Response to Applicants Arguments and Remarks
The Amendment/Request for Reconsideration After Non-Final Rejection filed 05/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 9 have been amended. Claims 1-15 remain pending in the application.
Applicant' s arguments and Amendments, filed 05/28/2026, are persuasive with respect to the objections to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims except as specifically noted below.
Drawings – required corrections do not appear in the latest drawing set dated 07/16/2024.
Applicant’ Arguments/Remarks, see pages 9-13, filed 05/28/2026, with respect to Claims 1 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner will address applicable arguments.
Note: In the Non-Final Rejection filed 05/28/2026 in Claim Interpretation , Claim 13 was noted as a structural limitation and was also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b). The Applicant has modified Claim 13 yet in doing so, has used the word “formed”, eliminating the structural limitation and creating a new claim.
Regarding Claim 1 the Applicant argues that,
Gustafson modified Ryu does not teach Amended Claim 1 where the claimed method requires
that barium titanate is not present during deposition, but is instead formed during sintering of
the deposited layers. Ryu does not teach/suggest using BaCO3 and TiO2 as a printable slurry in
an additive manufacturing process nor does Ryu contemplate deposition of such precursor
materials followed by in situ reaction within a printed structure.
Examiner's stated rationale of cost reduction is unsupported by the cited references.
The Examiner's proposed modification would require omitting Ryu's essential calcination step
and instead forming barium titanate during or after the additive manufacturing process of
Gustafson. Neither Gustafson nor Ryu suggests or provides any motivation for such a
modification.
Regarding Claim 9 the Applicant argues that,
Neither reference discloses or suggests that a solid-state reaction between BaCO3 and TiO2
occurs within deposited layers during sintering of an additively manufactured structure.
The Examiner has not established that the prior art processes perform the claimed reaction at
the claimed stage of the process, i.e., during sintering of deposited layers.
The Examiner's proposed modification requires impermissible hindsight reconstruction using
Applicant's disclosure as a template.
In response to the Applicant’s argument the Examiner replies Regarding Claim 1,
Respectful disagreement. Ryu is not relied upon to teach using BaCO3 and TiO2 as a printable
slurry in an additive manufacturing process. Ryu is relied upon to teach that BaCO3 and TiO2
powder, when heated treated, can form BaTiO3 material. Gustafson and Ryu both are related to
the field of dielectric components for chip packaging (Gustafson [0002],[0009], Ryu [0003]),
providing a nexus for motivation. Gustafson is relied upon to teach using a printable slurry in
an additive manufacturing process where there is a heat treatment of the printable slurry to
form BaTiO3 ceramic. The modification of Gustafson BaTiO3 powder by the BaCO3 powder +
TiO2 powder of Ryu would provide in situ formation of BaTiO3 powder in Gustafson. Ryu alludes
to this where BaTiO3 powder is formed from the BaCO3 powder + TiO2 powder after calcination.
As a PHOSITA would know, calcination occurs at a lower temperature than sintering such that the
“high temperature sintering” of Gustafson ([0010]) would create BaTiO3 when using BaCO3
powder + TiO2 powder in the additive manufacturing process of Gustafson. The level of
one skilled in the art, albeit not specifically defined due to its transient nature, encompasses at
least engineering logic and common-sense logic applicable in the art in addition to those
disclosed in the prior art references. It must have presumed that one of ordinary skill in the art
knows something about the art apart from what the references alone teach, see In re Bode, 193
USPQ 12, 16 (CCPA 1977). Further, the creation of BaTiO3 material from BaCO3 powder + TiO2
powder in Ryu provides some level of teaching for motivation. In addition, the examiner
recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the
prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or
motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally
available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed.
Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co.
v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Hence, the argument is moot.
Respectful disagreement. Ryu specifically cites that to manufacture low cost BaTiO3, solid state
reaction is the most advantageous [0009]. Hence, the argument is moot.
Respectful disagreement. Ryu is relied upon to teach that heat treating (BaCO3 powder + TiO2
powder) produces BaTiO3 material. Ryu citing calcination to produce BaTiO3 is used only in the
context of creating a nexus between Gustafson and Ryu, not incorporating the calcination
process of Ryu to modify the method of Gustafson. Hence the argument is moot.
The Rejection of Claim 1 is maintained.
