DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 17 July 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20220150735 A1) (hereinafter Chen) in view of Conceicao et al (US 20260075487 A1) (hereinafter Con).
In regards to claim 1, Chen-Con teaches a system, comprising:
a plurality of access points, each configured to communicate with one or more client devices (Chen, fig. 1, [0040]-[0078]: [0043] FIG. 1 presents a block diagram illustrating an example of communication among one or more access points 110 and electronic devices 112 (such as a cellular telephone, and which are sometimes referred to as ‘clients’) in a WLAN 114 in accordance with sonic embodiments. Access points 110 may communicate with each other in WLAN 114 using wireless and/or wired communication (such as by using Ethernet or a communication protocol that is compatible with Ethernet). Moreover, one or more of access points 110 may have specific functions in WLAN 114, such as functioning as a gateway that provides access to network 118 (such as the Internet, a cable network, a cellular-telephone network, etc.), e.g., to communicate with an optional remote controller of access points 110. (However, in some embodiments, a controller may be located locally in WLAN 114.) Note that access points 110 may include a physical access point and/or a virtual access point that is implemented in software in an environment of an electronic device or a computer. In addition, at least some of access points 110 (such as access points 110-3 and 110-4) may communicate with electronic devices 112 using wireless communication.); and
a monitoring engine, wherein the monitoring engine is configured to receive metric data periodically from the plurality of access points, and is further configured to generate confidence score profiles for each of the plurality of access points (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0058] For example, as described further below with reference to FIG. 4, the one or more communication performance metrics may include: a transmit data rate, RSSI, throughput, a signal-to-noise ratio, and/or a total data volume during a time interval (such as, e.g., 15 s or since a given electronic device in electronic devices 112 associated with access point 110-1). Access point 110-1 may compute an average or a median of the one or more communication performance metrics, e.g., using a moving window with 16 instances of the one or more communication performance metrics, which may be provided by a driver in radio 120-1. Moreover, identifying at least electronic device 112-1 may involve: normalizing the one or more communication performance metrics associated with at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 (such as scaling a given one of the one or more communication performance metrics by a maximum value), calculating distance metrics (such as Euclidean distances, e.g., the sum of the squares of the communication performance metrics) for at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 based at least in part on the normalized one or more communication performance metrics associated with at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112, ranking at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 based at least in part on the calculated distance metrics, and/or selecting or identifying an electronic device based at least in part on the ranking (such as electronic device 112-1, which may be at the top of the ranking). Note that electronic devices in the ranking may have a connection with access point 110-1 for, e.g., at least 10 min. This may reduce ping ponging of electronic devices from one access point to another. In some embodiments, electronic device 112-1 is identified for the recommendation because it consumes the most of the capacity of access point 110-1 in the band of frequencies (e.g., it has a high traffic demand) and/or because it has the worst communication performance (such as a lowest data rate, throughput, RSSI, etc.). [0110] More generally, the access point may store this information in a behavioral profile associated with the first connected electronic device. Note that the history of responses and/or the behavioral profile may be stored locally in the access point and/or remotely from the access points (e.g., in a controller or a management system that is associated with the access point). [0122] For example, stations may be shortlisted based at least in part on periodically collected communication-performance statistics. Notably, stations may be assigned scores based at least in part on the collected communication-performance statistics, and the highest-scored stations may be shortlisted for steering.),
wherein a first access point of the plurality of access points is configured to (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: See above for paragraph [0043].):
detect occurrence of a dynamic wireless link creation event (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. [0134] Networking subsystem 1014 includes processors, controllers, radios/antennas, sockets/plugs, and/or other devices used for coupling to, communicating on, and handling data and events for each supported networking system. Note that mechanisms used for coupling to, communicating on, and handling data and events on the network for each network system are sometimes collectively referred to as a ‘network interface’ for the network system. Moreover, in some embodiments a ‘network’ or a ‘connection’ between the electronic devices does not yet exist. Therefore, electronic device 1000 may use the mechanisms in networking subsystem 1014 for performing simple wireless communication between the electronic devices, e.g., transmitting advertising or beacon frames and/or scanning for advertising frames transmitted by other electronic devices as described previously.);
