DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 9,875,852 Asteman et al. (‘Asteman hereafter), App 14/431418
U.S. 2016/0307703 Furukawa et al. (‘Furukawa hereafter), App 15/196144
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 1 - 7 are currently being examined.
No Claims have been canceled.
No Claims are allowed or objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2016/0307703 Furukawa et al. (‘Furukawa hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 1, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: A method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor (100) (‘Furukawa, Abst, “A method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor of the present disclosure includes: preparing an anode member having a dielectric layer; then, impregnating the anode member with a monomer, an oxidant, a silane compound, and a solvent; and then forming a solid electrolyte layer including a conductive polymer containing a polymer of the monomer and a silicon-containing component derived from the silane compound on the surface of the dielectric layer.”),
the method comprising:
a step (i) of preparing a capacitor element (10) precursor that includes an anode body having a dielectric layer on a surface of the anode body (‘Furukawa, Abst);
a step (ii) of forming a polymer layer containing a first conductive polymer (‘Furukawa, Para 0006, “As capacitors having a small size, large capacity, and low ESR, electrolytic capacitors using a conductive polymer, such as polypyrrole, polythiophene, polyfuran, and polyaniline, as cathode material are promising. For example, there has been proposed a capacitor element including an anode foil having a dielectric layer and a solid electrolyte layer which includes a conductive polymer as cathode material and is provided on the anode foil.”)
to be adjacent to the dielectric layer by an impregnation treatment (‘Furukawa, Para 0009, “method for manufacturing an electrolytic capacitor of the present disclosure includes: preparing an anode member having a dielectric layer; then, impregnating the anode member with a monomer, an oxidant, a silane compound, and a solvent; and then forming a solid electrolyte layer including a conductive polymer including a polymer of the monomer and a silicon-containing component derived from the silane compound on a surface of the dielectric layer.”),
the first conductive polymer being a self-doped conductive polymer (‘Furukawa, Para 0029, “Since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt has a function as a dopant in addition to a function as an oxidant, it is not necessary to additionally use a dopant. Furthermore, since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt is excellent in the function as a dopant, high-quality conductive polymer can be formed. In particular, it is preferable to use ferric p-toluenesulfonic acid which produces a conductive polymer having excellent conductivity and heat resistance.”); and
a step (iii) of impregnating the polymer layer with a non-aqueous solvent (‘Furukawa, Para 0046 - 0047, “Process of Impregnating Capacitor Element 10 with Non-Aqueous Solvent or Electrolyte Solution” “After solid electrolyte layer 34 is formed, capacitor element 10 may be impregnated with a non-aqueous solvent or an electrolyte solution. This can improve a repair function of dielectric layer 31, and further improve a reduction effect of ESR.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 2, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the polymer layer contains the first conductive polymer and a second conductive polymer, the second conductive polymer being doped with a dopant (‘Furukawa, Para 0042, “For example, the wound body may be impregnated separately with a first solution including the monomer and with a second solution including the oxidant. At this time, the silane compound and the solvent may be included into any of the first solution and the second solution, or may be included in both the first and second solutions.” Para 0043, Thus, since the influence of the reaction heat is reduced, properties of the obtained conductive polymer are stabilized, so that an effect of improving withstand voltage characteristics is easily obtained. Furthermore, a larger amount of silane compounds can be incorporated into the conductive polymer.“ Para 0029, “Since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt has a function as a dopant in addition to a function as an oxidant, it is not necessary to additionally use a dopant. Furthermore, since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt is excellent in the function as a dopant, high-quality conductive polymer can be formed. In particular, it is preferable to use ferric ptoluenesulfonic acid which produces a conductive polymer having excellent conductivity and heat resistance.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 3, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: the dopant is a polymer dopant containing an acidic group (‘Furukawa, Para 0029, “The organic sulfonic acid metal salt is preferably an aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt. Examples thereof include naphthalene sulfonic acid metal salt, tetralin sulfonic acid metal salt, alkyl benzene sulfonic acid metal salt, and alkoxy benzene sulfonic acid metal salt. Since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt has a function as a dopant in addition to a function as an oxidant, it is not necessary to additionally use a dopant. Furthermore, since the aromatic sulfonic acid metal salt is excellent in the function as a dopant, high-quality conductive polymer can be formed. In particular, it is preferable to use ferric p-toluenesulfonic acid which produces a conductive polymer having excellent conductivity and heat resistance.”), and the step (iii) is a step of impregnating the polymer layer with an electrolytic solution containing the non-aqueous solvent and a base component dissolved in the non-aqueous solvent (‘Furukawa, Para 0046 - 0047, “Process of Impregnating Capacitor Element 10 with Non-Aqueous Solvent or Electrolyte Solution” “After solid electrolyte layer 34 is formed, capacitor element 10 may be impregnated with a non-aqueous solvent or an electrolyte solution. This can improve a repair function of dielectric layer 31, and further improve a reduction effect of ESR.