state of the power save mode at a specific wake time negotiated with the AP by the STA, e.g., at a target wake time (TWT)).
Regarding claim 19, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 18. Wong teaches wherein the STA negotiates with the AP by scheduling a Target Wake Time (TWT) explicit Service Period (SP) for guaranteed access (Wong: ¶ 0030, TWT corresponds to a negotiated target wake time or set of times as defined in an 802.11ah wireless communication protocol specification. The HE AP 104 can transmit a request to send (RTS) indication to the HE STA 102 and wait to receive a clear to send (CTS) indication in reply from the HE STA 102 before sending the buffered data frames to the HE STA 102, e.g., to ensure that the HE STA 102 is in the active mode or the awake state of the power save mode before transmitting the buffered data frames.).
Regarding claim 20, Wong in view of Yokokura teach the power-save mode management method of claim 16. Wong teaches wherein the STA determines whether the wireless communication network is going to remain congested by checking information present in a Basic Service Set (BSS) Load element (Wong: 0015, (APs), to form a basic service set (BSS). A STA can transition between different power management modes or between different power management states within a power management mode. ¶ 0016, AP can indicate that pending data is available for transmission to the STA by setting a corresponding bit in a traffic indication map (TIM) information element (IE) of a beacon signal broadcast by the AP to associated STAs. The STA can monitor the beacon signal to determine when pending data is available at the AP and can subsequently transition to an active mode…in order to be ready to receive the pending data.).
Regarding claim 21, Wong discloses a station (STA) in a wireless communication network associated with an Access Point (AP) (¶ 0004, station (STA) of a wireless local area network…power management modes), comprising: a Radio Frequency (RF) receiver and a RF transmitter (¶ 0023, RF bands); a processor, communicatively coupled to the RF receiver and the RF transmitter; and one or more memory banks, communicatively coupled to the processor and storing processor readable codes that, when executed by the processor (see at least Fig. 6, refs. 610, 612, 614, 616. ¶ 0052, computer readable code), is configured for: waking up from a power-save mode (¶ 0028, the STA 102 can be required to indicate explicitly transitions between power management modes, e.g., using the PM bit, and between power management states of the power save mode, e.g., using PS poll or trigger frames to indicate waking (transitioning to the awake state from the doze state)); receiving a beacon frame from an Access Point (AP) in the wireless communication network (¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102. ¶ 0025, retrieve a data frame from the AP 104 in response to an indication in the TIM information element of a beacon of pending data buffered at the AP 104 for the STA 102); determining the received beacon frame is advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA (¶ 0024, AP 104 indicates the availability of buffered data units intended for a station, such as for STA 102); in response to the received beacon frame advertising there is buffered data traffic for the STA, staying awake for a period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic from the AP (¶ 0025, STA 102 can signal a transition from the doze state to the wake state while in the power save mode by sending to the AP 104 a PS poll, e.g., to retrieve a data frame), wherein the STA enters the power-save mode at least after the period of time (¶ 0025, The STA 102 can transition from the awake state back to the doze state while in the power save mode by sending an acknowledgement (ACK) or block acknowledgement (BA) to the AP 104 following successful reception of data frame the AP 104, e.g., in response to successful delivery of one Physical Layer Convergence Procedure (PLCP) Protocol Data Unit (PDU) or PPDU.).
Wong does not explicitly disclose determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Yokokura teaches determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network (Yokokura: Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time); and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: see at least, Fig. 6, Refs. S605, extend sleep transition time. ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wong by further including, determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network; and extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA, as taught by Yokokura, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of preventing the STA from entering sleep mode prematurely during a burst of activity, thereby avoiding latency issues.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection is maintained.
Applicant contends:
the applied references, Wong in view of Yokokura, do not teach or suggest: determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network.
the applied references, Wong in view of Yokokura, do not teach or suggest: extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA.
Yokokura is from a different field of endeavor. Specifically, Applicant argues Yokokura is non-analogous art because it is directed to printer power control via SNMP queries rather than an IEEE 802.11 STA power-save framework.