select, in response to the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event and based on the confidence score profiles, a second access point that is a neighbor of the first access point (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0102] Furthermore, the access point may receive one or more messages from the one or more second access points, where the one or more messages include the communication performance metrics of the one or more second access points. Note that access point may communicate with the one or more second access points using wired or wireless communication. [0103] Moreover, the access point may provide one or more second messages to the one or more second access points, where the one or more second messages include the determined available communication performance metric.);
establish a dynamic wireless link between the first access point and the second access point (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0079] FIG. 3 presents a drawing illustrating an example of communication among access points 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3 and electronic device 112-1. Notably, an interface circuit (IC) 310 in access point 110-1 may communicate one or more packets 312 or frames with electronic device 112-1. Based on this communication, interface circuit 310 may determine an available capacity metric (ACM) 314 of access point 110-1. Then, interface circuit 310 may provide one or more messages 316 to access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 316 include the determined available capacity metric 314. Moreover, interface circuit 310 may receive one or more messages 318 from access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 318 include available capacity metrics 320 of access points 110-2 and 110-3.); and
direct at least some network traffic to the second access point using the established dynamic wireless link (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0052] Then, access point 110-1 may provide one or more messages (e.g., in one or more second packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) to the one or more second access points (such as a remainder of access points 110, e.g., access points 110-2, 110-3 and 110-4), where the one or more messages may include or specify the determined available capacity metric of access point 110-1. For example, the one or more messages may include a currently used capacity and a maximum capacity of access point 110-1, which may specify the available capacity of access point 110-1. Moreover, access point 110-1 may receive one or more second messages (e.g., in one or more third packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) from the one or more second access points, where the one or more second messages may include or specify available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points. Note that the one or more second access points may include one or more neighboring access points of access point 110-1, and access point 110-1 may identify the one or more neighboring access points based at least in part on wireless ranges between the one or more neighboring access points and access point 110-1. In some embodiments, the one or more messages and the one or more second messages are communicated via network 116 using wired communication or in WLAN 114 using wireless communication. [0055] In some embodiments, the communication channel may be associated with one of the one or more second access points (and, thus, the recommendation may be that electronic device 112-1 disassociate, e.g., discontinue a connection with access point 110-1, and associate or establish a connection with one of the one or more second access points), or is in a second band of frequencies and is associated with access point 110-1 (e.g., the recommendation may be for electronic device 112-1 to transition from the band of frequencies to the second band of frequencies, but to remain associated with access point 110-1). In response to the recommendation, electronic device 112-1 may perform the transition to the different communication channel.).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach receive a set of confidence score profiles from the monitoring engine.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, receive a set of confidence score profiles from the monitoring engine (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 2, Chen teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link comprises detection that a wired backhaul link between the first access point and a switch network is at or near capacity (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0044] Therefore, access points 110 may support wired communication within WLAN 114 (such as Ethernet) and wireless communication within WLAN 114 (such as Wi-Fi), and one or more of access points 110 may also support a wired communication protocol for communicating via network 118 (such as Ethernet, a cable modem communication protocol or LTE backhaul to a cellular-telephone network core. [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. [0121] In some embodiments of the communication technique, access-point capacity is periodically calculated and published to neighboring access points. Moreover, an access point may periodically receive capacity information from the neighboring access points. This capacity information may be used to determine if the available capacity of the access point is better or worst compared to the neighboring access points. If the available capacity of the access point is lower than average of the available capacity of the neighboring access points, then the access point may decide to shortlist and steer some low-performing electronic devices or stations.).
In regards to claim 3, Chen teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a wired backhaul link between the first access point and a switch network is unusable (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: See above for paragraph [0044], [0045] and [0121].).
