DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is responsive to the Application filed on 7/17/2024, which is a Continuation of 17694691, which was filed on 3/15/2022 and now US Patent 12073175. The sought benefit of JP application 2021-048505 (which was filed on 3/23/2021) and JP application 2021-214833 (which was filed on 12/28/2021) is acknowledged. Claims 13-32 are pending in this application. Claims 13, 20, 21 are independent claims.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 13, 20, 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12073175. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in instant application are broader than claims in patent 12073175. Please note independent claim 1 of Patent 12073175 cites “a memory that stores information relating to a plurality of forms…receive, from a first terminal of the first user, an identifier identifying the first user, and a request for applying an audit…and transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal, in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal…”, and discloses the features cited in claim 13 of the instant application. And claim 12 of Patent 12073175 cited “A server” limitations as claim 20 in instant application. And claim 16 of Patent 12073175 cited “A method” limitations as claim 21 in instant application. See more analysis details below:
Instant application 18775299
Patent 12073175
Claim 13. A server system comprising: a memory that stores information relating to a plurality of forms issued by a first user in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; and circuitry configured to: transmit, to a first terminal of a first user, audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmit a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal; and transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to received identifiers to the second terminal,
in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal.
Claim 1. A server system comprising: a memory that stores information relating to a plurality of forms each issued by a first user in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; and circuitry configured to: receive, from a first terminal of the first user, an identifier identifying the first user, and a request for applying an audit for financing based on particular forms of the plurality of forms, the particular forms being selected from among the plurality of forms by the first user;
in response to receiving the request for applying an audit for financing, determine financing source information including a business type of the first user using the identifier of the first user; generate screen data that lists one or more financing sources that the request for applying the audit can be requested, corresponding to the financing source information; and determine a second terminal, as a financing source selected from the screen data by the first terminal; determine a period for evidence information for the audit, which corresponds to the financing source that has been determined; transmit a request for audit information, the request including a biller identification, a bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information; determine the audit information based on the biller identification, the bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information, the audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmit, to the first terminal, the audit information which has been determined, the audit information including the identifier of the forms issued by the first user; transmit a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal; and transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal, in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal.
Claim 20. A server comprising: a network interface configured to communicate with another server that generates a plurality of forms issued by a first user of a first terminal in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; and circuitry configured to: transmit, to the first terminal, audit information which has been determined, the audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmit, to the first terminal, the audit information which has been determined, the audit information including the identifier of the forms issued by the first user; transmit a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal; and in response to receiving the identifiers of the particular forms issued by the first user from the second terminal, transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal.
Claim 12. A server comprising: a network interface configured to communicate with another server that generates a plurality of forms each issued by a first user of a first terminal in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; and circuitry configured to: receive, from the another server, an identifier identifying the first user, and a request for applying an audit for financing based on particular forms of the plurality of forms, the particular forms being selected from among the plurality of forms by the first user; in response to receiving the request for applying an audit for financing, determine financing source information including a business type of the first user using the identifier of the first user; generate screen data that lists one or more financing sources that the request for applying an audit can be requested, corresponding to the financing source information; and determine a second terminal, as a financing source selected from the screen data by the first terminal; determine a period for evidence information for the audit, which corresponds to the financing source that has been determined; transmit a request for audit information, the request including a biller identification a bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information; determine the audit information based on the biller identification, the bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information, the audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmit, to the first terminal, the audit information which has been determined, the audit information including the identifier of the forms issued by the first user; transmit a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to the second terminal; and in response to receiving the identifiers of the particular forms issued by the first user from the second terminal, transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal.
Claim 21. A method of intermediating communication, comprising: storing in a memory information relating to a plurality of forms issued by a first user in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; transmitting, to a first terminal of the first user, the audit information, the audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmitting a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal; and transmitting, in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal, the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal.
