DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Lee et al. KR 20150127339 A, applicant
argues
Lee ‘339 secondary phases cannot be formed at the interface between the metal of the first electrode layers 131a and 132a, and
Lee ‘339 fails to disclose that the metal of the second electrode layers 131c and 132c and that Lee ‘399 fails to disclose that that the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region of the first glass layer
However, para. [0074] of Lee ‘339 explicitly discloses “the first glass and the second may be disposed at an interface between the first electrode layers 131a and 132a and the second electrode layers 131c and 132c and therefore the secondary phases are also at an interface between the first electrode layers 131a and 132a and the second electrode layers 131c and 132c”. Moreover, Figs. 2 and 4 of Lee ‘399 shows the secondary phase at an interface of the two metals. Regarding argument b, as glass is an electrical insulator, the first and second metal must contact each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region for the outermost electrode to be in electrical contact with the internal electrodes. Otherwise, the device would not be capable of functioning as a capacitor.
Regarding Park et al US 2012/0295122, applicant argues
the glass is not present in the form of a glass layer, but rather as glass phases dispersed within the first layer 21 or the second layer 22,
the glass cannot be regarded as being disposed at an interface between the first metal and the second metal since the glass in each layer is dispersed within the metal of the respective layer, nor can the first metal and the second metal be regarded as contacting each other through a discontinuous region of a glass layer
However, regarding argument c, a collection of discontinuous glass phases may be considered as forming a layer. A layer does not require continuous formation of a specific material. Moreover, applicant uses the term layer to include a collection of glass material at an interface of two layers with discontinuities. Regarding argument d, Fig. 4 of Park ‘122 shows glass phases present at an interface (represented by a dashed line) between the first layer 21 (B in Fig. 4 of Park ‘122) and the second layer (C in Fig. 4 of Park ‘122). Furthermore para. [0039] discloses that the glass particles may agglomerate and exude to the surface of the first layer 21, making plating difficult. As stated in para. [0040], the second layer 22 is used to overcome this issue. Therefore, an agglomeration of glass with discontinuities is formed at an interface between the first layer 21 and the second layer 22. For the device to function, the first layer and the second layer must contact each other between the discontinuities in the glass layer.
Regarding Katsuhiko et al. JP 2008159965, applicant argues Katsuhiko ‘965 does not teach or suggest a glass layer having a discontinuous region in which the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other. The examiner agrees that Katsuhiko ‘965 does not teach these limitations, however, Katsuhiko ‘965 is not relied upon for suggesting or teaching a glass layer having a discontinuous region in which the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other, rather, Park ‘122 is relied upon for these limitations (as discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20150127339 A).
Figure 1: Examiner modification of Fig. 2 by Lee ‘399 showing an extension line of the first surface (E1) and an extension line of the second surface (E2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee ‘339 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (110 – Fig. 1 para. [0032]) including a dielectric layer (111 – Fig. 2 para. [0032]) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (121, 122 – Fig. 2 para. [0032]), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1 shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (131 – Fig. 2 para. [0032]) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (131a – Fig. 2), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (131c – Fig. 2), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (131c – Fig. 2), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (131b – Fig. 2 paras. [0058-0068 ]describe that 131b may be an amorphous oxide containing Ba, Si, Zn and/or Ca, i.e., a glass); and a second external electrode (132 – Fig. 2 paragraph 0032) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (132a – Fig. 2); a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (132c – Fig. 2), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (132c – Fig. 2), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (132b – Fig. 2 paras. [0058-0068] describe that 131b may be an amorphous oxide containing Ba, Si, Zn and/or Ca, i.e., a glass), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes a first metal that includes Ag and a first glass (131a, 132a – para. [0044]), each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes a second metal that includes Cu and a second glass (131c, 132c – para. [0048]), at least a portion of the first glass layer is disposed at an interface between the first metal and the second metal (Fig. 4 para. [0074] discloses the second phase (i.e., a glass) disposed at an interface of the first metal and the second metal), the first glass layer has a discontinuous region, and the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (para. [0012]; in order for the external electrode to be “electrically connected to the first and second internal electrodes”, there must be discontinuities in 131b, 132b where the layers 131a, 132a and 131c, 132c are in contact with each other as 131b, 132b are electrical insulators).
Regarding claim 2, Lee ‘339 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paras. [0050-0054]), and the second glass includes one or more of Al and Si (paras. [0050-0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee ‘339 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the multilayer electronic component includes an alloy, which includes Ag and Cu, disposed in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (para. [0095]; firing the chips at 1050-1200 °C will form an alloy of Ag and Cu in portions of the discontinuous regions where Ag and Cu contact each other).