In regards to claim 5, Chen teaches the system of claim 1 (see fig.):
wherein the second access point of the plurality of access points is configured to: receive network traffic from a switch network destined for a client device in wireless communication with the first access point, and forward the network traffic to the first access point via the established dynamic wireless link (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0052] Then, access point 110-1 may provide one or more messages (e.g., in one or more second packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) to the one or more second access points (such as a remainder of access points 110, e.g., access points 110-2, 110-3 and 110-4), where the one or more messages may include or specify the determined available capacity metric of access point 110-1. [0067] Moreover, access point 110-2 may provide, via WLAN 114 (and, thus, using wireless communication) or network 116 (and, thus, using wired communication), a trigger message to access point 110-1 in order to trigger non-interrupting fake traffic (i.e., one or more packets or frames that will not disrupt communication) from access point 110-1 to electronic device 112-1. A payload in the trigger message may include a signature of electronic device 112-1 (such as a MAC address of electronic device 112-1). For example, in response to the trigger message, access point 110-1 may provide, using wireless communication, fake traffic for at least electronic device 112-1 (i.e., traffic that is otherwise unnecessary for electronic device 112-1), such as a management frame that is unicast to electronic device 112-1.)
In regards to claim 6, Chen teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein prior to establishment of the dynamic wireless link between the first access point and the second access point, the second access point is configured to allocate a portion of a capacity between the second access point and switch network for network traffic received from the first access point via the established dynamic wireless link (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0051] Notably, as described further below with reference to FIGS. 2-4, a given one of access points 110 (such as access point 110-1) may communicate one or more packets or frames to and/or from the one or more electronic devices 112. Based at least on the communicated packets or frames, access point 110-1 may determine an available capacity metric of access point 110-1, such as the available capacity or the throughput. For example, in some embodiments, the throughput may be a number of good bytes that are communicated divided by a sum of an access time plus an airtime for transmit, an available capacity may be a difference of a maximum capacity and an average current capacity, and a maximum capacity may be a number of physical layer convergence protocol (PLCP) protocol data units (PPDUs) times an average number of good bytes that are communication divided by a sum of a product of a number of total bytes times and access time plus a maximum number of PPDUs times an airtime for transmit. Note that the available capacity metric of access point 110-1 may be associated with a band of frequencies, such as 2.4 or 5 GHz. In some embodiments, information used to determine the available capacity metric of access point 110-1 may be collected from a driver in radio 120-1 every, e.g., 15 s.].).
In regards to claim 7, Chen teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein the first access point of the plurality of access points is configured to: detect that a condition associated with the dynamic wireless link creation event has been resolved (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0094] FIG. 7 presents a drawing illustrating an example of communication among access points 110-1 and 110-2 and electronic device 112-1. Notably, an interface circuit (IC) 710 in access point 110-1 may provide, using wired or wireless communication, a request 712 to access point 110-2. This request may specify a. communication channel (such as a band of frequencies) and electronic device 112-1. After receiving request 712, an interface circuit 714 in access point 110-2 may perform a wireless scan 716 of the specified communication channel. Moreover, interface circuit 714 may provide, using wired or wireless communication, a trigger message 718 to access point 110-1 with an instruction 720 for access point 110-1 to provide fake traffic 722 to electronic device 112-1.); and
in response to the detection that the condition has been resolved, tear down the dynamic wireless link (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0067] In order to address this problem, access point 110-1 may provide a request to one or more second or neighboring access points (such as access point 110-2) via network 116 using wired or wireless communication. This request may specify a band of frequencies or a communication channel (such as channel 1) and at least electronic device 112-1. In response to this request, access point 110-2 may perform a scan of the specified communication channel. Moreover, access point 110-2 may provide, via WLAN 114 (and, thus, using wireless communication) or network 116 (and, thus, using wired communication), a trigger message to access point 110-1 in order to trigger non-interrupting fake traffic (i.e., one or more packets or frames that will not disrupt communication) from access point 110-1 to electronic device 112-1. A payload in the trigger message may include a signature of electronic device 112-1 (such as a MAC address of electronic device 112-1). For example, in response to the trigger message, access point 110-1 may provide, using wireless communication, fake traffic for at least electronic device 112-1 (i.e., traffic that is otherwise unnecessary for electronic device 112-1), such as a management frame that is unicast to electronic device 112-1.).
