DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-15, 17-20 are pending. Examiner notes the cancellation of claim 16 in preliminary amendments filed September 19, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a receiving ramp element” in line 3 and goes on to further recite the limitation “wherein rotation is limited by the respective ramps interfacing with one another” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the respective ramps interfacing with one another”, as only “a receiving ramp element” has been defined within the claim. Further, dependent claims 14-15 and 17 go on to recite the limitation “receiving element”, not a “receiving ramp element”. It is therefore unclear from the language of claim 13 if the “receiving ramp element” should be referred to as a “receiving element”, such as how is referred to in the dependent claims. Further, being that no “respective ramps interfacing with one another” are defined within claim 13, it is unclear if Applicant is merely attempting to state that rotation is limited by the receiving element and coupler assembly interfacing with one another. Based upon Applicant’s disclosure, Examiner will interpret lines 1-7 of claim 13 as reading as:
“A quick mount system for removably attaching an accessory to a mounting structure, comprising:
a first interfacing component having a receiving
a second interfacing component having a coupler assembly configured to mate with the receiving receiving element and coupler assembly interfacing with one another”.
Claim 17 recites the limitations “the at least one ramp” in line 1 and “the at least one corresponding ramp” in lines 4-5. Both limitations lack antecedent basis within the claim. Examiner does recognize that dependent claim 14 defines of both the “at least one ramp” and the “at least one corresponding ramp”. Thus, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 17 depends from claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huddleston (US 5,520,164) in view of Hübner (DE 102016106485).
Regarding claim 1, Huddleston discloses of a quick mount system for removably attaching an accessory to a mounting structure (comprising 210, 212, see Fig. 2), comprising:
a first interfacing component (212) having a receiving element (comprising 232, 233, 242) formed therein (see Fig. 2);
a second interfacing component (210) having a coupler assembly (comprising 222, 230) configured to mate with the receiving element in a first position (when 222 is received in 242 and 230 remain in portions 232 prior to rotation, see Col. 4 lines 7-12), and rotate into an engagement position relative to the first interfacing component (when 210 has been rotated relative to 212 such that 230 are engaged within 233 of 210, see Col. 4 lines 7-12).
Huddleston does not explicitly disclose wherein the quick mount system comprises a magnetic coupler to maintain the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component in the engagement position to attach the accessory to the mounting structure.
Hübner teaches of a mount system comprising a first interfacing component (ZH) and a second interfacing component (EH), wherein the interfacing components are configured to mate in a first position (when KS of EH are received in KBE1 of ZH, see [0030] of the attached translated description) and rotate into an engagement position (when KS of EH are rotated into KBE2 of ZH, see Fig. 5, see [0030] of the attached translated description), wherein the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler (comprising bar magnets S3H on the first interfacing component and bar magnets S3D on the second interfacing component) that is configured to maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position (see [0030] of the translated description stating that the bar magnets cause ZH and EH to rotate relative to each other so that KS are received in KBE2, which is the engagement position), wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet of the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component (as described in [0030] of the translated description), wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position (see Fig. 10a-10b, see [0030] and [0041] of the attached translated description), wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component (see Fig. 10a-b, see [0042] of the attached translated description), wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling (see [0005], [0040] of the attached translated description), and wherein the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components (see [0006] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Hübner, such that the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler that is configured to maintain the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component in the engagement position, wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet on the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position, wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling, as in doing such the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components. In doing such, the magnetic coupler will maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position so that an accessory can be attached to the mounting structure.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Huddleston and Hübner further teach wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet on the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component (as taught by Hübner in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Huddleston and Hübner further teach wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position (as taught by Hübner in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Huddleston and Hübner further teach wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling (as taught by Hübner in claim 1).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huddleston in view of Hübner as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Fiedler at al. (US 2017/0057420; hereinafter Fiedler).
Regarding claim 2, neither Huddleston nor Hübner explicitly teach wherein the mount system further comprises an interference interface between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component, the interference interface limiting rotation of the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component relative to each other.