Regarding claim 10, Lee ‘339 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first external electrode further includes a first plating layer disposed on the first upper electrode layer (131d – Fig. 2 paras. [0071-0072]), and the second external electrode further includes a second plating layer disposed on the second upper electrode layer (132d – Fig. 2 paras. [0071-0072]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee ‘339 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first metal includes Ag as a main component (para. [0044] discloses one or more of a list of metals including Ag. When the conductive metal is only Ag, then Ag is the main component), and the second metal includes Cu as a main component (para. [0048] discloses one or more of a list of metals including Cu. When the conductive metal is only Cu, then Cu is the main component).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20120295122 A1) in view of Katsuhiko et al. (JP 2008159965 A).
Figure 2: Examiner modified Fig. 4 of Park '122 based upon paras. [0080], [0082], and [0112-0113]. Specifically, glass grains forming a glass layer (g) with discontinuous regions at the interface of 21 and 22 are shown.
Regarding claim 1, Park ‘122 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (10 – Fig. 1A para. [0033]) including a dielectric layer (11 – Fig. 1B para. [0086]) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (30 – Fig. 1A para. [0028]), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1A shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (21 – Fig, 1B), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above); and a second external electrode (20 – Fig. 1A) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (21 – Fig. 1B); a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 1B), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 1B), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes a first metal and a first glass (paras. [0014] and [0043]), each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes a second metal that includes Cu and a second glass (paras. [0016-0017]), at least a portion of the first glass layer is disposed at an interface between the first metal and the second metal (g – Figure 2 shown above; paras. [0039-0040]), the first glass layer has a discontinuous region (g – Figure 2 shown above shows discontinuities between the agglomerated glass g where the first layer and the second layer contact each other), and the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (Figure 2 shown above shows an interface where the first layer and the second layer contact each other in discontinuous regions. Furthermore, the first layer and the second layer must be in contact for the device to function). Park ‘122 fails to disclose that the first metal includes Ag.
Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (3 – Fig. 1 para. [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silver (Ag) of Katsuhiko ‘965 in the composition of the lower electrode of Park ‘122 to improve oxidation resistance and protect the internal electrodes (para. [0018] of Katsuhiko ‘965).
Regarding claim 2, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (para. [0014] of Park ‘122), and the second glass includes one or more of Al and Si (para. [0014] of Park ‘122).
Regarding claim 3, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the second glass includes Al (para. [0103] and Table I of Park ‘122 shows that the second glass includes Al), and a number of moles of Al relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass is greater than the number of moles of Al, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass (para. [0103] and Table I of Park ‘122 show that the second glass includes Al while the first glass contains no Al).
Regarding claim 4, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses that the amount of Ba, Zn or both in the first glass and the second glass is a result-effective variable for controlling the softening point and melting point of the first glass and the second glass (paras. [0044-0045], [0057-0059] and [0066-0070] of Park ‘122). Furthermore, Park ‘122 suggests that the content of ZnO is higher in the first glass given the range of 0-30 parts by mole compared to the range of 0-10 parts by mole for the second glass (paras. [0044-0045] of Park ‘122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the softening point and melting point of the first glass and improving workability (paras. [0057], [0059] and [0069-0070] of Park ‘122) by including a greater amount of Ba and/or Zn in the first glass such that the multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein the first glass includes Ba, Zn, or both, and a sum of a number of moles of Ba, if present, and a number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass is greater than a sum of the number of moles of Ba, if present, and the number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Park ‘122 discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising: a body (10 – Fig. 1A para. [0033]) including a dielectric layer (11 – Fig. 1B para. [0086]) and first and second internal electrodes alternately disposed with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (30 – Fig. 1A para. [0028]), the body having a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction, a third surface and a fourth surface opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first surface and the second surface , and a fifth surface and a sixth surface opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (Fig. 1A shows the body is parallelepiped in shape); a first external electrode (21, 22 – Fig. 2b) including: a first lower electrode layer disposed on the third surface (21 – Fig, 2B), a first upper electrode layer disposed on the first lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 2B), the first upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 2B), and a first glass layer disposed between the first lower electrode layer and the first upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above); and a second external electrode (21, 22 – Fig. 2B) including: a second lower electrode layer disposed on the fourth surface (21 – Fig. 2B); a second upper electrode layer disposed on the second lower electrode layer (22 – Fig. 2B), the second upper electrode layer disposed to extend onto a portion of the first surface and the second surface (22 – Fig. 2B), and a second glass layer disposed between the second lower electrode layer and the second upper electrode layer (g – Figure 2 shown above), wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes a first metal and a first glass (paras. [0014] and [0043]), each of the first and second upper electrode layers includes a second metal that includes Cu and a second glass that includes Al (paras. [0016-0017], [0045], [0103] and Table I), at least a portion of the first glass layer is disposed at an interface between the first metal and the second metal (g – Figure 2 shown above; paras. [0039-0040]), the first glass layer has a discontinuous region (g – Figure 2 shown above shows discontinuities between the agglomerated glass g where the first layer and the second layer contact each other), and the first metal and the second metal are in contact with each other in at least a portion of the discontinuous region (Figure 2 shown above shows an interface where the first layer and the second layer contact each other in discontinuous regions. Furthermore, the first layer and the second layer must be in contact for the device to function). Park ‘122 fails to disclose that the first metal includes Ag.
Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses wherein each of the first and second lower electrode layers includes Ag and a first glass (3 – Fig. 1 para. [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silver (Ag) of Katsuhiko ‘965 in the composition of the lower electrode of Park ‘122 to improve oxidation resistance and protect the internal electrodes (para. [0018] of Katsuhiko ‘965).
Regarding claim 12, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 11, wherein a number of moles of Al relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass is greater than the number of moles of Al, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass (para. [0103] and Table I of Park ‘122 show that the second glass contains Al while the first glass contains none).
Regarding claim 13, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 further discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 12, wherein the first glass includes one or more of Ba, Zn, and Si (paras. [0044], [0103] and Table I of Park ‘122). Park ‘122 also discloses that the amount of Ba, Zn or both in the first glass and the second glass is a result-effective variable for controlling the softening point and melting point of the first glass and the second glass (paras. [0044-0045], [0057-0059] and [0066-0070] of Park ‘122). Furthermore, Park ‘122 suggests that the content of ZnO is higher in the first glass given the range of 0-30 parts by mole compared to the range of 0-10 parts by mole for the second glass (paras. [0044-0045] of Park ‘122).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reduce the softening point and melting point of the first glass and improving workability (paras. [0057], [0059] and [0069-0070] of Park ‘122) by including a greater amount of Ba and/or Zn in the first glass such that the multilayer electronic component of claim 12, wherein the first glass includes Ba, Zn, or both, and a sum of a number of moles of Ba, if present, and a number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to a total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the first glass is greater than a sum of the number of moles of Ba, if present, and the number of moles of Zn, if present, relative to the total number of moles of elements other than oxygen included in the second glass. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the first lower electrode layer and the second lower electrode layer are each disposed entirely between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (Fig. 2B; para. [0092] of Park ‘122).
Regarding claim 18, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 11, the second metal includes Cu as a main component (para. [0035] of Park ‘122). Park ‘122 fails to disclose wherein the first metal includes Ag as a main component.
Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses wherein the first metal includes Ag as a main component (para. [0018] and [0027-0028] disclose a list of metals that may be included and further discloses that at least Ag or Pt is included. Therefore, Ag may be the only metal included in the conductive material, making Ag the main component).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Ag as a main component in the first metal in order to provide excellent oxidation resistance and decrease ESR (para. [0018], [0026], and [0036] of Katsuhiko ‘965)
Regarding claim 19, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 11, wherein the first lower electrode layer and the second lower electrode layer are each disposed entirely between an extension line of the first surface and an extension line of the second surface (Fig. 2B; para. [0092] of Park ‘122).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20150127339 A) in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20100118467 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee ‘399 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the body has a
first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other, a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other, a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other, and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other, and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner, and the first glass layer has (i) a third end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-third corner.
Takeuchi ‘467 discloses wherein the body has a first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner (Fig. 1 para. [0039]), and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner (Fig. 1 para. [0039]). After modification of Lee ‘399 with the rounded corners of Takeuchi ‘467, the first glass layer of Lee ‘399 has (i) a third end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-third corner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the ends of the first lower electrode layer and the first glass layer of Lee ‘399 onto the rounded corners of the body taught by Takeuchi ‘467, thereby reducing component size in the lamination direction (increasing volume efficiency) and lengthening the penetration path of moisture to improve humidity resistance reliability (paras. [0019-0020] of Takeuchi ‘467).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20150127339 A) in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20120007709 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee ‘399 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, but Lee ‘399 fails to disclose wherein in a cross
section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2.