In regards to claim 8, Chen-Con teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein the set of confidence score profiles received by the first access point includes a first confidence score profile corresponding to the first access point and a second confidence score profile corresponding to the second access point (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0113] Based on this communication, interface circuit 910 may determine a communication performance metric (CPM) 914 of access point 110-1. Then, interface circuit 910 may provide one or more messages 916 to access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 916 include the determined communication performance metric 914. Moreover, interface circuit 910 may receive one or more messages 918 from access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 918 include communication performance metrics 920 of access points 110-2 and 110-3.).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach set of confidence score profiles.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, set of confidence score profiles (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 9, Chen-Con teaches the system of claim 8:
wherein the set of confidence score profiles further includes a third confidence score profile corresponding to a third access point of the plurality of access points (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: Third packets or frames associated with the third access point may constitute the third confidence score profile. [0052] Moreover, access point 110-1 may receive one or more second messages (e.g., in one or more third packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) from the one or more second access points, where the one or more second messages may include or specify available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points.).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach set of confidence score profiles.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, set of confidence score profiles (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 10, Chen-Con teaches the system of claim 1:
wherein each confidence score profile of the confidence score profiles indicates a determination of available capacity for a wired backhaul link between an access point of the plurality of access points respectively corresponding to the confidence score profile (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0079] FIG. 3 presents a drawing illustrating an example of communication among access points 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3 and electronic device 112-1. Notably, an interface circuit (IC) 310 in access point 110-1 may communicate one or more packets 312 or frames with electronic device 112-1. Based on this communication, interface circuit 310 may determine an available capacity metric (ACM) 314 of access point 110-1. Then, interface circuit 310 may provide one or more messages 316 to access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 316 include the determined available capacity metric 314. Moreover, interface circuit 310 may receive one or more messages 318 from access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 318 include available capacity metrics 320 of access points 110-2 and 110-3).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach set of confidence score profiles.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, set of confidence score profiles (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 11, Chen teaches the system of claim 10:
wherein the determination of the available capacity for the wired backhaul link is discretized into one or more levels based on a comparison of an available backhaul capacity with one or more predetermined threshold values (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0105] Note that when the weight is higher than that of its peers, an electronic device will not be selected to receive recommendation. For example, when the weight is less than a first threshold, the recommendation may be selectively provided. Alternatively, when the weight is greater than the first threshold and less than a second threshold, the recommendation may be selectively provided along with a warning to encourage acceptance of the recommendation. For example, the warning may indicate that the first connected electronic device is about to be disassociated from the access point. In some embodiments, when the weight is greater than the second threshold, the electronic device may not provide the recommendation. Instead, the access point may disassociate from the first connected electronic device.).
In regards to claim 12, Chen-Con teaches an access point, comprising:
a processor (Chen, fig. 3, [0079]-[0088]: [0080] Next, interface circuit 310 or processor 322 in access point 110-1 may compare 324 available capacity metric 314 and a parameter corresponding to available capacity metrics 320. In some embodiments, processor 322 may optionally provide an instruction 326 to interface circuit 310 to request a beacon report 330.; and
memory storing non-transitory instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (Chen, [0113]-[0143]: [0129] Memory subsystem 1012 includes one or more devices for storing data and/or instructions for processing subsystem 1010 and networking subsystem 1014. For example, memory subsystem 1012 can include dynamic random access memory (DRAM), static random access memory (SRAM), and/or other types of memory. In some embodiments, instructions for processing subsystem 1010 in memory subsystem 1012 include: one or more program modules or sets of instructions (such as program instructions 1022 or operating system 1024), which may be executed by processing subsystem 1010.):
transmit metrics to a monitoring engine (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0053] Furthermore, access point 110-1 may compare the available capacity metric of access point 110-1 and a parameter corresponding to the available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points. For example, the parameter may include a headroom value (such as. e.g., 10%) plus a moment of a distribution of the available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points (such as an average or a median of the available capacity metrics). Note that the comparison may indicate that access point 110-1 is overloaded in the band of frequencies, such as when the available capacity metric of access point 110-1 is less than the parameter.);
