DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/17/2024, 02/13/2026, and 04/17/2026 were considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application JP 2022-007948 was filed on 08/13/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2022/0002084), hereinafter “Chen”, in view of Jarvis et al. (US 2018/0127211), hereinafter “Jarvis”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a conveyance control apparatus (control apparatus 60) comprising: a communication interface communicating with an automated guided vehicles based on a first conveyance instruction, controlling case transfer units based on a second conveyance instruction (para. [0103]-[0105]; Fig. 1, control apparatus 60 communicating with first warehouse robot 10 and second warehouse robot 20 through a network) , and an external server transmitting an order including article identification information identifying articles (para. [0116]; Moreover, the processing terminal 60 may also receive external data and information, such as material fetching order information, position information, and a variety of corresponding relationship information);
a memory storing management information including article identification information identifying the articles and storage destination identification information identifying storage destinations of the articles (para. [0117]-[0119], [0211]; processing terminal 60 stores material identification information, position information of a shelf for storing a material, position information of a material box for storing a material, a corresponding relationship between shelves and material boxes, a corresponding relationship between shelves and materials, a corresponding relationship between material boxes and materials); and
a processor acquiring the order via the communication interface, outputting, if a storage destination of a first article corresponding to first article identification information included in the order is a predetermined movable rack corresponding to first storage destination identification information, the first conveyance instruction including the first storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined movable rack (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot), and
outputting, if a storage destination of a second article corresponding to second article identification information included in the order is a predetermined case corresponding to second storage destination identification information, the second conveyance instruction including the second storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined case, based on the order and the management information (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot).
Chen discloses a controller in communication with automated guided vehicles and case transfer units, but does not disclose an automated guided vehicle control apparatus and a case transfer unit control apparatus.
Jarvis discloses a conveyance control apparatus (132) comprising a communication interface communicating with an automated guided vehicle control apparatus (106) controlling automated guided vehicles (116) based on a first conveyance instruction, a case transfer unit control apparatus (106) controlling case transfer units (114) based on a second conveyance instruction (para. [0032]; Fig. 1, a conveyance control apparatus or server (REX) communicatively coupled to automated guided vehicle control apparatus (DS) 106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conveyance control apparatus of Chen and incorporate the teachings in Jarvis of implementing a vehicle control apparatus communicating with the conveyance control apparatus and the different types of conveyance vehicles, to provide a more efficient control architecture by separating the generation of task-list, and scheduling from the task of dispatching vehicles (para. [0033]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized the control functionality associated with each class of conveyance device could be implemented in dedicated subsystem controllers communicating with a higher-level controller. Such an implementation would have represented a known design alternative of achieving modularity, scalability, fault isolation and independent subsystem optimization.
Regarding claim 2, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses the processor acquires, via the communication interface, a first carry-out order requesting carrying out of the first article corresponding to the first article identification information and a second carry-out order requesting carrying out of the second article corresponding to the second article identification information, outputs a first carry-out instruction to carry out the predetermined movable rack from a predetermined position toward a picking station based on the first carry-out order and the management information, and outputs a second carry-out instruction to extract the predetermined case from a predetermined position and carry out the predetermined case toward the picking station based on the second carry-out order and the management information (para. [0134]-[0135]; Fig. 6), and
the communication interface transmits the first carry-out instruction to the automated guided vehicle control apparatus, and transmits the second carry-out instruction to the case transfer unit control apparatus (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses the processor acquires, via the communication interface, a first carry-in order requesting carrying in of the first article corresponding to the first article identification information and a second carry-in order requesting carrying in of the second article corresponding to the second article identification information, selects the predetermined movable rack as a carry-in destination and generates a first carry-in instruction to carry in the predetermined movable rack in which the first article is stored at the picking station from the picking station toward a predetermined storage rack based on the first carry-in order and the management information, and selects the predetermined case as a carry-in destination and generates a second carry-in instruction to carry in the predetermined case in which the second article is stored at the picking station from the picking station toward a predetermined storage rack based on the second carry-in order and the management information (para. [0134]-[0135]; Fig. 6), and
the communication interface transmits the first carry-in instruction to the automated guided vehicle control apparatus, and transmits the second carry-in instruction to the case transfer unit control apparatus (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses the management information includes article attribute information indicating at least one of a size, weight, and a frequency of appearance of the article, and the processor selects the carry-in destination of the article based on the article attribute information (para. [0103], [0170]-[0172]; article attribute information indicating, a popular commodity, large material, pendant material and ordinary commodity are used in selecting fetch and place robots and locations).
