DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 18, and 19 have been amended with matter changing the scope of the claims.
Claim 20 is newly introduced with no new matter.
A new search and consideration is warranted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yi-Wen Chen et al., (hereinafter Chen) (US 2019/0208225) and Alexey Filippov et al., (hereinafter Filippov) (US 2021/0014509) in view of Paul Haase et al., (hereinafter Haase) (US 2025/0080735) and further in view of Dong Sim et al., (hereinafter Sim) (US 2021/0235086).
Re Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A video decoding method for sign prediction of transform coefficients, comprising:
receiving, by a decoder, a bitstream comprising encoded data of transform coefficients of a transform block of a video frame;
determining, by the decoder, multiple regions in the transform block, wherein the multiple regions comprise a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region in which signs of transform coefficients are not predictable;
parsing the bitstream, by the decoder, to obtain signs of transform coefficients associated with the multiple regions of the transform block one region after another according to a region- based order,
wherein the region-based order is an order of the multiple regions in which the signs of the transform coefficients are signaled,
wherein the signs of the transform coefficients of the sign prediction area are signaled before those of at least one of the at least one other region in which the signs of the transform coefficients are not predictable;
estimating, by the decoder, original signs for a set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block; and
updating the transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area based on the estimated original signs.
Re Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Chen discloses, a video decoding method for sign prediction of transform coefficients (Title and Abstract of a video decoding method at Fig.5), comprising:
receiving, by a decoder, a bitstream comprising encoded data (receiving a bitstream Par.[0035]) of transform coefficients of a transform block of a video frame of transform coefficient blocks Par.[0156]);
determining, by the decoder, multiple regions in the transform block, wherein the multiple regions (dividing the transform block (TB) into coefficient groups (CG) Par.[0068-0070] Fig.2) include a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region (including a sign for each CG, Par.[0071-0072]);
parsing the bitstream, by the decoder, to obtain signs of transform coefficients associated with the multiple regions of the transform block one region after another according to a region- based order (parsing the TB transform coefficients, to predict their group sign, Par.[0072 - 0075]),
estimating, by the decoder, original signs for a set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block (estimating thus predicting the sign of the original coefficient group, i.e., the prediction area, Par.[0074]); and
updating the transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area based on the estimated original signs (updating by reconstructing the TB considering both signs, positive and negative coefficient values, using a candidate sign value, Par.[0074]).
In an analogous art, Filippov expressly teaches the claimed,
receiving, by a decoder, a bitstream comprising encoded data of transform coefficients of a transform block of a video frame (receiving a set of block coefficient signs, Fig.7, Par.[0193]);
wherein the multiple regions comprise a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region for which the sign prediction is not performed (generating the prediction sign sets, Fig.7, Par.[0184]);
The art to Haase teaches the limitation reciting,
wherein the region-based order is an order of the multiple regions in which (the region based order is the defined in the scanning order depicted in Fig.5, for the regions 91 and 100, Par.[0052]) the signs of the transform coefficients are signaled (signaling the transform coefficients according to a syntax elements of the partitioned ordered groups, Par.[0182] per Fig.20, or 23 last code line for sign bit hiding (SBH) condition),
wherein the signs of the transform coefficients of the sign prediction area are signaled before those of at least one of the at least one other region (the coding set of the transform coefficients is indicated by last non-zero coefficient from a first scanned coefficient to the first coefficient position Par.[0052] where the signs of the sign prediction area are signaled by the syntax elements which are ordered in groups by firstly transmitting the significance information, followed by the greater than one, greater than two syntax after which the signs are transmitted, Par.[0182], then other coefficients are known to be zero at the decoder side, Par.[0105] and Fig.5 where the processing order of the subblocks is identical to the scanning positions, Par.[0179] and the scanning order starts and the sign is signaled starting with coefficients at block 104 in forward direction 116 along path 94, before the other regions per Figs.5 and 14, and Par.[0122, 0155, 0238, 0247]) in which the signs of the transform coefficients are not predictable (as the previously encoded transform coefficients located at positions determined by the local template 130 positioned at currently encoded transform coefficients, or otherwise, in case of the local template is being disabled, is independent from the previously encoded transform coefficients, Par.[0275, 0281]);
Regarding the analogy of process between the art to Chen and Filippov, where both relate to sign predicting of transform coefficient sets by parsing at decoder the magnitude, the sign and sign residual based on the sign prediction correctness (Chen: Par.[0104]) and determining the original signs of the candidate transform coefficient sets, of non-overlapping blocks, (Filippov: Par.[0069]), and seeking improving the process of coding contexts (Chen: Par.[0023]), the ordinary skilled in the art would have found obvious before the effective filing date of invention, to find the incentive to combine such teachings with specific methods which would improve the entropy coding efficiency were the signs of the representative coefficients area are signaled after coefficient where the sign prediction is not performed (per Fig.5), and to further aiming to improve the coding efficiency by the way of a partition mode for the transform coefficients block as identified in Haase, (Par.[0045]) by which considering the combinations predictable.
