DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al (US 2021/0376198; hereinafter referred to as Tsai).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches a wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100), adapted to rotate around a rotation axis (see Paragraph [0033]), the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) comprising:
a rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110); and
a wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150),
wherein the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is arranged on the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is configured to convert a laser beam into a conversion beam (see Paragraph [0026]),
the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) to rotate around the rotation axis (see Paragraph [0033]), and
the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) has a light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) that is surrounded by the rotating member (see Figures 1 and 2), and the light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through (see Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches a fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) and a bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111), wherein the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) surrounds the light-transmitting area (see Figures 1 and 2), the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is connected to the rotating member (see Figures 1 and 2; wherein the bearing surface 111 is connected to the substrate 110), the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) has a first side and a second side opposite to each other in an extending direction of the rotation axis (see Figures 1 and 2), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is arranged on a surface of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the first side (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) surrounds the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is arranged on a side of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the second side (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 3 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches a radius of the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is the same as a radius of the rotating member (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) surrounds the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111), the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is located between the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the light-transmitting area (see Figure 2), and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) is arranged on a surface of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the second side (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 5 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches a radius of the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is smaller than a radius of the rotating member (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsai teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Tsai further teaches the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) form an annular groove (Figure 2; Adhesion Zone P), and the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is arranged between the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) and located in the annular groove (see Figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 10-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (US 2013/0070205; hereinafter referred to as Pan) in view of Tsai et al (US 2021/0376198; hereinafter referred to as Tsai).
Regarding Claim 8, Pan discloses an illumination system (Figure 3; Projection Apparatus 100a), configured to provide an illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205), the illumination system (Figure 3; Projection Apparatus 100a) comprising:
a light source module (Figure 3; First Light Source 210);
a transflective element (Figure 3; First Rotation Wheel 220);
a wavelength conversion element (Figure 3; First Phosphor Element 230); and
a first light splitting element (Figure 3; First Dichroic Element 250),
wherein the light source module (Figure 3; First Light Source 210) is configured to provide a laser beam (see Paragraph [0025]), and the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) includes a first part and a second part (see Figure 3),
the transflective element (Figure 3; First Rotation Wheel 220) is arranged on a transmission path of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) and allows one of the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) and the second part (Figure 3; Color Beam 213) to pass through and reflects the other one of the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) and the second part (see Paragraph [0026]),
the wavelength conversion element (Figure 3; First Phosphor Element 230) is arranged on a transmission path of the second part (Figure 3; Color Beam 213) of the laser beam (see Figure 3), and
the first light splitting element (Figure 3; First Dichroic Element 250) is arranged on a transmission path of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) and the conversion beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 232) and configured to allow one of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) and the conversion beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 232) to pass through and reflect the other one of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) and the conversion beam (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0030]), and the illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205) includes at least one of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam (see Figure 3 and Paragraph [0038]).
Pan does not expressly disclose that the wavelength conversion element is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis, and the wavelength conversion element comprises a rotating member and a wavelength conversion material, wherein the wavelength conversion material is arranged on the rotating member, and the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam, the rotating member is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material to rotate around the rotation axis the wavelength conversion element has a light-transmitting area that is surrounded by the rotating member, and the light-transmitting area is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through.
