DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mckibben et al. (US 20210036988, hereinafter “Mckibben”).
Regarding claim 1, Mckibben discloses,
A method (Process 900 uses EAP, but other authentication protocols may be used with this process 900. In process 900, the user device 105 is attempting to access a subscription network, [0087]-[0092]) comprising:
obtaining, by an authentication service (The network server 115 can be an AAA server, which is a server program that handles user requests for access to computer resources and provides authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) services, [0038]), a first authentication request from a wireless client device (The network server 135 or 140 receives an access request S920 originating from a user device 105, Fig. 9 and [0092]), the first authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a first source device address (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105, [0092]);
obtaining, by the authentication service, a stable machine identifier (SMI) of the wireless client device (a network assigned permanent identifier (a chargeable ID), which is generated by the home network server 140, and then shared with the remote network that the user device 105 is attempting to access…..The home network server 140 generates and assigns a unique identifier to the user device 105 [0086]. The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided. The access point 110 maps the unique identifier with the randomized MAC address to have a stable identifier to provide access to the user device 105 [0090]);
authenticating, by the authentication service, the wireless client device in response to the first authentication request (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 compares the authentication information (e.g., step S925) to a database of registered devices to determine if the authentication information is in the database. The network server 135 or 140 determines an account based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the account. The network server 135 or 140 authorizes the access request based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105, [0092]); and
storing, by the authentication service, a mapping of the SMI of the wireless client device and the first source device address (The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier, [0092]).
Regarding claim 3, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from the wireless client device (The response message can be an EAP identity response message. The EAP identity response message includes the MAC address and user identity information. The authentication process can be an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) authentication process, [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from a network access device (the data field 530 would contain at least one of the user identifier and the machine identifier. In the response, the data field 530 would also include one or more of the current MAC address of the user device 105, the real MAC address of the user device 105, an IP address, and a fully qualified domain name (FDQN) [0066].. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier to at least one of a proxy network server 135 and an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
Regarding claim 5, Mckibben discloses,
obtaining, from a network access device, a request for the SMI of the wireless client device; and providing the SMI of the wireless client device to the network access device (the network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 generates a unique identifier for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier…. The access request includes an IP address of an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 associated the IP address with the account. The access request can be received from an access point in communication with the user device 110, [0092]).
Regarding claim 8, Mckibben discloses,
An apparatus (Process 900 uses EAP, but other authentication protocols may be used with this process 900. In process 900, the user device 105 is attempting to access a subscription network, [0087]-[0092]) comprising:
a network interface configured to enable network communications (The network server 115 can be an AAA server, which is a server program that handles user requests for access to computer resources and provides authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) services, [0038]); one or more processors; and one or more memories storing instructions that when executed configure the one or more processors to perform operations (a network server is provided. The network server includes at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device. The network server is programmed to receive an access request originating from a user device, including authentication information. The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device, [0007]-[0008]) comprising:
obtaining a first authentication request from a wireless client device (The network server 135 or 140 receives an access request S920 originating from a user device 105, Fig. 9 and [0092]), the first authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a first source device address (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105, [0092]);
obtaining a stable machine identifier (SMI) of the wireless client device (a network assigned permanent identifier (a chargeable ID), which is generated by the home network server 140, and then shared with the remote network that the user device 105 is attempting to access…..The home network server 140 generates and assigns a unique identifier to the user device 105 [0086]. The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided. The access point 110 maps the unique identifier with the randomized MAC address to have a stable identifier to provide access to the user device 105 [0090]);
authenticating the wireless client device in response to the first authentication request (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 compares the authentication information (e.g., step S925) to a database of registered devices to determine if the authentication information is in the database. The network server 135 or 140 determines an account based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the account. The network server 135 or 140 authorizes the access request based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105, [0092]); and
storing a mapping of the SMI of the wireless client device and the first source device address (The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier, [0092]).
Regarding claim 10, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from the wireless client device (The response message can be an EAP identity response message. The EAP identity response message includes the MAC address and user identity information. The authentication process can be an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) authentication process, [0073]).