In response to the Applicant’s argument the Examiner replies Regarding Claim 9,
Respectful disagreement. Ryu discloses a solid-state reaction between BaCO3 and TiO2 occurs
after a heat treatment (calcination, i.e. a solid-state reaction occurs to create BaTiO3). Modifying
the Gustafson BaTiO3 powder with the (BaCO3 powder + TiO2 powder) of Ryu, and then high
temperature sintering per Gustafson would provide for a solid-state reaction between BaCO3
powder + TiO2 powder occurring within deposited layers during sintering of an additively.
manufactured structure. The level of one skilled in the art, albeit not specifically defined due to
its transient nature, encompasses at least engineering logic and common-sense logic applicable
in the art in addition to those disclosed in the prior art references. It must have presumed that
one of ordinary skill in the art knows something about the art apart from what the references
alone teach, see In re Bode, 193 USPQ 12, 16 (CCPA 1977). Hence, the argument is moot.
Respectful disagreement. See Examiner Response a). Hence the argument is moot.
Respectful disagreement. It must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense
necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account
only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention
was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant’s disclosure, such a
reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971), MPEP
7.37.03. The Examiner has not used knowledge from the Applicant. The Examiner has used the
knowledge that the (BaCO3 powder + TiO2 powder) of Ryu forms BaTiO3 when heat treated.
Further Examiner Note: The core tenet of the instant claims is in-situ formation of BaTiO3 from (BaCO3 +TiO2) powders. Ryu discloses (BaCO3 +TiO2) powders form BaTiO3 via solid state reaction at a temperature lower than the sintering temperature of Gustafson. Further, that forming BaTiO3 from (BaCO3 +TiO2) powders from solid state reactions is known in the art (Ryu [0009]). While Gustafson has an application of additive manufacturing, the solid-state reaction of (BaCO3 +TiO2) powders to form BaTiO3 occurs when those materials are processed together with an adequate subsequent heat treatment step regardless of the application/process (additive manufacturing, slip casting, tape casting, i.e. typical ceramic forming processes). The instant claims provide a situation where one material (BaTiO3 ) that has been heat treated has been broken into two materials, or substituted by, two materials (BaCO3 powder +TiO2 powder) known to form BaTiO3 when heat treated. It has been held that constructing formerly integral structure into various elements involves only routine skill in art, In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). As well, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Hence the argument is moot.
The Rejection of Claim 9 is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the minor informalities listed below:
FIG. 4 should have upper case letters to read “FIG. 4”.
The elements in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 should have the underline removed (ex. 704 to 704). Note: there
are other elements in other figures that are underlined, which is allowed, as those elements
denote a cross-section.
Claim Interpretation
The claim interpretations presented in the CTNF are maintained, except for Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPGPUB
US20170092556A1 by Gustafson(herein “Gustafson”) and in further view of USPGPUB
20060221550A1 by Ryu et. al. (herein “Ryu”).
Regarding Claim 1 – Gustafson teaches,
A method comprising,
preparing a slurry; [0078], “ A…slurry can be made with barium titanate
(BaTiO.sub.3)…”
defining a three-dimensional geometry of an electrical passive component;
depositing at least one layer of slurry comprising barium carbonate and titanium dioxide
particles on top of a powder bed,
drying the powder bed after deposition of each layer of slurry when more than one layer of
slurry are deposited;
and sintering the one or more layers of slurry to form barium titanate within the one or more
layers and to form the electrical passive component;
[0050], [0049], Fig. 6, “ In at least one embodiment, the present invention discloses a system and a
method to 3D print electrical components, such as, e.g., multilayer ceramic capacitors, inductors and/or
resistors…”, “ FIG. 6 is a flow diagram…
Operation 610 defines a final product's three-dimensional geometry using CAD software.
Operation 620 deposits layers of slurry comprising powder material (BaTiO3) onto a surface or on top of
a powder bed, which then slip-casts to make a new layer. As the slurry deposits in each two dimensional
layer, the printer may select insulator and/or conductor as the material type, in separate passes or as a
combined pass. …The deposit of slurry drops may be individually controlled, thereby generating a
regular surface for each layer. Operation 630 dries any liquid from the powder bed, e.g., infrared flash-
dry, after deposition of each layer. Operation 640 repeats operations 620 and 630 until a green part is
formed. Operation 650 sinters the green part to form a final product…”
While Gustafson teaches a three-dimensional geometry of an electrical passive component (i.e.
related to 3D additive manufacturing ([0009]), where the slurry comprises a powder material of
barium titanate (BaTiO.sub.3) used for multi-layer ceramic capacitors (MLCC) and other electrical
components as part of ceramic chip packaging ([0042], [0043],[0044]), Gustafson fails to teach,
depositing at least one layer of slurry comprising barium carbonate and titanium dioxide
particles on top of a powder bed wherein the slurry is substantially free of barium titanate
prior to deposition.
