Information Disclosure Statement
The foreign and non-patent literature cited in the Information Disclosure Statement of 17 July 2024 are found in the parent application.
The Jang et al article was cited in both the Information Disclosure Statement of 17 July 2024 and the Information Disclosure Statement of 20 December 2024. It was crossed off in the Information Disclosure Statement of 20 December 2024 as a duplicate citation.
CN 110028948 cited in the Information Disclosure Statement of 20 December 2024 has been considered with respect to the explanation of this reference in the provide office action from the Chinese Patent Office.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: The abbreviation “LGP” in figure 1.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The status of the parent application in line 6 on page 1 of the specification needs to be updated. Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
The teaching on page 21, lines 5-6 that the arithmetic size of the plurality of quantum dots is less than or equal to 10.5 nm supports the range of less than 10.5 nm in claims 4 and 29.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities: In these claims, the “of” is missing from between “plurality” and “quantum”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 23, 25-27, 31, 33, and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,193,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Patented claims 14 and 15 teach and ink comprising the quantum dots from patented claim 1, a liquid vehicle or a liquid vehicle and monomer. The quantum dots of claim 1; which are clearly made up of a plurality of quantum dots since there is clearly more than 1 quantum dot claimed; comprises a semiconductor nanocrystal core including In and P and a semiconductor shell disposed on the core, wherein the shell includes Zn, S and Se, wherein the molar ratio of Se:In in the quantum dots is greater than of equal to 5.7:1 and the average particle size of the quantum dots, which reads upon the arithmetic size, is greater than or equal to about 5.5 nm. The composition of the ink suggest that of claims 1 in that the patented ink comprises the same components as the composition of claims 1, 4 and 23, the patented quantum dots have the same structure, same core and shell compositions, an overlapping size range and an overlapping Se:In molar ratio. Product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the quantum dots of patented claims 7 and 20-22 in the ink of patented claims 14 and 15, since these claims depend from claim 1 and further define the quantum dots of claim 1. The quantum dots of claim 7 teach quantum dot of claim 1 further has a Zn:In molar ratio of about 10-60:1, which overlaps that of claim 25 of this application. The quantum dots of claim 20 teach quantum dot of claim 1 further has a Se:S molar ratio of about 0.87-5:1. This molar ratio corresponds to a molar ratio of S:Se of about 0.2-1.15:1, which overlaps that of claim 26 of this application. The quantum dots of claims 21 and 22 teach the upper limits for the molar ratio of Se:In and the average size. The resulting molar ratio range of about 5.7-30:1 and size of about 5.5-20 nm overlap the ranges of claims 1, 4 and 23.
The quantum dot layer produced by the process in patented claim 16 would read upon the composition of claim 27, 29 and 31 since the patented process forms a composite where the quantum dots of claim 1 are dispersed in a polymeric matrix. As discussed above, the quantum dots of patented claim 1 suggest those of claims 27, 29 and 31, which have the same values as claims 1, 4 and 23 of this application.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the quantum dots of patented claims 7 and 20-22 in the process of patented claim 16, since these claims depend from claim 1 and further define the quantum dots of claim 1. The quantum dots of claim 7 teach quantum dot of claim 1 further has a Zn:In molar ratio of about 10-60:1, which overlaps that of claim 33 of this application. The quantum dots of claim 20 teach quantum dot of claim 1 further has a Se:S molar ratio of about 0.87-5:1. This molar ratio corresponds to a molar ratio of S:Se of about 0.2-1.15:1, which overlaps that of claim 34 of this application. The quantum dots of claims 21 and 22 teach the upper limits for the molar ratio of Se:In and the average size. The resulting molar ratio range of about 5.7-30:1 and size of about 5.5-20 nm overlap the ranges of claims 27, 29 and 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0211261.
Examples 2-4 teaches a composition of a plurality of InP/ZnSe/ZnS quantum dots dispersed in chloroform or toluene. Tables 1 and 2 teach the quantum dot of example 2 has a P:In molar ratio of 0.63, a Zn:In molar ratio of 16.63, a Se:In molar ratio of 8.80, an emission wavelength of 631 and a size of 8.5 nm; example 3 has a P:In molar ratio of 0.76, a Zn:In molar ratio of 12.58, a Se:In molar ratio of 7.47, an emission wavelength of 631 and a size of 8.1 nm; and example 4 has a P:In molar ratio of 0.81, a Zn:In molar ratio of 16.42, a Se:In molar ratio of 9.02, an emission wavelength of 628 and a size of 8.7 nm. The taught sizes read upon the claimed arithmetic size. The compositions of examples 2-4 meet the requirements of claims in that the compositions of the examples and the quantum dots, the quantum structure and taught sizes, Se:In ratios and emission wavelengths fall within the composition, structure and ranges of claims 1, 21, 22 and 24. The compositions of examples 2 and 4 meets the requirements of claims 4, 23 and 25 in that the taught sizes, Zn:In and Se:In molar ratios fall within the range of claims 4, 23 and 25. These examples anticipated the claimed quantum dot composition.
2Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 21-23, 25-31, 33, 34, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2019/0211261.
This reference teaches a quantum dot polymer composite comprising a plurality of quantum dots dispersed in a polymeric matrix (para 33, 102, 155); a display device comprising a light emitting element and a light source, wherein the light emitting element comprises the quantum dot polymer composite and the light source is configures to provide the light emitting element with incident light( para 37, 101, 157); and a color filter in the display which comprises the composite (para 101, 174). The reference also teaches a quantum dot composition comprising a plurality of quantum dots and a photopolymerizable monomer (para 125). This composition can further comprise an organic solvent, which is a liquid vehicle (para 125,150). Paragraph [0173] teaches an ink composition comprising a plurality of quantum dots and a liquid vehicle.
The reference teaches the quantum dots in the above compositions, composites and devices emit red light having a maximum peak wavelength in the range of about 600-650 nm (para 11, 85). This emission range overlaps the range of claims 22 and 30. Product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05. The taught quantum dots of the taught compositions and composites have a core/shell/shell structure, where the first shell includes Zn and Se and the second shell includes Zn and S (para 23, 93). This shell structure reads upon that of claims 1, 21, 27 and 28. The taught core preferably includes In and P (para 87). The taught quantum dot has a Zn:In molar ratio of about 10-40:1 (para 94), which overlaps that of claims 25 and 33; and a Se:In molar ratio of about 5.7-20:1 (para 96), which overlaps the ratio of claims 1, 23, 27 and 31. The Se:S molar ratio for the taught quantum dot is about 1.1-3:1 (para 31, 98), which corresponds with a S:Se molar ratio of about 0.33-0.9:1, which overlaps the ranges of claims 26 and 34. Paragraph [0100] teaches the taught quantum dots have a size of 6-20 nm, which overlaps the size ranges of claims 1, 4, 27 and 29. The taught sizes read upon the claimed arithmetic size. Thus the reference suggests the claimed composition, composite, color filter and display device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited prior art of record of a composition comprising a plurality of quantum dots and at least one of a liquid vehicle or a polymerizable monomer, wherein the plurality of quantum dots have the composition, size and structure set forth in claim 1 and the bimodal size characteristics of claim 5.
There is no teaching or suggestion in the cited prior art of record of a quantum dot composite comprising a plurality of quantum dots dispersed in a matrix, wherein the plurality of quantum dots have the composition, size and structure set forth in claim 27 and the composite has an absorption ratio of 90% or greater of blue light of a wavelength of about 450 nm.
/C Melissa Koslow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734
cmk
6/4/26