DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 9, the following should be deleted: “)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "each bearing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Song et al., CN116498875 (applicant provided machine translation used for interpretation).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Song et al. discloses a lubrication system (see [0001]) for lubricating a plurality of lubrication points (multi-point), the lubrication system comprising: a lubricant reservoir (connected with pump station – see [0028]); a plurality of lubricant injectors (injector connected to actuator – see [0028]) for providing lubricant from the lubricant reservoir (via pump - as described above) to the plurality of lubrication points (as described above); a control unit (PLC controller – see [0028]) for controlling the flow of lubricant from the lubricant reservoir (as described above) to the plurality of lubricant injectors (as described above), the control unit (as described above) being configured to control the plurality of lubricant injectors (as described above) to simultaneously deliver lubricant to the plurality of lubrication points (as described above) in predefined lubrication cycles (periodic oiling in step 1 – see [0035]); and a condition monitoring unit (vibration temperature detection unit – see [0028]) for monitoring the condition of the plurality of lubrication points (as described above), the condition monitoring unit (as described above) being configured to determine when the condition of at least one of the plurality of lubrication points (as described above) is abnormal (abnormal vibration or temperature data – see [0028]), the control unit (as described above) being configured to control the lubricant injector (as described above) associated with said one lubrication point (abnormal single point oiling – see [0028]) having an abnormal condition to individually deliver an additional dose of lubricant to the corresponding said one lubrication point when the condition monitoring unit determines the condition of said one lubrication point is abnormal (Step 3 – see [0037]).
Regarding claim 2, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit (as described above) is configured to deliver the additional dose of lubricant (as described above) to the lubrication point (as described above) having the abnormal condition outside the predefined lubrication cycles (see [0044]).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 1 and 2, wherein the condition monitoring unit (as described above) comprises at least one sensor (see [0025]) for each bearing (see [0002]) of the plurality of lubrication points (as described above), wherein the at least one sensor (as described above) is configured to monitor at least one parameter (temperature / vibration) of the respective lubrication point (as described above) being indicative for an abnormal condition of the lubrication point (as described above).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 3 and 10, wherein the lubrication point (as described above) is a bearing (see [0002], line 29) and wherein the at least one parameter includes temperature and/or vibration of the bearing (see [0025]).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 3 and 11, wherein the condition monitoring unit (as described above) is configured to compare the value of the monitored parameter (temperature / vibration) with a predefined threshold and is configured to determine that the condition of the respective lubrication point is abnormal when the value of the monitored parameter exceeds the predefined threshold (controller compares numerical values measured vs predefined values – see abstract).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 1 and 12, wherein the condition monitoring unit (as described above) is configured to monitor the plurality of lubrication points continuously (during continuing multi-point periodic oil injections) .
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 1 and 13, wherein the control unit (as described above) is configured to individually control each of the plurality of lubricant injectors (as described above) to stop the transport of lubricant to the plurality of lubrication points (as described above) outside the predefined lubrication cycles (between waiting periods) and to deliver an additional dose (abnormal single point injection- see [0037]) of lubricant to the lubrication point having an abnormal condition if required (see [0037]).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 7 and 14, wherein each of the plurality of lubricant injectors (as described above) comprises a valve (see [0059]) which is configured to be closed or opened by the control unit (as described above).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Song et al. discloses the lubrication system according to claims 1 and 15, wherein the control unit (as described above) is configured to adjust the predefined lubrication cycles (as described above) when the control unit (as described above) determines over a predetermined time period that all lubrication points of the plurality of lubrication points require additional doses of lubricant outside the predefined lubrication cycle (during step 3).
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654