Claim 16. A method of intermediating communication, comprising: storing in a memory information relating to a plurality of forms each issued by a first user in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user; receiving, from a first terminal of the first user, an identifier identifying the first user, and a request for applying an audit for financing based on particular forms of the plurality of forms, the particular forms being selected from among the plurality of forms by the first user; in response to receiving the request for applying an audit for financing, determine financing source information including a business type of the first user using the identifier of the first user; generate screen data that lists one or more financing sources that the request for applying an audit can be requested, corresponding to the financing source information; and determine a second terminal, as a financing source selected from the screen data by the first terminal; determining a period for evidence information for the audit, which corresponds to the financing source that has been determined; transmitting a request for audit information, the request including a biller identification a bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information; determining the audit information based on the biller identification, the bill payer identification, and the period for the evidence information, the audit information including an identifier of forms issued by the first user; transmitting, to the first terminal, the audit information which has been determined, the audit information including the identifier of the forms issued by the first user; transmitting a request for applying the audit for financing and the identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to the second terminal; and transmitting, in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal, the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to the received identifiers to the second terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 13-27, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naohiro Yuasa et al (US Publication 20180218418 A1, hereinafter Yuasa), and in view of and Lee Scott Spradling et al (US Publication 20110184776 A1, hereinafter Spradling), and Richard Mark Ashcroft et al (US Publication 20210390534, hereinafter Ashcroft).
As for independent claim 13, Yuasa discloses: A server system (Yuasa: Abstract, provided is a transaction system that supports a transaction between a plurality of consumers and a plurality of suppliers, the transaction system including a server computer that is connected to a network, in which a plurality of consumer-side computers of the transaction and a plurality of supplier-side computers of the transaction are connected to the network, in which the server computer includes a processor that performs processing for interposing in a transaction performed between at least one of the plurality of consumer-side computers and at least one of the plurality of supplier-side computers, and a memory that records consumer-side information regarding the transaction which is output from each of the plurality of consumer-side computers and supplier-side information regarding the transaction which is output from each of the plurality of supplier-side computers; Fig. 1 and [0036], a service form management module that manages a service form, the service form is a form for registering information regarding the consumer’s desired service or a service providable by the provider in the server computer 101) comprising: a memory that stores information relating to a plurality of forms issued by a first user in relation to transactions between the first user and a second user (Yuasa: [0036], the management system module includes a service form management module that manages a service form, the service form is a form for registering information regarding the consumer’s desired service or a service providable by the provider in the server computer; [0037], user registration information and the service form are registered in a database 107); and circuitry configured to: transmit, to a first terminal of a first user, [audit information] including an identifier of forms issued by the first user (Yuasa: [0063], the service form registration module selects and presents the selected service form to the consumer in accordance with the type of business of the user on the basis of a user ID with reference to the tables); transmit a request for applying the [audit for financing] and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal (Yuasa: [0036], the management system module includes a service form management module that manages a service form, the service form is a form for registering information regarding the consumer’s desired service or a service providable by the provider in the server computer; Fig. 7 and [0060], the service form registration module performs a process of receiving a request of a service form from a user (the consumer-side computer 111; [0063], the service form registration module selects a service form suitable for the user and presents the selected service form to the consumer, the service form registration module can give priority to, for example, a service form for which the number of times of presentation to the user is large, meanwhile, the service form may be selected by the user); and transmit the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user corresponding to received identifiers to the second terminal, in response to receiving the identifier of the particular forms from the second terminal (Yuasa: [0085], the service matching execution module notifies the supplier-side computer (a second terminal) of information including a service form of a consumer-side service; please note a service form requested by a consumer-side computer (the first terminal) is transmitting to a supplier-side computer (the second terminal));
Yuasa discloses transmitting transaction data and form between consumers and suppliers but does not clearly disclose applying an audit for financing, in an analogous art of an professional service tool, Spradling discloses: transmit, to a first terminal of a first user, audit information… transmit a request for applying the audit for financing (Spradling: Abstract, an application that performs a variety of functions such as completing certain audit planning processes/forms, offering a tailored set audit programs based on the assessed risks, allowing users to further tailor the suggested audit programs, and rendering these audit programs in a helpful format; [0086], perform the audit being requested);
Yuasa and Spradling are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, managing service and transaction data and forms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Yuasa using the teachings of Spradling to include performing audit processes and forms. The motivation is to provide Yuasa’s system with enhanced capabilities of processing the requested financial services and transactions.
