DETAILED ACTION
Restriction Requirement was filed on 7/6/2026.
This action is in response to Applicants election of invention I (claims 1-6) filed on 9/8/2026.
Claims 1-6 are amended.
Claims 7-20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-34 are new.
The IDSs filed on 7/17/2024, 1/23/2025, 5/2/2025 are considered.
Claims 1-6 and 21-34 are examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 21-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 23 and 31 recite the limitation "… based on said determining …" in “… modifying the first PDU session …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not clear if “determining” is based on “determining that a first PDU session is mapped to the slice”, or based on “determining whether the service or application is associated with GBR”, or based on “determining a slice”, thus making the claim limitation unclear and hence indefinite.
The dependent claims 2-6, 21-22, 24-30 and 32-34 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) second paragraph by virtue of their dependency and for the same reasons stated above.
Additionally, claims 4, 26 recite: “…said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the service or application is associated with a PDU session that supports ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) quality of service (QoS); determining that a first PDU session does not support URLLC QoS; and creating the second PDU session that supports URLLC QoS based on said determining that the first PDU session does not support URLLC QoS.”
Here, the claim presents a choice for selection between “modifying the first PDU session” OR “creating the second PDU session”, followed by the limitation: “creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises…” .The underlined claim limitation is not clear whether the limitation “comprises” belongs only to the second selection of “creating the second PDU session”, implying that the rest of the claim limitation belongs to the second choice “creating the second PDU session”, rendering this claim confusing, unclear and hence indefinite.
For the sake of comparison with prior art, this limitation has been interpreted as “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”.
Additionally, claims 5, 27 recite: “… said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the service or application is associated with a reflective quality of service (QoS); determining that the first PDU session does not support the reflective QoS; and creating the second PDU session that supports reflective QoS.”
Here, the claim presents a choice for selection between “modifying the first PDU session” OR “creating the second PDU session”, followed by the limitation: “creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises …” .The underlined claim limitation is not clear whether the limitation “comprises” belongs only to the second selection of “creating the second PDU session”, implying that the rest of the claim limitation belongs to the second choice “creating the second PDU session”, rendering this claim confusing, unclear and hence indefinite.
For the sake of comparison with prior art, this limitation has been interpreted as “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”.
Additionally, claims 6, 28 recite: “… said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the slice is allowed in a tracking area (TA); determining that the slice is allowed in a frequency band; determining that the slice is allowed in a physical cell identifier (PCI); and creating the second PDU session that supports reflective QoS.”
Here, the claim presents a choice for selection between “modifying the first PDU session” OR “creating the second PDU session”, followed by the limitation: “creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises…” .The underlined claim limitation is not clear whether the limitation “comprises” belongs only to the second selection of “creating the second PDU session”, implying that the rest of the claim limitation belongs to the second choice “creating the second PDU session”, rendering this claim confusing, unclear and hence indefinite.
For the sake of comparison with prior art, this limitation has been interpreted as “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 21-25 and 29-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (US 20260323440 A1, hereinafter “Abraham”) in view of Chun (US 20240064626 A1, hereinafter “Chun”).
Regarding Claim 1, Abraham teaches a method comprising:
processing first configuration information received via non-access stratum (NAS) signaling and second configuration information received via broadcast system information (see para 46, the UE performs slice based cell reselection/i.e., representing processing, the priority used for cell reselection is a combination of both slice priority/NSAG priority received from NAS/i.e., first configuration, and frequency priority received from RRC. There are two ways by which FreqPriorityNRSlicing could be received by the UE (One by broadcast signaling (SIB16)/i.e., second configuration) and other by dedicated signalling in RRC messages like RRC release);
generating a slice-priority network configuration based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (see paras 47-54, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection by using (a) NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS/i.e., based on the first configuration, b) sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, and c) cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated signaling/i.e., b-c based on the second configuration);
determining a slice associated with a service or application is allowed based on the slice- priority network configuration (see para 39, The admission or rejection of access to the slice may depend by factors such as support for the slice, availability of resources, support of the requested service by the NG-RAN… para 47, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection … para 56, the cell is listed in the sliceAllowedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information));
determining whether the service or application is associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) quality of service (QoS) or a non-GBR QoS (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted to mean “determining whether the service or application is associated with service level agreement SLA”, based on this interpretation, see para 38, The network slicing is a concept to allow differentiated treatment depending on each customer requirements. With slicing, it is possible for Mobile Network Operators (MNO) to consider customers as belonging to different tenant types with each having different service requirements that govern in terms of what slice types each tenant is eligible to use based on Service Level Agreement (SLA) and subscriptions);
determining that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked (see para 37, the support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions. The wireless network can release the different network slices by scheduling and also by providing different layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2) configurations).
