DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is based on the 18/774942 application originally filed July 17, 2024.
Amended claims 1-20, filed October 30, 2025, are pending and have been fully considered. Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration due to being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,624,036. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the current application and U.S. Patent ‘036 are drawn a method of creating a natural charcoal briquette, the method comprising: collecting hardwood sawdust; removing non-wood impurities from the sawdust; drying the sawdust at a first temperature to reach a predetermined moisture level; compressing the dried sawdust in a shaped mold at a second temperature to form a charcoal briquette; carbonizing the charcoal briquette at a third temperature for a first time period; and cooling the charcoal briquette for a second time period prior to use or packaging.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,065,621. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the current application and U.S. Patent ‘036 are drawn a method of creating a natural charcoal briquette, the method comprising: collecting hardwood sawdust; removing non-wood impurities from the sawdust; drying the sawdust at a first temperature to reach a predetermined moisture level; compressing the dried sawdust in a shaped mold at a second temperature to form a charcoal briquette; carbonizing the charcoal briquette at a third temperature for a first time period; and cooling the charcoal briquette for a second time period prior to use or packaging.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metsarinta (EP 2714863 B1) in view of Han (KR 20180085159 A).
Regarding Claims 1-11
Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0012, a method for a continuous production of briquetted bio-coke.
Metsarinta discloses in the paragraph 0013, the method for continuous production of bio-coke to be used in metallurgical industry comprises:
- providing biomass raw material,
- removing mechanical impurities from the biomass raw material,
- pre-comminuting the biomass raw material,
- pre-drying the biomass raw material,
- comminuting the biomass raw material into a homogeneous particle-like form,
- drying the biomass comminuted into a particle-like form at a temperature of 100-200°C and the moisture content is typically 10 to 20% (see paragraph 0020), and
- carbonizing the biomass raw material at a temperature of 650°C to 1000°C to obtain bio-coke.
Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0050, wood coke is one type of bio-coke. The material used for producing bio-coke is typically biomass or vegetal materials. These include various nutshells, waste generated in wood processing such as sawing waste, sawdust or bark.
Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0054, the impurities are removed throughout the method, particularly mechanically and through carbonization. Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0064, the impurities and ash components of the biomass raw material, including calcium, silicon, magnesium, potassium, sodium, iron, phosphorus and sulphur, are concentrated in the finer bio-coke fraction. The ash rich finest fraction is removed from the cooled bio-coke as required by screening (12). This allows the ash content of the final product to be controlled. The bio-coke product may continue to briquetting.
Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0063, the hot bio-coke that is formed is cooled in a cooling reactor (11) by means of a cooling agent. In indirect cooling the cooling agent may be water or air and in direct cooling an inert gas.
Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0036, the cooled and purified bio-coke is ground, mixed with a binder and water, pressed into briquettes and dried.
It is to be noted, Metsarinta discloses in paragraph 0021, the biomass raw material is comminuted to processing fineness before it is carbonized. Typically, the size of the biomass raw material particles is 0.1 to 50 mm, more typically 5 to 20 mm. Metsarinta discloses the bio-coke may be formed into briquettes (see paragraph 0045) but fails to teach compressing/molding the material before carbonizing.
However, it is known in the art to dry wood material to reduce the moisture content, in order to further compress/mold the wood material that is then carbonized, as taught by Han. Han discloses in the abstract, a method for converting plant-based biomass, wherein biomass can be classified into woody biomass, carbohydrate biomass, starchy biomass, and herbaceous biomass, that is turned into fuel. The method comprises: (a) collecting and crushing plant-based biomass; (b) firstly compressing the plant-based biomass, which was crushed in step (a), until the moisture content becomes 40% or lower; (c) adding moisture and a moisturizing agent to the plant-based biomass from which a portion of moisture has been removed in step (b); (d) neutralizing the plant-based biomass containing moisture after step (c) by adding a counteractive agent to the plant-based biomass; (e) secondly compressing the plant-based biomass, which was neutralized in step (d), until the moisture content becomes 45% or lower; (f) drying the plant-based biomass from which a portion of moisture has been removed in step (e) until the moisture content becomes 20% or lower; and (g) performing semi-carbonization of the plant-based biomass, which was dried in step (f), by heating the herb-based biomass. It is to be noted, Han discloses the compressing of the biomass may occur before carbonization in order to control the moisture content (see pages 2 and 3 of Han).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to compress/mold or comminute the dried wood material before carbonization in order to control the moisture content of the wood material, as taught by both Han and Metsarinta.