Tsai discloses an illumination system (Figure 9; Illumination System 210) comprising a wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100), wherein the wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis (see Paragraph [0033]), and the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) comprises a rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and a wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150), wherein the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is arranged on the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam (see Paragraph [0026]), the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) to rotate around the rotation axis the wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) has a light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) that is surrounded by the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through (see Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the illumination system of Pan such that the wavelength conversion element is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis, and the wavelength conversion element comprises a rotating member and a wavelength conversion material, wherein the wavelength conversion material is arranged on the rotating member, and the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam, the rotating member is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material to rotate around the rotation axis the wavelength conversion element has a light-transmitting area that is surrounded by the rotating member, and the light-transmitting area is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through, as taught by Tsai, because doing so would provide a wavelength conversion element with improved durability (see Tsai Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) further comprises a fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) and a bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111), wherein the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) surrounds the light-transmitting area (see Figures 1 and 2), the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is connected to the rotating member (see Figures 1 and 2; wherein the bearing surface 111 is connected to the substrate 110), the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) has a first side and a second side opposite to each other in an extending direction of the rotation axis (see Figures 1 and 2), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is arranged on a surface of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the first side (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 10 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) surrounds the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is arranged on a side of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the second side (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 11 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses a radius of the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is the same as a radius of the rotating member (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 10 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) surrounds the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111), the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is located between the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the light-transmitting area (see Figure 2), and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) is arranged on a surface of the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) facing the second side (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses a radius of the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is smaller than a radius of the rotating member (see Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 10 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) form an annular groove (Figure 2; Adhesion Zone P), and the bearing structure (Figure 2; Bearing Surface 111) is arranged between the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and the fixing member (Figure 2; Adhesion Layer 120) and located in the annular groove (see Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Tsai further discloses an optical lens arranged in the light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) of the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) and configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through (see Paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 17, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Pan further discloses the transflective element (Figure 3; First Rotation Wheel 220) is configured to allow the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) of the laser beam to pass through and reflect the second part (Figure 3; Color Beam 213) of the laser beam (see Paragraph [0026]), and the first light splitting element (Figure 3; First Dichroic Element 250) is configured to allow the conversion beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 232) to pass through and reflect the laser beam (see Paragraph [0030]).
Regarding Claim 18, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 17 as detailed above.
Pan as modified by Tsai further discloses the wavelength conversion element (Pan Figure 3; First Phosphor Element 230) is arranged between the light source module (Pan Figure 3; First Light Source 210) and the transflective element (see Pan Figure 3; wherein on the optical path of the light emitted from the light source 210 the light passes from rotation wheel 220 to dichroic element 250 to phosphor element 230 and is reflected back towards the rotation wheel 220 thereby making the phosphor element 230 between the light source 210 and the rotation wheel 220), and the light-transmitting area (Tsai Figure 2; Plate Body 150) of the wavelength conversion element (Tsai Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) is located on the transmission path of the laser beam from the light source module (see Tsai Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 19, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Pan further discloses the transflective element (Figure 3; First Rotation Wheel 220) is configured to allow the second part (Figure 3; Color Beam 213) of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) to pass through and reflect the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) of the laser beam (see Figure 3), the first light splitting element (Figure 3; First Dichroic Element 250) is configured to allow the laser beam to pass through and reflect the conversion beam (see Figure 3), and the illumination system (Figure 3; Projection Apparatus 100a) further comprises a second light splitting element (Figure 3; Light Combining Element 270) arranged on a transmission path of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam and configured to allow the laser beam to pass through and reflect the conversion beam (see Paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 21, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Pan further discloses the transmission path of the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) provided by the light source module (Figure 3; Light Source 210) is parallel to the rotation axis of the wavelength conversion element (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 22, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Pan further discloses the transmission path of the laser beam (Figure 1A; Color Beam 212) provided by the light source module (Figure 1A; Light Source 210) is perpendicular to the rotation axis of the wavelength conversion element (see Figure 1A).