detect an occurrence of dynamic wireless link creation event (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. Note that while instances of radios 120 are shown in access points 110 and electronic devices 112, one or more of these instances may be different from the other instances of radios 120. [0090] FIG. 6 presents a flow diagram illustrating a method 600 for performing collaborative detection of an electronic device using an access point, such as access point 110-2 in FIG. 1. During operation, the access point may receive a request (operation 610) from a second access point using wired or wireless communication, where the request specifies a communication channel and the electronic device.); and
select a neighbor access point based at least in part on the set of confidence score profiles (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: Third packets or frames associated with the third access point may constitute the third confidence score profile. [0052] Moreover, access point 110-1 may receive one or more second messages (e.g., in one or more third packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) from the one or more second access points, where the one or more second messages may include or specify available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points.); and
establish a dynamic wireless link with the neighbor access point in response to the detected occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0044] The wired and/or wireless communication among access points 110 in WLAN 114 may occur via network 116 (such as an intra-net, a mesh network, point-to-point connections and/or the Internet) and may use a network communication protocol, such as Ethernet. Network 116 may include one or more routers and/or switches (not shown). Furthermore, the wireless communication using Wi-Fi may involve access points 110 and electronic devices 112: transmitting advertising frames on wireless channels, detecting one another by scanning wireless channels, establishing connections (for example, by transmitting association or attach requests), and/or transmitting and receiving packets (which may include the association requests and/or additional information as payloads).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach receive a set of confidence score profiles from the monitoring engine.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, receive a set of confidence score profiles from the monitoring engine (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 13, Chen teaches the access point of claim 12:
wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a wired backhaul link between the access point and a switch network is at or near capacity (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0044] Therefore, access points 110 may support wired communication within WLAN 114 (such as Ethernet) and wireless communication within WLAN 114 (such as Wi-Fi), and one or more of access points 110 may also support a wired communication protocol for communicating via network 118 (such as Ethernet, a cable modem communication protocol or LTE backhaul to a cellular-telephone network core. [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. [0121] In some embodiments of the communication technique, access-point capacity is periodically calculated and published to neighboring access points. Moreover, an access point may periodically receive capacity information from the neighboring access points. This capacity information may be used to determine if the available capacity of the access point is better or worst compared to the neighboring access points. If the available capacity of the access point is lower than average of the available capacity of the neighboring access points, then the access point may decide to shortlist and steer some low-performing electronic devices or stations.).
In regards to claim 14, Chen teaches the access point of claim 12:
wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a wired backhaul link between the access point and a switch network is unusable (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: See above for paragraph [0044], [0045] and [0121].).
In regards to claim 16, Chen-Con teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a first access point, a set of confidence score profiles from a monitoring engine (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0058] For example, as described further below with reference to FIG. 4, the one or more communication performance metrics may include: a transmit data rate, RSSI, throughput, a signal-to-noise ratio, and/or a total data volume during a time interval (such as, e.g., 15 s or since a given electronic device in electronic devices 112 associated with access point 110-1). Access point 110-1 may compute an average or a median of the one or more communication performance metrics, e.g., using a moving window with 16 instances of the one or more communication performance metrics, which may be provided by a driver in radio 120-1. Moreover, identifying at least electronic device 112-1 may involve: normalizing the one or more communication performance metrics associated with at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 (such as scaling a given one of the one or more communication performance metrics by a maximum value), calculating distance metrics (such as Euclidean distances, e.g., the sum of the squares of the communication performance metrics) for at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 based at least in part on the normalized one or more communication performance metrics associated with at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112, ranking at least the subset of the one or more electronic devices 112 based at least in part on the calculated distance metrics, and/or selecting or identifying an electronic device based at least in part on the ranking (such as electronic device 112-1, which may be at the top of the ranking). Note that electronic devices in the ranking may have a connection with access point 110-1 for, e.g., at least 10 min. This may reduce ping ponging of electronic devices from one access point to another. In some embodiments, electronic device 112-1 is identified for the recommendation because it consumes the most of the capacity of access point 110-1 in the band of frequencies (e.g., it has a high traffic demand) and/or because it has the worst communication performance (such as a lowest data rate, throughput, RSSI, etc.). [0110] More generally, the access point may store this information in a behavioral profile associated with the first connected electronic device. Note that the history of responses and/or the behavioral profile may be stored locally in the access point and/or remotely from the access points (e.g., in a controller or a management system that is associated with the access point). [0122] For example, stations may be shortlisted based at least in part on periodically collected communication-performance statistics. Notably, stations may be assigned scores based at least in part on the collected communication-performance statistics, and the highest-scored stations may be shortlisted for steering.);