Taniguchi ‘709 discloses, wherein in a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2 (4, 5 – Fig. 2 paras. [0039] and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper electrode layer of Lee ‘399 to be thicker in a central portion than the lower electrode layer of Lee ‘399, as taught by Taniguchi ‘709. This allows the upper electrode layer to be closer to the body, improving the mechanical connection between the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer (see Fig. 4 paras. [0045-0046] of Taniguchi ‘709). Furthermore, having a thicker upper electrode layer prevents a plating solution from entering the body (paras. [0039] and [0042] of Taniguchi ‘709).
Regarding claim 9, Lee ‘399 as modified by Taniguchi ‘709 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 8, but Lee ‘399 fails to disclose wherein t1 is 5 um or more and 7 um or less.
Taniguchi ‘709 further discloses wherein t1 is 0.5 um to 15 um, or more preferably 1 um to 8 um (para. [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impose a restriction on the thickness of the lower electrode layer of 1 um to 8 um, which completely includes the claimed range 5 um to 7 um, to keep the upper electrode layer close to the body for increased bonding strength between the lower layer and upper layer (paras. [0039] and [0045-0046] of Taniguchi ‘709).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20120295122 A1) in view of Katsuhiko et al (JP 2008159965 A) and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20120007709 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 13, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein in a
cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2.
Taniguchi ‘709 discloses, wherein in a cross-section of the multilayer electronic component in the first and second directions, when a thickness of a central region of the first lower electrode layer in the first direction is t1 and a thickness of a central region of the first upper electrode layer in the first direction is t2, t1 and t2 satisfy t1 < t2 (4, 5 – Fig. 2 paras. [0039] and [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper electrode layer of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 to be thicker in a central portion than the lower electrode layer of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965, as taught by Taniguchi ‘709. This allows the upper electrode layer to be closer to the body, improving the mechanical connection between the upper electrode layer and the lower electrode layer (Fig. 4 paras. [0045-0046] of Taniguchi ‘709). Furthermore, having a thicker upper electrode layer prevents a plating solution from entering the body (paras. [0039] and [0042] of Taniguchi ‘709).
Regarding claim 15, Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 and further modified by Taniguchi ‘709 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 14. Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 fails to disclose wherein t1 is 5 um or more and 7 um or less.
Taniguchi ‘709 further discloses wherein t1 is 0.5 um to 15 um, or more preferably 1 um to 8 um (para. [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to impose a restriction on the thickness of the lower electrode layer of 1 um to 8 um, which completely includes the claimed range 5 um to 7 um, to keep the upper electrode layer close to the body for increased bonding strength between the lower layer and upper layer (paras. [0039] and [0045-0046] of Taniguchi ‘709).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20120295122 A1) in view of Katsuhiko et al. (JP 2008159965 A) and further in view of Takeuchi et al. (US 20100118467 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Park ‘122 and modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 11. Park ‘122 and Katsuhiko ‘965 fail to disclose, wherein the body has a first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other, a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other, a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other, and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other, and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner, and the first glass layer has (i) a third end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-third corner.
Takeuchi ‘467 discloses wherein the body has a first-third corner connecting the first surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), a first-fourth corner connecting the first surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), a second-third corner connecting the second surface and the third surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), and a second-fourth corner connecting the second surface and the fourth surface to each other (16 – Fig. 1 para. [0016]), and the first lower electrode layer has (i) a first end disposed on the first-third corner (Fig. 1 para. [0039]), and (ii) a second end disposed on the second-third corner (Fig. 1 paragraph [0039]). After modification of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 with the rounded corners of Takeuchi ‘467, the first glass layer of Park ‘122 as modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 has (i) a third end disposed on the first-third corner, and (ii) a fourth end disposed on the second-third corner.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the ends of the first lower electrode layer and the first glass layer of Park ‘122 and modified by Katsuhiko ‘965 onto the rounded corners of the body taught by Takeuchi ‘467, thereby reducing component size in the lamination direction (increasing volume efficiency) and lengthening the penetration path of moisture to improve humidity resistance reliability (paras. [0019-0020] of Takeuchi ‘467).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200152387 A1: Fig. 4; para. [0068-0069]
US 20180096791 A1: Fig. 2 – base electrode only on side surface
US 20200203072 A1: Fig. 2 & 4 – base electrode only on side surface
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/T.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847