DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 6 line 1, the phrase “claim 1” should read –claim 5--, since claim 6 introduces a second tool interface and/or gripping surface without a first tool interface and/or gripping surface, which is introduced in claim 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ‘2788 (DE20202788U1).
With regard to claim 1, ‘2788 teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “A plug connector 2 for forming a plug connection, comprising a sheath 1 which is designed to extend at least almost over an entire length of the plug connector 2 and to move relative to a contact carrier 3 of the plug connector 2, the sheath 1 having at least one opening 16 through which a plug connector cable 24 can be passed, which merges into at least one contact 20 provided on the contact carrier 3”.
With regard to claim 2, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 is designed as an adapter which can be placed on the plug connector 2 such that the sheath 1 fully encloses the plug connector 2”.
With regard to claim 4, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 is formed in one piece over the entire length of the plug connector 2”.
With regard to claim 5, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 comprises at least a first tool interface and/or gripping surface 12 at a first end (top end in figure 1) of the plug connector 2 which faces away from the contact 20”.
With regard to claim 6, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 comprises at least a second tool interface and/or gripping surface (interior surface of 14 in figure 1) at a second end (bottom end in figure 3A) of the plug connector 2 which faces the contact 20”.
With regard to claim 7, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 has a first guiding element 15 which is arranged on an inner side of the sheath 1 and which rotatably and/or displaceably rests against the contact carrier 3”.
With regard to claim 8, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 7”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 has at least one second guiding element (inner surface of 16 in figure 1) which is arranged on an inner side of the sheath 1 and which rotatably and/or displaceably rests against the contact carrier 3, wherein the first guiding element 15 and the second guiding element are arranged spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction (up-and-down direction in figure 1) of the plug connector 2”.
With regard to claim 9, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the sheath 1 has a connecting element (interior surface of 16 in figure 1) at a second end of the plug connector 2 which faces the contact 20”.
With regard to claim 10, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 9”, as shown above.
‘2788 also teaches, as shown in figures 1-9A: “wherein the connecting element is an internal thread or an external thread or a push-pull connector”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘2788 (DE20202788U1).
With regard to claim 3, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 does not specifically teach: “wherein the sheath is designed in several parts, so that several sheath parts are provided which can be coupled to each other”. However, ‘2788 teaches forming an outer portion 3 in two pieces 30 and 31 that can be coupled together. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the sheath in two pieces that can be coupled together in order to assemble and disassemble the sheath around the plug connector. Also, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘2788 (DE20202788U1) in view of Ramos et al. (2014/0256166).
With regard to claim 11, ‘2788 teaches: “The plug connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
‘2788 does not teach: “comprising a sealing element which is fixedly arranged on the contact carrier and is designed to connect the contact carrier in a sealing manner to the plug connector cable, the sealing element being arranged at least partially inside the movable sheath”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, Ramos teaches, as shown in figures 2-3: “comprising a sealing element 110 which is fixedly arranged on the contact carrier 145 and is designed to connect the contact carrier 145 in a sealing manner to the plug connector cable 150, the sealing element 110 being arranged at least partially inside the movable sheath 115”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Ramos with the invention of ‘2788 in order to provide waterproofing (Ramos, paragraph 25).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831