DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are now pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments as filed on 07/30/2026 have been considered and entered, however, applicant’s arguments filed 07/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claim 1 has now been amended with features of claims 4-5, specifically, “conducting the color transformation in a color management module of a prepress using International Color Consortium (ICC) profiles; calculating a transformation rule for the color transformation before the color transformation is conducted and stored in at least one said ICC profile, and the color transformation is conducted using the at least one ICC profile calculated in advance”, which are not taught by the cited references. Applicant’s this assertion is based on a notion that since claim 1 states that “transformation rule for the printed image, namely the optical code, is calculated in advance”, and Kawabata is silent about optical codes and moreover doesn’t provide a teaching for creating an ICC profile which includes a transformation rule for a separate optical code.
In reply, examiner disagrees and asserts firstly, limitations such as “transformation rule for the printed image, namely the optical code, is calculated in advance” and creating an ICC profile which includes a transformation rule for a separate optical code are not positively recited in the claim 1 and thus cannot be given any patentable weight.
Such that in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “produce optical codes on printed matter which are specifically tailored for the printing machine and its color space and which are well recognizable by optical detection devices”, see remarks, page 8, last paragraph; “transformation rule for the printed image, namely the optical code, is calculated in advance”, remarks, page 9) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, it appears that applicant is treating rejection for claims 4-5 as 102 and not as 103 combination of Kawashima in view of Kawabata, note that Kawabata was only shown for color transformation of a prepress using ICC profiles, which could be calculated in advance and not for dealing with color transformation of machine-readable optical codes as seemed to be argued by the applicant. Instead, primary reference, Kawashima teaches those features.
Thus, Kawabata sufficiently teaches the features which are recited in the claim such as conducting the color transformation in a color management module of a prepress using International Color Consortium (ICC) profiles (in order to reduce a difference in display between a reference monitor 51 which is provided in a prepress company and a printing factory and a monitor 52 which is used by the user, an ICC profile is used to perform the color transformation such that the digital data is converted into an L*a*b* image using an ICC profile which is created under printing conditions using a CMYK image and colors on the monitor are measured, paragraph 247) and calculating a transformation rule for the color transformation before the color transformation is conducted and stored in at least one said ICC profile, and the color transformation is conducted using the at least one ICC profile calculated in advance (using reference color chart/table, a color measurement device is used to measure colors and an ICC profile is created and stored in advance, then the ICC profile is used to perform the color matching based on the rule as part of the ICC that if there is an image portion in which a color difference between the captured images of the object and the monitor is beyond a predetermined allowable range, then the color difference is converted into CMYK data using a reference color table in order to achieve the color management of the monitor proof, paragraphs 221, 247).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidetoshi Kawashima et al., JP 2009-272667 in view of Kawabata et al., US 2013/0250322.
Regarding claim 1, Kawashima discloses a method for printing, by way of a printing machine (an image data generation unit 10 that generates output image data to be output to the image forming apparatus 2 with respect to the image data acquired by the image data acquisition unit 12, and an image generated by the image data generation unit 10 An image data output unit 18 that outputs data to, for example, the image forming apparatus 2 via the network 4, paragraph 26),
a printed image containing at least one machine-readable optical code, in which digital print data for the printed image are provided (presence of barcode information included in the digital image data to be printed is determined and barcode information along with digital image data is printed by the printer, paragraphs 27, 29, 49),
the digital print data for the printed image containing the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code and the digital print data for a remaining printed image (digital/raster print data which contains processing of the printed image data includes area with presence of barcode information and area without barcode information, paragraph 46), which comprises the steps of:
subjecting the digital print data for the printed image to a color transformation including a transformation of colors in the printed image to printing colors of the printing machine (digital print data undergoes color transformation consisting of transformation of the colors of image to be printed into the printing inks of the printer such as RGB[Wingdings font/0xE0]CMYK and outputting this CMYK image data to the image forming unit of the printer, paragraphs 46, 49),