Regarding claim 5, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Chen further discloses the processor selects one of the predetermined movable rack arranged in a first storage region of a predetermined storage rack and the predetermined case arranged in a second storage region positioned above the first storage region, as the carry-in destination of the article, based on the article attribute information (para. [0183]; the type of shelf for storing the material to be fetched and placed may be determined according to material fetching and placing information. For example, the type of the shelf storing the material may be directly determined according to the SKU information).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses a warehouse management system comprising a movable rack conveyance apparatus, a case conveyance apparatus, and a conveyance control apparatus (para. [0103]; Fig. 1, warehousing system 100, movable rack conveyance apparatus 20, case conveyance apparatus 10, and control apparatus 60),
the movable rack conveyance apparatus including: an automated guided vehicle conveying a movable rack (para. [0103]; Fig. 5, movable rack conveyance apparatus 20); and
the case conveyance apparatus including: a case transfer unit conveying cases (para. [0130]; Fig. 4, case conveyance apparatus 10); and
the conveyance control apparatus (60) including:
a third communication interface communicating with the automated guided vehicle control apparatus, the case transfer unit control apparatus, and an external server transmitting an order including article identification information identifying articles (para. [0103]-[0105], [0116]; Fig. 1, control apparatus 60 communicating with first warehouse robot 10 and second warehouse robot 20 through a network. The processing terminal 60 may also receive external data and information, such as material fetching order information, position information, and a variety of corresponding relationship information);
a memory storing management information including article identification information identifying the articles and storage destination identification information identifying storage destinations of the articles (para. [0117]-[0119], [0211]; processing terminal 60 stores material identification information, position information of a shelf for storing a material, position information of a material box for storing a material, a corresponding relationship between shelves and material boxes, a corresponding relationship between shelves and materials, a corresponding relationship between material boxes and materials); and
a third processor acquiring the order via the third communication interface, outputting the first conveyance instruction if a storage destination of the first article corresponding to first article identification information included in the order is the predetermined movable rack corresponding to first storage destination identification information (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot), and
outputting the second conveyance instruction if a storage destination of the second article corresponding to second article identification information included in the order is the predetermined case corresponding to second storage destination identification information, based on the order and the management information (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot).
Chen discloses a control apparatus (60) that controls the automated guided vehicle and the case conveyance apparatus but does not disclose a separate an automated guided vehicle control apparatus controlling the automated guided vehicle,
the automated guided vehicle control apparatus including:
a first communication interface communicating with the automated guided vehicle and the conveyance control apparatus; and
a first processor acquiring a first conveyance instruction including first storage destination identification information corresponding to a predetermined movable rack storing a first article and to convey the predetermined movable rack, via the first communication interface, and controlling the automated guided vehicle to convey the predetermined movable rack based on the first conveyance instruction, or
a case transfer unit control apparatus controlling the case transfer unit, the case transfer unit control apparatus including:
a second communication interface communicating with the case transfer unit and the conveyance control apparatus; and
a second processor acquiring a second conveyance instruction including second storage destination identification information corresponding to a predetermined case storing a second article and to convey the predetermined case, via the second communication interface, and controlling the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case based on the second conveyance instruction,
Jarvis discloses a conveyance control apparatus (132) comprising a communication interface communicating with an automated guided vehicle control apparatus (106) controlling the automated guided vehicle (para. [0034]; Dispatch system 106 is an automated guided vehicle control apparatus),
the automated guided vehicle control apparatus (106) including: a first communication interface communicating with the automated guided vehicle and the conveyance control apparatus (para. [0039], [0174]; Fig. 9, automated guided vehicle control apparatus 106 has a communication unit 902 for communicating with automated guided vehicles 116 and REX server 132 and a processor 904); and
a first processor (904) acquiring a first conveyance instruction including first storage destination identification information corresponding to a predetermined movable rack storing a first article and to convey the predetermined movable rack, via the first communication interface, and controlling the automated guided vehicle to convey the predetermined movable rack based on the first conveyance instruction (para. [0060]-[0061]; automated guided vehicle control apparatus 106 receives picking schedule from REX and dispatches AGV 116), and
a case transfer unit control apparatus controlling the case transfer unit, the case transfer unit control apparatus including: a second communication interface communicating with the case transfer unit and the conveyance control apparatus (para. [0039], [0174]; Fig. 9, case transfer unit control apparatus 106 has a communication unit 902 for communicating with case transfer unit 114 and REX server 132 and a processor 904); and
a second processor (904) acquiring a second conveyance instruction including second storage destination identification information corresponding to a predetermined case storing a second article and to convey the predetermined case, via the second communication interface, and controlling the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case based on the second conveyance instruction (para. [0062]-[0063]; case transfer unit control apparatus 106 receives picking schedule from REX and dispatches AGV 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify conveyance control apparatus of Chen and incorporate the teachings in Jarvis of implementing a vehicle control apparatus communicating with the conveyance control apparatus and the different types of conveyance vehicles, to provide a more efficient control architecture by separating the generation of task-list, and scheduling from the task of dispatching vehicles (para. [0033]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized the control functionality associated with each class of conveyance device could be implemented in dedicated subsystem controllers communicating with a higher-level controller. Such an implementation would have represented a known design alternative of achieving modularity, scalability, fault isolation and independent subsystem optimization.