Fiedler teaches of a similar mount system (1) for attaching an accessory (see [0055], i.e. electronic device), wherein an interference interface is provided between a first interfacing component (3) and a second interfacing component (2), wherein the interference interface limits rotation between the first and second interfacing components relative to each other (via ramped threads 221, 321 that are screw connectable by rotation, see [0057]), wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp (321) on a receiving element (32) of the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding ramp (221) on a coupler assembly (22) of the second interfacing component (see Fig. 1A, see [0058]-[0059]), wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element and the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly mate and tighten together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direction relative to the second interfacing component and loosen from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component (see [0057]-[0058]), wherein the at least one ramp (321) formed on the receiving element (32) has a circular shape (see Fig. 1A showing the at least one ramp formed on an inner circumferential surface of the receiving element 32, i.e. having a circular shape), wherein relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align (see [0056] and Fig. 1A discussing and showing the axial alignment) while limiting rotation to less than one relative rotation by way of a stop (331) located on the receiving element (see [0064]), and wherein the interference interface allows for a connection between the first and second interfacing components having a high degree of mechanical stability and can be produced in a cost-efficient manner (see [0015]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Fiedler, such that the mount system further comprises an interference interface between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component, wherein the interference interface limits rotation between the first and second interfacing components relative to each other, wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp on the receiving element formed in the first interfacing component, and at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly of the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element and the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly mate and tighten together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direction relative to the second interfacing component and loosen from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element has a circular shape such that relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting rotation to less than one relative rotation by way of a stop located on the receiving element, and wherein the interference interface allows for a connection between the first and second interfacing components having a high degree of mechanical stability and can be produced in a cost-efficient manner.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Fiedler further teach wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp formed on the receiving element formed in the first interfacing component, and at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly of the second interfacing component (as taught in claim 2 by Fiedler).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Fiedler further teach wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element mates with the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly, and tighten together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direction relative to the second interfacing component (as taught in claim 2 by Fiedler).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Fiedler further teach wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element mates with the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly, and loosen from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component (as taught in claim 2 by Fiedler).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Fiedler further teach wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element has a circular shape such that relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting the rotation to less than one relative revolution (as taught in claim 2 by Fiedler).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Fiedler further teach wherein the relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting the rotation to less than one relative revolution (as taught in claim 2 by Fiedler).
Neither Huddleston, Hübner, nor Fiedler teach wherein the at least one corresponding ramp formed on the coupler assembly has an elliptical shape. However, Applicant is reminded that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e. corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly), changing the shape of a prior art device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston to have the at least one corresponding ramp formed on the coupler assembly have an elliptical shape, as such requires only routine skill in the art.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huddleston in view of Hübner and Hamkens et al. (US 2024/0226786; hereinafter Hamkens).
Regarding claim 12, Huddleston discloses of a quick mount system for removably attaching an accessory to a mounting structure (comprising 210, 212, see Fig. 2), comprising:
a first interfacing component (212) having a receiving element (comprising 232, 233, 242) formed therein (see Fig. 2);
a second interfacing component (210) having a coupler assembly (comprising 222, 230) configured to mate with the receiving element in a first position (when 222 is received in 242 and 230 remain in portions 232 prior to rotation, see Col. 4 lines 7-12), and rotate into an engagement position relative to the first interfacing component (when 210 has been rotated relative to 212 such that 230 are engaged within 233 of 210, see Col. 4 lines 7-12).
Huddleston does not explicitly disclose wherein the quick mount system comprises a magnetic coupler to maintain the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component in the engagement position to attach the accessory to the mounting structure, and a secondary locking mechanism operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in the engagement position.
Hübner teaches of a mount system comprising a first interfacing component (ZH) and a second interfacing component (EH), wherein the interfacing components are configured to mate in a first position (when KS of EH are received in KBE1 of ZH, see [0030] of the attached translated description) and rotate into an engagement position (when KS of EH are rotated into KBE2 of ZH, see Fig. 5, see [0030] of the attached translated description), wherein the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler (comprising bar magnets S3H on the first interfacing component and bar magnets S3D on the second interfacing component) that is configured to maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position (see [0030] of the translated description stating that the bar magnets cause ZH and EH to rotate relative to each other so that KS are received in KBE2, which is the engagement position), and wherein the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components (see [0006] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Hübner, such that the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler that is configured to maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position, and wherein the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components.