In a similar endeavor of fabricating MLCC with barium titanate, Ryu teaches that fine barium titanate
powder is produced by a solid-state reaction of BaCO3 powder and TiO2 powder. Further, dispersing
dispersing BaCO3 powder into a solution of solvent and dispersant to prepare a slurry and then wet-
milling the slurry; mixing TiO2 powder (large specific surface area) slurry into the wet-milled BaCO3
slurry to form mixed slurry and then drying the mixed slurry into mixed powder; calcining the dried
mixed powder to produce BaTiO3 powder ([0020], [0021], [0022] Sample 6 in Table I and Table II). Here,
the process of Ryu is analogous to the process of Gustafson in this manner: creating a slurry and then
drying the slurry. As well, solid state reaction of BaCO3 and TiO2 to create BaTiO3 is known in the art
([0006]) to be cost effective ([0009]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at
the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the BaCO3/TiO2 slurry of Ryu in the
method of Gustafson, as one would be motivated to do so for the purpose of forming in-situ BaTiO3 to
eliminate the initial process of manufacturing BaTiO3 in fabricating MLCC and chip packages for the
common industrial reason to reduce cost. Further, it has been held that constructing formerly integral
structure (in this instance the BaTiO3 slurry of Gustafson) into various elements (in this instance the
BaCO3/TiO2 slurry of Ryu) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129
USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Regarding Claim 2 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
While Gustafson teaches the use of a ceramic slurry, Gustafson fails to teach wherein,
preparing the ceramic slurry comprises breaking down solids of barium carbonate and titanium
dioxide;
Ryu teaches in preparing the slurry, the BaCO3 slurry portion being wet milled where the specific
surface area of the BaCO3 powder increases from 20 m2/g to 31 m2/g due to wet milling the BaCO3
powder to create the BaCO3 slurry ([0070], Sample 6 Table 1, i.e. increased surface area = reduced
particles size). Further, Ryu teaches in preparing the slurry, the TiO2 slurried powder portion was mixed
into the wet milled BaCO3 slurry via a beads mill. One skill in the art would know that a beads mill, which
is a device that uses electrical power, targets sub-micron particles, suggesting a reduced particle size of
TiO2 particles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to use the particle size reduction method of Ryu in the method of
Gustafson, as one would be motivated to do so for the purposes of providing a high tetragonality and
uniform dielectric of the resulting BaTiO3 powder ( a requirement for high dielectric powder) which
supports higher capacity and minimization of the MLCC, as noted by Ryu ([0082], [0086],
[0087],[0088],Table 2/Sample 6, Fig. 9b regarding sample 6).
Regarding Claim 3 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 2 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 2.
wherein,
breaking down solids of barium carbonate and titanium dioxide comprises using an electric-
assisted device;
Ryu teaches this previously in Claim 2 (beads mill). Bead milling, and bead mills, are common in industry
where bead mills are powered by electricity. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the
known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the
product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct.
1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), with motivation noted in Claim 2 (targets sub-micron particles to support
high tetragonality and uniform dielectric and higher capacity and minimization of the MLCC).
Regarding Claim 4 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
wherein,
preparing the ceramic slurry comprises mixing a suspension comprising barium carbonate and
titanium dioxide;
Ryu further teaches BaCO3 powder and TiO2 powder are “uniformly dispersed”, by the acicular shaped
BaCO3 powder wet milled (slurry) to make spherical before mixing with the TiO2 powder[0067] .
“Uniformly dispersed” indicates an absence of material gradients in the slurry, which is the definition of
a suspension. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to uniformly disperse the powders in the slurry ( by wet milling the
BaCO3 powder) of the method of Ryu in the method of Gustafson, one being motivated to do so for the
purposes of suppressing particle growth of the eventual synthesized BaTiO3 under 1000°C, as noted by
Ryu [0074].
Regarding Claim 5 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 4 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 4.
wherein,
mixing the suspension comprises adding a solvent;
Ryu teaches preparing the BaCO3 powder slurry for the suspension by adding distilled water and
polyacrylic dispersant ([0070], then wet milling (example for Sample 6 Table 1). The motivation for
adding a solvent, i.e. wet milling, is previously captured in Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6 and 7 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 5 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 5.
wherein,
mixing the suspension comprises adding a plasticizer (Claim 6).
mixing the suspension comprises adding a binder (Claim 7).