Regarding claim 7, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Chen further discloses the third processor acquires, via the third communication interface, a first carry-out order requesting carrying out of the first article corresponding to the first article identification information and a second carry-out order requesting carrying out of the second article corresponding to the second article identification information, outputs a first carry-out instruction to carry out the predetermined movable rack from a predetermined position toward a picking station based on the first carry-out order and the management information, and outputs a second carry-out instruction to extract the predetermined case from a predetermined position and carry out the predetermined case toward the picking station based on the second carry-out order and the management information (para. [0134]-[0135]; Fig. 6), and
the third communication interface transmits the first carry-out instruction to the automated guided vehicle control apparatus, and transmits the second carry-out instruction to the case transfer unit control apparatus (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Chen further discloses the third processor acquires, via the third communication interface, a first carry-in order requesting carrying in of the first article corresponding to the first article identification information and a second carry-in order requesting carrying in of the second article corresponding to the second article identification information, selects the predetermined movable rack as a carry-in destination and generates a first carry-in instruction to carry in the predetermined movable rack in which the first article is stored at the picking station from the picking station toward a predetermined storage rack based on the first carry-in order and the management information, and selects the predetermined case as a carry-in destination and generates a second carry-in instruction to carry in the predetermined case in which the second article is stored at the picking station from the picking station toward a predetermined storage rack based on the second carry-in order and the management information (para. [0134]-[0135]; Fig. 6), and
the third communication interface transmits the first carry-in instruction to the automated guided vehicle control apparatus, and transmits the second carry-in instruction to the case transfer unit control apparatus (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Chen further discloses the management information includes article attribute information indicating at least one of a size, weight, and a frequency of appearance of the article, and the third processor selects the carry-in destination of the article based on the article attribute information (para. [0103], [0170]-[0172]; article attribute information indicating, a popular commodity, large material, pendant material and ordinary commodity are used in selecting fetch and place robots and locations).
Regarding claim 10, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Chen further discloses the processor selects one of the predetermined movable rack arranged in a first storage region of a predetermined storage rack and the predetermined case arranged in a second storage region positioned above the first storage region, as the carry-in destination of the article, based on the article attribute information (para. [0183]; the type of shelf for storing the material to be fetched and placed may be determined according to material fetching and placing information. For example, the type of the shelf storing the material may be directly determined according to the SKU information).
Regarding claim 11, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Jarvis further discloses what Chen lacks, specifically a plurality of picking stations (para. [0041]; Fig. 3A, pick-cell stations 316a, 316b, 316c),
wherein each of the picking stations includes a first area accepting the movable rack conveyed by the automated guided vehicle (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A below, movable rack accepting area),
a second area accepting the case conveyed by the case transfer unit (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A below, case accepting area),
a third area for work of extracting the articles from the movable rack conveyed to the first area and work of extracting the articles from the case conveyed to the second area (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A below, work area), and
a fourth area in which assortment racks are arranged, and the assortment racks store assortments of the articles extracted from the movable rack and the articles extracted from the case (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A below, assortment rack),
the automated guided vehicle control apparatus controls the automated guided vehicle to convey the predetermined movable rack from the predetermined storage rack to the first area of a predetermined picking station based on the first conveyance instruction (para. [0041]; AGV 116 may transport the cart to a pick-cell station), and
the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case from the predetermined storage rack to the second area of a predetermined picking station based on the second conveyance instruction (para. [0042]; picking AGV 114a transport items from a high-density storage area 304 of the order fulfillment facility to a pick-cell station 316).
