DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 18, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tam (US 2011/0298433 A1).
As to claim 1, Tam discloses a hearing device [FIG. 5] comprising:
an input transducer [16 on FIG. 5] configured to provide one or more input signals [“The uplink audio includes mouthpiece, microphone.” Paragraph 0028];
a signal processor [6 on FIG. 5] configured to provide an output signal based on the one or more input signals [“The signal processing for different applications on the hearing aid.” Paragraph 0028];
an output transducer [Speaker 13 on FIG. 5] configured to provide an audio output signal based on the output signal from the signal processor [“The downlink audio during a call is emitted from a speaker.” Paragraph 0028]; and
a switched-mode power supply (SMPS) [12 on FIG. 2] configured to provide electric power, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component [L1 on FIG. 2] and a second coil component [L2 on FIG. 2] [“Each inductor in the SMPS is in essence a vertically-oriented coil of wire.” Paragraph 0021],
wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are configured to magnetically interact with each other [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 2, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are within 2 mm from each other [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 3, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to magnetically interact with each other destructively [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 4, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase [“Each inductor is in essence a vertically-oriented coil of wire and close to each other and have arranged magnetic field reaction.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 5, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component have approximately similar inductances [“The length of the coils are equal.” Paragraph 0022].
As to claim 6, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are in series with respect to each other [“The components inductors that are connected in series.” FIG. 4, Paragraph 0026].
As to claim 7, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are parallel with respect to each other [“The component inductors are connected to each other in parallel.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 8, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is a buck converter [“The SMPS is a buck converter.” Paragraph 0020].
As to claim 9, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising a battery, and wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery [“The battery is a rechargeable power source.” Paragraph 0030].
As to claim 10, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising one or more communication coils [“The coils are communications coils for data I/O.” Paragraph 0030].
As to claim 11, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 10, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils [“The coils are communications coils for data I/O. This enhancement is due to mutual magnetic coupling that results in a boosted inductance reducing magnetic noise.” Paragraphs 0030 and 0032].
As to claim 12, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 10, wherein the one or more communication coils comprise a magnetic induction (MI) coil and/or a telecoil [“The coils are communications coils for data I/O.” Paragraph 0030].
As to claim 13, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the hearing device is a hearing aid [“The wireless telephony enables the user to use an earpiece (hearing aid).” Paragraph 0028].
As to claim 14, Tam discloses the hearing device according to claim 13, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user [“The wireless telephony enables the user to use a headset earphone (worn by the user).” Paragraph 0028].
As to claim 15, Tam discloses a method performed by a hearing device [Paragraph 0001], the method comprising:
providing one or more input signals by an input transducer [“The device provides an uplink audio includes mouthpiece, microphone.” Paragraph 0028];
providing an output signal by a signal processor [6 on FIG. 5] based on the one or more input signals [“The signal processing for different applications on the hearing aid.” Paragraph 0028];
providing an audio output signal based on the output signal [“The downlink audio during a call is emitted from a speaker.” Paragraph 0028]; and
providing electric power by a switched-mode power supply (SMPS) [22 on FIG.2], wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component [L1 on FIG. 2], and a second coil component [L2 on FIG. 2] [“Each inductor in the SMPS is in essence a vertically-oriented coil of wire.” Paragraph 0021],
wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are configured to magnetically interact with each other [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 16, Tam discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the hearing device comprises a hearing aid [“The wireless telephony enables the user to use an earpiece (hearing aid).” Paragraph 0028].
As to claim 17, Tam discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user [“The wireless telephony enables the user to use a headset earphone (worn by the user).” Paragraph 0028].
As to claim 18, Tam discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising wirelessly communicating with an electronic device via one or more communication coils [“The coils are communications coils for data I/O. This enhancement is due to mutual magnetic coupling that results in a boosted inductance reducing magnetic noise.” Paragraphs 0030 and 0032].
As to claim 19, Tam discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising providing electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils by the first coil component and the second coil component [“The coils are communications coils for data I/O. This enhancement is due to mutual magnetic coupling that results in a boosted inductance reducing magnetic noise.” Paragraphs 0030 and 0032].
As to claim 20, Tam discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the electromagnetic noise reduction is provided by the first coil component and the second coil component when the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is providing the electric power [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 21, Tam discloses the method of to claim 15, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to magnetically interact with each other destructively [“Parallel connection of pairs of inductance components as close as possible having opposite polarities which cancel out the magnetic fields.” Paragraph 0021].
As to claim 22, Tam discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase [“Each inductor is in essence a vertically-oriented coil of wire and close to each other and have arranged magnetic field reaction.” Paragraph 0021].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 12,149,891 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one claim of the instant application is being taught by the claims of the U.S. Patent.
Patented claim 1 recites a hearing device which perform the feature of the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are coupled to magnetically interact with each other.
