DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 3 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 10-201500127339) hereafter referred to as Lee.
Figure 1: Examiner modification of Fig. 2 by Lee showing an extension line of the first surface (E1) and an extension line of the second surface (E2).
In regards to claim 1, Lee discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (110 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0032) including a dielectric layer (111 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0032) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (121, 122 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0032), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1 shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (131 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0032) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (131a – Fig. 2), the first lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (131a – Figure 1 shown above), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (131c – Fig. 2), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (131c – Fig. 2), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (131b – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0058-0068 describe that 131b may be an amorphous oxide containing Ba, Si, Zn and/or Ca, i.e., a glass); and a second external electrode (132 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0032) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (132a – Fig. 2), the second lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (132a – Figure 1 shown above), a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (132c – Fig. 2), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (132c – Fig. 2), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (132b – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0058-0068 describe that 131b may be an amorphous oxide containing Ba, Si, Zn and/or Ca, i.e., a glass), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (131a, 132a – paragraph 0044), and each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes Cu and a second glass (131c, 132c – paragraph 0048).
In regards to claim 2, Lee discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paragraphs 0050-0054), and the second glass includes one or more of Al and Si (paragraphs 0050-0054).
In regards to claim 5, Lee discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass layer has a discontinuous region, and the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer are in contact with each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (paragraph 0012; in order for the external electrode to be “electrically connected to the first and second internal electrodes”, there must be discontinuities in 131b, 132b where the layers 131a, 132a and 131c, 132c are in contact with each other as 131b, 132b are electrical insulators).
In regards to claim 6, Lee discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass layer has a discontinuous region(paragraph 0012; in order for the external electrode to be “electrically connected to the first and second internal electrodes”, there must be discontinuities in 131b, 132b where the layers 131a, 132a and 131b, 132b are in contact with each other as 131b, 132b are electrical insulators), and the multilayer electronic component includes an alloy, which includes Ag and Cu, disposed in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (paragraph 0095; firing the chips at 1050-1200 °C will form an alloy of Ag and Cu in portions of the discontinuous regions where Ag and Cu meet).
In regards to claim 10, Lee discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first external electrode further includes a first plating layer disposed on the first upper electrode layer (131d – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0071-0072), and the second external electrode further includes a second plating layer disposed on the second upper electrode layer (132d – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0071-0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20120295122 A1) in view of Katsuhiko et al. (JP 2008159965 A).
Figure 2: Examiner modified Fig. 4 of Park '122 based upon paragraphs 0080, 0082, and 0112-0113. Specifically, glass grains forming a glass layer (g) with discontinuous regions at the interface of 21 and 22 are shown.
In regards to claims 1, Park ‘122 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (10 – Fig. 1A paragraph 0033) including a dielectric layer (11 – Fig. 1B paragraph 0086) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (30 – Fig. 1A paragraph 0028), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1A shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (21 – Fig, 1B), the first lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (21 – Fig, 1B), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above); and a second external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (21 – Fig. 1B), the second lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (21 – Fig. 1B), a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes a first glass (paragraph 0043), and each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes Cu and a second glass (paragraphs 0016-0017). Park ‘122 fails to disclose wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass.
Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (3 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silver (Ag) of Katsuhiko ‘965 in the composition of the lower electrode of Park ‘122 to improve oxidation resistance and protect the internal electrodes (paragraph 0018 Katsuhiko ‘965).
In regards to claim 2,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paragraph 0014 of Park ‘122), and the second glass includes one or more of Al and Si (paragraph 0014 of Park ‘122).
In regards to claim 3,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the second glass includes Al (paragraph 0103 Table I of Park ‘122 shows that the second glass includes Al), and a number of moles of Al relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass is greater than the number of moles of Al, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass (paragraph 0103 Table I of Park ‘122 shows that the second glass includes Al while the first glass contain no Al).
In regards to claim 4,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses that the amount of Ba, Zn or both in the first glass and the second glass is a result-effective variable for controlling the softening point and melting point of the first glass and the second glass (paragraphs 0044-0045, 0057-0059 and 0066-0070 of Park ‘122). Furthermore, Park ‘122 suggests that the content of ZnO is higher in the first glass given the range of 0-30 parts by mole compared to the range of 0-10 parts by mole for the second glass (paragraphs 0044-0045 of Park ‘122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the softening point and melting point of the first glass and improving workability (paragraphs 0057, 0059 and 0069-0070 of Park ‘122) by including a greater amount of Ba and/or Zn in the first glass such that the multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the first glass includes Ba, Zn, or both, and a sum of a number of moles of Ba, if present, and a number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass is greater than a sum of the number of moles of Ba, if present, and the number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 11, Park ‘122 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (10 – Fig. 1A paragraph 0033) including a dielectric layer (11 – Fig. 1B paragraph 0086) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (30 – Fig. 1A paragraph 0028), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1A shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (21 – Fig. 1A), the first lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (21 – Fig. 1B), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above); and a second external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (21 – Fig. 1B), the second lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (21 – Fig. 1B), a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes a first glass (paragraph 0043), and each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes Cu and a second glass that includes Al (paragraphs 0016-0017, 0045 and 0103 Table I). Park ‘122 fails to disclose wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass.
Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (3 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silver (Ag) of Katsuhiko ‘965 in the composition of the lower electrode of Park ‘122 to improve oxidation resistance and protect the internal electrodes (paragraph 0018 of Katsuhiko ‘965).
In regards to claim 12,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 11, wherein a number of moles of Al relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass is greater than the number of moles of Al, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass (paragraph 0103 Table I of Park ‘122 shows that the second glass contains Al while the first glass contains none).
