DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1 and 10, Applicant argues that Heinen does not disclose that the entire/individual conveyor areas are changeable in position through the connector, and further that Heinen does not provide a connection structure enabling repositioning of the transport members. In response, Examiner would like to make reference to paragraphs 0003 and 0004 of Heinen wherein it is disclosed that the invention relates to a conveying device with the ability to have different configurations by making the components modular while having appropriate sequential control of the transport member. Paragraph 0011 and 0012 disclose how the set up of the different configurations of the conveying system can be achieved through determination of signal connections of the control units along the bus line and how the connection of the control units to the system is achieved, and Paragraph 0051 further discloses how the power supply line and signal bus line can be a single component. Therefore, the control units are able to be changeable in position along different spots on the bus line based upon where the facility computer determines each control unit to be located.
Regarding Claims 2-8 and 11-15, Applicant makes no other arguments other than to state the claims rejections should be traversed under the amended claims 1 and 10.
For the foregoing reasons, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heinen (European Patent Application EP2678745B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Heinen teaches A battery transport system comprising: a first wiring portion including a plurality of transport members configured to transport a transported object in a predetermined direction;(Figure 1: Control units 130-530 connecting the conveying zones 100-500) a second wiring portion including a local panel electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of transport members;(Figure 1: Power supply 31) a third wiring portion including a wiring panel electrically connected to the local panel and supplying power to the local panel; (Figure 1: Main power distribution from where the power source 31 is plugged into)and a connector respectively provided in the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion, and electrically connecting the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion to each other, (Figure 1: Power supply line 10 connected through all control units 130-630)wherein the connector connects the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion to each other in a detachable manner.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone."), wherein at least one of the plurality of transport members is configured to be changeable in a position, based on the predetermined direction, through the connector.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.", wherein the position could be changed by mounting the conveying zone in a different area).
Regarding Claim 2, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 1, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the connector is provided on each of the plurality of transport members, and the plurality of transport members are arranged in the predetermined direction and electrically connected to each other through the connector in a detachable manner.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.")
Regarding Claim 3, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 1, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the plurality of transport members includes a first transport member provided with the connector, wherein the first transport member includes, a first frame portion including a first body frame and a first support frame supporting the first body frame;(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.") a first roller unit arranged in the predetermined direction on the first body frame and including a first driving roller rotating when supplied with power; (Figure 1: Shows motor-driven conveying rollers 110-210 connected to and powered by control units 130-530)a first roller driving unit supplying power to and controlling the first roller unit; and a first terminal portion electrically connecting the first roller driving unit and the connector to each other, and the first roller driving unit and the first terminal portion are disposed inside the first frame portion provided by the first body frame and the first support frame.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 4, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 3, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the first frame portion of the first transport member is provided as a plurality of first frame portions arranged in the predetermined direction and coupled to each other by a connection portion, the first driving roller is respectively disposed on the first body frames of the plurality of first frame portions,(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.") and the first roller driving unit disposed on any one of the plurality of first frame portions is electrically connected to each of the first driving rollers disposed on the plurality of first frame portions.(Figure 1: Shows motor-driven conveying rollers 110-210 connected to and powered by control units 130-530)
Regarding Claim 5, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 4, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the connector of the first transport member includes an input connector disposed on one side of the plurality of first frame portions and receiving current, and an output connector disposed on the other side and supplying current to a neighboring transport member, and the first roller driving unit disposed on any one of the plurality of first frame portions electrically connects the first roller driving unit, the input connector, and the output connector to each other.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 6, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 1, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the plurality of transport members include a second transport member provided with the connector, wherein the second transport member includes, a second frame portion including a second body frame and a second support frame supporting the second body frame; a second roller unit arranged in the predetermined direction in the second body frame and including a second driving roller rotating when supplied with power; a second roller driving unit supplying power to and controlling the second driving roller; a second terminal portion electrically connecting the second roller driving unit and the connector to each other;(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.") an accessory member configured to assist in transporting the transport object; and a unit box supplying power to the accessory member, (Figure 1: Light barriers 120-720)and the second roller driving unit, the second terminal portion, and the unit box are disposed inside the second frame portion provided by the second body frame and the second support frame.