DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 09/03/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-9 and 14 are amended.
Claims 10-13 are canceled.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1-9 and 14 are pending for examination.
Application Argument
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 1-3), filed on 09/03/2026, with respect to claims 1-9 and 14 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20260089541 A1), hereinafter “Hu”, in view of Martin et al. (US 20260040169 A1), hereinafter “Martin”, in view of Goyal et al. (US 20250113265 A1), hereinafter “Goyal”.
Per claim 1 and 14:
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches ‘A terminal’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “UE”); ‘comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a controller’ (Hu: [0010]: “The terminal includes: a processor, a memory, and a transceiver”; [FIG.14]); ‘coupled to the transceiver and the memory’ (this is implied), ‘wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to’ (Hu: [0010]: “wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs, and the processor, when running the one or more computer programs, causes the terminal to perform”);
‘receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: step 2: “gNB -> “UE”: “RRC reconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration), including configuration of one or more candidate PCells and their associated SCell group”);
‘wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises: a layer 1 measurement report configuration’ (Hu: [0115]: “The RRC reconfiguration message is used to configure LTM candidate configuration information for the terminal, so as to instruct the terminal to perform subsequent L1 measurements”; [0118]-0119]: “the LTM candidate cell configuration includes at least one of: a measurement configuration for the candidate primary cell”; include configuration for L1 measurement report);
‘one or more inner RRC reconfiguration messages’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “RRC reconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration)”);
‘transmit a layer 1 measurement report based on the layer 1 measurement report configuration’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 5: “UE” -> ”gNB”: “L1 measurement report”; [0161]: “The L1 measurement shall be performed in accordance with the configuration requirements specified in the RRC reconfiguration”);
‘receive a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the first MAC CE comprises information on one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 6: “gNB” -> “UE”: Cell switch command (MAC CE)”; [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA, and candidate index. The candidate index refers to the configuration related to a specific candidate cell in the LTM candidate configuration in S2 (i.e., the candidate configuration index of the target cell)”). However, Hu fails to expressly teach receive a different MAC CE before receiving MAC CE for cell switch command;
‘determine a specific cell for which the one or more TCI states are to be activated’ (Hu: [FIG.7]: “Detach from source, apply target configuration”; [0163]: “The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect”, determine the target cell and apply target configuration). However, Hu fails to expressly teach ‘the one or more TCI states are to be activated’.
Martin in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE for cell activation (Martin: [FIG.6]: “NW”-> “WTRU”: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command”) and MAC CE indicates TCI state associated with the target cell for UE to activate (Martin: [0111]: “The MAC CE 800 may provide an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states associated with the target cell to perform measurements (e.g., inter-cell beam management, uplink synchronization, and/or other procedures)”; [Claim 41]: “wherein the MAC CE comprises a target configuration identifier (ID), and an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … activate the one or more TCI states associated with the target SpCell”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching with that of Hu for UE to determine a specific cell for which the one or more TCI states are to be activated in order to support reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to a non-serving PCI (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI”).
Combination of Hu and Martin does not expressly teach receiving a different MAC CE before receiving MAC CE for cell switch command.
Goyal in the same field of endeavor teaches UE receiving MAC CE for early TCI state activation before receiving MAC CE for cell switch command (Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2040: “gNB (Cell A)”-> “UE”: “Early TCI state activation MAC CE (indicating TCI state(s) of Cell B”; S2060: “TCI State (e.g. in cell switch command indicating Cell B as target cell)”; [0052]: “The early TCI state activation may indicate TCI state(s) of one or multiple cells to be included in the TCI state activation procedure”; [0053]: “the cell switch command can be, for example, the LTM cell switch MAC-CE”; [0029]: “In layer 1/layer 2 trigger mobility (LTM), early candidate cell transmission configuration indication (TCI) state activation (e.g., candidate TCI activation medium access control element (MAC-CE) before the cell switch may be sent to the UE) is supported to prepare the UE for LTM cell switching and enable a shorter interruption at cell switch”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Goyal’s teaching with that of combination of Hu and Martin in order to shorten interruption at cell switch (see reference quotes in element above).
Combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches ‘wherein the specific cell is determined based on a specific first identifier’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”; [0111]: “The target SpCell may be indicated prior to activating a cell change”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2040: “gNB(Cell A)” -> “UE”: “Early TCI state activation MAC CE (indicating TCI state(s) of Cell B)”);
‘is a special cell of a specific inner RRC reconfiguration message, of the one or more inner RRC reconfiguration messages, that is associated with the specific first identifier’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “RRC reconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration)”; [0006]: “the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [0093]: “The candidate index refers to the configuration related to a specific candidate cell in the LTM candidate configuration”. Martin: [FIG..6]: step 608: “MAC CE”: primary “PCell = 2” -> “apply SpCellConfig 2”, step 604: “RRC reconfiguration”: “candidateIndex 2 -SpCellConfig”, target candidate cell. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2020: “RRC Reconfiguration (including a list of TCI states of Cell B”; [0050]: “the gNB 200A (to which Cell A belongs) may provide a list of TCI states of Cell B to the UE 100 within the RRC Reconfiguration message”, target cell B);
‘the specific first identifier being determined based on a specific field of the first MAC CE’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”; [0111]: “The MAC CE 800 may include … The target SpCell may be indicated prior to activating a cell change”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2040: “gNB(Cell A)” -> “UE”: “Early TCI state activation MAC CE (indicating TCI state(s) of Cell B)”; [0052]: “an early TCI state activation MAC-CE to the UE to initiate an early TCI state activation procedure with Cell B”);
‘activate the one or more TCI states for the specific cell’ (Martin: [FIG.6]: step 608: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: step 2050: “UE activates the TCI state(s) of Cell B”).
‘receive a third MAC CE, wherein the third MAC CE comprises: a timing advance command field; and a TCI state identity field’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 6: “gNB” -> “UE”: Cell switch command (MAC CE)”; [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA”, TA (timing advance). Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2060: “TCI State (e.g. in cell switch command indicating Cell B as target cell)”; [0054]: “the gNB 200A may provide the TA value calculated by the gNB 200B during the TA acquisition procedure (e.g., in LTM cell switch command MAC-CE which initiate cell switch procedure to Cell B)”);
‘perform a lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell switch based on the third MAC CE’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “Detach from source, Apply target configuration”, step 7: “RACH Procedure”, step 8: “LTM completion”);
‘activate a TCI state indicated by the TCI state identity field of the third MAC CE for an LTM target cell’ (Martin: [FIG.6]: step 608: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command” : “PCell 2” -> “apply SpCellConfig 2”; [Claim 41]: “wherein the MAC CE comprises a target configuration identifier (ID), and an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … activate the one or more TCI states associated with the target SpCell”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2060: “TCI State (e.g. in cell switch command indicating Cell B as target cell)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching of MAC CE with TCI state associated with the target cell and Goyal’s teaching of MAC CE for Early TCI state activation in order to support reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to a non-serving PCI (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI”) and shorten interruption at cell switch (Goyal: [0029]: “enable a shorter interruption at cell switch”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the terminal of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘the specific inner RRC reconfiguration message comprises: a special cell configuration; and one or more secondary cell configurations’ (Hu: [0094]: “CellgroupConfig contains spCellConfig, sCellToAddModList, and sCellToReleaseList, which are used to configure the PCell and SCell respectively”; [0095]: “the candidate PCell and the candidate SCell are associated in advance either via a pre-configuration (S2 in FIG. 2 above)”; [FIG.3]: S2: “RRC reconconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration)”).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘wherein the specific cell is indicated by the special cell configuration of the specific inner RRC reconfiguration message’ (Hu: [0005]: “the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [FIG.7]: “spCellConfig”; [0177]: “The UE is handed over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect, which at least includes SPCellConfig”).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘receiving, by the terminal, a second MAC CE, wherein the second MAC CE comprises information on one or more TCI states’ (Martin: [FIG.6]: step 608: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command”; [0111]: “the MAC CE 800 may indicate a TCI state for one or more cells in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration”);
‘determining, by the terminal, a second specific cell for which the one or more TCI states of the second MAC CE are to be activated’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”; [FIG.6]: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command”: “PCell = 2” -> “apply SpCellConfig 2”, activate primary cell 2);
‘wherein: the second specific cell is determined based on a second identifier’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”);
‘the second identifier is associated with a serving cell’ (Martin: [0004]: “The MAC CE may indicate a first SpCell (e.g., a current SpCell)”, current serving cell);
‘the second identifier is determined based on a second specific field of the second MAC CE’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: field:“SpCell Index” (another different field: “Target SpCell Index”));