Regarding claim 11, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from a network access device (the data field 530 would contain at least one of the user identifier and the machine identifier. In the response, the data field 530 would also include one or more of the current MAC address of the user device 105, the real MAC address of the user device 105, an IP address, and a fully qualified domain name (FDQN) [0066].. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier to at least one of a proxy network server 135 and an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
Regarding claim 12, Mckibben discloses,
obtaining, from a network access device, a request for the SMI of the wireless client device; and providing the SMI of the wireless client device to the network access device (the network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 generates a unique identifier for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier…. The access request includes an IP address of an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 associated the IP address with the account. The access request can be received from an access point in communication with the user device 110, [0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Mckibben discloses,
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions that when executed configure one or more processors of an authentication service to perform operations (The network server 115 can be an AAA server, which is a server program that handles user requests for access to computer resources and provides authentication, authorization, and accounting (AAA) services, [0038] and a network server is provided. The network server includes at least one processor in communication with at least one memory device. The network server is programmed to receive an access request originating from a user device, including authentication information. The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device, [0007]-[0008]) comprising:
obtaining a first authentication request from a wireless client device (The network server 135 or 140 receives an access request S920 originating from a user device 105, Fig. 9 and [0092]), the first authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a first source device address (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105, [0092]);
obtaining a stable machine identifier (SMI) of the wireless client device (a network assigned permanent identifier (a chargeable ID), which is generated by the home network server 140, and then shared with the remote network that the user device 105 is attempting to access…..The home network server 140 generates and assigns a unique identifier to the user device 105 [0086]. The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided. The access point 110 maps the unique identifier with the randomized MAC address to have a stable identifier to provide access to the user device 105 [0090]);
authenticating the wireless client device in response to the first authentication request (The authentication information includes a randomized MAC address for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 compares the authentication information (e.g., step S925) to a database of registered devices to determine if the authentication information is in the database. The network server 135 or 140 determines an account based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the account. The network server 135 or 140 authorizes the access request based on the comparison. The network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105, [0092]); and
storing a mapping of the SMI of the wireless client device and the first source device address (The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier, [0092]).
Regarding claim 17, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from the wireless client device (The response message can be an EAP identity response message. The EAP identity response message includes the MAC address and user identity information. The authentication process can be an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) authentication process, [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Mckibben discloses,
wherein obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device comprises obtaining the SMI of the wireless client device from a network access device (the data field 530 would contain at least one of the user identifier and the machine identifier. In the response, the data field 530 would also include one or more of the current MAC address of the user device 105, the real MAC address of the user device 105, an IP address, and a fully qualified domain name (FDQN) [0066].. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier to at least one of a proxy network server 135 and an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
Regarding claim 19, Mckibben discloses,
obtaining, from a network access device, a request for the SMI of the wireless client device; and providing the SMI of the wireless client device to the network access device (the network server 135 or 140 receives registration information for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 generates a unique identifier for the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 stores the registration information and the unique identifier in the database. The network server 135 or 140 associates the randomized MAC address with the unique identifier…. The access request includes an IP address of an access point 110 in communication with the user device 105. The network server 135 or 140 associated the IP address with the account. The access request can be received from an access point in communication with the user device 110, [0092]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckibben, and further in view of Orava et al. (US 200301772671, hereinafter “Orava”).
Regarding claim 2, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Mckibben discloses, obtaining, by the authentication service, a second authentication request from the wireless client device (The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided [0090]) and transmitting, to the wireless client device, an access accept message in response to the second authentication request (The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
However, Mckibben does not disclose, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device. In the same field of endeavor, Orava discloses, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device (If the user desires to activate another service, service 2, a second tunnel or context may be established for service 2 using a second temporary MAC address. Thus, preferably after a service selection is received from user interface, the second temporary MAC address MAC 2 is determined 713 between MT and AP to be used for transmission of packets associated with service 2, [0066]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben by specifically providing the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device, as taught by Orava for the purpose of enabling the usage of several MAC addresses at a time, where several services may be used, via the same radio network and access point AP, at the same time which is considerable improvement compared to current situation where only one MAC address and service can be used at a time [0070].
Regarding claim 9, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), further Mckibben discloses, obtaining a second authentication request from the wireless client device (The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided [0090]) and transmitting, to the wireless client device, an access accept message in response to the second authentication request (The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
However, Mckibben does not disclose, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device. In the same field of endeavor, Orava discloses, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device (If the user desires to activate another service, service 2, a second tunnel or context may be established for service 2 using a second temporary MAC address. Thus, preferably after a service selection is received from user interface, the second temporary MAC address MAC 2 is determined 713 between MT and AP to be used for transmission of packets associated with service 2, [0066]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben by specifically providing the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identif of the wireless client device, as taught by Orava for the purpose of enabling the usage of several MAC addresses at a time, where several services may be used, via the same radio network and access point AP, at the same time which is considerable improvement compared to current situation where only one MAC address and service can be used at a time [0070].
Regarding claim 16, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), further Mckibben discloses, obtaining a second authentication request from the wireless client device (The home network server 140 is configured to provide the same unique identifier each time the authentication credentials associated with an account are provided [0090]) and transmitting, to the wireless client device, an access accept message in response to the second authentication request (The network server 135 or 140 transmits the unique identifier in an access accept message. The access point 110 removes the unique identifier from the access accept message prior to transmitting the access accept message to the user device 105, [0092]).
