DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final office action on the merits in response to communications on 12/28/2025. Claims 15-17 are cancelled. Claims 1-14, 18 are pending and addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention 1 claims 1-14, 18, in the reply filed on 12/28/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to consider all claims in the single application. This is not found persuasive because there is burden because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification. CPC symbols A47L2201/04, G05D1/628 have different topics.
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter. Group I is concerned with when the three-dimension information meet certain condition, the cleaning robot performs an obstacle crossing action. Group II is concerned with when the depth information does not meet an obstacle crossing condition, performing an obstacle avoidance action to clean an edge of the step-type obstacle.
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries). Group I is concerned with when the three-dimension information meet certain condition, the cleaning robot performs an obstacle crossing action. Group II is concerned with when the depth information does not meet an obstacle crossing condition, performing an obstacle avoidance action to clean an edge of the step-type obstacle.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: acronyms and abbreviations are required to be spelled out at first use in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the depth information comprises vertical depth information of a projection of the second surface on a horizontal surface”. In light of present application’s specification at [0101]-[0106] and figs. 3-4 where depth information, it appears that the depth information is not a vertical depth. Therefore as the claims, the specification and the drawings are inconsistent in describing depth information, this claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-14 depend on this claim and suffer from the same issues.
Claim 12 recites “when the height information and/or the depth information do or does not meet”. As written, the meaning of this limitation is unclear.
For example, it is not known if this means:
when the height information and the depth information do meet, and the height information or the depth information does not meet;
or
when the height information and the depth information do not meet, and the height information or the depth information does not meet;
or
when the height information and the depth information do meet, and the depth information does not meet;
or
when the height information and the depth information do not meet, and the depth information does not meet;
All dependent claims of this/these claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of their dependency.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/20/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/3/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Non-English documents have been considered in as much as the drawings and translated portions provided therein (See MPEP 609).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (US 20230270309) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (US 11561102).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, YANG teaches:
A movement control method for a cleaning robot, wherein the cleaning robot is provided with a sensor system capable of obtaining three-dimensional information of an obstacle, and the method comprises:
in a movement process of the cleaning robot, collecting three-dimensional information of a step-type obstacle in a front area by using the sensor system, wherein the three- dimensional information comprises height information, depth information, width information, of the step-type obstacle, wherein
the step-type obstacle comprises a first surface and a second surface, the height information comprises height information of the first surface, the depth information comprises vertical depth information of a projection of the second surface on a horizontal surface, the width information comprises width information of the second surface; and
when the height information is less than or equal to a first threshold, the vertical depth information is greater than or equal to a second threshold, the width information is greater than or equal to a third threshold
obstacle is step-type obstacle;
the three-dimensional information includes dimensional information;
(at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10);
YANG does not explicitly teach:
dimensional information includes slope information;
the slope information includes angle information between the second surface and the horizontal surface
when the slope information is less than or equal to a fourth threshold
However, Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. teaches:
dimensional information includes slope information;
the slope information includes angle information between the second surface and the horizontal surface
when the slope information is less than or equal to a fourth threshold
(at least figs. 13A-14 col 31 line 55 to col 32 line 30) to identify features (col 31 line 55 to col 32 line 30);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of YANG with dimensional information includes slope information; the slope information includes angle information between the second surface and the horizontal surface
Regarding claim 2, YANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, the third threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times the maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree;
However, YANG in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, the third threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times the maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, the third threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times the maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, YANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree;
However, YANG in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the fourth threshold is 20 degree to 40 degree, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, YANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the third threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times the maximum diameter of the cleaning robot;
However, YANG in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, and the third threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times the maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, YANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, and the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot;
However, YANG in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. disclosed the claimed invention except for wherein the first threshold is 5 cm to 10 cm, and the second threshold is 1.1 times to 1.5 times a maximum diameter of the cleaning robot, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, the cited portions and rationale in rejection to claim 1 read on this claim.
