DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20260089541 A1), hereinafter “Hu”, in view of Martin et al. (US 20260040169 A1), hereinafter “Martin”.
Per claim 1 and 14:
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches ‘A terminal’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “UE”); ‘comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a controller’ (Hu: [0010]: “The terminal includes: a processor, a memory, and a transceiver”; [FIG.14]); ‘coupled to the transceiver and the memory’ (this is implied), ‘wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to’ (Hu: [0010]: “wherein the memory stores one or more computer programs, and the processor, when running the one or more computer programs, causes the terminal to perform”);
‘receive a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: step 2: “gNB -> “UE”: “RRC reconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration), including configuration of one or more candidate PCells and their associated SCell group”);
‘wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises: a layer 1 measurement report configuration’ (Hu: [0115]: “The RRC reconfiguration message is used to configure LTM candidate configuration information for the terminal, so as to instruct the terminal to perform subsequent L1 measurements”; [0118]-0119]: “the LTM candidate cell configuration includes at least one of: a measurement configuration for the candidate primary cell”; include configuration for L1 measurement report);
‘one or more inner RRC reconfiguration messages’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “RRC reconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration)”);
‘transmit a layer 1 measurement report based on the layer 1 measurement report configuration’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 5: “UE” -> ”gNB”: “L1 measurement report”; [0161]: “The L1 measurement shall be performed in accordance with the configuration requirements specified in the RRC reconfiguration”);
‘receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 6: “gNB” -> “UE”: Cell switch command (MAC CE)”);
‘wherein the MAC CE comprises information on one or more transmission configuration indication (TCI) states’ (Hu: [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA, and candidate index. The candidate index refers to the configuration related to a specific candidate cell in the LTM candidate configuration in S2 (i.e., the candidate configuration index of the target cell)”);
‘determine a specific cell to apply the one or more TCI states; apply the one or more TCI states for the specific cell’ (Hu: [FIG.7]: “Detach from source, apply target configuration”; [0163]: “The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect”, determine the target cell and apply target configuration). However, Hu fails to expressly teach apply the one or more TCI states for the target cell.
Martin in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE indicates TCI state associated with the target cell for UE to apply (Martin: [0111]: “The MAC CE 800 may provide an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states associated with the target cell to perform measurements (e.g., inter-cell beam management, uplink synchronization, and/or other procedures)”; [Claim 41]: “wherein the MAC CE comprises a target configuration identifier (ID), and an indication of one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states … activate the one or more TCI states associated with the target SpCell”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching with that of Hu for UE to determine a specific cell to apply the one or more TCI states and apply the one or more TCI states for the specific cell in order to support reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to a non-serving PCI (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI”).
Combination of Hu and Martin teaches ‘wherein, in case that the MAC CE is a first MAC CE: the specific cell is determined based on a specific first identifier’ (Hu: [0163]: “a MAC CE for cell handover (which at least includes the candidate configuration index of the target cell). The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect, which at least includes SPCellConfig and Scell to add Mod list”. Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”; [0111]: “The target SpCell may be indicated prior to activating a cell change”);
‘the specific first identifier is associated with a specific inner RRC reconfiguration message’ (Hu: [0006]: “the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [0064]: “the gNB changes the serving cell of the UE by a cell switch command signaled via the MAC CE. The cell switch command indicates an LTM candidate cell configuration that the gNB previously prepared and provided to the UE via the RRC signaling. Then the UE switches to the target cell according to the cell switch command”);