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 7, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 1, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the plurality of transport members includes a third transport member provided with the connector,(Figure 1: Conveying zones 600, 700)wherein the third transport member includes, a third frame portion disposed with an auxiliary member capable of transporting the transport object in a direction different from the predetermined direction;(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.")and a unit box electrically connecting the auxiliary member and the connector to each other, and the unit box is disposed inside the third frame portion.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 8, Heinen teaches the battery transport system of claim 7, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the plurality of transport members further includes a first transport member and a second transport member provided with the connector, and the unit box of the third transport member is electrically connected to either a first terminal portion of the first transport member or a second terminal portion of the second transport member, neighboring to each other.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 10, Heinen teaches A method of constructing a battery transport system, comprising: a preparation operation of preparing a first wiring portion including a plurality of transport members configured to transport a transport object in a predetermined direction,(Figure 1: Control units 130-530 connecting the conveying zones 100-500)a second wiring portion including at least one local panel, (Figure 1: Power supply 31)and a third wiring portion including at least one wiring panel; (Figure 1: Main power distribution from where the power source 31 is plugged into)a wiring modularization operation of providing a connector on the plurality of transport members of the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion; (Figure 1: Power supply line 10 connected through all control units 130-630)and an installation operation of electrically connecting the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion to each other by the connector.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.") wherein at least one of the plurality of transport members is structured to be changeable in position through the connector.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.", wherein the position could be changed by mounting the conveying zone in a different area)
Regarding Claim 11, Heinen teaches the method of claim 10, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of transport members includes a frame portion including a body frame, a roller unit arranged on the body frame and transporting the transport object, a roller driving unit supplying power to and controlling the roller unit, and a terminal portion electrically connecting the roller driving unit and the connector to each other,(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.") and the wiring modularization operation includes electrically connecting the roller driving unit and the connector to each other through the terminal portion, and disposing the roller driving unit and the terminal portion inside the frame portion.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 12, Heinen teaches the method of claim 11, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein in the wiring modularization operation, the connector is mounted on ends of wires of the plurality of transport members, the local panel, and the wiring panel.(Page 8, lines 438-446: "The light barrier 120- 520 and the motor-driven conveying roller 110- 510 of each conveying zone are each connected to exactly one control unit 130- 530, which is assigned to the respective conveying zone. The light barrier 620 and 720 and the motor-driven conveying roller 610 and 710 of the conveying zones 600 and 700 are connected to exactly one common control unit 630 which is assigned to these two conveying zones. The control units 130-630 are connected to each other by means of a first line 10 serving as a power supply line and supplying each control unit with a 24-volt voltage. Both the sensor 120- 720 and the motor-driven conveyor roller 110- 710 are supplied from the control unit 130- 630 with the voltage originating from this supply line 10, wherein, if appropriate, a transformation of this voltage to a voltage required by the conveyor roller or the sensor could take place within the control unit.")
Regarding Claim 13, Heinen teaches the method of claim 10, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the installation operation includes arranging the plurality of transport members in a transport direction of the transport object, and connecting respective connectors provided on the plurality of transport members to each other in the predetermined direction.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.")
Regarding Claim 14, Heinen teaches the method of claim 13, as seen above. Heinen further discloses wherein the installation operation includes connecting the connector of at least one of the plurality of transport members and the connector of the local panel to each other, and connecting the connector of the local panel and the connector of the wiring panel to each other.(Figure 1: Main power distribution from where the power source 31 is plugged into, and Power supply line 10 connected through all control units 130-630)
Regarding Claim 15, Heinen teaches the method of claim 10, as seen above. Heinen further discloses further comprising transporting the first wiring portion, the second wiring portion, and the third wiring portion to a predetermined position, between the wiring modularization operation and the installation operation.(Page 9, lines 500-504: "Independently of this planning process on the facility computer, i.e. before, during or after this planning process, the conveying device can be physically set up. For this purpose, the corresponding conveying zones are mounted, arranged next to one another in the intended manner, the control units 130-630 of the respective conveying zones are mounted on a framework of the respective conveying zones and are wired to the respective light barrier sensor and the motor-driven conveying roller of the conveying zone.")
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651