It is to be noted, Metsarinta modified by Han disclose in the examples it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the reaction temperature and time of the process in order to achieve a desired moisture content and reduced impurity component of the briquette. The applicant is reminded that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued: “Applicant again respectfully points out that Metsarinta relates to "a method for the continuous production of bio-coke suitable for use in metallurgical industry" (see the Abstract in Metsarinta). It is respectfully submitted that coke is not the same thing as charcoal. Moreover, even if the beginning biomasses are similar, patentably distinct methods of production may be used to produce distinguishable end products, or even patentably distinct methods that result in the same or substantially similar end products. Applicant submits that the end product in the present invention is different from the end products in Metsarinta and Han.”
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. The present claims are directed to biomass that is processed into a charcoal briquette. The present disclosure states the charcoal briquette consist of biomass, such as sawdust, husks, shells, wood pulp or other natural, organic matter (see paragraph 0021 of the current specification). Therefore, it is maintained Metsarinta overlaps the claimed invention of biomass (sawdust) formed into a briquetted bio-coke.
Applicants argued: “Applicant agrees with the Examiner that Metsarinta fails to teach compressing/molding the material before carbonizing. The Examiner, in this statement appears to use the term "molding" as a verb. However, in claim 1, the claim language in claim 1 clearly references a shaped "mold" as a noun. Neither Metsarinta nor Han disclose this step nor disclose molds at all. Applicant respectfully points out that this paragraph does not disclose a "shaped mold" used to generate the briquette. Furthermore, the word "mold" appears nowhere in Metsarinta. Because there are other ways that a briquette could be generated other than a shaped mold, this shaped mold feature cannot be considered to be inherently disclosed by Metsarinta. Moreover, as noted by the Examiner, Metsarinta fails to disclose compressing the material into a shaped mold. Han also fails in this regard and Han does not make up for the deficiencies of Metsarinta. The word "mold" also appears nowhere in Han. Applicant respectfully notes that a screw press is vastly different than compressing into a shaped mold. A screw press in no way is considered to be a "shaped mold". The screw press often contains an opening for extracting or a means of being able to extract water or oil from the product that is being compressed and a shaped mold does not. Stated differently, a screw press is not a shaped mold.”
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. Applicants only claim the dried biomass is compressed and does NOT claim a particular structure or device to complete compression. Therefore, Metsarinta has met the claim limitation by teaching, particularly in paragraph 0036, pressing the bio-coke into briquettes.
Applicants argued: “Applicant notes that the claimed range in claim 2 has no overlap with the moisture range recited in Metsarinta.”
Applicants arguments are not deemed persuasive. As stated in the above rejection, Metsarinta and Han disclose drying the biomass to achieve a desired moisture content level. It is maintained, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to adjust the reaction temperature and time of drying biomass in order to achieve a desired moisture content and reduced impurity component of the briquette. It is to be noted, the teachings of Metsarinta and Han overlap the present teaching in the current specification of drying the biomass in order to reach the desired moisture content (see paragraphs 0021 and 0023 of the current specification).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2006-306925 A discloses in the abstract, to provide a formed charcoal for a fuel, equipped with an equivalent or a higher performance in calorific value and long lasting property than those of the charcoal produced by using natural woods such as oak or Japanese oak, especially a "bincho charcoal" called as a high grade charcoal and found to be useful in cooking or the bincho charcoal produced in China, and also the same having the calorific value, long lasting property, igniting performance and further radiation heat value.
KR 2009-0029502 A discloses in the abstract, the coal briquettes which have a main body part and the ignition part distinguished from this main body part, an air hole are formed, and the lower surface is curved are disclosed. The air hole is preferably an air hole that penetrates in a vertical direction consistent throughout the ignition portion and the body portion, and at least a portion of the air hole may be formed so that the inlet is in the concave portion of the lower surface curve.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Latosha Hines/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771