Hamkens teaches of a coupling mechanism comprising a first interfacing component (17) and a second interfacing component (11), the first interfacing component having a receiving element (32) and the second interfacing component having a coupling assembly (31; see Fig. 1 and [0055], and wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a secondary locking mechanism in the form of a set screw (55) received in a counter-bore (54), wherein the set screw and counter-bore are configured to be operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in an engagement position (engagement position see Fig. 2b, see [0063]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Hamkens, to have the mount system further comprise a secondary locking mechanism in the form of a set screw received in a counter-bore that is operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in the engagement position, as in doing such would yield the predictable result of further securement of the first and second interfacing components when they are in the engagement position.
Claims 13, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huddleston in view of Hübner and Hamkens.
Regarding claim 13, Huddleston discloses a quick mount system for removably attaching an accessory to a mounting structure, comprising:
a first interfacing component (212) having a receiving element (comprising 232, 233, 242) formed therein (see Fig. 2);
a second interfacing component (210) having a coupler assembly (comprising 222, 230) configured to mate with the receiving element in a first position (when 222 is received in 242 and 230 remain in portions 232 prior to rotation, see Col. 4 lines 7-12), and rotate into an engagement position relative to the first interfacing component (when 210 has been rotated relative to 212 such that 230 are engaged within 233 of 210, see Col. 4 lines 7-12), wherein rotation is limited by the receiving element and coupler assembly interfacing with one another (see Col. 4 lines 7-12).
Huddleston does not explicitly disclose wherein the quick mount system comprises a magnetic coupler to maintain the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component in the engagement position to attach the accessory to the mounting structure, and a secondary locking mechanism operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in the engagement position.
Hübner teaches of a mount system comprising a first interfacing component (ZH) and a second interfacing component (EH), wherein the interfacing components are configured to mate in a first position (when KS of EH are received in KBE1 of ZH, see [0030] of the attached translated description) and rotate into an engagement position (when KS of EH are rotated into KBE2 of ZH, see Fig. 5, see [0030] of the attached translated description), wherein the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler (comprising bar magnets S3H on the first interfacing component and bar magnets S3D on the second interfacing component) that is configured to maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position (see [0030] of the translated description stating that the bar magnets cause ZH and EH to rotate relative to each other so that KS are received in KBE2, which is the engagement position), wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet of the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component (as described in [0030] of the translated description), wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position (see Fig. 10a-10b, see [0030] and [0041] of the attached translated description), wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component (see Fig. 10a-b, see [0042] of the attached translated description), wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling (see [0005], [0040] of the attached translated description), and wherein the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components (see [0006] of the attached translated description).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Hübner, such that the mount system further comprises a magnetic coupler that is configured to maintain the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component in the engagement position, wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet on the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position, wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling, as in doing such the magnetic coupler allows for quick assembly and disassembly of the first and second interfacing components. In doing such, the magnetic coupler will maintain the first and second interfacing components in the engagement position so that an accessory can be attached to the mounting structure.
Hamkens teaches of a coupling mechanism comprising a first interfacing component (17) and a second interfacing component (11), the first interfacing component having a receiving element (32) and the second interfacing component having a coupling assembly (31; see Fig. 1 and [0055], and wherein the coupling mechanism comprises a secondary locking mechanism in the form of a set screw (55) received in a counter-bore (54), wherein the set screw and counter-bore are configured to be operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in an engagement position (engagement position see Fig. 2b, see [0063]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Hamkens, to have the mount system further comprise a secondary locking mechanism in the form of a set screw received in a counter-bore that is operable to prevent the first interfacing component from rotating relative to the second interfacing component when in the engagement position, as in doing such would yield the predictable result of further securement of the first and second interfacing components when they are in the engagement position.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Hamkens further teach wherein the magnetic coupler generates a magnetic force between at least one magnet on the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding magnet on the second interfacing component (as taught by Hübner in claim 13).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Hamkens further teach wherein the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially axially aligned in the engagement position (as taught by Hübner in claim 13).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Hamkens further teach wherein magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are substantially parallel to an axis of rotation of the first interfacing component relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the magnetic fields of the at least one magnet and the at least one corresponding magnet are arranged North-to-South and South-to-North for magnetic coupling (as taught by Hübner in claim 13).
