Response to Amendment
2. Applicant's amendment filed on 06/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 21, 25, 26, 28, 36, 38 and 40 are amended. Claims 21-40 are still pending in the application with claims 21, 28 and 38 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 21-36 and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by WAGER et al. (For. Pub. No: WO 2022/081060 A1).
Regarding claim 21, WAGER et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.11) comprising: sending, to a user equipment (UE), a UE capability enquiry including an indication of a cell grouping for dual connectivity, the cell grouping including a first list of bands for a master cell group (MCG) and a second list of bands for a secondary cell group (SCG) (see Fig.11 and see page 27, lines 9-14 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the first group including frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group including frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned and also the first and second groups may apply specifically to a master cell group and secondary cell group, respectively, is mentioned and also see page 29, 4th para & page 30, 1st para); and
receiving, from the UE in response to the UE capability enquiry, UE capability information indicating support of a band combination for the dual connectivity and cell grouping information about cells for the band combination, wherein the cell grouping information is included in the UE capability information only when the indication is included in the UE capability enquiry (see Fig.11 and page 28, lines 1-11 wherein the step of receiving, from the UE, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, in response to the request is mentioned and also this message comprises an indication of dual-connectivity support only for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information, is mentioned and also see page 29, 4th para & page 30, 1st para), wherein the cell grouping information includes an identifier of the cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG (see page 29, 4th para to page 30, 1st para, wherein the network receiving from the UE, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also, where the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the message may comprise an indication of dual-connectivity support only for (a) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual-connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information and (b) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FRI frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 22, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 21, further comprising: communicating with the UE based on the UE capability information (see Fig.11 and page 13, lines 1-4 wherein a node of a wireless network sending a request for UE capability information & communicating with the UE, is mentioned and also see page 28, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 23, WAGER et al. further teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the communicating uses a cell from the cells that belong to the band combination and that the UE supports for the dual connectivity (see page 28, lines 14-18, wherein the indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information, is mentioned and also see page 28, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 24, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 21, wherein the cell grouping information is included in the UE capability information upon the indication being included in UE capability enquiry (see Fig.11 and page 28, lines 1-11 wherein the step of receiving, from the UE, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, in response to the request is mentioned and also this message comprises an indication of dual-connectivity support only for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 25, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 21, wherein the UE capability enquiry indicates that the network supports grouping the bands in a cell group for the dual connectivity (see page 27, lines 9-14 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups/cell group for dual connectivity, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 26, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 25, wherein the cell group is the MCG or the SCG (see page 27, lines 9-16 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second group for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also the first and second groups may apply specifically to a master cell group and secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 27, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 21, wherein the UE capability enquiry indicates that the network supports a set of band combinations for the dual connectivity, wherein the set includes the band combination (see page 27, lines 9-14 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 28, WAGER et al. teach a method (see Abstract and Fig.12) comprising: processing a user equipment (UE) capability enquiry received from a network (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 8-11, wherein UE receiving, from a network, a request for UE capability information and determining whether the request for UE capability information includes an Indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned), the UE capability enquiry including an indication of a cell grouping for dual connectivity, the cell grouping corresponding to bands usable by a network (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 8-13 wherein UE receiving, from a network, a request for UE capability information and determining whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity and also where the first group includes frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group includes frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned and also see page 27, lines 9-14) and including a first list of bands for a master cell group (MCG) and a second list of bands for a secondary cell group (SCG) (see page 27, lines 9-14 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the first group including frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group including frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned and also the first and second groups may apply specifically to a master cell group and secondary cell group, respectively, is mentioned and also see page 29, 4th para & page 30, 1st para) ; and