detecting, by the first access point, occurrence of a dynamic wireless link creation event (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. Note that while instances of radios 120 are shown in access points 110 and electronic devices 112, one or more of these instances may be different from the other instances of radios 120. [0090] FIG. 6 presents a flow diagram illustrating a method 600 for performing collaborative detection of an electronic device using an access point, such as access point 110-2 in FIG. 1. During operation, the access point may receive a request (operation 610) from a second access point using wired or wireless communication, where the request specifies a communication channel and the electronic device.);
selecting, by the first access point in response to the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event and based on the confidence score profiles, a second access point (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: Third packets or frames associated with the third access point may constitute the third confidence score profile. [0052] Moreover, access point 110-1 may receive one or more second messages (e.g., in one or more third packets or frames that are unicast or broadcast) from the one or more second access points, where the one or more second messages may include or specify available capacity metrics of the one or more second access points.);
establishing a dynamic wireless link between the first access point and the second access point Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0044] The wired and/or wireless communication among access points 110 in WLAN 114 may occur via network 116 (such as an intra-net, a mesh network, point-to-point connections and/or the Internet) and may use a network communication protocol, such as Ethernet. Network 116 may include one or more routers and/or switches (not shown). Furthermore, the wireless communication using Wi-Fi may involve access points 110 and electronic devices 112: transmitting advertising frames on wireless channels, detecting one another by scanning wireless channels, establishing connections (for example, by transmitting association or attach requests), and/or transmitting and receiving packets (which may include the association requests and/or additional information as payloads); and
directing, by the first access point, at least some network traffic received from a client device wirelessly connected with the first access point to the second access point using the established dynamic wireless link (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0085] As described previously, a variety of communication performance metrics may be used to identity candidate electronic devices. For example, the transmit data rate, the RSSI or the signal-to-noise ratio, and the transmit traffic volume or total data volume may be used. The access point may normalize each of these communication performance metrics using a 0 to 10 scale for one or more of its associated electronic devices. [0089] Moreover, the trigger message may instruct the access point to provide fake traffic to the electronic device. In response, the access point may provide the fake traffic (operation 514) to the electronic device using wireless communication. For example, the fake traffic may include a management frame for the electronic device. Next, the access point may receive a response (operation 516) from the electronic device using wireless communication, such as an acknowledgment. Moreover, the access point may receive a report (operation 518) from the second access point using wired or wireless communication.).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach set of confidence score profiles.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, set of confidence score profiles (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
In regards to claim 17, Chen teaches the access point of claim 16:
wherein the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link comprises detecting that a wired backhaul link between the first access point and a switch network is at or near capacity (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0044] Therefore, access points 110 may support wired communication within WLAN 114 (such as Ethernet) and wireless communication within WLAN 114 (such as Wi-Fi), and one or more of access points 110 may also support a wired communication protocol for communicating via network 118 (such as Ethernet, a cable modem communication protocol or LTE backhaul to a cellular-telephone network core. [0045] This wireless communication can comprise transmitting advertisements on wireless channels to enable access points 110 and/or electronic devices 112 to make initial contact or detect each other, followed by exchanging subsequent data/management frames (such as association requests and responses) to establish a connection, configure security options (e.g., Internet Protocol Security), transmit and receive packets or frames via the connection, etc. [0121] In some embodiments of the communication technique, access-point capacity is periodically calculated and published to neighboring access points. Moreover, an access point may periodically receive capacity information from the neighboring access points. This capacity information may be used to determine if the available capacity of the access point is better or worst compared to the neighboring access points. If the available capacity of the access point is lower than average of the available capacity of the neighboring access points, then the access point may decide to shortlist and steer some low-performing electronic devices or stations.).
In regards to claim 18, Chen teaches the access point of claim 16:
wherein the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link comprises detecting that a wired backhaul link between the first access point and a switch network is unusable (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: See above for paragraph [0044], [0045] and [0121].).