‘the specific first identifier is determined based on a specific field of the first MAC CE’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching of target SpCell index in MAC CE with that of Hu in order to specify a target cell in cell change command (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the terminal of claim 14 (see rejection of claim 14 above).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘the specific inner RRC reconfiguration message comprises: a special cell configuration; and one or more secondary cell configurations’ (Hu: [0094]: “CellgroupConfig contains spCellConfig, sCellToAddModList, and sCellToReleaseList, which are used to configure the PCell and SCell respectively”; [0095]: “the candidate PCell and the candidate SCell are associated in advance either via a pre-configuration (S2 in FIG. 2 above)”; [FIG.3]: S2: “RRC reconconfiguration (LTM candidate configuration)”).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 2 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘wherein the specific cell is indicated by the special cell configuration of the specific inner RRC reconfiguration message’ (Hu: [0005]: “the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [FIG.7]: “spCellConfig”; [0177]: “The UE is handed over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect, which at least includes SPCellConfig”).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, Martin teaches ‘wherein in case that the MAC CE is a second MAC CE: the specific cell is determined based on a second identifier’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”);
‘the second identifier is associated with a serving cell’ (Martin: [0004]: “The MAC CE may indicate a first SpCell (e.g., a current SpCell)”, current serving cell);
‘the second identifier is determined based on a second specific field of the second MAC CE’ (Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaching of current SpCell index in MAC CE with that of Hu in order to include a current serving cell index in cell change command (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘wherein each of the one or more inner RRC reconfiguration message is associated with a first identifier’ (Hu: [0005]: “wherein the LTM candidate configuration information is used to indicate a configuration of a candidate primary cell”; [0157]: “the gNB transmits an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, which includes at least one or more LTM candidate cell configurations (and may be associated with different indexes)”; [FIG.7]: “spCellConfig” : “serverCellIndex”).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 5 (discussed above).
Combination of Hu and Martin teaches ‘the specific field, wherein the specific field comprises information on the first identifier’ (Hu: ]0064]: “the gNB changes the serving cell of the UE by a cell switch command signaled via the MAC CE. The cell switch command indicates an LTM candidate cell configuration that the gNB previously prepared and provided to the UE via the RRC signaling”; [0078]: “Cell switch command is conveyed in the MAC CE, which contains the necessary information to perform the LTM cell switch”; [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA, and candidate index”. Martin: [FIG.8]: “Target SpCell Index”);
‘one or more TCI state identity fields, wherein each of the one or more TCI state identity fields comprises TCI state identity to be activated’ (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI. MAC signaling (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for WTRU-specific PDSCH) may activate a subset of (e.g., up to) 8 TCI states for PDSCH reception”; [0111]: “the MAC CE 800 may indicate a TCI state for one or more cells in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration”; [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teach of MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI with that of Hu in order to support reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 4 (discussed above).
Combination of Hu and Martin teaches ‘wherein the second MAC CE comprises: the second specific field, wherein the second specific field comprises information on the second identifier’ (Hu: [0064]: “the gNB changes the serving cell of the UE by a cell switch command signaled via the MAC CE. The cell switch command indicates an LTM candidate cell configuration that the gNB previously prepared and provided to the UE via the RRC signaling”; [0078]: “Cell switch command is conveyed in the MAC CE, which contains the necessary information to perform the LTM cell switch”; [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA, and candidate index”. Martin: [FIG.8]: “SpCell Index”);
‘one or more TCI state identity fields, wherein each of the one or more TCI state identity fields comprises TCI state identity to be activated’ (Martin: [0002]: “Medium access control (MAC) signaling (e.g., TCI state indication for WTRU-specific PDCCH medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)) may activate the TCI state for a Coreset/PDCCH. Reception of PDCCH from a non-serving cell may be supported by MAC CE indicating a TCI state associated to non-serving PCI. MAC signaling (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for WTRU-specific PDSCH) may activate a subset of (e.g., up to) 8 TCI states for PDSCH reception”; [0111]: “the MAC CE 800 may indicate a TCI state for one or more cells in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration”; [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teach of MAC CE indicating a TCI state with that of Hu in order to activate a TCI state for cell in a preconfigured candidate cell configuration (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of Hu and Martin teaches ‘receiving by the terminal a third MAC CE’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: Step 6: “gNB” -> “UE”: Cell switch command (MAC CE)”);
‘wherein the third MAC CE comprises: a timing advance command field’ (Hu: [0093]: “the MAC CE in S6 may include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, TA, and candidate index”);
‘a TCI state identity field’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches of TCI state ID with that of Hu in order to indicate an activation of a TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 10 (discussed above).