The art to Sim also, explicitly discloses the division of the transform block onto multiple regions as in,
determining, by the decoder, multiple regions in the transform block, wherein the multiple regions include a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region (the three regions of the coefficient block in Fig.12, Par.[0231-0232] and determining the coefficient sign, Par.[0264]);
Thus, considering the sign derivation taught by Chen, Filippov and Haase, the ordinary skilled would seek to determine the rationale for improving the coding efficiency of the block, by applying adaptive block division, disclosed in Sim, at Par.[0003-0004]) and find such combination predictable.
Re Claim 2. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 1,
Chen teaches that, wherein the multiple regions in the transform block are determined based on an area size threshold (the sign prediction is based on threshold of predefined values, Par.[0079, 0108]).
Re Claim 3. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 2,
Chen teaches that, wherein the sign prediction area is determined to be a first region in a top-left corner of the transform block with a width and a height equal to the area size threshold (a first region i.e., group, is positioned at the top-left corner f the TB, Par.[0069]).
Re Claim 4. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 3,
Filippov teaches about, wherein the at least one other region comprises a second region encompassing the remaining area of the transform block outside the first region (including the remaining area of the transform coefficients, Par.[0209, 0244-0245]).
Re Claim 5. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 4,
Chen teaches that, wherein the signs of the transform coefficients in the first region are coded according to a first scan order and the signs of the transform coefficients in the second region are coded according to a second scan order different from the first scan order (choosing a different scan order than the first, Par.[0113, 0116, 0185 etc.]).
Re Claim 6. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 5,
Chen teaches that, wherein the first scan order is a horizontal scan order, and the second scan order is a diagonal scan order (a zigzag-horizontal scan order and a diagonal scan order are used, Par.[0185]).
Filippov teaches about, horizontal transforms selected thus using horizontal scanning order, (Par.[0006, 0029-0030] or a predetermined scan order [0157]).
Re Claim Re Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 4, wherein parsing the bitstream to obtain signs of transform coefficients associated with the multiple regions of the transform block according to a region-based order used to signal the signs of the transform coefficients comprises:
Chen teaches that, first obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the second region and then obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the first region from the bitstream (scanning in reverse order from the second region to the first, Par.[0072], or for the transform unit (TU) block, Fig.2 Par.[0113]).
Re Claim 8. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 3,
Chen teaches that, wherein the at least one other region comprises a second region encompassing an area in the top-left corner of the transform block with a width and a height equal to a maximum area size threshold and outside the first region (the sign prediction is based on threshold of predefined values, Par.[0079, 0108]),
Sim teaches, wherein the at least one other region further comprises a third region compassing the remaining area of the transform block outside the first region and the second region (disclosing a third region of the remaining area at Fig.12, Par.[0226, 0232-0233, 0238]).
Re Claim 9. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 8,
Sim teaches, wherein the signs of the transform coefficients in the first region, the second region, and the third region are coded according to at least two different scan orders (applying two different scan orders to the first group, i.e., region to the second and third regions, Par.[0061, 0247] Fig.14).