In addition, YANG teaches:
wherein the three-dimensional information further comprises at least one of the following: width information of the step-type obstacle and slope information of the step-type obstacle, and
the step of performing an obstacle crossing action comprises:
when the height information, the depth information, and the width information meet the obstacle crossing condition, performing the obstacle crossing action; or
when the height information, the depth information, and the slope information meet the obstacle crossing condition, performing the obstacle crossing action; or
when the height information, the depth information, the width information, and the slope information meet the obstacle crossing condition, performing the obstacle crossing action (at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; discussed line laser; in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10);
Regarding claim 7, YANG teaches:
wherein the sensor system comprises at least one of the following: a monocular sensor, a binocular sensor, a line laser sensor, a surface laser sensor, an LDS sensor, and a Dtof sensor (at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; discussed line laser; in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10);
Regarding claim 9, YANG teaches:
wherein the step of performing an obstacle crossing action comprises:
starting an obstacle crossing component to perform the obstacle crossing action by using the obstacle crossing component; or
controlling the cleaning robot to accelerate to cross the step-type obstacle (at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10);
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG (US 20230270309) in view of Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (US 11561102) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakanishi (US 5815880).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, YANG teaches:
when the height information and/or the depth information do or does not meet the obstacle crossing condition, performing an obstacle avoidance action,
obstacle includes the step-type obstacle (at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; discussed in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10 discussed “)if the obstacle exists, and a height of the obstacle calculated by the processing unit exceeds a preset obstacle-crossing range, the control unit controls a sweeper to avoid the obstacle; if the obstacle does not exist, or the height of the obstacle calculated by the processing unit does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the control unit controls the sweeper to pass through the target area”);
YANG does not explicitly teach:
performing an obstacle avoidance action includes cleaning an edge of the obstacle;
However, Nakanishi teaches:
performing an obstacle avoidance action includes cleaning an edge of the obstacle;
(at least figs. 4a-4m col 5 line 55 to col 6 line 60) to continue cleaning (col 5 line 55 to col 6 line 60);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of YANG with performing an obstacle avoidance action includes cleaning an edge of the obstacle; as taught by Nakanishi to continue cleaning.
Regarding claim 14, YANG teaches:
obstacle includes the step-type obstacle (at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; discussed in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10 discussed “)if the obstacle exists, and a height of the obstacle calculated by the processing unit exceeds a preset obstacle-crossing range, the control unit controls a sweeper to avoid the obstacle; if the obstacle does not exist, or the height of the obstacle calculated by the processing unit does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the control unit controls the sweeper to pass through the target area”);
YANG does not explicitly teach:
wherein the step of performing an obstacle avoidance action comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to decelerate to move to the edge of the obstacle; and
adjusting a movement direction of the cleaning robot to clean the edge of the obstacle;
However, Nakanishi teaches:
wherein the step of performing an obstacle avoidance action comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to decelerate to move to the edge of the obstacle; and
adjusting a movement direction of the cleaning robot to clean the edge of the obstacle;
(at least figs. 4a-4m col 5 line 55 to col 6 line 60) to continue cleaning (col 5 line 55 to col 6 line 60);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing and at the time of the invention to modify the system and method of YANG with wherein the step of performing an obstacle avoidance action comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to decelerate to move to the edge of the obstacle; and adjusting a movement direction of the cleaning robot to clean the edge of the obstacle; as taught by Nakanishi to continue cleaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG (US 20230270309).
Regarding claim 18, YANG teaches:
A cleaning robot, comprising a body and a sensor system disposed on the body, wherein
the sensor system is configured to:
in a movement process of the cleaning robot, collect three-dimensional information of a step-type obstacle in a front area,
wherein the three- dimensional information comprises at least height information and depth information of the step-type obstacle; and
at least when the height information and the depth information meet an obstacle crossing condition, the cleaning robot performs an obstacle crossing action to cross the step-type obstacle, to clean the step-type obstacle;
(at least figs. 1-4 [0004]-[0127] claim 10 discussed sweeping robot detecting height, length, width, and determine if there is an obstacle based on obstacle-crossing range according to the height, the length and the width of the obstacle; discussed if the obstacle does not exist or the height of the obstacle does not exceed the preset obstacle-crossing range, the sweeper passes through the target area; in particular [0006]-[0037] [0069]-[0083] [0114]-[0121] claim 10);
Conclusion
BAO LONG T. NGUYEN
Examiner
Art Unit 3664
/BAO LONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656