DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, and the species of a “metolazone lyophilizate kit,” reading on claims 13-19, in the response dated 6/9/2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-12 and 20-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species (claims 1-12), or a nonelected invention (claims 20-23), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Status
Claims 1-23 are pending.
Claims 1-12 and 20-23 are withdrawn.
Claims 13-19 are examined on the merits in this prosecution.
CLAIM REJECTIONS
Obviousness Rejection
1) Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (US 10,857,097), in view of Shirode (WO 2012038371 A1), Biringer (US 5,124,152), and Amin (“Lyophilization of Polyethylene Glycol Mixtures,” Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Vol. 93, NO. 9, September 2004, 2244-2249).
Lim teaches a solid dosage of an orally-dosed biologically active material comprising at least one biologically active material and at least one “matrix forming agent,” reading on the limitation of “a bulking agent.” Lim teaches the dosage form is produced by freeze-drying the biologically active agent and the matrix forming agent from water (col 25: 6-40). Lim also teaches a kit including these ingredients (Abstract).
For claim 13, Lim teaches a container or kit component comprising an active agent such as metolazone (col 12: 12) and a matrix forming agent such as mannitol (col 16: 42-49). Lim teaches the pH of the mixture is adjusted to a pH of preferably between 6.4 and 7.8 (col 26: 13-16), within the claimed range. Because the claimed range overlaps with the range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Lim also teaches the pH can be controlled by the addition of a buffer such as sodium hydrogen carbonate, sodium carbonate, or sodium hydrogen phosphate (col 26: 18-21). While Lim does not teach the buffer in a second container, one of ordinary skill in the art would place the buffer in the second container due to the presence of water to maintain the buffer in solution.
While Lim teaches a kit comprising a solid dosage form comprising a biologically active material and at least one matrix forming agent (col 4: 19-25), Lim does not teach a second container comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent. Furthermore, Lim does not teach the limitation of a solubilizer.
Shirode and Biringer teach the missing elements of Lim.
Shirode teaches a kit containing a first container comprising a lyophilized formulation and a second container containing a diluent for reconstituting the lyophilized formulation (pg 5: 12-16). It is noted that the active agent of Shirode is not metolazone, but the general arrangement of the elements is that claimed instantly.
Biringer teaches compositions of comprising metolazone and a solubilizer such as PEG 400, where the metolazone is present in the amount of 0.25-5 mg/mL in the final aqueous solution and polyethylene glycol 400 is present in the amount of 25-50% v/v in the final solution (Abstract; col 2: 36-42).
For claim 19, none of the prior art of Lim, Shirode, and Biringer teach or suggest addition of tert-butanol in the composition. Amin teaches
Amin teaches that addition of PEG 400 to commonly used bulking agents, such as mannitol, sucrose, or polyvinylpyrrolidone, caused a significant change in the thermal properties of the bulking agents as observed by modulated differential scanning calorimetry (Abstract), indicating an interaction between the substances. Amin further teaches that freeze drying microscopy studies indicated that lyophilization of PEG 400 with mannitol is not feasible at temperatures above -50 oC because of structure collapse or lack thereof within the lyophilized sample pg 2247, left column). Biringer teach or suggest addition of tert-butanol in the composition. Amin further teaches the low temperature lyophilization system eliminates the need for adding tert-butanol (pg 2249, left column top).
The skilled artisan would have expected success in substituting Shirode's two container kit for the single container kit of Lim since the two container kit maintains a separation between the lyophilized dry components of metolazone and the bulking agent, and the diluent comprising a solubilizer such the PEG 400 solubilizer, taught by Biringer, a buffer, and water since Amin teaches that the combination of PEG 400 to mannitol causes an interaction between the substances and lyophilization must be carried out at very low temperatures to avoid collapse of the structure of the lyophilized material.
2) Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (cited above), in view of Shirode (cited above) Biringer (cited above), Amin (cited above), and Stratis (US 10,703,532)
The teachings of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin are discussed above.
The combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin does not teach a connector between the first and second containers.
Stratis teaches the missing element of the combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin.
Stratis teaches a system and method for mixing compounds utilizing a transfer device that allows for diluent from a syringe to be introduced in a sterile manner into a container comprising a powder comprising a drug substance (Abstract). See Fig. 1, Step 2, and Fig. 2, Step 2, below.
Fig. 1, Step 2 Fig. 2, Step 2
The skilled artisan would have expected success in utilizing the connector taught by Stratus to connect the first and second container taught by the combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin because Stratis teaches the connector between the two containers allows sterile transfer of, for example, the contents of the second container into the first container.
3) Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (cited above), in view of Shirode (cited above), Biringer (cited above), Amin (cited above), and Ali (“Kolliphor® HS 15 - An Enabler for Parenteral and Oral Formulations,” American Pharmaceutical Review, February 25, 2019, 1-25).
The teachings of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin are discussed above.
The combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin does not teach the presence of macrogol-15-hydroxystearate in the diluent.
Ali teaches the missing element of the combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin.
Ali teaches Kolliphor® HS 15, an alternative name for macrogol-15-hydroxystearate, is an “excellent solubilizer with unparalleled attributes leading to a safe administration of oral and injectable drug molecules” (pg 17, Conclusion), and the combination of macrogol-15-hydroxystearate and polyethylene glycol 400 was safe for administration in rats and dogs (pg 14, top partial paragraph). Regarding the limitation of 2-4% w/v of macrogol-15-hydroxystearate, MPEP 2144.05(II) is cited: “It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). Furthermore, modifying the amounts of a solubility enhancing substance to optimize the amount of the enhancer is a technique known to an ordinarily skilled practitioner. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
4) Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (cited above), in view of Shirode (cited above), Ali (cited above), Biringer (cited above), Amin (cited above), and the Medline Monograph on Metolazone (“Zaroxolyn®”, available on the Internet Aug 11, 2015; downloaded 8-14-2026 from https://reference.medscape.com/drug/zaroxolyn-metolazone-342416; cited hereinafter as the “Medline Monograph”).
The teachings of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin are discussed above.
The combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin does not teach the amount of metolazone in the lyophilizate composition.
The Medline Monograph teaches the missing element of the combination of Lim, Shirode, Biringer, and Amin.
The Medline Monograph teaches dosages of metolazone are 2.5, 5, and 10 mg, respectively (pg 1).
For claims 16 and 17, Lim teaches the amount of active agent may be 5 mg, and may comprise 1-45% of the composition (col 15: 14-22), and mannitol may comprise from about 5% to about 80% of the composition (col 16: 42-49). As such, the amounts claimed in claims 16 and 17 of metolazone and mannitol overlap with those of Lim. Lim also teaches a pH range of preferably between 6.4 and 7.8 (col 26: 13-16), overlapping the range claimed in each of claims 16 and 17.
For the diluent in claim 16, Biringer teaches polyethylene glycol 400 is present in the amount of 25-50% v/v in the final composition, overlapping the claimed range, and Lim teaches a phosphate buffer (col 17: 40-44).
For claim 18, it is noted that Biringer teaches compositions of comprising metolazone and a solubilizer such as PEG 400, where the metolazone is present in the amount of 0.25-5 mg/mL in the final aqueous solution and polyethylene glycol 400 is present in the amount of 25-50% v/v in the final solution (Abstract; col 2: 36-42). For the 5 mg dose taught by the Medline Monograph, the Examiner calculates an amount of diluent required is 1.0 to 20 mL, overlapping the claimed range.
CONCLUSION
/MICHAEL P COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612