Hu teaches ‘wherein the terminal performs lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) cell switch based on the third MAC CE’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “Detach from source. Apply target configuration”, “LTM completion”; [0163]: “The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect”).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 10 (discussed above).
Combination of Hu and Martin teaches ‘wherein TCI state indicated by the TCI state identity field is applied to LTM target cell’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “LTM completion”; [0163]: “The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect”. Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches of TCI state ID with that of Hu in order to indicate an activation of a TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 10 (discussed above).
Combination of Hu and Martin ‘a special cell of LTM candidate configuration in case that the TCI state identity field is comprised in the first MAC CE’ (this is conditional and so optional. See 2111.04 II. CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS [The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met]);
‘the LTM target cell in case that the TCI state identity field is comprised in the third MAC CE’ (Hu: [FIG.6]: “Detach from source. Apply target configuration”, “LTM completion”; [0163]: “The UE hands over to the target cell, and the configuration associated with the candidate configuration index takes effect”. Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches of TCI state ID with that of Hu in order to indicate an activation of a TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination of Hu and Martin, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20240334528 A1), hereinafter “Matsumura”.
Regarding claim 7, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 6 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘each of the one or more TCI state identity field is associated with a first field’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”);
‘the first field indicates that TCI state identity in associated TCI state identity field is for: downlink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a first value’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for downlink);
‘uplink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a second value’ (Martin: [Claim 46]: “the MAC CE further comprises an uplink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the uplink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more uplink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches with that of Hu in order to indicate downlink and uplink TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Although Martin’s teaching of TCI state ID for downlink and uplink would implicitly teach the direction of TCI state, combination of Martin and Hu does not expressly teach MAC CE include a field to indicate downlink or uplink.
Nevertheless, Matsumura in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE includes a field to indicate whether the TCI state is for uplink or downlink (Matsumura: [FIG.2]: “U”; [0232]: “The third MAC CE described in FIG. 12 includes a field (described as “U”) for indicating a UL TCI state or a DL TCI state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Matsumura’s teaching with that of combination of Hu and Martin in order to indicate the DL or UL direction of TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Hu and Martin teaches the method of claim 8 (discussed above).
Hu does not expressly teach, but Martin teaches ‘each of the one or more TCI state identity field is associated with a first field’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “TCI state ID”);
‘the first field indicates TCI state identity in associated TCI state identity field is for: downlink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a first value’ (Martin: [Claim 45]: “the MAC CE further comprises a downlink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the downlink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more downlink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for downlink);
‘uplink TCI state in case that the first field indicates a second value’ (Martin: [Claim 46]: “the MAC CE further comprises an uplink TCI state ID associated with each of the one or more TCI states, wherein the uplink TCI state ID indicates an activation of one or more uplink TCI states associated with the target SpCell”, TCI state ID for uplink).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Martin’s teaches with that of Hu in order to indicate downlink and uplink TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Although Martin’s teaching of TCI state ID for downlink and uplink would implicitly teach the direction of TCI state, combination of Martin and Hu does not expressly teach MAC CE include a field to indicate downlink or uplink.
Nevertheless, Matsumura in the same field of endeavor teaches MAC CE includes a field to indicate whether the TCI state is for uplink or downlink (Matsumura: [FIG.2]: “U”; [0232]: “The third MAC CE described in FIG. 12 includes a field (described as “U”) for indicating a UL TCI state or a DL TCI state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Matsumura’s teaching with that of combination of Hu and Martin in order to indicate the DL or UL direction of TCI state in MAC CE (see reference quotes in element above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250031105 A1 see [FIG.5]-[FIG.8], [0006]-[0018], [0195]-[0198];
US 20250031109 A1 see [FIG.4]-[FIG.8], [0011]-[0015], [0130]-[-173];
US 20250071648 A1 see [FIG.8], [0099]-[0131];
US 20240284284 A1 see [FIG.5]-[FIG.10], [0107]-[0112].
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462