DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,791. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented case contains all the limitations currently claimed since the current application broadens the claims and separates some features from prior independent claims into dependent form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,684,419 to Fortusini et al. in view of US 2021/0271037 to Brusberg et al.
Fortusini discloses in figures 11-12 and 23A-23B, an optical interconnect module comprising:
A coupler (1110) for interfacing to a photonic integrated chip (1120), the coupler comprising at least one guide pin (column 22, line 1);
Wherein the coupler further comprises a lens plate (1012) extending (sp) downwardly from a bottom surface of the coupler and is configured to connect optical fibers and the PIC.
As to claim 2, the coupler comprises waveguide structure (1111, 1211, 2311) that direct multiple rows of fiber signals into a single row of signals through waveguide coupling (figures 11-12, 23A-23b and abstract).
As to claim 3, latching components are disclosed (column 23, line 12).
As to claim 6, visual surface indicators are disclosed (“F”; figure 22B) or the structural notch (1260) in figure 12.
As to claim 7, no structure is recited as to how polarization is preserved. At the very minimum, no polarizers are disclosed in Fortusini’s coupler to suggest polarization is to be altered.
As to claim 8, multiple attachment points are disclosed from notches to adhesives to alignment pins.
As to claim 10, metal films are deposited (column 19, line 62).
As to claim 11, the coupler is glass (Summary; Specification).
As to claim 12, lenses are disclosed (1012).
As to claim 13, a chip side facet is disclosed (edge face 2314).
As to claim 14, waveguides are coupled to fibers.
As to claim 16, latching structure is disclosed (column 23, line 11).
Claims 17-21 are method claims that relate to providing the above structure.
However, Fortusini fails to explicitly disclose a detachable ferrule connector to the above coupling structure. It is noted that connectorizing or adding removable connectors is generally practiced in the optical communications art. Further, although not shown, it would be implied that the input end of Fortusini would be connected somehow to either a source or destination location. Fortusini at various points in the Specification discloses connectors and even MT connections with various additional alignment guides, pins and securing features (such as pins disclosed in column 21, line 59).
Brusberg discloses such a detachable ferrule connector to a waveguide coupler that couples to a PCB (figures 7C and 9A-9C).
As to claim 5, two guide pins are disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add the detachable connector taught by Brusberg to connect and couple light to the PCB of Fortusini to make the cable replaceable.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 15 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortusini in view of Brusberg as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2022/0082759 to Butler et al.
Fortusini in view of Brusberg discloses the interconnect as claimed except for certain well-known added features related to interconnects below. For each of these listed claims, Butler discloses the following:
As to claim 4, a tensioning member (980) is disclosed.
As to claim 15, a 250 micrometer pitch is disclosed (paragraph 5).
Claims 22-23 are method claims that recite steps of providing the above structure. Since the structure is present, the method of supplying these parts would also be anticipated.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine well known features taught by Butler in the interconnect of Fortusini in view of Brusberg to create a more secure connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0109298 (lenses 40).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874