Examiner Annotated Figure 3A
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the warehouse management system of Chen in view of Jarvis, and further incorporate the teaching in Jarvis of implementing plurality of picking stations, wherein each of the picking stations includes a first area accepting the movable rack conveyed by the automated guided vehicle, a second area accepting the case conveyed by the case transfer unit, a third area for work of extracting the articles from the movable rack conveyed to the first area and work of extracting the articles from the case conveyed to the second area, and a fourth area in which assortment racks are arranged, and the assortment racks store assortments of the articles extracted from the movable rack and the articles extracted from the case, the automated guided vehicle control apparatus controls the automated guided vehicle to convey the predetermined movable rack from the predetermined storage rack to the first area of a predetermined picking station based on the first conveyance instruction, and the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case from the predetermined storage rack to the second area of a predetermined picking station based on the second conveyance instruction to facilitate simultaneous processing of multiple orders, and efficiently manage inventory arriving from different conveyance mechanisms without creating undue traffic congestion (Jarvis: para. [0116]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 12, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Jarvis further discloses what Chen lacks, specifically, each of the picking stations includes the third area arranged in a center thereof, and includes the first, the second, and the fourth areas arranged around the third area (see Fig. 3B),
the fourth areas of successive first and second picking stations are arranged in opposed positions (see second Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A below, assortment racks of adjacent picking stations arranged in opposed positions),
the third processor transmits, to the case transfer unit control apparatus, an inter-rack conveyance instruction to convey the predetermined case of a first assortment rack in the fourth area of the first picking station to a second assortment rack in the fourth area of the second picking station, and the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case of the first assortment rack to the second assortment rack based on the inter-rack conveyance instruction (para. [0084]; the REX 132 may instruct a picking AGV 114 to transfer a modular storage unit 702 between pick-cell stations 316a and 316b).
Second Examiner Annotated Figure 3A
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the warehouse management system of Chen in view of Jarvis, and further incorporate the teaching in Jarvis where each of the picking stations includes the third area arranged in a center thereof, and includes the first, the second, and the fourth areas arranged around the third area, the fourth areas of successive first and second picking stations are arranged in opposed positions, the third processor transmits, to the case transfer unit control apparatus, an inter-rack conveyance instruction to convey the predetermined case of a first assortment rack in the fourth area of the first picking station to a second assortment rack in the fourth area of the second picking station, and the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case of the first assortment rack to the second assortment rack based on the inter-rack conveyance instruction to facilitate simultaneous processing of multiple orders, and efficiently manage inventory arriving from different conveyance mechanisms without creating undue traffic congestion (Jarvis: para. [0116]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Jarvis further discloses what Chen lacks, specifically, a movable rack picking station including a first area accepting the movable rack conveyed by the automated guided vehicle (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, movable rack accepting area); and
a case picking station including a second area accepting the case conveyed by the case transfer unit (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, case accepting area),
wherein the movable rack picking station includes a third area for work of extracting the articles from the movable rack conveyed to the first area (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, work area), and
a fourth area in which assortment racks storing assortments of the articles extracted from the movable rack and the articles extracted from the case are arranged (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, assortment rack),
the case picking station includes a fifth area for work of extracting the articles from the case conveyed to the second area (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, work area), and
a sixth area in which assortment racks storing assortments of the articles extracted from the case are arranged (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, assortment rack),
the automated guided vehicle control apparatus controls the automated guided vehicle to convey the predetermined movable rack from the predetermined storage rack to the first area of the movable rack picking station, based on the first conveyance instruction (para. [0041]; AGV 116 may transport the cart to a pick-cell station), and
the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case from the predetermined storage rack to the second area of the case picking station, based on the second conveyance instruction (para. [0042]; picking AGV 114a transport items from a high-density storage area 304 of the order fulfillment facility to a pick-cell station 316).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the warehouse management system of Chen in view of Jarvis, and further incorporate the teaching in Jarvis where each pick station dedicated as a movable rack picking station and as a case picking station to improve workflow management and reduce traffic conflict. One of ordinary skill the art would have recognized that warehouse operators routinely balance throughput, congestion, and equipment utilization by allocating different material handling streams to common or dedicated workstations. Selecting dedicated stations for different conveyance device types would have been one of a finite number of predictable layout alternatives and would have yielded the expected benefit of reducing traffic conflict and improving workflow management.