The pending claim 1 recites hearing device which perform the similar feature of the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are coupled to magnetically interact with each other.
Therefore, the patented claim 1 anticipates the pending 1.
Pending claims 2-22 have similar limitations comparing the patented claims 2-23 as shown on the table below.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. A hearing device comprising: an input transducer configured to provide one or more input signals; a signal processor configured to provide an output signal based on the one or more input signals; an output transducer configured to provide an audio output signal based on the output signal from the signal processor; and a switched-mode power supply (SMPS) configured to provide electric power, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component and a second coil component; wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are configured to magnetically interact with each other.
2. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are within 2 mm from each other.
3. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to magnetically interact with each other destructively.
4. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase.
5. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component have approximately similar inductances.
6. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are in series with respect to each other.
7. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are parallel with respect to each other.
8. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is a buck converter.
9. The hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising a battery, and wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery.
10. The hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising one or more communication coils.
11. The hearing device according to claim 10, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils.
12. The hearing device according to claim 10, wherein the one or more communication coils comprise a magnetic induction (MI) coil and/or a telecoil.
13. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the hearing device is a hearing aid.
14. The hearing device according to claim 13, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user.
15. A method performed by a hearing device, the method comprising: providing one or more input signals by an input transducer; providing an output signal by a signal processor based on the one or more input signals; providing an audio output signal based on the output signal; and providing electric power by a switched-mode power supply (SMPS), wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component, and a second coil component, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are configured to magnetically interact with each other.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the hearing device comprises a hearing aid.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user.
18. The method of claim 15, further comprising wirelessly communicating with an electronic device via one or more communication coils.
19. The method of claim 18, further comprising providing electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils by the first coil component and the second coil component.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the electromagnetic noise reduction is provided by the first coil component and the second coil component when the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is providing the electric power.
21. The method of to claim 15, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to magnetically interact with each other destructively.
22. The method of claim 15, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase.
1. A hearing device comprising: an input transducer configured to provide one or more input signals based on a received audio signal; a signal processor configured to provide an output signal based on the one or more input signals; an output transducer configured to provide an audio output signal based on the output signal from the signal processor; and a switched-mode power supply (SMPS) configured to provide electric power, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component and a second coil component; wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide electromagnetic noise reduction in the hearing device; and wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are coupled to magnetically interact with each other.
2. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are within 2 mm from each other.
3. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are coupled to magnetically interact with each other destructively.
4. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component have approximately similar inductances.
5. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are in series with respect to each other.
6. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are parallel with respect to each other.
7. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is a buck converter.
8. The hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising a battery, and wherein the battery is a rechargeable battery.
9. The hearing device according to claim 1, further comprising one or more communication coils.
10. The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide the electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils.
11. The hearing device according to claim 9, wherein the one or more communication coils comprise a magnetic induction (MI) coil and/or a telecoil.
12. The hearing device according to claim 1, wherein the hearing device is a hearing aid.
13. The hearing device according to claim 12, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user.
14. A hearing device comprising: an input transducer configured to provide one or more input signals based on a received audio signal; a signal processor configured to provide an output signal based on the one or more input signals; an output transducer configured to provide an audio output signal based on the output signal from the signal processor; and a switched-mode power supply (SMPS) configured to provide electric power, wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component and a second coil component; wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase.
15. The hearing device of claim 14, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide electromagnetic noise reduction in the hearing device.
16. A method performed by a hearing device, the method comprising: providing one or more input signals by an input transducer based on a received audio signal; providing an output signal by a signal processor based on the one or more input signals; providing an audio output signal based on the output signal; and providing electric power by a switched-mode power supply (SMPS), wherein the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) comprises a first coil component, and a second coil component, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are configured to magnetically interact with each other, and wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to provide electromagnetic noise reduction in the hearing device.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the hearing device comprises a hearing aid.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the hearing aid is configured to be worn at an ear of a user.
19. The method of claim 16, further comprising wirelessly communicating with an electronic device via one or more communication coils.
20. The method of claim 19, further comprising providing the electromagnetic noise reduction for the one or more communication coils by the first coil component and the second coil component.
21. The method of claim 20, wherein the electromagnetic noise reduction is provided by the first coil component and the second coil component when the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) is providing the electric power.
22. The method of to claim 16, wherein the first coil component and the second coil component are configured to magnetically interact with each other destructively.
23. The method of claim 16, wherein the first coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) and the second coil component of the switched-mode power supply (SMPS) are arranged such that magnetic fields generated respectively by the first coil component and the second coil component interact with each other and are in counter-phase.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
MOSER et al. (US 2022/0181979 A1) discloses a SMPS including an input circuit powered by an input voltage, wherein the input voltage is based on a voltage difference between a positive input voltage and a negative input voltage.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692
March 4, 2026
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692