Yokokura is not reasonably pertinent to the particular problem addressed by the inventor.
the rejection does not articulate reasoning sufficient to support the proposed combination and that combining Wong and Yokokura requires impermissible hindsight.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claims in a pending application should be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974).
Wong in view of Yokokura teaches determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA in the wireless communication network (Yokokura: Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, a network packet transmitted across a shared network medium to a target identifier (such as an OID destination or peer address) constitutes a data frame delivered to an endpoint/peer in a network. Yokokura explicitly discloses receiving network traffic (e.g., SNMP packets) directed across a network, which Yokokura teaches can be a wireless network, where the network CPU analyzes whether incoming traffic contains specific destination parameters (OIDs). Therefore, Wong in view of Yokokura meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Wong in view of Yokokura teaches extending the period of time waiting for the buffered data traffic in response to determining there is a data frame delivering to a peer STA (Yokokura: see at least, Fig. 6, Refs. S605, extend sleep transition time. ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. In step 5-10, the data processing apparatus 5-3 extends the sleep transition time again. Fig. 6, Refs. S602-S603, analyze OID [object identifier], specific OID? [interpreted as peer STA], if NO then step S605, extend sleep transition time.). Yokokura teaches that upon analyzing packet parameters (Yokokura: Fig. 6, steps S602-S603), if the traffic is determined to be non-specific/other network traffic, the apparatus extends the sleep transition time (Yokokura: step S605). Combining this conditional active-period extension mechanism with Wong’s wireless station (STA) operating in a power-save framework yields the claimed adaptive wake-period extension. In the combined system, when the STA detects data frames being delivered across the wireless network, to another peer STA/endpoint on the shared medium, the STA adaptively extends its awake/waiting period rather than prematurely returning to doze mode. Therefore, Wong in view of Yokokura meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
In response to applicant's argument that Yokokura is non-analogous art, a reference qualifies as analogous prior art if it is either in the field of the inventor's endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Yokokura is reasonably pertinent here because it explicitly discloses network power-save control where the network medium “may be a local area network (LAN), the internet, or a wireless network” (Yokokura: ¶ 0025). Therefore, Wong in view of Yokokura meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Both references address the identical problem: preventing a network node from prematurely entering a low-power doze/sleep state during ongoing network traffic activity, thereby avoiding processing or latency failures (Yokokura: ¶¶ 0006-07; Wong: ¶ 0003). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention seeking to optimize power-save timers for a wireless device in a multi-node network would naturally look to general network power-management techniques that dynamically adjust sleep-transition timing based on evaluated network packet conditions. Therefore, Wong in view of Yokokura meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Wong discloses that a wireless station transitions between active/awake and power-save/doze states using an inactivity timeout period (Wong: see at least Fig. 4, illustrating a power management mode/state transition from an active mode or an awake state of a PS mode to the PS mode or a doze state of the PS mode by an HE STA 102. ¶ 0031, HE STA 102 determines that no additional data frames are to be sent (or expected) from the HE AP 104 to the HE STA 102 and therefore the HE STA 102 need not remain in the active mode or wake state of the PS mode). Yokokura teaches dynamically extending a device’s sleep-transition inactivity timer when ongoing network activity is detected to avoid timing out during active bursts (Yokokura: ¶ 0047, data processing apparatus 5-3 receives an SNMP packet transmitted thereto. Since the timing for step 5-9 is within 15 seconds indicated in step 5-8, the data processing apparatus 5-3 does not shift to the sleep mode and in the normal mode. ¶ 0062, determines whether to shift to the sleep mode based on a condition in which the first sleep transition time or the second sleep transition time whichever comes later has elapsed, and then the operation proceeds to step S608). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Yokokura’ s dynamic timer-extension method into Wong’s wireless power-save inactivity timer. The rational underpinning is to prevent the station from timing out and entering doze mode prematurely while data traffic remains active on the network medium, thereby reducing dropped packets and overall latency without requiring excessive explicit handshake signaling. Therefore, Wong in view of Yokokura meets the scope of the claimed limitation as currently presented.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJDI ALSOMIRI whose telephone number is (571) 270-0427. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465