Regarding claim 14, Chen in view of Jarvis discloses all the limitations of claim 13. Jarvis further discloses what Chen lacks, specifically the movable rack picking station includes the third area arranged in a center thereof, and includes the first and the fourth areas arranged around the third area (Fig. 3B),
the case picking station includes the fifth area arranged in a center thereof, and the second and the sixth areas arranged around the fifth area (para. [0041]; See Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, work area and assortment rack),
the fourth and the sixth areas area arranged in opposed positions (see second Examiner Annotated Fig. 3A above, assortment racks of adjacent picking stations arranged in opposed positions), and
the third processor transmits, to the case transfer unit control apparatus, an inter-rack conveyance instruction to convey the predetermined case of a first assortment rack in the sixth area of the case picking station to a second assortment rack in the fourth area of the movable rack picking station, and the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case of the first assortment rack to the second assortment rack based on the inter-rack conveyance instruction (para. [0084]; the REX 132 may instruct a picking AGV 114 to transfer a modular storage unit 702 between pick-cell stations 316a and 316b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the warehouse management system of Chen in view of Jarvis, and further incorporate the teaching in Jarvis where the movable rack picking station includes the third area arranged in a center thereof, and includes the first and the fourth areas arranged around the third area, the case picking station includes the fifth area arranged in a center thereof, and the second and the sixth areas arranged around the fifth area, the fourth and the sixth areas area arranged in opposed positions, and the third processor transmits, to the case transfer unit control apparatus, an inter-rack conveyance instruction to convey the predetermined case of a first assortment rack in the sixth area of the case picking station to a second assortment rack in the fourth area of the movable rack picking station, and the case transfer unit control apparatus controls the case transfer unit to convey the predetermined case of the first assortment rack to the second assortment rack based on the inter-rack conveyance instruction to facilitate simultaneous processing of multiple orders, and efficiently manage inventory arriving from each conveyance mechanisms without creating undue traffic congestion (Jarvis: para. [0116]-[0122]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0002084), hereinafter “Chen”.
Regarding claim 15. Chen discloses a conveyance control method comprising: acquiring an order including article identification information identifying articles, and acquiring management information including article identification information identifying the articles and storage destination identification information identifying storage destinations of the articles (para. [0116]-[0119], [0126], processing terminal 60 may also receive external data and information, such as material fetching order information, position information, and a variety of corresponding relationship information);
outputting, if a storage destination of a first article corresponding to first article identification information included in the order is a predetermined movable rack corresponding to first storage destination identification information, a first conveyance instruction including the first storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined movable rack (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot), and
outputting, if a storage destination of a second article corresponding to second article identification information included in the order is a predetermined case corresponding to second storage destination identification information, a second conveyance instruction including the second storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined case, based on the order and the management information (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot); and
transmitting the first conveyance instruction to an automated guided vehicle control apparatus controlling an automated guided vehicle conveying the movable rack (para. [0136]; Fig. 6), and
transmitting the second conveyance instruction to a case transfer unit control apparatus controlling a case transfer unit conveying the case (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to cause a computer to execute (para. [0213]):
acquiring an order including article identification information identifying articles, and acquiring management information including article identification information identifying the articles and storage destination identification information identifying storage destinations of the articles (para. [0116]-[0119], [0126], processing terminal 60 may also receive external data and information, such as material fetching order information, position information, and a variety of corresponding relationship information);
outputting, if a storage destination of a first article corresponding to first article identification information included in the order is a predetermined movable rack corresponding to first storage destination identification information, a first conveyance instruction including the first storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined movable rack (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot), and
outputting, if a storage destination of a second article corresponding to second article identification information included in the order is a predetermined case corresponding to second storage destination identification information, a second conveyance instruction including the second storage destination identification information and to convey the predetermined case, based on the order and the management information (para. [0125]-[0129]; Fig. 7a; After receiving a material order, the processing terminal 60 queries the material box corresponding to the SKU information, queries the shelf according to the material box, and assigns a task according to the type of shelf; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the first warehousing robot, assigns the task to the first warehousing robot; if the type of the shelf corresponds to the second warehousing robot, assigns the task to the second warehousing robot);
and transmitting the first conveyance instruction to an automated guided vehicle control apparatus controlling an automated guided vehicle conveying the movable rack (para. [0136]; Fig. 6), and
transmitting the second conveyance instruction to a case transfer unit control apparatus controlling a case transfer unit conveying the case (para. [0136]; Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NAKANO (US 20180265297) discloses an article conveyance system with a controller including tray carriers and movable shelf carriers. The controller is in communication with a warehouse management system that manages data concerning articles including article identification and storage location information. The controller receives order data from WMS and gives instruction for loading and conveyance of tray carriers and movable shelf carries. The controller includes a carrier-type selection section that selects carries according to a type of shelf set as a picking target (para. [0267]-[0278]; Figs. 24-27).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655