‘activating the one or more TCI states of the second MAC CE for the second specific cell’ (Martin: [FIG.6]: “MAC CE Cell Activation Command”: “PCell = 2” -> “apply SpCellConfig 2”; [0108]: “a change of SpCell, and SCell(s) simultaneously using configurations provided in advance using RRC signalling and activated using a MAC CE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching of current SpCell index in MAC CE with that of Hu in order to include a current serving cell index in cell change command (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘wherein each of the one or more inner RRC reconfiguration messages is associated with a first identifier’ (Hu: [0005]: “wherein the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [0157]: “the gNB transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, which includes at least one or more LTM candidate cell configurations (and may be associated with different indexes)”; [FIG.7]: “spCellConfig” : “serverCellIndex”).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 5 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but combination of Martin and Goyal teaches ‘the specific field, wherein the specific field comprises information on the first identifier’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”; [Claim 41]: “wherein the MAC CE comprises a target configuration identifier (ID), and an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … activate the one or more TCI states associated with the target SpCell”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2040: “gNB (Cell A)”-> “UE”: “Early TCI state activation MAC CE (indicating TCI state(s) of Cell B”);
‘one or more TCI state identity fields, wherein each of the one or more TCI state identity fields comprises a TCI state identity to be activated’ (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI. MAC signaling (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for WTRU-specific PDSCH) may activate a subset of (e.g., up to) 8 TCI states for PDSCH reception”; [0111]: “the MAC CE 800 may indicate a TCI state for one or more cells in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration”; [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”. Goyal: [FIG.2]: S2040: “gNB(Cell A)” -> “UE”: “Early TCI state activation MAC CE (indicating TCI state(s) of Cell B)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching of MAC CE with TCI state associated with the target cell and Goyal’s teaching of MAC CE for Early TCI state activation in order to support reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to a non-serving PCI (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI”) and shorten interruption at cell switch (Goyal: [0029]: “enable a shorter interruption at cell switch”).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 4 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘wherein the second MAC CE comprises: the second specific field, wherein the second specific field comprises information on the second identifier’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”);
‘one or more TCI state identity fields, wherein each of the one or more TCI state identity fields comprises a TCI state identity to be activated’ (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI. MAC signaling (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for WTRU-specific PDSCH) may activate a subset of (e.g., up to) 8 TCI states for PDSCH reception”; [0111]: “the MAC CE 800 may indicate a TCI state for one or more cells in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration”; [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teach with that of Hu in order to activate a TCI state for cell in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration (see reference quotes in element above).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20240334528 A1), hereinafter “Matsumura”.
Regarding claim 7, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 6 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘each of the one or more TCI state identity field is associated with a first field’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”);
‘the first field indicates that TCI state identity in an associated TCI state identity field is for: a downlink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a first value’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for downlink);
‘an uplink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a second value’ (Martin: [Claim 46]: “the MAC CE further comprises an uplink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the uplink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more uplink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches with that of Hu in order to indicate downlink and uplink TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Although Martin’s teaching of TCI state ID for downlink and uplink would implicitly teach the direction of TCI state, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal does not expressly teach MAC CE include a field to indicate downlink or uplink.
Nevertheless, Matsumura in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE includes a field to indicate whether the TCI state is for uplink or downlink (Matsumura: [FIG.2]: “U”; [0232]: “The third MAC CE described in FIG. 12 includes a field (described as “U”) for indicating a UL TCI state or a DL TCI state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Matsumura’s teaching with that of combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal in order to indicate the DL or UL direction of TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘each of the one or more TCI state identity field is associated with a first field’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”);
‘the first field indicates TCI state identity in an associated TCI state identity field is for: a downlink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a first value’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for downlink);
‘an uplink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a second value’ (Martin: [Claim 46]: “the MAC CE further comprises an uplink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the uplink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more uplink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches with that of Hu in order to indicate downlink and uplink TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Although Martin’s teaching of TCI state ID for downlink and uplink would implicitly teach the direction of TCI state, combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal does not expressly teach MAC CE include a field to indicate downlink or uplink.
Nevertheless, Matsumura in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE includes a field to indicate whether the TCI state is for uplink or downlink (Matsumura: [FIG.2]: “U”; [0232]: “The third MAC CE described in FIG. 12 includes a field (described as “U”) for indicating a UL TCI state or a DL TCI state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Matsumura’s teaching with that of combination of Hu, Martin and Goyal in order to indicate the DL or UL direction of TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462