Abraham does not teach details regarding: determining that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked; and modifying the first PDU session or creating a second PDU session for the service or application based on said determining whether the service or application is associated with the GBR QoS or the non-GBR QoS.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches these limitations:
determining that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked (see FIG. 7A-7C, para 113, The UE may receive services through a PDU session/i.e., representing that PDU session is established first and then the services are received by the UE, which may be a logical connection between the UE and a data network (DN). The UE and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more quality of service (QoS) flows. SDAP 771 and SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)); and
modifying the first PDU session or(see FIG. 8, paras 119-121, In order to work within the QoS model, UE applies QoS rules to uplink packets. The QoS rules are associated with PDU session and is determined and/or provided to the UE when PDU session is established and/or modified… The QoS flows may be the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. In FIG. 8, three QoS flows 816A-816C are illustrated. Some QoS flows may be associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR QoS flows) and others may have bit rates that are not guaranteed (non-GBR QoS flows)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the SLA associated with the different services of Abraham, to provide further granularity of SLA as including GBR QoS and non-GBR QoS flows, and modifying the PDU session based on the QoS rules as taught by Chun, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, the resource mapping rules designate more resources for relatively high-priority QoS flows, and this allows the QoS flows to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, or other characteristic associated with QoS rules (see Chun, para 122).
Regarding Claims 2, 24, Abraham does not teach details regarding: said modifying the first PDU session or
In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches these limitations: see para 121, QoS flows may also be subject to per-UE and per-session aggregate bit rates... QoS flows may be associated with flow bit rates. A particular QoS flow may be associated with a guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR) and/or a maximum flow bit rate (MFBR)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the SLA associated with the different services of Abraham, to provide further granularity of SLA as including GBR QoS and non-GBR QoS flows, and modifying the PDU session based on the QoS rules as taught by Chun, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, the resource mapping rules designate more resources for relatively high-priority QoS flows, and this allows the QoS flows to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, or other characteristic associated with QoS rules (see Chun, para 122).
Regarding Claims 3, 25 32, Abraham does not teach details regarding: it is determined that the service or application is associated with the non-GBR QoS and wherein said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises modifying the first PDU session.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches these limitations: see FIG. 8, paras 119-121, In order to work within the QoS model, UE applies QoS rules to uplink packets. The QoS rules are associated with PDU session and is determined and/or provided to the UE when PDU session is established and/or modified… The QoS flows may be the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. In FIG. 8, three QoS flows 816A-816C are illustrated. Some QoS flows may be associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR QoS flows) and others may have bit rates that are not guaranteed (non-GBR QoS flows).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the SLA associated with the different services of Abraham, to provide further granularity of SLA as including GBR QoS and non-GBR QoS flows, and modifying the PDU session based on the QoS rules as taught by Chun, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, the resource mapping rules designate more resources for relatively high-priority QoS flows, and this allows the QoS flows to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, or other characteristic associated with QoS rules (see Chun, para 122).
Regarding Claims 21, 29, 33, Abraham teaches: the first configuration information includes network slice access group (NSAG) information associated with at least one NSAG, the second configuration information includes inter-frequency cell priority information that indicates cell re-selection priorities associated with respective downlink frequencies and slice-based inter- frequency re-selection information for respective downlink frequencies, and the slice-priority network configuration is generated based on the NSAG information, the inter-frequency cell priority information, and the slice-based inter-frequency re-selection information (see paras 46-54, the UE performs slice based cell reselection/i.e., representing processing, the priority used for cell reselection is a combination of both slice priority/NSAG priority received from NAS/i.e., first configuration, and frequency priority received from RRC. There are two ways by which FreqPriorityNRSlicing could be received by the UE (One by broadcast signaling (SIB16)/i.e., second configuration) and other by dedicated signalling in RRC messages like RRC release … the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection by using (a) NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS/i.e., based on the first configuration, b) sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, and c) cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated signaling/i.e., b-c based on the second configuration).