In regards to claim 20, Chen-Con teaches the access point of claim 16:
wherein the set of confidence score profiles received by the first access point includes a first confidence score profile corresponding to the first access point and a second confidence score profile corresponding to the second access point (Chen, fig. 3, fig. 4, fig. 7 and fig. 9, [0039]-[0071], [0072]-[0078], [0079]-[0089], [0090]-[0112], [0113]-[0141]: [0113] Based on this communication, interface circuit 910 may determine a communication performance metric (CPM) 914 of access point 110-1. Then, interface circuit 910 may provide one or more messages 916 to access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 916 include the determined communication performance metric 914. Moreover, interface circuit 910 may receive one or more messages 918 from access points 110-2 and 110-3, where the one or more messages 918 include communication performance metrics 920 of access points 110-2 and 110-3.).
Thus, Chen does not explicitly teach set of confidence score profiles.
Similar to the system of Chen, Con teaches predicted upper and lower boundaries (thresholds) at respective confidence values, where different boundaries may be associated with different confidence levels or intervals, which can be seen as, set of confidence score profiles (Con, fig. 6, fig. 13, fig. 17-18, [0172]-[0198], [0206]-[0228], [0229]-[0257], [0258]-[0282], [0355]-[0387]: [0258] FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating examples of fixed and variable RSRP boundaries. In other examples, boundaries may correspond to other radio interface quantities and/or measurements. For example, a WTRU 102 may be configured, indicated, and/or determine any of a fixed upper boundary 1302, a fixed lower boundary 1304, a predicted (e.g., variable) upper boundary 1306, and/or a predicted (e.g., variable) lower boundary 1308. As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict an upper boundary (e.g., threshold) 1306, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). As shown in FIG. 13, a WTRU 102 may predict a lower boundary (e.g., threshold) 1308, such as for RSRP, at a respective confidence value (e.g., x %). For example, different boundaries and/or thresholds may be associated with different confidence levels and/or intervals.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Con to incorporate Con’s confidence-level based boundary predictions into Chen’s monitoring system in order to provide confidence-aware monitoring results and improve the reliability and accuracy of threshold determinations under different network conditions (Con, [0047]).
Claims 4, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 20220150735 A1) (hereinafter Chen) as applied to claims 1/12/16 above, and further in view of Karmi et al. (US 20240298241 A1) (hereinafter Kar).
In regards to claim 4, Kar teaches the system of claim 1 (see fig. 1):
Thus, Chen does not teach wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a client device in wireless communication with the first access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data, or detection that a connection request has been received from a high-priority client device.
Similar to the system of Chen, Kar teaches dynamic steering of traffic based on high-priority streams or high-priority client device, which can be seen as, wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a client device in wireless communication with the first access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data, or detection that a connection request has been received from a high-priority client device (Kar, [0036]-[0052], [0057-[0076], [0123]-[0167]: [0036] Thereafter, the AP can dynamically steer traffic from client devices (such as communication devices without cellular capabilities) to one or more of the cellular-enabled devices according to various path metrics such as link quality, connection strength, battery level, processing capabilities, or security policies. In some implementations, the AP may steer traffic according to user-specified criteria. For example, the AP may steer high-priority traffic flows to nearby cellular-enabled devices, and may avoid steering low-priority traffic flows until the backhaul connection is restored. Additionally, or alternatively, the AP may steer all traffic to or from a client device if one or more traffic streams of the client device are deemed high-priority, or if the client device itself is deemed a high-priority device. The dynamic path selection mechanisms of this disclosure can also be used in the absence of a backhaul outage. In some implementations, the AP may establish a multi-path transmission control protocol (MPTCP) connection to improve the reliability and resiliency of traffic flows between client devices and the communication network. [0061] In some implementations, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may re-route traffic from the cable/fiber modem 215 to another connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) via the WLAN client 220-a (also referred to herein as a radio). Additionally, or alternatively, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may instruct a client (such as the client device 230-a) to directly hotspot to a selected alternative connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) based on one or more traffic streams associated with the client device 230-a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Kar to improve traffic management and resiliency by dynamically steering or establishing alternate wireless communication paths for high-priority traffic and devices during changing network conditions, such as congestion or outages (Kar, [0061]).