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 4, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the impregnation treatment of the step (ii) is an impregnation treatment (x) of impregnating the capacitor element (10) precursor with a liquid containing the first conductive polymer and the second conductive polymer, the second conductive polymer being doped with the dopant (‘Furukawa, Para 0047 – 0050, “Process of Impregnating Capacitor Element 10 with Non-Aqueous Solvent or Electrolyte Solution” “After solid electrolyte layer 34 is formed, capacitor element 10 may be impregnated with a non-aqueous solvent or an electrolyte solution. This can improve a repair function of dielectric layer 31, and further improve a reduction effect of ESR.” “The non-aqueous solvent may be an organic solvent, or an ionic liquid. The non-aqueous solvent is desirably a high boiling solvent. Examples thereof include polyalcohols such as ethylene glycol and propylene glycol, cyclic sulfones such as sulfolane, lactones such as γ-butyrolactone, amides such as formaldehyde, N-methylacetamide, N,N-dimethylformamide, and N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone, esters such as methyl acetate, ethers such as 1,4-dioxane, ketones such as methyl ethyl ketone, and the like.” “An electrolyte solution in which an organic salt as ionic material (solute) is dissolved in the non-aqueous solvent may be used. Examples of the organic salt include trimethylamine maleate, triethylamine borodisalicylate, ethyldimethylamine phthalate, mono 1,2,3,4-tetramethylimidazolinium phthalate, mono 1,3-dimethyl-2-ethylimidazolinium phthalate, and the like.” “A method for impregnating capacitor element 10 with a non-aqueous solvent or an electrolyte solution is not particularly limited. It is preferable to employ a method for immersing capacitor element 10 into a vessel housing a non-aqueous solvent or an electrolyte solution because the method is simple and easy. Immersion time is, for example, one second to five minutes although depending upon the size of capacitor element 10.“ Para 0024, “It is considered that at least a part of the silane compound is incorporated into solid electrolyte layer 34 as the silicon-containing component, and the silane compound is interposed between the conductive polymers, or between the conductive polymer and other component such as dopant and chemically bonded thereto. This strengthens the bonding of the conductive polymers, and improves the withstand voltage characteristics. Furthermore, it is also considered that a part of the silane compound or the silicon-containing component derived therefrom is located at the interface between dielectric layer 31 and solid electrolyte layer 34, thus contributing to improvement of the adhesion property. In addition, by the effect of the silane compound or the silicon-containing component derived therefrom, an effect of improving densification of the conductive polymer in the vicinity of the interface between dielectric layer 31 and solid electrolyte layer 34, or the conductivity of the conductive polymer can be obtained.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 5, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the impregnation treatment of the step (ii) includes: an impregnation treatment (y) of impregnating the capacitor element (10) precursor with a first liquid containing the first conductive polymer, and an impregnation treatment (z) of impregnating the capacitor element (10) precursor with a second liquid containing the second conductive polymer, the second conductive polymer being doped with the dopant (‘Furukawa, Para 0042, “For example, the wound body may be impregnated separately with a first solution including the monomer and with a second solution including the oxidant. At this time, the silane compound and the solvent may be included into any of the first solution and the second solution, or may be included in both the first and second solutions.”).
Regarding Claim[s] 6, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the impregnation treatment (y) is performed after the impregnation treatment (z) (‘Furukawa, Para 0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2016/0307703 Furukawa et al. (‘Furukawa hereafter), and further in view of U.S. 9,875,852 Asteman et al. (‘Asteman hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 7, ‘Furukawa discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: dopant is polystyrenesulfonic acid, and the second conductive polymer is poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene).
However, ‘Asteman teaches: Col. 7, ln 13 - 19 “According to a very particular embodiment of the process according to the invention, at least 50%, particularly preferably at least 75%, still more preferably at least 95% and most preferably 100% of all the recurring units of the polythiophene are 3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene units (i.e. the most preferred foreign-doped conductive polymer is poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)).”
Col. 7, ln 60 – Col. 8, ln 3, ”According to a particular embodiment of the process according to the invention, the counter-ions contained in the dispersion are present as polymeric anions. Polymeric anions are also called polyanions in the following. In the case where polyanions are employed, it is particularly preferable for the dispersion to comprise ionic complexes of polythiophenes (as the foreign-doped conductive polymer) and polyanions (as the counter-ion), very particularly preferably ionic complexes of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) and polystyrenesulphonic acid (so-called PEDOT/PSS complexes).”
Col. 8. ln 4 - 11, “Polyanions are preferable to monomeric anions as counter-ions, since they contribute towards film formation and because of their size lead to electrically conductive films which are more stable to heat. Polyanions here can be, for example, anions of polymeric carboxylic acids, such as polyacrylic acids, polymethacrylic acid or polymaleic acids, or of polymeric sulphonic acids, such as polystyrenesulphonic acids and polyvinylsulphonic acids.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Furukawa with a dopant is polystyrenesulfonic acid, and the second conductive polymer is poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) as taught by ‘Asteman in order to contribute towards film formation and because of their size lead to electrically conductive films which are more stable to heat (‘Asteman, Col. 8. ln 4 – 11)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
U.S. 2014/0168857 Sautter et al. (‘Sautter hereafter) -Method For Improving The Electrical Parameters In Capacitors Containing PEDOT/PSS As A Solid Electrolyte By Polyglycerol
U.S. 2011/0051321 Yamaguchi et al. (‘Yamaguchi hereafter) - SOLID ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITOR AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THEREOF.
U.S. 2011/0188173 Ota et al. (‘Ota hereafter) - SOLID ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITOR AND MANUFACTURING METHOD THEREOF.
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
09/22/2026