Regarding Claims 22, 30, 34, Abraham teaches: the slice-based inter-frequency re- selection information indicates an NSAG identifier, an NSAG re-selection priority, at least one allowed cell, or at least one excluded cell for at least one downlink frequency (see paras 48-54, The UE derives re-selection priorities for slice-based cell re-selection by using: a) NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS, b) sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, and c) cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling. The UE considers an NR frequency to support a slice group if a) the corresponding nsag-ID is indicated for the NR frequency and valid for current TA. The UE considers a cell on an NR frequency to support the slice group if a) the corresponding nsag-ID is indicated for the NR frequency and valid for current TA; and b) the cell is either listed in the sliceAllowedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information) or the cell is not listed in the sliceExcludedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information); or c) Neither sliceAllowedCellListNR nor sliceExcludedCellListNR is configured in the used slice specific cell reselection information).
Regarding Claim 23, Abraham teaches an apparatus comprising: processor circuitry (see FIG. 2B, UE) to:
process first configuration information received via non-access stratum (NAS) signaling and second configuration information received via broadcast system information (see para 46, the UE performs slice based cell reselection/i.e., representing processing, the priority used for cell reselection is a combination of both slice priority/NSAG priority received from NAS/i.e., first configuration, and frequency priority received from RRC. There are two ways by which FreqPriorityNRSlicing could be received by the UE (One by broadcast signaling (SIB16)/i.e., second configuration) and other by dedicated signalling in RRC messages like RRC release);
generate a slice-priority network configuration based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (see paras 47-54, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection by using (a) NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS/i.e., based on the first configuration, b) sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, and c) cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated signaling/i.e., b-c based on the second configuration);
determine a slice associated with a service or application is allowed based on the slice- priority network configuration (see para 39, The admission or rejection of access to the slice may depend by factors such as support for the slice, availability of resources, support of the requested service by the NG-RAN… para 47, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection … para 56, the cell is listed in the sliceAllowedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information));
determine whether the service or application is associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) quality of service (QoS) or a non-GBR QoS (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, this limitation has been interpreted to mean “determining whether the service or application is associated with service level agreement SLA”, based on this interpretation, see para 38, The network slicing is a concept to allow differentiated treatment depending on each customer requirements. With slicing, it is possible for Mobile Network Operators (MNO) to consider customers as belonging to different tenant types with each having different service requirements that govern in terms of what slice types each tenant is eligible to use based on Service Level Agreement (SLA) and subscriptions);
determine that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked (see para 37, the support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions. The wireless network can release the different network slices by scheduling and also by providing different layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2) configurations).
Abraham does not teach details regarding: determining that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked; and modifying the first PDU session or creating a second PDU session for the service or application based on said determining whether the service or application is associated with the GBR QoS or the non-GBR QoS.
In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches these limitations:
determine that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked (see FIG. 7A-7C, para 113, The UE may receive services through a PDU session/i.e., representing that PDU session is established first and then the services are received by the UE, which may be a logical connection between the UE and a data network (DN). The UE and the DN may exchange data packets associated with the PDU session. The PDU session may comprise one or more quality of service (QoS) flows. SDAP 771 and SDAP 772 may perform mapping and/or demapping between the one or more QoS flows of the PDU session and one or more radio bearers (e.g., data radio bearers)); and
modify the first PDU session or(see FIG. 8, paras 119-121, In order to work within the QoS model, UE applies QoS rules to uplink packets. The QoS rules are associated with PDU session and is determined and/or provided to the UE when PDU session is established and/or modified… The QoS flows may be the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. In FIG. 8, three QoS flows 816A-816C are illustrated. Some QoS flows may be associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR QoS flows) and others may have bit rates that are not guaranteed (non-GBR QoS flows)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the SLA associated with the different services of Abraham, to provide further granularity of SLA as including GBR QoS and non-GBR QoS flows, and modifying the PDU session based on the QoS rules as taught by Chun, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, the resource mapping rules designate more resources for relatively high-priority QoS flows, and this allows the QoS flows to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, or other characteristic associated with QoS rules (see Chun, para 122).