However, Mckibben does not disclose, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device. In the same field of endeavor, Orava discloses, the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identifier of the wireless client device (If the user desires to activate another service, service 2, a second tunnel or context may be established for service 2 using a second temporary MAC address. Thus, preferably after a service selection is received from user interface, the second temporary MAC address MAC 2 is determined 713 between MT and AP to be used for transmission of packets associated with service 2, [0066]-[0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben by specifically providing the second authentication request identifying the wireless client device via a second source device address, the second authentication request including the identif of the wireless client device, as taught by Orava for the purpose of enabling the usage of several MAC addresses at a time, where several services may be used, via the same radio network and access point AP, at the same time which is considerable improvement compared to current situation where only one MAC address and service can be used at a time [0070].
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckibben, and further in view of Chargeable user identity (hereinafter “NPL”).
Regarding claim 6, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), however Mckibben does not disclose, wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value.
In the same field of endeavor, NPL discloses, wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value (A RADIUS client requesting the CUI attribute in an Access-Accept packet MUST include within the Access-Request packet a CUI attribute. For the initial authentication, the CUI attribute will include a single NUL character (referred to as a nul CUI), section 2.1 and pages 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben by specifically providing wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value, as taught by NPL for the purpose of providing a new Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service (RADIUS) attribute, which can be used by a home network to identify a user for the purpose of roaming transactions that occur outside of the home network (page 1).
Regarding claim 13, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 12), however Mckibben does not disclose, wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value.
In the same field of endeavor, NPL discloses, wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value (A RADIUS client requesting the CUI attribute in an Access-Accept packet MUST include within the Access-Request packet a CUI attribute. For the initial authentication, the CUI attribute will include a single NUL character (referred to as a nul CUI), section 2.1 and pages 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben by specifically providing wherein the request for the SMI of the wireless client device includes an access-request message with an SMI attribute having a null value, as taught by NPL for the purpose of providing a new Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service (RADIUS) attribute, which can be used by a home network to identify a user for the purpose of roaming transactions that occur outside of the home network (page 1).
Claims 7, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mckibben, and further in view of Malthankar et al. (US 20180124597, hereinafter “Malthankar”).
Regarding claim 7, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Mckibben does not disclose, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping. In the same field of endeavor, Malthankar discloses, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping (Both EAP-AKA and EAP-SIM make use of the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) as the permanent identity in the authentication exchange. The IMSI is a unique identifier that can be used to track device movement. Protecting the IMSI against untrusted exposure may be important to protect user privacy….The server may generate a pseudonym for a client, associate it with the IMSI, and securely transmit the next pseudonym for the client to use on its next authentication attempt, [0070]-[0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping, as taught by Malthankar for the purpose of providing an identity privacy support mechanism for International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) transfer in an authentication exchange [0006]. Regarding claim 14, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8), however Mckibben does not disclose, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping. In the same field of endeavor, Malthankar discloses, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping (Both EAP-AKA and EAP-SIM make use of the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) as the permanent identity in the authentication exchange. The IMSI is a unique identifier that can be used to track device movement. Protecting the IMSI against untrusted exposure may be important to protect user privacy….The server may generate a pseudonym for a client, associate it with the IMSI, and securely transmit the next pseudonym for the client to use on its next authentication attempt, [0070]-[0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping, as taught by Malthankar for the purpose of providing an identity privacy support mechanism for International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) transfer in an authentication exchange [0006]. Regarding claim 20, Mckibben discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however Mckibben does not disclose, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping. In the same field of endeavor, Malthankar discloses, obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping (Both EAP-AKA and EAP-SIM make use of the International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) as the permanent identity in the authentication exchange. The IMSI is a unique identifier that can be used to track device movement. Protecting the IMSI against untrusted exposure may be important to protect user privacy….The server may generate a pseudonym for a client, associate it with the IMSI, and securely transmit the next pseudonym for the client to use on its next authentication attempt, [0070]-[0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mckibben obtaining, from a network access device, a second SMI of the wireless client device; generating a second mapping of the second SMI of the wireless client device to the SMI of the wireless client device; and storing the second mapping, as taught by Malthankar for the purpose of providing an identity privacy support mechanism for International Mobile Subscriber Identity (IMSI) transfer in an authentication exchange [0006].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20160006739: A system and machine-implemented method of wireless network access are provided. An authentication request comprising credentials for a user account of a cloud-based service is received from a wireless client device. The authentication request is forwarded to a server associated with the cloud-based service for authentication of the user account credentials. A list of one or more network identifiers corresponding to networks for which access by the user account of the cloud-based service is authorized is received from the server.
US 10855668: Authenticating a client device coupled to an authenticator network device for a network. A service request is received from the client device at the authenticator network device. User credentials, including a user ID, a user key, and a nonce for a user are received at the authenticator network device. A token is generated using the received user credentials. The service request is modified to include the token and a user ID parameter that is the user ID to generate a modified service request. US 10764056: The present disclosure is directed to methods of short-distance network electronic authentication. In one embodiment, a method includes storing encrypted authentication data for a user and a corresponding encryption key on a mobile device; establishing electronic communication between the mobile device and a computer via a short distance network; detecting a request for user-specific authentication data from a third-party application running on the computer.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641