In regards to claim 13,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 12, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paragraphs 0044 and 0103 Table I of Park ‘122).
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (US 20190385797 A1) in view of Lee.
In regards to claim 1,
Bang ‘797 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (110 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0028) including a dielectric layer (111 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (121, 122 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1 shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (131 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0028) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (131a – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028), the first lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (131a – Fig. 2), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (131b – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (131a – Fig. 2); and a second external electrode (132 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (132a – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028), the second lower electrode layer disposed between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (132a – Fig. 2), a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (132b – Fig. 2 paragraph 0028), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface, and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (132b – Fig. 2), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (paragraphs 0041-0042), and each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes Cu and a second glass (paragraphs 0041-0042).
Bang ‘797 fails to explicitly disclose a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer. Lee discloses a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (132b – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0058-0068 of Lee describe that 131b may be an amorphous oxide containing Ba, Si, Zn and/or Ca, i.e., a glass). Specifically, Lee teaches that a second phase, which may be a glass, is formed due to a reaction between a first glass and a second glass in a lower electrode layer and an upper electrode layer, respectively. Furthermore, the second phase (or glass layer) is disposed at an interface between the lower and upper electrodes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the electronic component of Bang ‘797 includes a glass layer disposed between the lower electrode layer and the upper electrode layer in order to better suppress the penetration of a plating solution (paragraph 0058 of Lee).
In regards to claim 2, Bang ‘797 as modified Lee further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paragraph 0014 of Bang ‘797), and the second glass includes one or more of Al and Si (paragraph 0014 Bang ‘797).
In regards to claim 4, Bang ‘797 as modified Lee further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the first glass includes Ba, Zn, or both (paragraph 0014 of Bang ‘797), and a sum of a number of moles of Ba, if present, and a number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass is greater than a sum of the number of moles of Ba, if present, and the number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass (paragraphs 0014, 0036, 0054-0056, 0087 and 0097 of Bang ‘797; Note that Ba and Zn are not required to be present in the second glass).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20100118467 A1)
In regards to claim 7,
Lee discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the body has a first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other, a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other, a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other, and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other, and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner, and the second lower electrode layer has (i) a third end disposed on the first-fourth corner, and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-fourth corner.
Takeuchi ‘467 discloses wherein the body has a first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0016), a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0016), a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0016), and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 paragraph 0016), and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner (Fig. 1 paragraph 0039), and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner (Fig. 1 paragraph 0039), and the second lower electrode layer has (i) a third end disposed on the first-fourth corner (Fig. 1 paragraph 0039), and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-fourth corner (Fig. 1 paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the ends of the lower electrode layers of Lee onto the rounded corners of the body taught by Takeuchi ‘467, thereby reducing component size in the lamination direction (increasing volume efficiency) and lengthening the penetration path of moisture to improve humidity resistance reliability (paragraphs 0019-0020 of Takeuchi ‘467).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20120007709 A1).
In regards to claim 8,
Lee discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 1, but Lee fails to disclose wherein in
a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2.
Taniguchi ‘709 discloses, wherein in a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2 (4, 5 – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0039 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper electrode layer of Lee to be thicker in a central portion than the lower electrode layer of Lee, as taught by Taniguchi ‘709. This allows the upper electrode layer to be closer to the body, improving the mechanical connection between the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer (see Fig. 4 paragraphs 0045-0046 of Taniguchi ‘709). Furthermore, having a thicker upper electrode layer prevents a plating solution from entering the body (paragraphs 0039 and 0042 of Taniguchi ‘709).
In regards to claim 9,
Lee as modified by Taniguchi ‘709 discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 8, but Lee fails to disclose wherein t1 is 5 um or more and 7 um or less.
Taniguchi ‘709 further discloses wherein t1 is 0.5 um to 15 um, or more preferably 1 um to 8 um (Taniguchi ‘709 paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impose a restriction on the thickness of the lower electrode layer of 1 um to 8 um, which completely includes the claimed range 5 um to 7 um, to keep the upper electrode layer close to the body for increased bonding strength between the lower layer and upper layer (paragraphs 0039 and 0045-0046 of Taniguchi ‘709).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20120295122 A1) in view of Katsuhiko et al (JP 2008159965 A) and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20120007709 A1).
In regards to claim 14,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim
13, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2.
Taniguchi ‘709 discloses, wherein in a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2 (4, 5 – Fig. 2 paragraphs 0039 and 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper electrode layer of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 to be thicker in a central portion than the lower electrode layer of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965, as taught by Taniguchi ‘709. This allows the upper electrode layer to be closer to the body, improving the mechanical connection between the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer (Fig. 4 paragraphs 0045-0046 of Taniguchi ‘709). Furthermore, having a thicker upper electrode layer prevents a plating solution from entering the body (paragraphs 0039 and 0042 of Taniguchi ‘709).
In regards to claim 15,
Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 and further modified by Taniguchi ‘709 discloses the multilayer electronic component of claim 14. Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 fails to disclose wherein t1 is 5 um or more and 7 um or less.
Taniguchi ‘709 further discloses wherein t1 is 0.5 um to 15 um, or more preferably 1 um to 8 um (paragraph 0039).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impose a restriction on the thickness of the lower electrode layer of 1 um to 8 um, which completely includes the claimed range 5 um to 7 um, to keep the upper electrode layer close to the body for increased bonding strength between the lower layer and upper layer (paragraphs 0039 and 0045-0046 of Taniguchi ‘709).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ritter et al. US 20070014075 A1 – Fig. 10B paragraph 0157
Lee et al. US 2022/0172895 A1 – Fig. 4
Oh et al. US 20220406524 A1 – Abstract
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847