Re Claim 10. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 9,
Sim teaches, wherein the signs of the transform coefficients in the first region and the second region are coded according to a horizontal scan order and the transform coefficients in the third region are coded according to a diagonal scan order (applying horizontal and diagonal scanning order, Par.[0246]).
Re Claim 11. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 8, wherein parsing the bitstream to obtain signs of transform coefficients associated with the multiple regions of the transform block according to a region-based order used to signal the signs of the transform coefficients comprises:
Haase teaches about, first obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the third region, then obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the first region (a three areas partition of the block, 1201, 1202 and 1203 depicted in Fig.15, Par.[0067] of encoded transform coefficients compared to a threshold, Par.[0068]), and
then obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the second region from the bitstream according to the region-based order of the third region, then the first region, and then the second region (the sign is determined per last code line in in the code listings at Figs.20 and 23, according to the scan pattern for each subblock starting at the last significant position, as indicated by the state of a coded block flag (CBF),Par.[0179-0180] or according to a modified coding order Par.[0184-0185] per Fig.24 and the sub-regions in Fig.25-right side).
Chen teaches that, then obtaining the signs of the transform coefficients in the second region from the bitstream (the sign prediction is based on threshold of predefined values, Par.[0079, 0108, 0184] and the threshold is derived at decoder from syntax elements at Par.[0166, 0191] and per Claims 8 and 18).
Re Claim 12. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 2,
Chen teaches that, wherein the area size threshold is a fixed value for all transform blocks of the video, wherein the area size threshold is not signaled in the bitstream (the sign prediction is based on threshold of predefined values, Par.[0079, 0108, 0184] and the threshold is derived at decoder from syntax elements at Par.[0166, 0191] and per Claims 8 and 18).
Re Claim 13. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 2,
Chen teaches that, wherein the area size threshold is adaptively determined for the transform block, wherein the area size threshold is signaled in the bitstream (the area size threshold is signaled in the bitstream by specific syntax. Par.[0166, 0191]).
Re Claim 14. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 13,
Chen teaches that, wherein the area size threshold is signaled in a video parameter set, a sequence parameter set, a picture parameter set, a slice header or coding block level (the threshold is signaled via SPS parameter set, by slice header or a TU syntax structure, Par.[0166, 0191]).
Re Claim 15. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 1, wherein the bitstream further comprises a sequence of sign signaling bits, wherein estimating the original signs for the set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block comprises:
Chen teaches that, predicting signs for a set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block (Par.[0189]); and
estimating original signs for the set of candidate transform coefficients based on the set of predicted signs and the sequence of sign signaling bits (estimating, i.e., by indicating whether the predicted sign values for the transform coefficients is correct, Par.[0173] step 608 in Fig.6).
Re Claim 16. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 15,
Chen teaches that, wherein predicting signs for a set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block comprises: determining a plurality of combinations of sign candidates for the set of candidate transform coefficients based on a total number of candidate transform coefficients in the set of candidate transform coefficients (reconstructing the coefficients based on different combinations of sign values, Par.[0184]);
applying a template-based hypothesis generation scheme to generate a plurality of candidate hypotheses for the plurality of combinations of sign candidates, respectively (applying template-based hypothesis reconstruction, Par.[0080, 0085] Tables 1 and 2); and
selecting a hypothesis from the plurality of candidate hypotheses as a set of predicted signs for the set of candidate transform coefficients (selecting the hypothesis reconstruction based on the set of predicted signs, Par.[0074-0076] etc.).
Re Claim 17. (Original) Chen, Filippov, Haase and Sim teach, the video decoding method of claim 1, further comprising:
Chen teaches that, applying an inverse primary transform and an inverse low-frequency non-separable transform (LFNST) to the transform coefficients of the transform block to generate residual samples in a residual block corresponding to the transform block (and a secondary transform Par.[0052, 0136]).