Further, Yuasa discloses the service form reference module of the server computer retrieves the service provision table and the service providing table by using service information (service ID) as a retrieval key, and transmits a service form corresponding or similar to the value of the retrieval key to the service form reference module as a retrieval result (Yuasa: [0070]), and Yuasa discloses transmitting the service form including the service ID of the service form requested by a consumer-side computer to the supplier-side computer (Yuasa: [0085]), but does not expressly disclose an identifier of the particular form, in an analogous art of managing service forms data, Ashcroft discloses: an identifier of forms issued by the first user… and the identifiers of the forms issued by the first user which are identifiers of the particular forms of the plurality of forms issued by the first user to a second terminal (Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier);
Yuasa and Ashcroft are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, managing service form data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Yuasa using the teachings of Ashcroft to include storing and transmitting a form identifier. The motivation is to enable the users to uniquely identify a particular form by the identifier.
As for claim 14, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: the circuitry receives the request for applying an audit, via a user interface that allows the first user to request transmission of the particular forms to a destination, the user interface including the identifiers of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0085], transmitting the service form including the service ID of the service form requested by a consumer-side computer to the supplier-side computer; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 15, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: the circuitry generates the particular forms issued by the first user, in response to a request from the first terminal (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the consumer-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0053], the service form input module inputs service demand information to the service form).
As for claim 16, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: the circuitry is configured to select, from among a plurality of auditors, one or more of auditors capable of providing the audit to the first user, based on the information relating to the particular forms, the second terminal being a terminal of the one or more of auditors having been selected (Yuasa: [0042], the consumer can select an supplier from among a plurality of suppliers; [0085], the service matching execution module notifies the supplier-side computer (a second terminal) of information including a service form of a consumer-side service; please note a service form requested by a consumer-side computer (the first terminal) is transmitting to a supplier-side computer (the second terminal); Spradling: Abstract, guide the auditor through the audit engagement process).
As for claim 17, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: transmit, to the first terminal, a user interface that allows the first user to input information to be used for the audit, receive the information input by the first user via the user interface from the first terminal (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the consumer-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0053], the service form input module inputs service demand information to the service form), and store, in the memory, the information input by the first user in association with the identifier of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0085], transmitting the service form including the service ID of the service form requested by a consumer-side computer to the supplier-side computer; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 18, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: transmit, to the second terminal, a user interface that allows an auditor of the second terminal to input information on a result of the audit that is requested, receive the information on a result of the audit from the second terminal (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0121], the diagnostic report lists potential errors as a result of information inputted by the auditor including failure to answer any portion of planning form or failure to select an audit approach), and store, in the memory, the information on a result of the audit in association with the identifier of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0085], transmitting the service form including the service ID of the service form requested by a consumer-side computer to the supplier-side computer; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 19, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: A communication system comprising: the server system of claim 13 (Yuasa: Abstract, provided is a transaction system that supports a transaction between a plurality of consumers and a plurality of suppliers, the transaction system including a server computer that is connected to a network, in which a plurality of consumer-side computers of the transaction and a plurality of supplier-side computers of the transaction are connected to the network, in which the server computer includes a processor that performs processing for interposing in a transaction performed between at least one of the plurality of consumer-side computers and at least one of the plurality of supplier-side computers, and a memory that records consumer-side information regarding the transaction which is output from each of the plurality of consumer-side computers and supplier-side information regarding the transaction which is output from each of the plurality of supplier-side computers; Fig. 1 and [0036], a service form management module that manages a service form, the service form is a form for registering information regarding the consumer’s desired service or a service providable by the provider in the server computer 101); and the first terminal configured to transmit a request for applying the audit for financing based on the particular forms, to the server system (Spradling: Abstract, an application that performs a variety of functions such as completing certain audit planning processes/forms, offering a tailored set audit programs based on the assessed risks, allowing users to further tailor the suggested audit programs, and rendering these audit programs in a helpful format; [0086], perform the audit being requested).
As per Claim 20, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 21, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 1, thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 1 are incorporated herein.