Regarding Claim 31, Abraham teaches a method comprising:
generating first configuration information for transmission to a user equipment (UE) using non-access stratum (NAS) signaling; and generating second configuration information for transmission to the UE using broadcast system information (see para 46, the UE performs slice based cell reselection, the priority used for cell reselection is a combination of both slice priority/NSAG priority received from NAS/i.e., base station generated first configuration received by the UE, and frequency priority received from RRC. There are two ways by which FreqPriorityNRSlicing could be received by the UE (One by broadcast signaling (SIB16)/i.e., base station generated second configuration) and other by dedicated signalling in RRC messages like RRC release),
wherein a slice-priority network configuration is based on the first configuration information and the second configuration information (see paras 47-54, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection by using (a) NSAGs and their priorities provided by NAS/i.e., based on the first configuration, b) sliceInfoList and or sliceInfoListDedicated per frequency with nsag-CellReselectionPriority per NSAG, if provided in system information and/or dedicated signalling, and c) cellReselectionPriority per frequency provided in system information and/or dedicated signaling/i.e., b-c based on the second configuration), and the slice-priority network configuration is to configure the UE to:
determine that a slice associated with a service or application is allowed based on the slice-priority network configuration (see para 39, The admission or rejection of access to the slice may depend by factors such as support for the slice, availability of resources, support of the requested service by the NG-RAN… para 47, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection … para 56, the cell is listed in the sliceAllowedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information));
determine whether the service or application is associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR) quality of service (QoS) or a non-GBR QoS (see para 39, The admission or rejection of access to the slice may depend by factors such as support for the slice, availability of resources, support of the requested service by the NG-RAN… para 47, the UE derives slice specific cell reselection priorities when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection … para 56, the cell is listed in the sliceAllowedCellListNR (if provided in the used slice specific cell reselection information));
determine that a first packet data unit (PDU) session is mapped to the slice, wherein the first PDU session existed before the service or application was invoked (see para 37, the support of network slicing relies on the principle that traffic for different slices is handled by different Protocol Data Unit (PDU) sessions. The wireless network can release the different network slices by scheduling and also by providing different layer 1/layer 2 (L1/L2) configurations).
Abraham does not teach details regarding: modify the first PDU session or
In the same field of endeavor, Chun teaches this limitation: see FIG. 8, paras 119-121, In order to work within the QoS model, UE applies QoS rules to uplink packets. The QoS rules are associated with PDU session and is determined and/or provided to the UE when PDU session is established and/or modified… The QoS flows may be the finest granularity of QoS differentiation in a PDU session. In FIG. 8, three QoS flows 816A-816C are illustrated. Some QoS flows may be associated with a guaranteed bit rate (GBR QoS flows) and others may have bit rates that are not guaranteed (non-GBR QoS flows)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the SLA associated with the different services of Abraham, to provide further granularity of SLA as including GBR QoS and non-GBR QoS flows, and modifying the PDU session based on the QoS rules as taught by Chun, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, the resource mapping rules designate more resources for relatively high-priority QoS flows, and this allows the QoS flows to obtain the high flow bit rate, low packet delay budget, or other characteristic associated with QoS rules (see Chun, para 122).
Claim(s) 4-6, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham in view of Chun, in view of Kweon (US 20220353926 A1, hereinafter “Kweon”).
Regarding Claims 4, 26, Abraham in view of Chun do not teach details regarding: said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the service or application is associated with a PDU session that supports ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) quality of service (QoS); determining that a first PDU session does not support URLLC QoS; and creating the second PDU session that supports URLLC QoS based on said determining that the first PDU session does not support URLLC QoS.
Examiners Note: This limitation has been interpreted to use the first choice: “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”. Please also note the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection, and claim 1 rejection also has the same selection rejected.
Based on this interpretation, and in the same field of endeavor, Kweon teaches these limitations: see FIG. 7, illustrates an example of a PDU session modification process of changing an existing PDU session to an always-on PDU session; paras 119-122, the UE requests new data transmission (service flow/QoS flow)… the SMF determines whether to support URLLC service based on an authorized 5G QoS indicator (5QI) of the requested QoS flow, NG-RAN node capability, and/or operator configuration. That is, the SMF determines whether to perform redundant transmission for a new QoS flow. The SMF determines the new QoS flow as an URLLC service flow. If the SMF determines the corresponding QoS flow as an URLLC service flow, and if the current PDU session is not an always-on PDU session, the SMF needs to change a PDU session, through which the QoS flow is transmitted, to an always-on PDU session. The SMF configures an always-on PDU session indication IE of a PDU session modification command message as "always-on PDU session required for URLLC and transmits the IE to the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined teachings of Abraham and Chun, to modifying the PDU session to support URLLC service as taught by Kweon, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, provide high stability and low latency for URLLC service (see Kweon, para 7).