causing transmission, to the network in response to the UE capability enquiry, of UE capability information indicating support of cells for a band combination being grouped in a cell group, wherein the support is indicated in the UE capability information based on the indication is included in the UE capability enquiry (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 17-21 wherein UE sending to the network, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also see page 13, lines 24-28 & page 28, lines 1-11), wherein the support includes an identifier of a cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG (see page 29, 4th para to page 30, 1st para, wherein the network receiving from the UE, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also, the where the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the message may comprise an indication of dual-connectivity support only for (a) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual-connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information and (b) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FRI frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 29, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, further comprising: communicating with the network based on the UE capability information (see Fig.12 and page 30, line 30 to page 31, line 2 wherein UE communicating with the network based on the UE capability information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 30, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, wherein the UE capability information is sent only if the indication is included in the UE capability enquiry (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 17-21 wherein UE sending to the network, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 31, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, wherein the UE capability information indicates a dual connectivity support for band combinations corresponding to the cell grouping (see page 29, lines 17-21 wherein UE sending to the network, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 32, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, wherein the UE capability enquiry indicates the bands that are associated with the cell group (see page 29, lines 8-13 wherein the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity and also where the first group includes frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group includes frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 33, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 32, wherein the UE capability information indicates the band combination corresponding to two or more of the bands and supported for the cell group (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 34, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, wherein the UE capability information indicates a plurality of bands that form the band combination and that are in different frequency ranges (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 35, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 28, wherein the UE capability information indicates a plurality of bands of the band combination (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 36, WAGER et al. further teach the method of claim 35, wherein the UE capability information further indicates a support of a first carrier in a first band of the plurality of bands being grouped in the MCG and a second carrier in a second band of the plurality of bands being grouped in the SCG (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group/MCG and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group/SCG, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 38, WAGER et al. teach a device (see Abstract and Fig.14/device) comprising: processing circuitry (see Fig.14, block 52 for processing circuitry) configured to: process a user equipment (UE) capability enquiry received from a network (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 8-11, wherein UE receiving, from a network, a request for UE capability information and determining whether the request for UE capability information includes an Indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned), the UE capability enquiry including an indication of a cell grouping for dual connectivity, the cell grouping corresponding to bands usable by a network (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 8-13 wherein UE receiving, from a network, a request for UE capability information and determining whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity and also where the first group includes frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group includes frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned and also see page 27, lines 9-14) and including a first list of bands for a master cell group (MCG) and a second list of bands for a secondary cell group (SCG) (see page 27, lines 9-14 wherein sending, to the UE, a request for UE capability information, the request including an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the first group including frequency bands for use in a first dual-connectivity cell group and the second group including frequency bands for use in a second dual-connectivity cell group, is mentioned and also the first and second groups may apply specifically to a master cell group and secondary cell group, respectively, is mentioned and also see page 29, 4th para & page 30, 1st para); and
cause transmission, to the network in response to the UE capability enquiry, of UE capability information indicating support of cells for a band combination being grouped in a cell group, wherein the support is indicated in the UE capability information based on the indication being included in the UE capability enquiry (see Fig.12 and page 29, lines 17-21 wherein UE sending to the network, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also see page 13, lines 24-28 & page 28, lines 1-11), wherein the support includes an identifier of a cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG (see page 29, 4th para to page 30, 1st para, wherein the network receiving from the UE, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also, the where the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the message may comprise an indication of dual-connectivity support only for (a) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual-connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information and (b) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FRI frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned); and
interface circuitry coupled with the processing circuity (see Fig.14, block 56 for and interface circuitry/Transceiver circuitry coupled with the processing circuity/52 and page 33, lines 8-11) and configured to at least one of receive the UE capability enquiry or transmit the UE capability information (see page 29, lines 17-21 wherein the UE sending to the network, in response to the request, a message/ UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 39, WAGER et al. further teach the device of claim 38, wherein the UE capability enquiry indicates that the network supports a set of bands for the dual connectivity and wherein the set includes a first band and a second band that belong to the band combination (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 40, WAGER et al. further teach the device of claim 39, wherein the UE capability enquiry indicates the network supports the set of bands in association with the MCG or the SCG (see page 30, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group/MCG and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group/SCG, is mentioned).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WAGER et al. (For. Pub. No: WO 2022/081060 A1) in view of Qualcomm Inc. (3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #87bis, “UE Capabilities for Dual Connectivity”, R2-144560, dated Oct, 2014).
