DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2020/0023240, in view of Watanabe et al., U.S. Patent Application No. 2019/0255392. As to Claim 1, Watanabe, ‘240, teaches a muti-piece solid golf ball, paragraph 0026. The ball may comprise a core (1), an intermediate layer (2), and a cover (3), paragraph 0026. A large number of dimples may be formed on the outer surface of the cover, paragraph 0026 and see Figures 1 and 2. The core may be formed of a rubber composition, paragraph 0027. The intermediate layer and the cover may both be formed of a resin composition, paragraphs 0069 and 0078. Watanabe, ‘240, teaches that ball surface hardness may be less than surface hardness of the intermediate layer encased sphere (Shore D), see Table 4 and paragraph 0145. A value obtained by subtracting a center hardness of the entire core from a surface hardness of the entire core may be at least 25 Shore C, see Table 4, Example 1. Watanabe, ‘240, teaches a single layer core instead of a two-layer core, noting a core having a diameter of 37.7 mm, see Table 4. Watanabe, ‘392, teaches a similar golf ball comprising a two-layer entire core having an inner layer core (1a) and an outer layer core (1b), paragraph 0028 and see Figure 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the core as a two-layer construct comprising inner and outer layers, as taught by Watanabe, ‘392, to provide Watanabe, ‘240, with separate core parts to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of customizing the core formulation. The examiner finds that the golf ball of prior art possesses the structural features of the inventive ball and is capable of performing in the same manner, namely by exhibiting ratios of lift to drag at a Reynolds number of 218,000 and spin rate of 2800 rpm and at a Reynolds number of 184,000 and a spin rate of 2,900 rpm, and at a Reynolds number of 158,000 and a spin rate of 3,100, such that 0.590 is equal to or less than the first ratio, which in turn is equal to or less than 0.655, and half of the sum of the second ratio and the third ratio is equal to or greater than 0.670. “The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2112. As to Claim 2, Watanabe, ‘240, teaches that the volume occupancy ratio of the dimples may be from 0.78 to 0.89%, see Table 3. As to Claims 3-5, the examiner finds that the rationale applied in Claim 1 is equally applicable to support a finding that the ball of prior art is capable of exhibiting the characteristics associated with lift to drag ratios at specified Reynolds numbers and spin rates. As to Claim 6, Watanabe, ‘240, teaches that the entire core may have a radius of 18.8 mm, with surface hardness of 81, mid-point (9.4mm) hardness of 58.5, C5 hardness of 58.3, and center hardness of 55.5, all in Shore C, see Table 4, Example 1. Interpolating hardness values over the core radius, Watanabe, ‘240, suggests C3 hardness of 57.2, C6 hardness of 58.4, C9 hardness of 58.5, Cs-3 hardness of 74.1, and Cs-6 hardness of 67.2, all in Shore C. It follows that (surface area D + surface area E) – (surface area A + surface area B + surface area C) may be equal to or greater than 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the core hardness profile to satisfy the claimed inequality expression as suggested. As to Claim 7, Watanabe, ‘240, is applied as in Claim 6, with regard to the core hardness profile as taught and as suggested. It follows that surface area E minus the sum of surface areas A, B, and C yields a result greater than zero. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the core hardness profile to satisfy the claimed inequality expression as suggested. As to Claim 8, Watanabe, ‘240, is applied as in Claim 6, with regard to the core hardness profile as taught and as suggested. It follows that surface area E minus the sum of surface areas A and B yields a result greater than zero. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the core hardness profile to satisfy the claimed inequality expression as suggested. As to Claim 9, Watanabe, ‘240, is applied as in Claim 6, with regard to the core hardness profile as taught and as suggested. It follows that Cs – Cs-6 divided by C6 – Cc may be equal to or greater than 3.0. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the core hardness profile to satisfy the claimed inequality expression as suggested.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 1 April 2026