Regarding Claims 5, 27, Abraham in view of Chun do not teach details regarding: said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the service or application is associated with a reflective quality of service (QoS); determining that the first PDU session does not support the reflective QoS; and creating the second PDU session that supports reflective QoS.
Examiners Note: This limitation has been interpreted to use the first choice: “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”. Please also note the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection, and claim 1 rejection also has the same selection rejected.
Based on this interpretation, and in the same field of endeavor, Kweon teaches these limitations: see FIG. 7, illustrates an example of a PDU session modification process of changing an existing PDU session to an always-on PDU session; paras 119-122, the UE requests new data transmission (service flow/QoS flow)… the SMF determines whether to support URLLC service based on an authorized 5G QoS indicator (5QI) of the requested QoS flow, NG-RAN node capability, and/or operator configuration. That is, the SMF determines whether to perform redundant transmission for a new QoS flow. The SMF determines the new QoS flow as an URLLC service flow. If the SMF determines the corresponding QoS flow as an URLLC service flow, and if the current PDU session is not an always-on PDU session, the SMF needs to change a PDU session, through which the QoS flow is transmitted, to an always-on PDU session. The SMF configures an always-on PDU session indication IE of a PDU session modification command message as "always-on PDU session required for URLLC and transmits the IE to the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined teachings of Abraham and Chun, to modifying the PDU session to support URLLC service as taught by Kweon, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, provide high stability and low latency for URLLC service (see Kweon, para 7).
Regarding Claims 6, 28, Abraham in view of Chun do not teach details regarding: said modifying the first PDU session or creating the second PDU session comprises creating the second PDU session and the method further comprises: determining that the slice is allowed in a tracking area (TA); determining that the slice is allowed in a frequency band; determining that the slice is allowed in a physical cell identifier (PCI); and creating the second PDU session that supports reflective QoS.
Examiners Note: This limitation has been interpreted to use the first choice: “modifying the first PDU session to support URLLC service”. Please also note the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph rejection, and claim 1 rejection also has the same selection rejected.
Based on this interpretation, and in the same field of endeavor, Kweon teaches these limitations: see FIG. 7, illustrates an example of a PDU session modification process of changing an existing PDU session to an always-on PDU session; paras 119-122, the UE requests new data transmission (service flow/QoS flow)… the SMF determines whether to support URLLC service based on an authorized 5G QoS indicator (5QI) of the requested QoS flow, NG-RAN node capability, and/or operator configuration. That is, the SMF determines whether to perform redundant transmission for a new QoS flow. The SMF determines the new QoS flow as an URLLC service flow. If the SMF determines the corresponding QoS flow as an URLLC service flow, and if the current PDU session is not an always-on PDU session, the SMF needs to change a PDU session, through which the QoS flow is transmitted, to an always-on PDU session. The SMF configures an always-on PDU session indication IE of a PDU session modification command message as "always-on PDU session required for URLLC and transmits the IE to the UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combined teachings of Abraham and Chun, to modifying the PDU session to support URLLC service as taught by Kweon, the motivation being, in order to meet QoS requirements, provide high stability and low latency for URLLC service (see Kweon, para 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jung (US 20260095827 A1, provisional filed 9/26/2022) teaches at para 54, if a UE is in a camped normally state, and if it supports slice-based cell reselection and has received network slice access stratum groups (“NSAGs”) and their priorities from non-access stratum (“NAS”), the UE may derive re-selection priorities according to the following rules: 1) frequencies that support at least one prioritized NSAG received from NAS have higher re-selection priority than frequencies that support none of the NSAGs received from NAS; 2) frequencies that support at least one NSAG provided by NAS are prioritized in the order of the NAS-provided priority for the NSAG with highest priority supported on the frequency; 3) among the frequencies (e.g., one or multiple) that support the highest prioritized NSAGs with the same NAS-provided priorities, the frequencies are prioritized in the order of their nsag-CellReselectionPriority given for these NSAGs; 4) frequencies that support a NSAG provided by NAS and that indicate nsag-CellReselectionPriority for the NSAG have higher re-selection priority than frequencies that support this prioritized NSAG without indicating nsag-CellReselectionPriority for the NSAG; and 5) frequencies that support none of the NSAGs provided by NAS are prioritized in the order of their cellReselectionPriority.
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472