Regarding claim 37, WAGER et al. teach the method of claim 35, wherein the UE capability information indicates a plurality of bands of the band combination (see page 32, lines 18-21, wherein the message/UE capability information comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FR1 frequency bands in a master cell group and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group, is mentioned).
WAGER et al. is silent in teaching the method of claim 35, wherein the UE capability information further indicates lack of supporting first carriers from a first subset of the plurality of bands being grouped in the cell group for the dual connectivity.
However, Qualcomm Inc. teaches a method (see page 1, Introduction), wherein the UE capability information further indicates lack of supporting first carriers from a first subset of the plurality of bands being grouped in the cell group for the dual connectivity (see page 1, under section 2.1, proposal 1, wherein the UE being capable of supporting dual connectivity for bands A, B, C, is mentioned and also for the DC config 1, the UE supporting only synchronous operation of B+C in CG2 (that includes not supporting the band A in CG2/cell group), is mentioned, which is equivalent to “having the UE capability information indicating lack of supporting first carriers from a first subset of the plurality of bands being grouped in the cell group for the dual connectivity”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above method of WAGER et al. to have the UE capability information further indicating lack of supporting first carriers from a first subset of the plurality of bands being grouped in the cell group for the dual connectivity, disclosed by Qualcomm Inc. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for efficiently providing SCG and split bearer capabilities per UE in wireless communication system.
Response to Arguments.
8. In pages 7-8 of Applicant’s Remarks, regarding amended independent 21, Applicant mainly mentions that the cited reference Wager does not disclose the amended limitation i.e. wherein the cell grouping information includes an identifier of the cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG and, similarly the other amended independent claims.
However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees to the above statements of the Applicant as follows. WAGER et al. clearly teach wherein the cell grouping information includes an identifier of the cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG (see page 29, 4th para to page 30, 1st para, wherein the network receiving from the UE, in response to the request, a message comprising an indication of dual-connectivity support for one or more frequency band combinations, where the indication depends on whether the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, is mentioned and also, where the request for UE capability information includes an indication of a grouping of available frequency bands into first and second groups for dual connectivity, the message may comprise an indication of dual-connectivity support only for (a) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports grouping of cells into a first dual-connectivity cell group and a second dual-connectivity cell group according to the first and second groups indicated in the request for UE capability information and (b) frequency band combinations for which the UE supports dual-connectivity with only FRI frequency bands in a master cell group (MCG) and only FR2 frequency bands in a secondary cell group (SCG), is mentioned, all of which is clearly equivalent to having “the cell grouping information includes an identifier of the cell grouping from among cell groupings supported by the network and wherein the identifier indicates at least one of the cell groupings for which the UE supports grouping at least one MCG band on the MCG and at least one SCG band on the SCG”), and thus Wager clearly teach all the limitations of amended independent claim 21 and similarly of other independent claims 28 and 38, as already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
9. The rejection of all other dependent claims is already mentioned above under Claim Rejections.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsu et al. (US Pub. No: 2018/0343697 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to user equipment (UE) category and capability indication of co-existed LTE and NR devices in wireless communication system.
HOSSEINI et al. (US Pub. No: 2021/0360593 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to techniques and apparatuses for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring capability reporting and configuration for dual connectivity.
KIM et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0225453 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for efficiently controlling a state of a secondary node when dual connectivity is performed in wireless communication system.
Lekutai et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0167346 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to selecting an SCG based on a planned motion of a user equipment (UE) in wireless communication system.
TSAI et al. (US Pub. No: 2019/0045404 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to user equipment (UE) supporting fast dual connectivity (DC) configuration after fallback in wireless communication system.
HONG et al. (US Pub. No: 2020/0367085 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to early frequency reporting for fast carrier aggregation (CA) and dual connectivity setup in wireless communication system.
KIM et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0322418 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to a method and apparatus for efficiently providing a service in a wireless communication system.
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed
To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
08/08/2026