Ryu teaches after BaCO3 powder slurry wet milling, an increase in viscosity is apparent and ammonia was
added to reduce viscosity, i.e. Ryu teaches the concept of adding a material to change the properties of
a slurry. Ryu teaches the claim except for specific materials added to the change properties of the
wet BaCO3 powder slurry. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior at the time
of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add desired additives, such as plasticizers and
binders, to a slurry, as one would be motivated to do so to meet the requirements of the slurry for the
process at hand. Solvents, plasticizers and binders are common in the ceramic industry to be used for
slips and slurries to control the desired rheological properties. Further it has held to be within the
ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the
intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical
Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 8 –– Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 7 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 7.
wherein,
mixing the suspension comprises adding a dispersant;
Ryu teaches this previously in Claim 5 with the motivation to do so found in Claim 4 (suppressing particle
growth of the eventual synthesized BaTiO3 under 1000°C).
Regarding Claim 9 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Gustafson teaches wherein,
sintering of the one or more layers of slurry within the deposited layers activates a solid-state
reaction ; [0049], Operation 630 dries any liquid from the powder bed, e.g., infrared flash-dry, after
deposition of each layer. Operation 640 repeats operations 620 and 630 until a green part is formed.
Operation 650 sinters the green part to form a final product”. Further, that “sintering is a solid-state
diffusion process”.
While Gustafson teaches sintering (solid state diffusion process) of BaTiO3, Gustafson fails to teach,
activates a solid-state reaction between the barium carbonate and titanium dioxide particles
to form barium titanate;
Ryu teaches...” in solid state reaction, BaCO3 powder and TiO2 powder are used as starting powder. The
BaCO3 powder and TiO2 powder are mixed, and then undergo solid phase reaction in a calcination
process to be synthesized into final BaTiO3 powder [0009]. The BaCO3/TiO2 slurry of Sample 6 at a
temperature of 990°C formed BaTiO3 [0083]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the BaCO3/TiO2 slurry of
Sample 6 to activate a solid-state reaction between barium carbonate and titanium dioxide particles
to form barium titanate per the slurry of Ryu in the process of Gustafson. Here, the materials and
processes of Ryu are substantially identical to the instant claim. Where the claimed and prior art
products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical
or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been
established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding Claim 10, 11 and 12 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of
the limitations of claim 1.
the electrical passive component comprises a multi-layer ceramic capacitor (Claim 10).
the electrical passive component comprises an inductor (Claim 11).
the electrical passive component comprises a resistor (Claim 12).
Claims 10-12 are considered to be directed to a structural limitation only. While it does not directly
impact the claimed method steps Gustafson teaches ([0050] lines 1-6), “the present invention
discloses a system and a method to 3D print electrical components, such as, e.g.,
multilayer ceramic capacitors, inductors and/or resistors, into the solid ceramic block of an integrated
circuit that is used in its packaging. Previously, passive electrical components have been…”.
Regarding Claim 13 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Gustafson further teaches wherein,
the electrical passive component is formed as a discrete component; Fig. 7, [0046], [0047], “…it has become possible to create passive components using additive manufacturing…”, “…pressure may be used to force the slurry out of the nozzle in a continuous stream of slurry or as a droplet which may be defined as a breakup of the flow…”. Fig. 7 illustrates discrete components of a resistor/inductor/capacitor (elements 702/704/706 respectively).
Regarding Claim 14 – Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 1 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 1.
Gustafson teaches wherein,
the electrical passive component is integrated within a ceramic chip packaging; Fig. 7, [0019], “FIG. 7
is a schematic of an integration of passive components in a ceramic part of a chip packaging”
Regarding Claim 15- Gustafson and Ryu in the rejection of claim 14 above teaches all of the
limitations of claim 14.
Gustafson teaches wherein,
the ceramic chip packaging is formed along with the electrical passive component; [0089], [0090], “A capacitor, a resistor, an inductor, and/or a multi-property device may be printed into a ceramic package of an integrated circuit. Depending on the shape and configuration of the components, each layer will print portions of the capacitor, resistor and/or inductor using materials such as, e.g., carbon and ferrite pastes, conductive ink, ceramic and metal slurry”, “the slurry may be deposited in any suitable manner, including depositing in separate, distinct lines, …or by individual drops. The deposit of slurry drops may be individually controlled, thereby generating a regular surface for each layer. Operation 2130 dries any liquid from the powder bed, e.g., infrared flash-dry, after deposition of each layer. Operation 2140 repeats operations 2120 and 2130 until a green part is formed. Operation 2150 sinters the green part to form a final product.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER PAUL DAIGLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741