Claims 14-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huddleston in view of Hübner and Hamkens as applied to claim 13 and in further view of Fiedler.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, and Hamkens further teach wherein the secondary locking mechanism comprises a set screw (as taught by Hamkens in claim 13), however, none explicitly teach of an interference interface between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component, the interference interface limiting rotation of the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component relative to each other, wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp formed on the receiving element formed in the first interfacing component, and at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly of the second interfacing component.
Fiedler teaches of a similar mount system (1) for attaching an accessory (see [0055], i.e. electronic device), wherein an interference interface is provided between a first interfacing component (3) and a second interfacing component (2), wherein the interference interface limits rotation between the first and second interfacing components relative to each other (via ramped threads 221, 321 that are screw connectable by rotation, see [0057]), wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp (321) on a receiving element (32) of the first interfacing component and at least one corresponding ramp (221) on a coupler assembly (22) of the second interfacing component (see Fig. 1A, see [0058]-[0059]), wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element and the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly mate and tighten together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direction relative to the second interfacing component and loosen from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component (see [0057]-[0058]), wherein the at least one ramp (321) formed on the receiving element (32) has a circular shape (see Fig. 1A showing the at least one ramp formed on an inner circumferential surface of the receiving element 32, i.e. having a circular shape), wherein relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align (see [0056] and Fig. 1A discussing and showing the axial alignment) while limiting rotation to less than one relative rotation by way of a stop (331) located on the receiving element (see [0064]), and wherein the interference interface allows for a connection between the first and second interfacing components having a high degree of mechanical stability and can be produced in a cost-efficient manner (see [0015]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston with the teachings of Fiedler, such that the mount system further comprises an interference interface between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component, wherein the interference interface limits rotation between the first and second interfacing components relative to each other, wherein the interference interface comprises at least one ramp on the receiving element formed in the first interfacing component, and at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly of the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element and the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly mate and tighten together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direction relative to the second interfacing component and loosen from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component, wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element has a circular shape such that relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting rotation to less than one relative rotation by way of a stop located on the receiving element, and wherein the interference interface allows for a connection between the first and second interfacing components having a high degree of mechanical stability and can be produced in a cost-efficient manner.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, Hamkens, and Fiedler further teach wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element mates with the at least one corresponding ramp on the coupling assembly, tightening together as the first interfacing component is rotated in a first direciton relative to the second interfacing component, and loosening from one another as the first interfacing component is rotated in a second direction opposite the first direction relative to the second interfacing component (as taught by Fiedler in claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Huddleston, Hübner, Hamkens and Fiedler further teach wherein the at least one ramp formed on the receiving element has a circular shape such that relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting the rotation to less than one relative revolution (as taught by Fiedler in claim 14).
Neither Huddleston, Hübner, Hamkens, nor Fiedler teach wherein the at least one corresponding ramp formed on the coupler assembly has an elliptical shape. However, Applicant is reminded that it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (i.e. corresponding ramp on the coupler assembly), changing the shape of a prior art device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huddleston to have the at least one corresponding ramp formed on the coupler assembly have an elliptical shape, as such requires only routine skill in the art. In doing such, the relative rotation between the first interfacing component and the second interfacing component axially align while limiting the rotation to less than one relative revolution.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-15, 17-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-15, 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/789,967 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, neither Huddleston, Hübner, nor Fiedler explicitly teach or disclose of the circular shape of the receiving element having a diameter that is less than the diameter of the ellipse shape of the coupler assembly. There is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation, absent Applicant’s own disclosure, for the circular shape to have a diameter that is less than the diameter of the ellipse shape. Furthermore, such modifications would not be obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678