during the color transformation of the digital print data for the printed image, the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are transformed using a different method to the digital print data for the remaining printed image (for an area without bar code information, the process proceeds to step 208, where the color conversion processing performs image processing of RGB → CMYK color conversion. In this process K, the so-called UCR (Under Color Removal) is not 100%, and a CMY color material (toner or the like) other than the K color material is also used to express a gray color, wherein on the other hand, for the raster data with barcode information (barcode image) in step 203 is subjected to image processing for color conversion with the K-axis of the gray axis (step 207) such that the gray axis is the process K when there is no barcode, and when there is a barcode, the gray axis is a single K (UCR 100%) for color conversion. Image processing is performed. UCR 100% is set by, for example, a direct look-up table (DLUT), and by making bar code data into a black reproduction output of 100% density, paragraphs 46-50),
and a number of the printing colors for the at least one machine-readable optical code are reduced in the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code (when there is a barcode, the gray axis is a single K (UCR 100%) for color conversion as barcode seems to be accompanied by one single K color, otherwise, for area without barcode, UCR is not 100%, and a CMY color material other than the K color material is also used to express a gray color as remaining image data is one usual color space transformation to full CMYK color space, therefore, UCR at 100% reduces the least used printing ink to zero so that one or two inks out of CMYK is used in order to avoid degrading the image quality, paragraphs 46, 49-50 and paragraphs 62-63);
and transmitting the digital print data for the printed image subjected to the color transformation to the printing machine and being used to print the printed image using the printing machine (switching between K single color and process K is performed depending on whether or not the area is barcode information. After such color conversion processing, the screen processing unit 26 performs screen processing in accordance with the print mode, and outputs image data to the image forming unit 21, paragraph 49, wherein, image forming unit 21 that forms a visible image on a recording medium such as paper. The image forming unit 21 is configured as an output device such as an electrophotographic printer or an ink jet printer, paragraph 29).
Kawashima fails to further disclose conducting the color transformation in a color management module of a prepress using International Color Consortium (ICC) profiles; calculating a transformation rule for the color transformation before the color transformation is conducted and stored in at least one said ICC profile, and the color transformation is conducted using the at least one ICC profile calculated in advance.
However, Kawabata teaches conducting the color transformation in a color management module of a prepress using International Color Consortium (ICC) profiles (in order to reduce a difference in display between a reference monitor 51 which is provided in a prepress company and a printing factory and a monitor 52 which is used by the user, an ICC profile is used to perform the color transformation such that the digital data is converted into an L*a*b* image using an ICC profile which is created under printing conditions using a CMYK image and colors on the monitor are measured, paragraph 247);
calculating a transformation rule for the color transformation before the color transformation is conducted and stored in at least one said ICC profile, and the color transformation is conducted using the at least one ICC profile calculated in advance (using reference color chart/table, a color measurement device is used to measure colors and an ICC profile is created and stored in advance, then the ICC profile is used to perform the color matching based on the rule as part of the ICC that if there is an image portion in which a color difference between the captured images of the object and the monitor is beyond a predetermined allowable range, then the color difference is converted into CMYK data using a reference color table in order to achieve the color management of the monitor proof, paragraphs 221, 247).
Kawashima and Kawabata are in the same art of endeavor as both are dealing with color transformation in printing environment.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawashima to incorporate the teachings of Kawabata to provide color transformations using ICC profiles. Doing so would provide efficient and effective technique to adjusted using a means for adjusting a color difference between a reference medium and an evaluation medium based on the evaluation result and adjust the output apparatus and perform color matching to accurately and reliably match the colors when the colors are visually evaluated, without depending on the subjective view of the operator. as recognized by Kawabata at paragraphs 47-48.
Regarding claim 2, Kawashima with Kawabata further teaches wherein the at least one machine-readable optical code is selected from barcodes (Kawashima, barcode, paragraphs 27, 46, 49) and quick response (QR) codes (QR code, paragraph 65).
Regarding claim 3, Kawashima with Kawabata further teaches wherein prior to the color transformation and within the digital print data for the printed image, the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are singled out vis-a-vis the digital print data for the remaining printed image using at least one digital marker (Kawashima, TAG information addition unit 14 adds the TAG information to the raster data from which the barcode information is detected such that when the barcode area indicated by the raster data exists, the TAG information is added to the raster data in the barcode area before any color transformation takes place. TAG information detection detects and analyzes the TAG information for each raster data of the acquired image data. Here, the presence/ absence of barcode information is determined by the TAG information detection / analysis unit to determine an area without bar code information or area with barcode information, this TAG addition processing takes place before any of the color transformation process, paragraphs 40, 46, 50, 52).