In regards to claim 15, Kar teaches the access point of claim 12 (see fig. 1):
Thus, Chen does not teach wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a client device in wireless communication with the access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data.
Similar to the system of Chen, Kar teaches dynamic steering of traffic based on high-priority streams or high-priority client device, which can be seen as, wherein the detection of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link creation event comprises detection that a client device in wireless communication with the access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data (Kar, [0036]-[0052], [0057-[0076], [0123]-[0167]: [0036] Thereafter, the AP can dynamically steer traffic from client devices (such as communication devices without cellular capabilities) to one or more of the cellular-enabled devices according to various path metrics such as link quality, connection strength, battery level, processing capabilities, or security policies. In some implementations, the AP may steer traffic according to user-specified criteria. For example, the AP may steer high-priority traffic flows to nearby cellular-enabled devices, and may avoid steering low-priority traffic flows until the backhaul connection is restored. Additionally, or alternatively, the AP may steer all traffic to or from a client device if one or more traffic streams of the client device are deemed high-priority, or if the client device itself is deemed a high-priority device. The dynamic path selection mechanisms of this disclosure can also be used in the absence of a backhaul outage. In some implementations, the AP may establish a multi-path transmission control protocol (MPTCP) connection to improve the reliability and resiliency of traffic flows between client devices and the communication network. [0061] In some implementations, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may re-route traffic from the cable/fiber modem 215 to another connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) via the WLAN client 220-a (also referred to herein as a radio). Additionally, or alternatively, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may instruct a client (such as the client device 230-a) to directly hotspot to a selected alternative connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) based on one or more traffic streams associated with the client device 230-a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Kar to improve traffic management and resiliency by dynamically steering or establishing alternate wireless communication paths for high-priority traffic and devices during changing network conditions, such as congestion or outages (Kar, [0061]).
In regards to claim 19, Kar teaches the access point of claim 16 (see fig. 1):
Thus, Chen does not teach wherein the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link comprises detecting that a client device in wireless communication with the first access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data.
Similar to the system of Chen, Kar teaches dynamic steering of traffic based on high-priority streams or high-priority client device, which can be seen as, wherein the detecting of the occurrence of the dynamic wireless link comprises detecting that a client device in wireless communication with the first access point is sending or is attempting to send high priority data (Kar, [0036]-[0052], [0057-[0076], [0123]-[0167]: [0036] Thereafter, the AP can dynamically steer traffic from client devices (such as communication devices without cellular capabilities) to one or more of the cellular-enabled devices according to various path metrics such as link quality, connection strength, battery level, processing capabilities, or security policies. In some implementations, the AP may steer traffic according to user-specified criteria. For example, the AP may steer high-priority traffic flows to nearby cellular-enabled devices, and may avoid steering low-priority traffic flows until the backhaul connection is restored. Additionally, or alternatively, the AP may steer all traffic to or from a client device if one or more traffic streams of the client device are deemed high-priority, or if the client device itself is deemed a high-priority device. The dynamic path selection mechanisms of this disclosure can also be used in the absence of a backhaul outage. In some implementations, the AP may establish a multi-path transmission control protocol (MPTCP) connection to improve the reliability and resiliency of traffic flows between client devices and the communication network. [0061] In some implementations, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may re-route traffic from the cable/fiber modem 215 to another connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) via the WLAN client 220-a (also referred to herein as a radio). Additionally, or alternatively, upon detection of an outage, the AP 202 may instruct a client (such as the client device 230-a) to directly hotspot to a selected alternative connected client (such as the cellular-enabled device 210-a) based on one or more traffic streams associated with the client device 230-a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chen with Kar to improve traffic management and resiliency by dynamically steering or establishing alternate wireless communication paths for high-priority traffic and devices during changing network conditions, such as congestion or outages (Kar, [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Laselva et al. (US 20250184855 A1) discloses one of the one or more handover configurations comprising at least one of: an indication of one or more candidate target cells, or information for target cell selection.
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468