DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "with fluid outlet aperture" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the suction tube assembly" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pregno (U.S. Patent No. 3381709).
Regarding Claim 1, Pregno discloses a suction tube system for a tank (Figure 1), comprising: a flexible suction tube 8 (Figure 1); a float 6 (Figure 1) connected to the flexible suction tube; an inlet nozzle 10 (Figure 1), wherein the inlet nozzle is on the perimeter of the float (Figure 1 and 2; column 2, line 49-51); a connector on the flexible suction tube 9 (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Pregno discloses the float is a rigid buoyant portion (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Pregno discloses the float is a sealed hollow portion of pipe 6 (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Pregno discloses the flexible suction tube defines a rotational range of movement of the float (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Pregno discloses the connector defines a fluid outlet aperture 9 (figure 1, end of pipe portion), the flexible suction tube is in fluid communication with fluid outlet aperture and the inlet nozzle (Figure 1), and the float causes the flexible suction tube to flex and rise or unflex and fall with a change of a fluid level of an organic fluid when the suction tube system is installed in a tank allowing the inlet nozzle to remain in the organic liquid and allowing reliable suction of organic liquid from stratified fluid layers within the tank (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Pregno discloses the inlet nozzle is submerged in the organic fluid in the tank (Figure 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 14, Pregno discloses a fluid level of the organic fluid increases and the flexible suction hose bends into tighter radius, the rigidity of the flexible suction hose keeps the inlet nozzle submerged below a fluid level but above a water/fuel interface (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Pregno discloses a position of the inlet nozzle in relation to the float keeps inlet nozzle from rising above the fluid level (figure 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Pregno discloses both the float and the flexible suction tube have a width or diameter that is less than an internal diameter of an inlet port of the tank, such that the float and the flexible suction tube of the suction tube system may be inserted through the inlet port (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Pregno discloses a device attached to the connector on the suction tube allows at least one of fluid to be added to or fluid to be removed from the tank (Column 2, lines 28-29).
Claim(s) 1, 8-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burris et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6915818).
Regarding Claim 1, Burris et al. discloses a suction tube system for a tank (Figure 1), comprising: a flexible suction tube 132 (Figure 1); a float 122 (Figure 1) connected to the flexible suction tube; an inlet nozzle 110 (Figure 1), wherein the inlet nozzle is on the perimeter of the float (Figure 1); a connector on the flexible suction tube (figure 1, portion at top of 130).
Regarding Claim 8, Burris et al. discloses the suction tube assembly comprises an inlet portion 100/110 (Figure 1) and the inlet portion is housed within the float (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Burris et al. discloses the inlet portion within the float is in fluid connection with the flexible suction tube (Figure !).
Regarding Claim 10, Burris et al. discloses the connector defines a fluid outlet aperture (Figure 1), the flexible suction tube is in fluid communication with fluid outlet aperture and the inlet nozzle (Figure 1), and the float causes the flexible suction tube to flex and rise or unflex and fall with a change of a fluid level of an organic fluid when the suction tube system is installed in a tank allowing the inlet nozzle to remain in the organic liquid and allowing reliable suction of organic liquid from stratified fluid layers within the tank (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Burris et al. discloses the tank is a petroleum fuel tank (column 2, lines 34-38).
Regarding Claim 12, Burris et al. discloses the tank is a diesel fuel tank (column 2, lines 34-38).
Regarding Claim 17, Burris et al. discloses the inlet nozzle is positioned external to the float (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pregno (U.S. Patent No. 3381709) in view of Thirlaway et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20140238515).
Regarding Claim 2, Pregno teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the flexible suction tube comprises at least one of a foot valve and a check valve and the foot valve or the check valve is in fluid communication with fluid outlet aperture. However, Thirlaway et al. teaches a check valve (Paragraph 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pregno to include the above, as taught by Thirlaway et al., in order to allow for ventilation.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pregno (U.S. Patent No. 3381709) in view of Okada et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20050224135).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Pregno teaches all the limitations substantially as claimed except for the flexible hose is a stainless steel flexible pipe. However, Okada et al. teaches stainless steel (paragraph 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Pregno to include the above, as taught by Okada et al., in order to provide a lightweight and durable material.
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733