DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kannou et al. (US 2008/0230115 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kannou discloses a method for preparing a photovoltaic assembly (solar cell module 100, figures 1-2, [0023-0032]), comprising:
preparing a plurality of cell chips (solar cell 101, figures 1-2, [0023] and [0025]);
forming a cell string (formed by solar cells 101), comprising connecting the plurality of cell chips (101) by an electrical connector (wiring member 102) to form the cell string (fig. 1 and [0023-0024]); and
irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light (YAG laser, [0046]), comprising irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]), which is within the claimed range of 200 nm to 500 nm.
Regarding claim 2, Kannou further discloses that before said forming the cell string, irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]), which is within the claimed range of 200 nm to 500 nm (the groove 8 is formed to finish formation of the solar cell 101 before forming the cell string, [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Kannou further discloses that said irradiating the plurality of cell chips with light further comprises: after said forming the cell string, irradiating the cell string with light having a wavelength in the range of 200 nm to 500 nm (the solar module 100 is naturally exposed to sunlight after formation of the solar cell string, which comprises a wavelength in the range of 200 nm to 500 nm).
Regarding claim 4, Kannou further discloses that after said forming the cell string, irradiating the cell string with light having a wavelength in a range of 200 nm to 500 nm (the solar module 100 is naturally exposed to sunlight after formation of the solar cell string, which comprises a wavelength in the range of 200 nm to 500 nm).
Regarding claim 5, Kannou further discloses that said irradiating the plurality of cell chips with light comprises: irradiating the plurality of the cell chips or the cell string using UV light (YAG laser with wavelength of 400, which corresponds to UV light, [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Kannou further discloses that said irradiating the plurality of cell chips with light comprises: irradiating the plurality of cell chips or the cell string using a UV light combination (each cell 101 has groove 8 that is formed by YAG laser with wavelength of 400, which corresponds to UV light, [0046]).
Alternatively, the solar module 100 is naturally exposed to sunlight after formation of the solar cell string, which comprises UVC of different wavelengths.
Regarding claim 19, Kannou further discloses that laminating a cover plate (back surface side protection member 105), an encapsulating adhesive film layer (sealing member 103), and the cell string in this sequence to form the photovoltaic assembly (100) (see figure 1 for configuration) ([0023-0024]). Kannou further discloses that the plurality of cell chips (101) is irradiated with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]), which is within the claimed range of 200 nm to 500 nm. Thus, a peeling energy value between the cell chip of the cell string (101s) and the encapsulating adhesive film layer (103) must be greater than or equal to 200 J/m² as in the case of the instant application.
Regarding claim 20, Kannou further discloses that the cell chip is a heterojunction cell (photoelectric conversion part 10 that comprises pn junction, fig. 2, [0060]), the heterojunction cell comprises: a cell body (semiconductor layers 2, 1 and p, see fig. 2); a transparent conductive film layer (5) provided on the cell body; and a metal electrode (back surface-side collecting electrode 7), the metal electrode being provided on a surface of the transparent conductive film (5) layer that faces away from the cell body (semiconductor layers, see fig. 2), the laminating the cover plate (105), the encapsulating adhesive film layer (103), and the cell string in this sequence to form the photovoltaic assembly comprises: providing the encapsulating adhesive film layer (103) on a surface of the metal electrode (7) that faces away from the cell body (semiconductor layers) (see figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kannou as applied above.
Regarding claim 3 or 4, Kannou discloses that irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light (YAG laser, [0046]), comprising irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]), which is within the claimed range of 200 nm to 500 nm. With respect to the claimed process sequence, it is noted that selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). See also MPEP §2144.04 IVC.
Regarding claim 7, Kannou discloses that irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light (YAG laser, [0046]), comprising irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]), which is within the claimed range of 200 nm to 500 nm. However, Kannou does not disclose said irradiating the plurality of cell chips with light comprises: irradiating the plurality of cell chips or the cell string with UVC that has a first wavelength and a radiation intensity in a range of 5 W/m2 to 30 W/m2 and UVC that has a second wavelength and a radiation intensity in a range of 100 W/m2 to 500 W/m2, the first wavelength is less than the second wavelength.
However, instant application as originally filed fails to disclose whether claimed variation in wavelength and radiation intensity provides new or unexpected result. In absence of evidence of criticality, it would be obvious to determine the laser intensity to form the cell string of Kannou by routine experimentation. In the case where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP § 2144.05 IIA, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 8, Kannou discloses that irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light (YAG laser, [0046]), comprising irradiating the plurality of cell chips (101) with light having a wavelength of 400 nm ([0046]). The solar module 100 is naturally exposed to ambient temperature, which comprises a temperature within the claimed range.
Conclusion
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721