Re Claim 18. (Currently Amended) Chen discloses, a video encoding method for sign prediction of transform coefficients (encoder 200, Par.[0035-0036] Fig.4), comprising:
obtaining, by an encoder, transform coefficients of a transform block of a video frame (transform coefficients at unit 206, Fig.4, Par.[0120]);
In an analogous art, Filippov expressly teaches the claimed,
predicting, by the encoder, signs for a set of candidate transform coefficients associated with the sign prediction area of the transform block (performing sign prediction, Par.[0007-0009, 0013-0014 etc.]); and
determining, by the encoder, multiple regions in the transform block, wherein the multiple regions comprise a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region (generating the prediction sign sets, Fig.7, Par.[0184])
In a secondary analogous art, Haase expressly teaches the claimed,
determining, by the encoder, multiple regions in the transform block (generating a set of block coefficient signs, Figs.5, 10, 13-16, 18, Par.[0052, 0105, 0127, 0131, 0142… ]),
wherein the multiple regions comprise a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region (where the signs of the sign prediction area are signaled by the syntax elements which are ordered in groups by firstly transmitting the significance information, followed by the greater than one, greater than two syntax after which the signs are transmitted,
Par.[0182], then other coefficients are known to be zero at the decoder side, Par.[0105] and Fig.5 where the processing order of the subblocks is identical to the scanning positions, Par.[0179]) in which the signs of the transform coefficients are not predictable (as the previously encoded transform coefficients located at positions determined by the local template 130 positioned at currently encoded transform coefficients, or otherwise, in case of the local template is being disabled, is independent from the previously encoded transform coefficients, Par.[0275, 0281]);
generating, by the encoder, a bitstream to signal signs of the(generating the bitstream including the partitioned blocks, Par.[0004-0008, 0009, 0012, 0014, 0049] and at least Fig.5, as mapped at the decoding loop of claim 1),
wherein the region-based order is an order of the multiple regions in which the signs of the transform coefficients are signaled, wherein the signs of the transform coefficients of the sign prediction area are signaled before (on multiple regions based on scanning order, signaling the coefficient signs, per Fig.4 Par.[0103]);
Regarding the analogy of process between the art to Chen and Filippov, where both relate to sign predicting of transform coefficient sets by parsing at decoder the magnitude, the sign and sign residual based on the sign prediction correctness (Chen: Par.[0104]) and determining the original signs of the candidate transform coefficient sets, of non-overlapping blocks, (Filippov: Par.[0069]), and seeking improving the process of coding contexts (Chen: Par.[0023]), the ordinary skilled in the art would have found obvious before the effective filing date of invention, to find the incentive to combine such teachings with specific methods which would improve the entropy coding efficiency were the signs of the representative coefficients area are signaled after coefficient where the sign prediction is not performed (per Fig.5), and to further aiming to improve the coding efficiency by the way of a partition mode for the transform coefficients block as identified in Haase, (Par.[0045]) by which considering the combinations predictable.
The art to Sim also, explicitly discloses the division of the transform block onto multiple regions as in,
determining, by the encoder, multiple regions in the transform block, wherein the multiple regions comprise a sign prediction area for performing the sign prediction and at least one other region (the three regions of the coefficient block in Fig.12, Par.[0231-0232] and determining the coefficient sign, Par.[0264]);
Thus, considering the sign derivation taught by Chen, Filippov and Haase, the ordinary skilled would seek to determine the rationale for improving the coding efficiency of the block, by applying adaptive block division, disclosed in Sim, at Par.[0003-0004]) and find such combination predictable.
Re Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Chen, Filippov and Haase disclose,
Haase teaches this limitation, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein a bitstream generated by the [[a]] video encoding method for sign prediction of transform coefficients according to claim 18 executed by a processer (non-transitory storage medium, Par.[0028, 0320]);
Re Claim 20. (New) This claim represents the video coding apparatus, comprising, a memory (Chen: memory 230 at Par.[0120]) and a processor (Chen: processing unit 204 at Par.[0120]) coupled to the memory, implementing each and every limitation of the method claim 1, hence it is rejected on the same evidence mapped mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. 1.111(c) to consider these references when responding to this action.
/DRAMOS KALAPODAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487