Regarding claim 7, Kawashima with Kawabata further teaches wherein within a scope of the color transformation of the digital print data for the printed image, the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are transformed according to a method in which the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are assigned at least one printing color which has an increased area coverage (Kawashima, since the amount of color material (for example, the amount of toner) increases, the line reproduction becomes thick and the barcode reading accuracy decreases. In the present embodiment, switching between K single color and process K is performed depending on whether or not the area is barcode information, paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 8, Kawashima with Kawabata further teaches wherein within a scope of the color transformation of the digital print data for the printed image, the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are transformed according to a method in which the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are assigned at least one printing color which has an increased contrast (Kawashima, DF processing unit 36 that performs digital filter (DF) processing such as edge enhancement on image data that has not been processed, and correction processing such as enhancing the contrast between black and white on the barcode area such that the DF processing unit 36 performs a smoothing process on a region that is an image in a region that does not have barcode information. Then, the signal correction processing unit 37 sets “R = G = B = 0” for the black portion of the barcode and the white portion of the barcode for the region having the barcode information (first region), for example. Is “R = G = B = 255”, paragraph 35 and if specified color is lighter than it is automatically replaced with 100% black (K) with high recognition accuracy, so that the contrast with the background portion can be secured and the blurring etc. is eliminated. To improve the recognition accuracy. Similarly, it is also effective to perform processing such as replacing the color barcode with 100% black (K) to improve the recognition accuracy, paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 9, Kawashima with Kawabata further teaches wherein within a scope of the color transformation of the digital print data for the printed image, the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are transformed according to a method in which the digital print data for the at least one machine-readable optical code are assigned at least one printing color, as a result of which a color impression of the at least one machine-readable optical code is made to approximate the color impression of the remaining printed image to the greatest extent possible (Kawashima, barcode information image is subjected to color conversion image processing for reproduction with a single color material of 100% or a combination of two color materials of 200%. For example, red is 100% yellow + 100% magenta, green is 100% yellow + 100% cyan, blue is 100% magenta + 100% cyan, or special color toner such as red / green / blue is loaded. The bar code image correction unit 24 corrects the image signal value so that each color material is reproduced with 100%. In other words, in the case of a printer having YMCK toner other than K single color material, for example, C100%, M100%, R (Y100% + M100%), G (Y100% + C100%), B (M100% + C100%) It is conceivable to reproduce the code, and in the case of a multi-color (more than 5 colors) printer such as YMCK + spot color, in addition to the above, for example, 100% spot color is reproduced. As a result, the barcode image disappears from the halftone density, and the quality of the image output is prevented from deteriorating due to interference problems such as blurring or broken lines due to screen processing. In addition, if it is specified in a light color other than that, it is automatically replaced with 100% black (K) with high recognition accuracy, so that the contrast with the background portion can be secured and the blurring etc. is eliminated. To improve the recognition accuracy. Similarly, it is also effective to perform processing such as replacing the color barcode with 100% black (K) to improve the recognition accuracy. Thus, image processing for printing using a single color material is performed here. As with this single color material, the above-described K (black) single color material is most frequently used, but depending on the type of barcode, for example, a red single color material can be used, paragraphs 62-63).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidetoshi Kawashima et al., JP 2009-272667 in view of Kawabata et al., US 2013/0250322 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Collier et al., US 2017/0371929.
Regarding claim 10, Kawashima with Kawabata fails to further teach selecting the printed image from printed images for product packaging with at least one barcode.
However, Collier teaches selecting the printed image from printed images for product packaging with at least one barcode (universal product code may be presented on the product or packaging by a barcode and user can select the printed product code image by utilizing the activated camera, paragraph 48).
Kawashima, Kawabata and Collier are in the same art of endeavor as all are dealing with color printed images.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kawashima and Kawabata to incorporate the teachings of Collier to provide selecting the printed image from printed images for product packaging with at least one barcode. Doing so would provide efficient and effective technique to obtain input of product identification information from the product as recognized by Collier at paragraphs 8 and 48.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hakamada et al., US 2012/0314260
Li et al., US 2009/0279142
Farrell et al., US 2007/0165258
Furukawa et al., US 2005/0057776
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683