As for claim 22, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: obtaining, from the memory, information relating to the particular forms using the identifier of the particular forms; and transmitting the information relating to the particular forms to the second terminal (Yuasa: [0085], transmitting the service form including the service ID of the service form requested by a consumer-side computer to the supplier-side computer; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As per Claim 23, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 16, thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 16 are incorporated herein.
As per Claim 24, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 18, thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 18 are incorporated herein.
As for claim 25, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: the circuitry receives first audit information indicating past transactions between the first user and the second user, based on the request for applying the audit for financing based on the particular forms, from the another server, and stores the first audit information in association with the form identifier of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 26, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: the circuitry receives second audit information indicating transaction information of an account in relation to the first user, based on the request for applying the audit for financing based on the particular forms, from the another server apparatus, and stores the second audit information in association with the form identifier of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 27, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: receive, from the first terminal of the first user, a request for a particular form; and obtain the particular form and the identifier of the particular form, in response to the request (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 29, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: circuitry configured to transmit, to the second terminal, a request for applying an audit for financing and at least the identifier of the particular forms (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
As for claim 30, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: receiving, from a first terminal of the first user, a request for a particular form; and obtaining the particular form and the identifier of the particular form, in response to the request (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier).
5. Claims 28, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa, Spradling, and Ashcroft as applied on claims 13 and 21, and further in view of Adrian Gropper (US Publication 20070192140 A1, hereinafter Gropper).
As for claim 28, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft discloses: a form management server …, wherein: the form management server includes: the memory; circuitry configured to generate a plurality of forms issued by the first user in relation to transactions between the first user and the second user, in response to a request for the form from a first terminal of the first user; and circuitry configured to transmit, to the intermediary server, the request for applying the audit for financing based on the particular form and an identifier of the particular form, in response to a request for applying the audit for financing based on the particular form of the plurality of forms, from the first terminal; wherein the … server includes: circuitry configured to transmit, to the second terminal, a request for applying an audit for financing and at least the identifier of the particular form, wherein the form management server further includes circuitry configured to transmit information on the particular form identified with the identifier to the second terminal (Yuasa: [0039], a service form input module of the supplier-side computer have access to the service form registration module to input service information to a service form; [0087], the supplier may input a service form in a manner of responding to the consumer’s demand with reference to a service form created by the consumer; Spradling: [0082], an auditor determine whether it is related to a previous audit, managing an audit in this way is beneficial because it allows to work on an audit in stages and determines whether initial audit procedures are automatically included; Ashcroft: [0082] , [0087], a unique form identifier), and at least Yuasa discloses using multiple servers (Yuasa: [0033]), but Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft does not clearly disclose an intermedia server, Gropper discloses: and an intermediate server (Gropper: Abstract, [0015], an intermediary server receives the information, a receiving agent associated with the document consumer and in communication with the communication network, receives the processed information document from the intermediary server);
Yuasa and Gropper are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, managing service form data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Yuasa using the teachings of Gropper to include utilizing an intermediary server to receive, process and transmitting information. The motivation is to improve the system’s accessibility, security and efficiency.
As per Claim 31, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by Claim 28, thus the rationales for rejecting Claim 28 are incorporated herein.
6. Claim 32 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuasa, Spradling, and Ashcroft as applied on claim 13, and further in view of Ludwig Mochty et al (US Publication 20220351112 A1, hereinafter Mochty).
As for claim 32, Yuasa-Spradling-Ashcroft does not clearly disclose the period for evidence information, Mochty discloses: the period for evidence information is a longest period from among a plurality of periods for evidence information that have been read (Mochty: [0019], an interactive user interface module that, when in operation, provides a user with an interactive user interface to enable the user to input a plurality of audit parameters to be employed for the audit evidence, the plurality of audit parameters comprising at least one of: an assurance level to be achieved, a tolerable error, a statistical sampling technique to be employed, a time period for which audit evidence is to be obtained, a level of data aggregation).
Yuasa and Mochty are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, managing service form data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Yuasa using the teachings of Mochty to include user may input a plurality of audit parameters including a time period for which audit evidence is to be obtained. The motivation is to provide user with more flexible choices in the service.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 7:30 am to 5:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/HUA LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118