Regarding Claim 23, Pan discloses a projection device (Figure 3; Projection Apparatus 100a), comprising:
an illumination system (Figure 3; Illumination System 200a);
at least one light valve (Figure 3; Light Valve 110); and
a projection lens (Figure 3; Projection Lens 120),
wherein the illumination system (Figure 3; Illumination System 200a) is configured to provide an illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205), and the illumination system (Figure 3; Illumination System 200a) comprises a light source module (Figure 3; Light Source 210), a transflective element (Figure 3; Rotation Wheel 220), a wavelength conversion element (Figure 3; Phosphor Element 230), and a first light splitting element (Figure 3; Dichroic Element 250),
wherein the light source module (Figure 3; Light Source 210) is configured to provide a laser beam (see Figure 3), and the laser beam (Figure 3; Color Beam 212) includes a first part and a second part (see Figure 3),
the transflective element (Figure 3; Rotation Wheel 220) is arranged on a transmission path of the laser beam and configured to allow one of the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) and the second part (Figure 3; Color Beam 213) to pass through and reflects the other one of the first part (Figure 3; Color Beam 211) and the second part (see Paragraph [0026]),
the wavelength conversion element (Figure 3; Phosphor Element 230) is arranged on a transmission path of the second part of the laser beam (see Figure 3),
and
the first light splitting element (Figure 3; Dichroic Element 250) is arranged on a transmission path of the laser beam and the conversion beam and configured to allow one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through and reflect the other one of the laser beam and the conversion beam (see Figure 3), and the illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205) includes at least one of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam (see Figure 3),
the at least one light valve (Figure 3; Light Valve 110) is arranged on a transmission path of the illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205) and configured to convert the illumination beam (Figure 3; Illumination Beam 205) into an image beam (see Paragraph [0032]), and
the projection lens (Figure 3; Projection Lens 120) is arranged on a transmission path of the image beam (Figure 3; Image Beam 112) and configured to project the image beam out of the projection device (see Paragraph [0032]).
Pan does not expressly disclose that the wavelength conversion element is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis, and the wavelength conversion element comprises a rotating member and a wavelength conversion material, wherein the wavelength conversion material is arranged on the rotating member, and the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam, the rotating member is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material to rotate around the rotation axis, and the wavelength conversion element has a light-transmitting area, the light-transmitting area is surrounded by the rotating member, and the light-transmitting area is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through.
Tsai discloses an illumination system (Figure 9; Illumination System 210) comprising a wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100), wherein the wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis (see Paragraph [0033]), and the wavelength conversion element (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) comprises a rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) and a wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150), wherein the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is arranged on the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam (see Paragraph [0026]), the rotating member (Figure 2; Substrate 110) is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material (Figure 2; Wavelength Conversion Materials 130, 131, 132 and Plate Body 150) to rotate around the rotation axis and the wavelength conversion element (Figure 9; Wavelength Conversion Element 100) has a light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) that is surrounded by the rotating member (see Figure 2), and the light-transmitting area (Figure 2; Plate Body 150) is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through (see Paragraph [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the illumination system of Pan such that the wavelength conversion element is adapted to rotate around a rotation axis, and the wavelength conversion element comprises a rotating member and a wavelength conversion material, wherein the wavelength conversion material is arranged on the rotating member, and the wavelength conversion material is configured to convert the laser beam into a conversion beam, the rotating member is configured to drive the wavelength conversion material to rotate around the rotation axis the wavelength conversion element has a light-transmitting area that is surrounded by the rotating member, and the light-transmitting area is configured to allow at least one of the laser beam and the conversion beam to pass through, as taught by Tsai, because doing so would provide a wavelength conversion element with improved durability (see Tsai Abstract).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (US 2013/0070205; hereinafter referred to as Pan) as modified by Tsai et al (US 2021/0376198; hereinafter referred to as Tsai) as applied to claim 8, in view of Hsu (US 2016/0291315).
Regarding Claim 9, Pan as modified by Tsai discloses the limitations of claim 8 as detailed above.
Pan as modified by Tsai does not expressly disclose a light uniformizing element arranged on a transmission path of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam.
Hsu discloses a light uniformizing element (Figure 1; Light Uniforming Unit 108) arranged on a transmission path of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam (see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the illumination system of Pan as modified by Tsai such that a light uniformizing element arranged on a transmission path of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam, as taught by Hsu, because doing so would allow for the light beams to be mixed by the light uniforming unit to generate a mixed light beam (see Hsu Paragraph [0057]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding Claim 20, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require a light uniformizing element arranged on the transmission path of the first part of the laser beam and the conversion beam, the wavelength conversion element is arranged between the light uniformizing element and the second light splitting element, and the light-transmitting area of the wavelength conversion element is located on a transmission path of the laser beam from the second light splitting element and the conversion beam.
These limitations in combination with the limitations of claims 8 and 19 would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882